Alba wrote:The likes of Kadenge ended up living in poverty largely due to exploitation. In those days Moi and Jomo would award cash prices to sports achievers. But the money would disappear into the pockets of officials before it ever made it to the intended recipient. Players were often forbidden from endorsements and prize money unless sports bigwigs got a cut.
Things have improved but slightly.
Even recently at the 2016 Olympics, NOCK officials went home with millions of Ksh each while the team went without uniforms, lived in a squalid hotel and technical staff had to beg for food.
Joe Kadenge served as Team manager of Harambee stars in the late 80's when Arap Moi would perform the ritual of pepeta-ing the ball 10 times before the start of Harambee stars matches and then lift his rungu to cheering masses. This implies that he was one of the officials that exploited akina Peter Dawo, Sammy Onyango Jogoo, George Zangi Okello, David Kamongo Ochieng etc...If you look at those photos, you will see he was mtu round fupi an indicator that life was good.
What Kenya should do is educate these sportspeople, actors, musician how to make hay while the sun shines ...they should be made to understand early in their careers that Kenyan taxpayers owe them nothing because every Kenyan i believe is trying to make ends meet and it is not easy.
Hii culture ya reparations should end immediately otherwise the likes of Mbusi-deh, Mbonokoh-deh and Githeri-man and any other random man or woman might blame my kids for not taking care of them in the future just because they coined the term "Kuhololiwa" or "Kadenge na mpira" or played for Harambee stars that never won any notable honors etc. Afterall, Kadenge has never lifted AFCON or major football cup in Africa(CECAFA sio okombe). The only people who have brought glory are Shujaa(kenya 7's),Gor Mahia, Eliud Kipchoge and a host of other athletes who have broken world records and dominated races such as the 3000m steeplechase to the extent of it known as the "Kenyan race" worldwide.
Kenya must lift the bar of what national glory is, and define clearly with no uncertain terms who a national hero is. Again, i reiterate my respect for the man for being an elder and his contribution in nation building just as i respect wazuans who wake up early everyday to build the nation and create employment for two or three Kenyans hapa na pale etc.
Ni hayo tu kwa sasa.
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money