Homeownership Journey. Smart man.
wukan
#41 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2018 5:16:21 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
Fanisi Capital pumps 400m into dustbowl

https://www.businessdail...8416-14xmqaw/index.html

Funny how some say dust is the only mainstay of our beloved dustbowl. These companies do not just pump money ovyo ovyo without research. They know where the middle and upper middle classes are fanning into as they leave Nairobi core.

You left the urban core like Ngara for low income earners, students, hawkers, street urchins and whores.

In the 80s, Ngara was a middle-class estate. It was clean, there was ample playgrounds and parking spaces and the sewerage system was working.

Ngara is now less appealing even to investors, as hundreds of hawkers crowd the streets, and kiosks and makeshift garages mushroom on access roads.

The estate has deteriorated as others located near the central business district such as Upper Hill, Parklands and Westlands sprout with skyscrapers. Property prices also have stagnated and a number of buildings are vacant.
https://www.businessdail...59216-k98ea2/index.html

The article says a 3 br house goes for as low as 15m in Ngara? No way that can be true. That would be a great bargain worth the long term risk!

I keep telling you there are bargains in this city better than your beloved dustbowl.
iris
#42 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2018 5:29:00 PM

wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
Fanisi Capital pumps 400m into dustbowl

https://www.businessdail...8416-14xmqaw/index.html

Funny how some say dust is the only mainstay of our beloved dustbowl. These companies do not just pump money ovyo ovyo without research. They know where the middle and upper middle classes are fanning into as they leave Nairobi core.

You left the urban core like Ngara for low income earners, students, hawkers, street urchins and whores.

In the 80s, Ngara was a middle-class estate. It was clean, there was ample playgrounds and parking spaces and the sewerage system was working.

Ngara is now less appealing even to investors, as hundreds of hawkers crowd the streets, and kiosks and makeshift garages mushroom on access roads.

The estate has deteriorated as others located near the central business district such as Upper Hill, Parklands and Westlands sprout with skyscrapers. Property prices also have stagnated and a number of buildings are vacant.
https://www.businessdail...59216-k98ea2/index.html

The article says a 3 br house goes for as low as 15m in Ngara? No way that can be true. That would be a great bargain worth the long term risk!

I keep telling you there are bargains in this city better than your beloved dustbowl.

Wukan, do you mind sharing how to spot these bargains?
MugundaMan
#43 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2018 7:20:35 AM

Did my research on the area since jana. That author of the article is smoking some serious bangi.
There is nowhere in Ngara where you can get a plot of ANY size for less that 80-100m. So how can a 3br house be going for 15m unless it is sitting in the sky!
Bure ghabisa author, I was actually getting excited about being a potential property owner in Nairobi core Laughing out loudly
Kate_Mbarire
#44 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2018 12:39:51 PM

I have lots of respect for you Wukan BUT there's no house in Ngara at that price....A two bedroom flat in the cleaner areas of Ngara ie NgaraWest a 2bd goes for 11M.

A three bd flat in Agoi road,Desai rd goes for 14 to 15M

MugundaMan
#45 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2018 9:02:45 PM

Kate_Mbarire wrote:
I have lots of respect for you Wukan BUT there's no house in Ngara at that price....A two bedroom flat in the cleaner areas of Ngara ie NgaraWest a 2bd goes for 11M.

Indeed. For 15m I can buy me a serious plot in dustbowl and build me a mini mansion that will be worth 10 times as much in under a decade, and still have change to spare. And I do not have to battle with "apartment committee" meetings where service charge defaulters do not show up and the guards go on strike for not being paid on time! It is close to impossible these days to find one (committee) that works efficiently. Some apartment owners even go "in hiding" and you have to embarrass them by posting a huge board by the gate where their names and amounts owed are listed in giant letters. Or if that does not work by asking the guards lock them out of the gate until they pay up. Or putting a chain around their security doors and locking it up right before they return at night.
Kate_Mbarire
#46 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2018 10:06:23 PM

Yes MugundaMan I agree - in dust bowl you can get better and money's worth...however the traffic and living too far from work(for those employed) means you never getto see the children.etc. too early hours of waking up and late night return home means missing crucial time with family.
#47 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2018 10:52:27 PM

Kate_Mbarire wrote:
Yes MugundaMan I agree - in dust bowl you can get better and money's worth...however the traffic and living too far from work(for those employed) means you never getto see the children.etc. too early hours of waking up and late night return home means missing crucial time with family.

I think each situation is different since not everyone works at the cbd. For those working along mombasa road eg jkia, KQ, bamburi cement, daystar, airtel, ktn etc dustbowl is excellent. There are even some extreme cases eg I know someone who works at kws langata but lives in dustbowl and takes a very short time to get to work via the southern bypass. Another one works at ku on thika rd but lives in dustbowl and gets to work via eastern bypass or new outering rd.
MugundaMan
#48 Posted : Saturday, September 15, 2018 11:10:18 PM

Kate_Mbarire wrote:

I think each situation is different since not everyone works at the cbd. For those working along mombasa road eg jkia, KQ, bamburi cement, daystar, airtel, ktn etc dustbowl is excellent. There are even some extreme cases eg I know someone who works at kws langata but lives in dustbowl and takes a very short time to get to work via the southern bypass. Another one works at ku on thika rd but lives in dustbowl and gets to work via eastern bypass or new outering rd.

And when you are self employed and can work from anywhere (location independent) that's when the true mwenjoyos begin Drool
wukan
#49 Posted : Sunday, September 16, 2018 11:06:22 AM

Kate_Mbarire wrote:

It's not me it's the author of the article. The cheapest houses you can get in that area is around the pangani area for around 18-20m
Kate_Mbarire
#50 Posted : Sunday, September 16, 2018 4:43:40 PM

wukan wrote:
[quote=Kate_Mbarire]I have lots of respect for you Wukan BUT there's no house in Ngara at that price....A two bedroom flat in the cleaner areas of Ngara ie NgaraWest a 2bd goes for 11M.

It's not me it's the author of the article. The cheapest houses you can get in that area is around the pangani area for around 18-20m

Sawa Wukan thank you for the correction...I feverishly await your next real estate postsmilePicking your brains is my next best hobby in Wazua. checked out city view:the developer is a lady newbie with several flats in Kahawa West.Shes going to take down one of those old bungalows in Ngara and put up the bedsitters.]
#51 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2018 8:52:11 AM

@Kate has serious crush on @Wukan ama ni bibi na bwana.
wukan
#52 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2018 3:56:19 PM

@Kate has serious crush on @Wukan ama ni bibi na bwana.

Ona huyu sasa!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Kate_Mbarire
#53 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2018 7:58:03 PM

Sparkly that's too funnyLaughing out loudly .And no I am happily married with many shudren.Yeah I have been following Wukan posts stealthily for some time.Lets share and improve our future and as for me hopefully retire early