wazua Sun, May 3, 2026

5 Pages<12345>
Where wife earns far more than husband
Amir
#21 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 1:32:37 PM

I want to beleive we all want the best out of our marriages. But when it comes to level of education i trust that if couples are not at par with each other or the wife is more educated its disaster. Honestly we want to have intellectually stimulating conversation after all other "domestic" issues are sorted out.

The Brave may not live forever - but the cautious do not live at all: Richard Branson
atiriri
#22 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 4:11:39 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
I actually believe men should do all they can to help the women in their lives more successful. If she wants to go for further studies, assist with the fee,

Seems you never read the posts where women were abandoning their husbands after being provided for a good education. Watu wasomeshwe na baba zao! Si kwa ubaya.

It depends with an individual. The unappreciative lot
#23 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 5:14:17 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
I actually believe men should do all they can to help the women in their lives more successful. If she wants to go for further studies, assist with the fee,

Seems you never read the posts where women were abandoning their husbands after being provided for a good education. Watu wasomeshwe na baba zao! Si kwa ubaya.

Your wife or husband should be the closest person to you. With such a high level of mistrust, the question is, why are you even together???

Me, I put my money where my mouth is. I will do everything for the woman in my life. I will not stop being a nice or considerate person just because someone might change. Actually, if someone is the 'abandoning type', I'd rather they succeed sooner and abandon me when I still have the energy and time to consider the next step.
#24 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 6:41:26 PM

Life is a continuation of seasons. There are seasons when you make good money and those you don't. Linking the money you make to the woman you marry can only be a recipe for disaster. What happens when she/he earns more? As @ Miachblack says, if you do not trust her/him, then you have no business being together! and especially in the new constitutional dispensation which levels both of you. Contrary to popular opinion, marriage is for friends and not lovers, it is a covenant and not a contract. Kama bado hamjafika hapo, wachana nayo. You will most likely become an ardent fan and partcipant of morning talkshows!
#25 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 6:42:17 PM

2012, so what you are saying is that men should marry 'dumber' girls than themselves?
#26 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 6:43:28 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Your wife or husband should be the closest person to you. With such a high level of mistrust, the question is, why are you even together???

Me, I put my money where my mouth is. I will do everything for the woman in my life. I will not stop being a nice or considerate person just because someone might change. Actually, if someone is the 'abandoning type', I'd rather they succeed sooner and abandon me when I still have the energy and time to consider the next step.

Mwafrika31
#27 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 12:55:29 AM

XSK wrote:

But what do options does husband have if wife starts earning higher than him when they are 10 years into the marriage and 3 kids to boot and everything else remaining constant?

@MWAFRIKA

Can you answer the query from Mama Wendz?

@ XSK
This is the sad reality of life. In this situation the woman -now dominant partner- has the capacity to sink the marriage if she becomes petulant due to lack of wisdom. A wise woman is as rare as an intelligent pro-yes politician.

Consider what a nasty experience it is to have a woman boss: all the drama, the emotional roller coaster, decisions made on the basis of 'feelings' and that sort of nonsense and a complete inability to make coldly logical decisions. These are the hallmarks of feminine tyranny.

Therefore, that marriage will be strained. If the man decides to stay he will be humiliated on a daily basis with decisions being made without him being consulted because 'its my money anyway'. The man will usually lose all self esteem which he shall recover by having mpango-ya-kando with a broke female who will boost his self esteem. Either way the marriage will end but the shell may remain. There will be incidents of violence. If that is your situation, my condolences. Pole sana.

The bible says its better to live in a slum in the middle of the desert in wajir than to be in such a house. And if God is saying run, you better buy rubber shoes.
#28 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 11:25:51 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
2012, so what you are saying is that men should marry 'dumber' girls than themselves?

No, by intellectual I mean learned and book smart not street wise or sharp. The only way you can marry a lady better educated than yourself and be happy is if you are wealthier than she is. I know of a guy bila education who inherited his fathers estate and matatus, he ran down the mats so now he collects rent and sleeps all month. His wife is a lecturer. They are happily married.

PONDI
#29 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 11:38:51 AM

@Mwafrika31 said'..A wise woman is as rare as an intelligent pro-yes politician.'.. hahaha
#30 Posted : Wednesday, July 28, 2010 6:37:55 PM

Personally, I've never seen a happy marriage where the wife earns more than the husband. Maybe there are some out there..Lakini mimi bado sijaona moja.
5 Pages<12345>