SME
Finance
HOW DID YOU START?
When you are evaluating pple lets look for some yardsticks i.e debt to credit ratio,Assets and Liabilities etc,i.e for the Citi Hopa case
'Excellence is to do a common thing in uncommon way' - Booker T Washington
@DaveM; Do you have the Citi Hoppa figures? Or,better still,Thuo's personal figures? Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow) Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
@Mukhia
Thuo figures .If he has 4 buses which he co -owns with CMC thats to me he hasnt made it yet
'Excellence is to do a common thing in uncommon way' - Booker T Washington
@DaveM; The four were the ones that he started with,and cleared their loans withing two years. I interviewed his wife,Judy,in early 2007 for a project that I was involved in and at the time she produced evidence that they owned 120 buses clean with no loans. They were negotiating for an additional 30....That was almost three years ago; I don't know the status today Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow) Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
While some will be jealous about your progress,you keep moving on. Some will even call you a devil worshipper,but that should not stop you.
For those who want to start to achieve their dreams,well,there is only one way: Start small!
tash
Lakini huyo kijana Mike! Kwani yu guyz dont unga ina pesa? Hey Mukiha kwani yu just believed all dat Judy said without questioning? Tell me where Dolphin bus come in! The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Dont believe those fairy tales that you hear,eti I started with a bicycle then a pick up then lorries etc or nilipata dollars kwa nguo za mtumba.Its clear that most big shots have sold their souls to Satan to achieve wealth!!
paid in full
We broke up,
With me gal and l bought 100 shares of Access Kenya @ 15 bob(Money i had intended to use to impress her)
Now,I am a major player in this numbers game.
I concur to how Eric Kimani difines success 'True success in my humble view is achieving your goals and in the process finding fulfillment. The measure of true success is looking back at your life at the age of 80 and saying a resounding 'yes I lived a successful life'. If we accept that true success is fulfillment,then we will not have a problem accepting that there are very successful people living in Kibera and Mathare slums as there are in the up-market Runda and Muthaiga.' read more of this on http://www.erickimani.or...amp;task=view&id=25 Samsa and all,take it your pace,if you wish to be like another person. you are likely not to make it. Smooth
@McReggae; Read my post again....'she produced evidence that they owned 120 buses clean with no loans.....' Dolphin was started by a KBS manager during the tenure of Thuo. The said manager had consulted Thuo about the venture and was advised to look at his [the manager's] employment contract to see whether there was any prohibition of entering into the psv business. As it turned out,there wasn't and so he started the company. This manager had approached Thuo several times to join in as a partner.....since Thuo's contract also had no prohibition...but Thuo had declined each time. When Thuo was fired from KBS,he was approached again and this time he agreed on one condition only; that he would be the majority shareholder. Thus he took up a 60% stake in the company. At this time there was no Citi Hoppa. Thuo was making a leaving as the commercial director of Tread Setters Ltd among other companies. Then the push to clear up the housing loan came................the rest is in my previous post.......... Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow) Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
@Mukiha,
Your pal can purchase a tanker which he can later convert to an exhauster....it will come in handy after the rains i.e there will be plenty of cheap food.........
@Chaka; You don't have to own a vehicle to enter the road transport business!!! Tibett & Britten sold off all their lorries and they still remained one of the largest transporters in the country. KBS does not own a single bus today; yet they are one of the largest commuter service providers in Nairobi. PM Mashru was already a large long distance transporter by the time they bought their first truck. This is the reason why I get shocked when I hear younger people complain that they are not able to do business because the don't have venture capital. As I wrote earlier: three things are needed,viz,capital,idea,and customers. The most important is customers. Without them you are going nowhere. Next comes a new idea,but you can do without it...by the time the water delivery guy was starting,there were very many others doing that business. Capital comes a distant third. And if you start with capital,you have a 99.5% chance of failure!!!!! Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow) Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
let me hijack this thread abit,when I moved to buru,I heard vybes that this Mike dude had some connections with the magaryan (sp) + unga and stuff... alafu ati the 'mark muga' song was dedicated to him,bout his economic downfall,later in an interview the song was not made for him but that musician ('ngosss im forgetting his name')
so me analysis is that it was just rumours spread by haters.
Usichoke kutafuta salary
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/20/2008 Posts: 1,126 Location: Nairobi
@ brav I don't know about the unga thing. The 'Mac Muga' song was a rumour for sure coz even if you hear the story of Ali Kiba's song Mac Munga is a poor guy while Mike Munga is a tycoon. I know one of his conductors,so the Margaryan story is also a rumour,he just loved using their photos as a signature of his mats. What Reiner was saying is that Mike earns an honest living,and that..... I don't know whether to call it a rumour or sugarcoating...one thing that everyone in Buru knows for sure is that he has got a no. of cops on his payroll.... and this even Mike does not hide When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives. JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Rank: New-farer Joined: 4/3/2010 Posts: 14 Location: Miami, Florida
Even here in the US, those of us kenyans who are really ambitious, especially the ones wanting to rudi back to kenya being 'millionaires' realize that kuiba ni lazima. And I can tell u of atleast 10 stories of wakenya kupita na dollars za wazungu employers, then sending it back to the motherland to advance their own personal ambitions. One fellow i know, 'wainaina' crossed with $314,000 and hepad to Nairobi. That woz 3 years ago, now he's got sum flats on mombasa road and is building a small hotel in coasto.
@Jkwaititu; kuiba si lazima!!! Stealing is just plain wrong; it's illegal; it's a sin before God. I am shocked at the way people glorify theft....and then complain bitterly when their property is stolen! Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
I believe its all in your mind. If you believe that you have to steal,bribe..etc to make it,then that will sadly be your driving force. You will wait for the opportunity to steal,in the hope of making it big. But if you believe that you can earn an honest living and still make it in the long run..then am certain you will make it,and make it big. Life is what you make it. It all starts in your mind. Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
Jkwaititu wrote:... One fellow i know, 'wainaina' crossed with $314,000 and hepad to Nairobi. That woz 3 years ago, now he's got sum flats on mombasa road and is building a small hotel in coasto.
Just keep a very close eye on this 'wainaina" and at the end u'll come to know kuiba ni kujitia maradhi yasio kuwa na tiba....Ona mwisho wake Ni Uhuru wa Mbesha...Niguo kana tiguo?
What is wrong with you guys....what happened to "THOU SHALL NOT JUDGE" why are you comparing yourselves to others, quoting the Bible selectively? You don't know everything about other people's circumstances or life experiences and can't possibly be in a position to evaluate them. BTW according to my understanding the Bible refers to the RICH in general, doesn't matter how you obtained your wealth.
Whoever envies another confesses his superiority. ~Samuel Johnson, The Rambler
SME
Finance
HOW DID YOU START?