wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

7 Pages<12345>»
Equity - a politically risky stock time to sell
#41 Posted : Sunday, July 11, 2010 7:13:28 PM

I took profits at 23.50 previously, on the advise of @mukiha, and cant wait to get back in at sub 22.50. So as you debate on the political risks, I will also open an MKesho account which offers a much better deal than the KCB Mapato account (with KCB Connect) which I currently have. The Mapato account has never paid me an interest, charges a ledger fee of ksh 200 when the balance goes below ksh 50,000 (thats a Savings Account for you). KCB Connect also charges ksh 70 to move cash to MPesa, while MKesho will charge only ksh 30.
qw25041985
#42 Posted : Sunday, July 11, 2010 7:22:11 PM

Technically. Let wait 4 equity where it came from ksh 19.00 . I am also thinking of openin an mkesho a/c .
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
yekeyeke
#43 Posted : Monday, July 12, 2010 10:59:15 AM

Okay @ youcantstopusnow.

I think it would be good for waithaka to start a post on how the referendum will make mabati raoling mills suffer due to the perseption that its controlled by a certaiun community in kenya. Or wy not discuss Bidco or unilever or even bradways bakeries. Who knows if NO wins maybe people will stop eating their bread.

Hii mambo ya kupiga the Gikuyu comminuty ni bure kabisa.

@ Waitahaka. May be you need to read the below info on this link.....
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kikuyu_people

What would make you think that kikuyu bashing is all the craze? This will not in crease sufuria s of ugali in any plate.

LEts all work to build our country and stop this non-sence. Just because there is a perseption that the people are hardworking, no one should be hating.
#44 Posted : Monday, July 12, 2010 11:11:31 AM

@yekeyeke -

In 2008, it was the (mostly) innocent (mostly) Kikuyu/GEMA farmers in RV. In Kisumu, many shops (I think mostly Asian-owned) were destroyed/looted like Ukwala... BUT by far & large it was the Kikuyu/GEMA who bore the brunt... and mostly in RV... We can't have a repeat of that...

Asian businesses often suffer during election years due to political posturing & xenophobia. Think Serena (TPSEA). Even when there are no elections e.g. 1982 coup...

I betcha the next group to be targeted will be 'White' businesses mainly farms in 2012...

IMHO you missed @Waithaka's point coz MRM, Bidco or Broadway are NOT public companies so we can't directly invest in them while Equity is public so I am directly affected...

I believe Equity Bank is no longer a "Kikuyu" bank in its reach & breadth though the top 10 ownership reads otherwise... but that is expected coz it was started in Central less than 20 years ago...
yekeyeke
#45 Posted : Monday, July 12, 2010 11:45:04 AM

@ VituVingi

May be i am wrong, but are you stating that there is something wrong with anyone from central region/ GEMA stating a business?

Anyone from any part of the country can start a business and convinve the rest of the citizens to invest in it, if its a good business. What i am agains is this persetion being pedled around that its wrong for anyone from GEMA to start a business and if and when they do, they will always be labled tribalists and made to suffer when ever there are political events in the country.

Broadways, mabati and bidco will affect you should these events happen. Where will you get your bread, or roofing material or Kimbo from?

Remember that during the PEV of 2008, we could not even get to buy milk, meat and sukuma from the estate shop as these had been closed and or could not get supplies.

Tuanche siasa ya kumalizana.

#46 Posted : Monday, July 12, 2010 11:52:20 AM

@yekeyeke - I apologize if I didn't get my message across...
I think the balkanization in Kenya is WRONG but there seems to be an unfair bias against Kikuyus (it used to be Whites, then Asians) coz of the 'leaders' we have...
Remember 2007 election was often seen as GEMA vs 'rest of Kenyans'...

BTW, 80% of the Mama Mbogas who come to my estate are Kikuyu... Yes, I am like you... there was little food available immediately PEV 2008... I am lucky there is a large Nakumatt+Uchumi nearby... We stocked up on tinned + packaged foods!
Wa_ithaka
#47 Posted : Monday, July 12, 2010 12:17:23 PM

"Kuringana noria ndirona, Equity, tondu andu aingi maugaga niya Gikuyu nikagwa mwisho wa mweri uyu tugikia kura ya referendum"

Yekeyeke the above is a translation of this post for you. There seems to be a language barrier-thing going on here.

Btw, it’s good to hear you are such a patriot and love your tribe so much. Are you involved in any of the initiatives to help IDPs? If not, we are doing a project to raise around Ksh7m so we can buy land in Laikipia for some of the IDPs in Kipkelion and Molo. Leave your email address and I'll send you details
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
yekeyeke
#48 Posted : Monday, July 12, 2010 2:13:13 PM

@ Waithaka. I amy or may not be Gikuyu but IDP settlements is the work on Kibaki and his givenment as i already paid my taxes.
#49 Posted : Monday, July 12, 2010 11:03:42 PM

This share seems to have found stability at around 22-23 levels. If there was ever a time to get in, i would say it would be now. Of course if al-shabaab were to have other plans, that would change everything, and not just for equity...
#50 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 1:29:57 AM

I would not be upset if someone 'accidentally' dropped a low-grade nuclear bomb on somalia... Those guys have been nothing but trouble for us from supporting shiftas to smuggling to al-qaeda to violent demonstrations!

I hope our Kenyan Somali brothers can help us keep the somalian somalis out of Kenya!
winston
#51 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 2:09:04 PM

And on their way back from somalia drop another one on our mpigs!
#52 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 3:42:42 PM

winston wrote:
Even better, give our MPigs to the somalis. It will cause them even more damage!
qw25041985
#53 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 5:03:36 PM

@vvs. When u were preparing for the post pev damage that was to come.stacking up on those food stuffs and canned foods it never occurd to you at the corner most corner of your mind that Olympia Holdings and Everready were junk stocks and that you shld keep off from your portfolio. Hahahahahahaha .
winston
#54 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 6:34:17 PM

winston wrote:
Even better, give our MPigs to the somalis. It will cause them even more damage!

#55 Posted : Tuesday, July 13, 2010 6:45:13 PM

winston wrote:

Our MPigs are deadly... They can even bankrupt Germany + Switzerland + China... All at once!
erifloss
#56 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 1:50:25 AM

I'm new on this forum, its nice and very enlightening. On this topic, i'd prefer KCB and NIC to Equity as a good investment option. Why?
1. A large proportion of a financial institution's income is from interest which is mostly accrued and not received as of the time of closing the books. Thus as an ordinary shareholder and a depositor, protection lies with the fixed assets of the the company. Apart from the building at upperhill, what other assets does it hold? (others would argue vehicles 'depreciated in 5yrs', other branch buildings 'leased, the asset being the lease and not the building') the other assets 'investments' are held at market value dependent on fluctuations. Check its FS.
2. Remember the recession, the industry and who it affected, does lehman brothers, citigroup sound familiar....
3. If say i just pass more than 5billion through your bank every month, hw much would you make in interest if you invested it in a risk free investment. Who's got the financial muscle to have that kind of cash? 'political risk'
3. What would you rather have, 1million people with a cashflow of 10,000 pm or 10,000 people with a cashflow of1million pm in an economy where still more than half the populatiom lives under the poverty line and month on month inflation at times rises to 10%?
4. When you think of asset financing NIC and DTB comes to mind, corporate banking CBA, BBK, Stanchart, Stanbic, low int. corp loans citibank. Equity tried and failed. Sustainability.
5. If you started a business today, why would you go to equity? Is it to get a loan or for other services? And when your business expands would you stick with them?
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
qw25041985
#57 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 2:03:08 AM

@vvs. Hahahaha.Ur mpigs can cause another credit crunch by suckin up all the worlds money. And i hav seen you hav evaded my comment ,it must be really painful. Next tym speculate wisely.
#58 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 2:56:04 AM

qw, I don't really get how you can be delighted that VVS or any one for that matter 'lost' money. Notice that you are the only person shouting yourself hoarse about it for weeks now. What is your motivation? We are not in competition with anyone. How come you don't mention great picks like kplc or even wtk? Such gloating comments such as 'must be painful' are unwarranted. Anyone has the freedom to buy whatever shares he/she wishes. Kama mtu anataka kuchukua loan anunue eveready, fine by me. Kutoka leo tumalize hii mambo.
#59 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 3:43:24 AM

erifloss wrote:
I'm new on this forum, its nice and very enlightening. On this topic, i'd prefer KCB and NIC to Equity as a good investment option. Why?
1. A large proportion of a financial institution's income is from interest which is mostly accrued and not received as of the time of closing the books. Thus as an ordinary shareholder and a depositor, protection lies with the fixed assets of the the company. Apart from the building at upperhill, what other assets does it hold? (others would argue vehicles 'depreciated in 5yrs', other branch buildings 'leased, the asset being the lease and not the building') the other assets 'investments' are held at market value dependent on fluctuations. Check its FS.
2. Remember the recession, the industry and who it affected, does lehman brothers, citigroup sound familiar....
3. If say i just pass more than 5billion through your bank every month, hw much would you make in interest if you invested it in a risk free investment. Who's got the financial muscle to have that kind of cash? 'political risk'
3. What would you rather have, 1million people with a cashflow of 10,000 pm or 10,000 people with a cashflow of1million pm in an economy where still more than half the populatiom lives under the poverty line and month on month inflation at times rises to 10%?
4. When you think of asset financing NIC and DTB comes to mind, corporate banking CBA, BBK, Stanchart, Stanbic, low int. corp loans citibank. Equity tried and failed. Sustainability.
5. If you started a business today, why would you go to equity? Is it to get a loan or for other services? And when your business expands would you stick with them?

erifloss, focussing on the mass market is an almost sure way of making money, and not only in banking. That is how equity rose in the game. It is sentiments exactly like yours (i.e. would you rather have 1 million people with a cashflow...) that made equity hot on the heels of 'corporate' banks such as barclays.
#60 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 10:31:26 AM

@youcant - Asante lakini usijali... I have ZERO eveready coz I dont buy merali firms including sasini & sameer...

I have not sold my Olympia until I go to the AGM... So not a huge loss except for ego + opportunity cost...

And thankfully the non-speculative investments in KK, KPLC & KPLC have done me so much, much, much better than Olympia paper losses!