wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

MJ retires from Safaricom BOB COLLYMORE takes over from 1st Nov
#41 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 10:44:58 AM

suwan wrote:
VVS...........hate speech- lol...u r campaigning soo hard for MJ..how is that? Anywei Gumo is goon...is he still around ama?
I dare any court to convict me for hate speech against gumo. Anyone who gets rid of gumo deserves a medal!
And that blabbering crook known as moi too... Keeps on saying he will spill the beans! Just fart them out already!
#42 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 10:49:37 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
VVS, how did Gumo get the job if Westie voters are that 'business minded?'

Good question.
Applause Applause Applause Applause

According to Atwoli, Gumo pays his cooks and watchmen Kes. 3000 per month.
Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

#43 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 10:52:01 AM

Surealligator wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Maybe MJ will adopt some of our "peculiar" habits

By the way, we are expecting a baby boy in November and we will name him Michael Joseph.

Are you kidding us? You have to be.
#44 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 10:59:54 AM

And that blabbering crook known as moi too... Keeps on saying he will spill the beans! Just fart them out already!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly VVS, best quip from you yet. When the year ends we'll have to start a 'Quotes of The Year' thread. I'm sure you'll get half the nominations
#45 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 11:03:45 AM

suwan wrote:
VVS...........hate speech- lol...u r campaigning soo hard for MJ..how is that? Anywei Gumo is goon...is he still around ama?
I dare any court to convict me for hate speech against gumo.

VVS you're more wary of the CMA/NSE (who haven't done that much) than of Mzalendo Kibunja, the guy who cost Machage his job?
#46 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 11:10:29 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
VVS, how did Gumo get the job if Westie voters are that 'business minded?'

Good question.

According to Atwoli, Gumo pays his cooks and watchmen Kes. 3000 per month.

I doubt Atwoli pays his workers much higher. By the way, does anyone know if the allegation by Atwoli that Nakumatt was giving its workers a single slice of bread for lunch was true? And still pay them minimum wage?
#47 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 11:14:19 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
suwan wrote:
I dare any court to convict me for hate speech against gumo.

VVS you're more wary of the CMA/NSE (who haven't done that much) than of Mzalendo Kibunja, the guy who cost Machage his job?
MPigs are not on most Kenyans' "Love" list...

I think if the Referendum was:

YES to shoot the MPigs
NO to shoot the MPigs

YES would win by a landslide. Only NO votes would be the MPigs, that marende quack, akiwumi & their families... Even makwere's k-street companions would say YES...

#48 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 11:27:20 AM

I hope the handover is smoother than EABL's and Mr Bob doesn't start goofing like the good Mr Adetu who's first act on the throne was to dump Tusker Safari 7s, not a very good start especially with the consistent, continual decline in profitability.

#49 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 11:31:13 AM

Even makwere's k-street companions would say YES...

#50 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 11:35:01 AM

[/quote]
I doubt Atwoli pays his workers much higher. By the way, does anyone know if the allegation by Atwoli that Nakumatt was giving its workers a single slice of bread for lunch was true? And still pay them minimum wage?[/quote]

Those allegations are totally baseless I have worked with a company based in Nakumat malls and we usually used to Eat what Nakumatt staff ate and this was the menu

9.00am -3slices of bread and unlimited cups of tea

1.00pm -Mon,wed,thur(vegetable + ugali) Tue(chapati+beans)friday(rice + beans/peas)

4.00pm - 3slices of bread and unlimited cups of tea.

chrismas - chicken

Although the nakumatt staff are not paid as well as they could have wanted their salary scale is better compared to what they would have gotten else where with the level of education they have..
#51 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 11:42:32 AM

If you don't like your job... QUIT...

Nakumatt employees seem a lot better off than the poor chaps working in quarries or those goldmines...

The worst paid are the girls brought in from the villages & used as maids in Nairobi's middle-class homes! They have to sleep on the floor in the store-rooms or kitchens. The employers turn the SQs into rooms to rent!

Very common in Sukari, Buru, Doonholm...
#52 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 11:50:09 AM

selah, damn! Can you get me a job at Nakumatt?smile VVS, true. But if the govt. enacts legislation on minimum wage, shouldn't it be followed? And companies that break the rules punished?
#53 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 12:00:23 PM

MJ should take up Dual Citizenship if YES wins.
Then stand as MP for Westlands. He will WIN. Hands down. The Westie voters are 'business-minded' & middle-upper class & he is who they like in Parliament.

I would vote for MJ for President as well. At the minimum he can become a Minister for Transport, Medical Services, Aviation, etc [I can't see him being appointed to Telecommunications coz of conflict of interest]

@Vitu..most voters in westlands are the lunjes living in dagoretti..think again
#54 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 12:13:07 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
selah, damn! Can you get me a job at Nakumatt?smile VVS, true. But if the govt. enacts legislation on minimum wage, shouldn't it be followed? And companies that break the rules punished?
The worst offenders are the 'working women' in middle-class suburbs. They treat the help like crap! Sad...

Even the farmhands would rather work for multi-nationals than the politicians! Yet these politicians claim the multi-nationals do not pay fair wages!
#55 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 12:22:56 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

This supermarkets rely on those on the payroll to recruit new staff.Like where I was stationed most of the employees seemed to come from the same area.

With the issue of MJ I think every CEO has his own weaknesses I once heard MJ say he nearly brought safaricom to its death bed when he made a catastrophic decision of offering free calls promotion.

He explained that due to peculiar calling habits ,every one called at the same time overloading their system If it was not for his technical guys who blocked most of the calls ,Safaricom could have crashed.
wa P
#56 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 12:45:37 PM

Somebody here said that the nationality of new CEO is irrelevant.

I strongly disagree.

Appointing Bob Call y more (sic), with all due respect to his unknown self, is a serious demotivator to Kenyan mothers.

Hawawezi zaa a CEO of most profitable company in Kenya?

Just curious - Telecom firms in Kenya never appoint locals at the helm. Remember Vandecrook of Kencell, Rehe Meza (or something like that) of Zain; Bharti already appointed a barabarache something for Africa, Yu has Chandrakabrabrabra... and Telcom: a 'pitre' replaced another 'pitre'.

We may not care about all those, but with Safaricom, hiyo ni yetu. We ought to feel thoroughly scandalized.
#57 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 12:54:16 PM

wa P wrote:
Appointing Bob Call y more (sic), with all due respect to his unknown self, is a serious demotivator to Kenyan mothers.

I think it's a matter of opinion coz I really don't mind Bob. I'd rather someone hired by vodacom to take care of vodacom's interests because that way I know my interests are also taken care of too. They have every right to appoint whomever they deem fit.
I'm not saying there are no Kenyans suited for that position (and maybe they've looked around) but in this sector you are better of with someone who has experience from running a similar outfit.

Kamaa
#58 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 12:55:04 PM

@ wa P

want to start a 'haki yetu' thing?
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
mozenrat
#59 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 1:06:00 PM

wa P wrote:
We may not care about all those, but with Safaricom, hiyo ni yetu. We ought to feel thoroughly scandalized.

yenu? wewe na nani? Gather together enough shareholders holding a percentage greater than Vodaphone's then you can start claiming ni yenu...

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

and while gathering them.. count me and my measly shares out.. I happen to think Collymore was an excellent candidate.. and he is not unknown.. He's been serving on the board for the longest time. Kwani umekuwa wapi.

I don't want my investment run by a "Kenyan" or an "African" or a "European".. I want it run by the best hata kama ni Khoisan...

FYI... Kenyans WERE running Safaricom.. When it was a dept in Telkom.. Fine Job they did.. Hata Kencell walikuwa wanawashinda..
wa P
#60 Posted : Friday, July 23, 2010 1:09:07 PM

@mozerat, @kamaa

Wake up, today is Friday