wazua Fri, Feb 7, 2025

9 Pages<12345>»
KCB rights issue
Wa_ithaka
#41 Posted : Monday, May 10, 2010 10:24:16 AM

KCB intends to raise Ksh21bn over the next few years.
Ksh15bn via issue of 1.1bn shares through the rights issue.
KSh6bn presumambly from the bond.
Based on the above, I'd say an entry price of Ksh12 is appropriate given that you won't get a return on the Ksh15bn for 3 years at least
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
PKoli
#42 Posted : Monday, May 10, 2010 10:39:16 AM

@Waithaka

That is a massive share dilution especially given the fact that KCB has a very large free float of shares. I will have to do my math and exit. will wait for it to behave the safcom way during listing else I am sure the stock will trade in the current price of equity. No fundamental analysis, just looking at similar banks with similar number of shares and relative profitability being slightly similar. I guess it will trade at around 18 bob ex-dividend.

Happy hunting pals
mkonomtupu
#43 Posted : Tuesday, May 11, 2010 8:42:50 AM

19.75 cum-div and still going south. If it settles around 18 bob ex-dividend the rights price will be 10 bob
I wonder what the Plan B is if the rights issue flops.
winston
#44 Posted : Tuesday, May 11, 2010 9:52:30 AM

When is the rights prospectus being released?
#45 Posted : Tuesday, May 11, 2010 10:01:06 AM

I'll wait for it at 11-12bob. As for CFC... damn!

PKoli
#46 Posted : Tuesday, May 11, 2010 10:07:29 AM

Not sure empty hand. May be KCB management will try to buy time and hope that the share will make some recovery..or try to make some strategic announcement..like Sudan branches performing well bla bla bla..
PKoli
#47 Posted : Tuesday, May 11, 2010 10:22:23 AM

@2012.

At a price of 10-12 for KCB ex rights, I bet you will have to wait a little longer. It is not a bank on the brink of collapsing. I can see today, demand is coming in. we are seing a demand of 800,000 against supply of almost 2m. This is contrast to yesterday's demand of about 150,000 against a supply of almost 2m. I doubt the price will ebb below 18!

#48 Posted : Tuesday, May 11, 2010 2:54:52 PM

I'll wait for it at 11-12bob.

@2012 i dont think this stock can go down that far otherwise it would be a serious market misjudgement...

right now this stock is being heavily sold mostly by fatigued retail investors who have no money or interest to take up their rights and are not ready to face dilution of their stock...

if it can go down to 18.5 i see tremendous medium term value even from a dividend point of view so i will get in at that level and average down my buy price with the rights issue...
the deal
#49 Posted : Tuesday, May 11, 2010 3:45:14 PM

definitely this counter is oversold...get in if u have money for the rights and if prepared to wait for another 2 years...lakini cfc even @ 54 is cheap...then theres NIC...EQUITY...I'm spoiled for choices...LOL.
PKoli
#50 Posted : Wednesday, May 12, 2010 8:41:21 AM

For the doubting Thomases, today KCB demand and supply have almost evened out. Like I predicted yesterday the price is unlikely to go lower than 19. May be 21 would be a better price and after issuing of bonus it will drop to may be 18 and thereafter move to the 20s.
slykat
#51 Posted : Friday, May 14, 2010 2:10:26 PM

Seems like some institution is mopping KCB up with a view to taking up its issue rights.
Wa_ithaka
#52 Posted : Friday, May 14, 2010 2:26:13 PM

Sometimes, peeps need to be aware that even the brokers under their IB hats trade in this market.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
mkonomtupu
#53 Posted : Monday, June 07, 2010 8:07:18 AM

CMA gave approval for the rights issue on the 3rd June 2010.
Books close on the 14th June 2010.
#54 Posted : Monday, June 07, 2010 8:38:20 PM

reported that the books close this friday! analysts predict a price of KES 13.00 wit a 2:5 ratio.. time to let money talk and see if this will be a success. based on q1 results, im buying!!!

COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
young
#55 Posted : Monday, June 07, 2010 10:37:14 PM

Mzee Obioro,

From the info I got, Q1 result of KCB was dismal compared to EB etc. I think it is a buy for a very long term (3 years up) otherwise short term investors should sale off and buy back post rights if the counter is still attractive to them.

See below :-

April 29 (Reuters) - Kenya Commercial Bank's (KCB.NR) pretax profit rose to 1.9 billion shillings ($24.5 million) in the first quarter of 2010 from 1.73 billion in the same period the previous year, the bank said on Thursday.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
niando
#56 Posted : Tuesday, June 08, 2010 7:48:15 AM

Young , what would you advise a person who entered at Ksh 29 in July 2008? sell at a loss then re-acquire them post bonus?
For bookkeeping and bank loan interest recalculation try us:niando.becia@gmail.com
#57 Posted : Tuesday, June 08, 2010 7:55:07 AM

reported that the books close this friday! analysts predict a price of KES 13.00 wit a 2:5 ratio.. time to let money talk and see if this will be a success. based on q1 results, im buying!!!

If KCB plans to raise 15B from sale of 887M shares, then simple maths points at a price of 17Bob per share not 13Bob.
#58 Posted : Tuesday, June 08, 2010 10:13:12 AM

it appears my sources wr seemingly wrong

COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
mkonomtupu
#59 Posted : Tuesday, June 08, 2010 12:30:46 PM

If KCB plans to raise 15B from sale of 887M shares, then simple maths points at a price of 17Bob per share not 13Bob.[/quote]

@Mwenza, KCB planned to issue 1.1B shares to raise 15B, CMA however only approved issue of 887M shares, obviously protecting the investors from the dilution. This is a good one CMAApplause
I wonder how these business journalists are not getting this point. Let's wait for Tuesday for the price announcement but I think 13.6 looks feasible.
#60 Posted : Tuesday, June 08, 2010 1:04:10 PM

If 13.60Bob is feasible, then they should forget about raising 15B from the rights issue.