3 Pages<123
Taking the Village out of the Villager
#41 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2019 1:03:03 AM

hamburglar wrote:
We really really really really need to ban these stupid retrogressive mother tongue languages. They add zero value to our country and are one of the biggest reason for hate amongst Kenyans. I lived in the States for a long long time and the tribalism there is probably tenfold that in Kenya. It is unbelievably TOXIC. Around election times people stop talking to each other and in some extreme cases, form tribal groups that meet over the weekends at their fellow tribesmen houses to incite each other. Absolute takataka. Tribes and mother tongues are very primitive and people who insist of grouping themselves along tribal lines in a cosmopolitan setting are the worst. Then you see the same people complaining about racism in the West yet they were busy conducting a church service in their mother tongue on Sunday. You can’t comprehend the level of stupidity in some people. Complete bunch of morons.

It's not easy but it can be done. None of my kids speak my mother tongue. Their grandma complained until she gave up. Their friends are from all over.
For me, it is simply a practical decision. For the 40-plus years I have been alive, not a single door or opportunity has been opened for me on account of my ability to speak kikuyu or being a kikuyu. Actually, several doors have been slammed shut because of being a kikuyu.

I would rather my kids learn French, Spanish, german, Chinese and sign language rather than kikuyu. I also keep hoping they marry outside the tribe.

This cultural identity is a very abstract concept to me.

Shindwe! What kind of a man hates his tribe and culture - which includes language? You are KIKUYU FIRST before you are Kenyan. You do not loose your kikuyuness just because a mzungu came to your village 100yrs ago and told you that kikuyus and surrounding tribes will now be called kenyans.

Also which kind of father wishes that his kids marry outside so that his tribe and culture can be wiped off the face of the earth. Bure kabisa.

Like I said, I am a practical man. If I can see a benefit of either the langauge or the culture, I will do the necessary. For now I haven't. After being around for 40-plus years.

All my friends have joined and been inducted in the "kiama". I explained on the other thread after the PCEA banned them, that I haven't for the same simple reason. Haven't seen the actual benefit of getting inducted.
#42 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2019 11:18:27 AM

Others are busy speaking and learning your language but some confused people around here are hating their own language.

sitaki.kujulikana
#43 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2019 6:11:16 PM

I am yet to see people communicating in their mother tongue hapa, ama kunaenda aje.
#44 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2019 6:27:19 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
I am yet to see people communicating in their mother tongue hapa, ama kunaenda aje.

Really? There have been posts in kiuk, many. Even whole threads!!!
#45 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2019 11:14:45 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Maheni!
sitaki.kujulikana
#46 Posted : Friday, July 26, 2019 12:25:58 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

mimi sijaona kwa hii post, would have thought if one is very proud of their language they would always use the same, lakini naona guys defending vernacular using english, which I find odd
sitaki.kujulikana
#47 Posted : Friday, July 26, 2019 12:28:47 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Maheni!

mani uvorandi mba, inzi ndolaza vandu vahandika rusungu za
#48 Posted : Friday, July 26, 2019 11:26:51 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Ichiyo nade jaber?
Julie
#49 Posted : Friday, July 26, 2019 12:21:21 PM

Nǐ zài shuō shénme wǒ de nánrén?
Wéiyī de wèntí shì nǐ bù huì lǐjiě wǒmen zài shuō shénme.
#50 Posted : Friday, July 26, 2019 12:54:00 PM

I am not kiuk.

I have no problem with kikuyu's conducting a church service in the US in Kiuk, its a personl choice. When you think about it, its really not that different from a bar/club that plays Luo/Kikuyu/Congolese music

However, the clear message they send when doing this is that non kiuks are not invited.

What I find amazing is that they would want to do this or that they even get an audience.

In an environment like the US, chances are that there are many intertribal/racial/country interactions and someone who does not understand kiuk will always pop into the church. Its obviously awkward every time they have to tell this person that the service is for a closed club of Kikuyu speakers only.

Ama its Akorino sect, are there Akorinos in the US