Pinch me hard. Is this still Kenya?
tycho wrote:masukuma wrote:I have never understood why people celebrate the demolition of buildings instead of taxing or taking over them... don't they see it as a loss to the collective? it's like killing a child who is a product of some bad sexual relation. Should the parents be punished - yes! I see people clapping when someone elses 1B goes down the drain instead of thinking... now this guy... tutafanya nini we profit from this thing? If the buildings are being demolished, then there must be a value for its absence. How much is the value? Then we can subtract the 1B and see if there's a profit or loss to the collective. Otherwise, saa hii naona wee ni mtu wa 'yetu'. Pia hizo buildings ni zetu. Si unajua? Masukuma's problem is putting a $$$ value on everything If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:[quote=tycho][quote=masukuma]
Masukuma's problem is putting a $$$ value on everything Don't inconveniences such as flooded roads and traffic jams have a value?
Nchi ni kubwa kuliko sisi binadamu. Kitu tunataka ni amani. Good, sasa enda uondoe mjengo mtoni.
Njunge wrote:Swenani wrote:[quote=tycho][quote=masukuma]
Masukuma's problem is putting a $$$ value on everything Don't inconveniences such as flooded roads and traffic jams have a value? It depends whether you are an economist, affected or not. Is there $$$ value for having fresh air, clean rivers, public spaces, pedestrian ways, clean toilets etc? If you can attach a $$$ value, then Masukuma's point could be valid If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:Njunge wrote:Swenani wrote:[quote=tycho][quote=masukuma]
Masukuma's problem is putting a $$$ value on everything Don't inconveniences such as flooded roads and traffic jams have a value? It depends whether you are an economist, affected or not. Is there $$$ value for having fresh air, clean rivers, public spaces, pedestrian ways, clean toilets etc? If you can attach a $$$ value, then Masukuma's point could be valid Yes, healthwise, Floods and famine? How much can you attach to possible deaths caused? i.am.back!!!!
Seems the guy is unrelenting. Might he be serious this time round? Prosecute officials responsible for allocating riparian land, President Kenyatta. NAIROBI, 9 August 2018, (PSCU) — President Uhuru Kenyatta today asked responsible state agencies to prosecute all government officials found culpable for allocating riparian and public utility land to private developers. At the same time, President Kenyatta supported the ongoing demolition of structures illegally erected on riparian and public utility land saying this is part of the proactive efforts by his administration to decisively deal with runaway corruption in the country. ‘We must discourage corruption and encourage county governments to demolish properties on riparian land,” said President Kenyatta. He added: “We shall go after all those who issued the illegal permits, be they County or National Government officials. All those who gave these permits will be prosecuted.” President Kenyatta was speaking when he officially inaugurated Prism Towers in Upper Hill which is the newest skyscraper in Nairobi. The 34-storey iconic building joins the league of the city’s tallest skyscrapers among them Times Tower (34 storeys), UAP Old Mutual Tower (33) and Britam Tower at 32 storeys. The Head of State noted that structures erected on Nairobi’s riparian lands are responsible for flooding during the rainy seasons that lead to loss of lives and destruction of property as witnessed months ago. On the new skyscraper that takes the design of a prism, the President described the building as an innovative, unique and eye-catching masterpiece that not only adds to the aesthetic value of the city but also projects Nairobi as a progressive city. The landmark building was largely constructed by local experts using locally sourced materials creating thousands of jobs for Kenyans which is in line with President Kenyatta's Big 4 development agenda. President Kenyatta commended the Royal Group of Companies, the developer of the new building, for showing continued confidence in Kenya's growing economy through its investments saying the country encourages clean business. “It is possible to do clean business and create wealth in Kenya,” President Kenyatta said. The Head of State advised investors facing hurdles in the course of their business to directly seek audience with top government officials adding that his administration is working quietly but proactively to ensure that it achieves its objective of eliminating corruption. “We are working quietly.The silent warriors in Government and the private sector will make this country succeed in the fight against corruption,” said President Kenyatta. Commenting on Kenya's real estate market, President Kenyatta said he was encouraged that the country’s property industry remains robust and that the World Bank has rated it the third most developed in Sub-Saharan Africa with assets equivalent to over 2.5 percent of the country’s Gross Domestic Product. The Head of State noted that provisional estimates of the country’s GDP indicates that the economy expanded by an improved 5.7 per cent during the first quarter of 2018 compared to 4.8 per cent in a similar quarter the previous year. “This growth is as a result of the efforts my Government has continued to put in place to enhance economic development,”said President Kenyatta. Turning to his administration's Big-4 development agenda where the construction of 500,000 affordable housing units by 2020 is a top priority, President Kenyatta urged the private sector to partner with the government to turn this goal into reality. “Whereas the focus of the Government will be mainly to develop homes for the citizenry, the role of the Private Sector will be to develop commercial spaces for business enterprises,” said President Kenyatta. Speaking at the event, Nairobi Governor Mike Mbuvi Sonko said the County Government will continue taking action against all structures that flout building laws. Governor Sonko assured Nairobi residents that his government will demolish buildings illegally erected on public utility lands including land reserved for schools, in an effort to “correct mistakes of the past”.
washiku wrote:Seems the guy is unrelenting. Might he be serious this time round? Prosecute officials responsible for allocating riparian land, President Kenyatta. NAIROBI, 9 August 2018, (PSCU) — President Uhuru Kenyatta today asked responsible state agencies to prosecute all government officials found culpable for allocating riparian and public utility land to private developers. At the same time, President Kenyatta supported the ongoing demolition of structures illegally erected on riparian and public utility land saying this is part of the proactive efforts by his administration to decisively deal with runaway corruption in the country. ‘We must discourage corruption and encourage county governments to demolish properties on riparian land,” said President Kenyatta. He added: “We shall go after all those who issued the illegal permits, be they County or National Government officials. All those who gave these permits will be prosecuted.” President Kenyatta was speaking when he officially inaugurated Prism Towers in Upper Hill which is the newest skyscraper in Nairobi. The 34-storey iconic building joins the league of the city’s tallest skyscrapers among them Times Tower (34 storeys), UAP Old Mutual Tower (33) and Britam Tower at 32 storeys. The Head of State noted that structures erected on Nairobi’s riparian lands are responsible for flooding during the rainy seasons that lead to loss of lives and destruction of property as witnessed months ago. On the new skyscraper that takes the design of a prism, the President described the building as an innovative, unique and eye-catching masterpiece that not only adds to the aesthetic value of the city but also projects Nairobi as a progressive city. The landmark building was largely constructed by local experts using locally sourced materials creating thousands of jobs for Kenyans which is in line with President Kenyatta's Big 4 development agenda. President Kenyatta commended the Royal Group of Companies, the developer of the new building, for showing continued confidence in Kenya's growing economy through its investments saying the country encourages clean business. “It is possible to do clean business and create wealth in Kenya,” President Kenyatta said. The Head of State advised investors facing hurdles in the course of their business to directly seek audience with top government officials adding that his administration is working quietly but proactively to ensure that it achieves its objective of eliminating corruption. “We are working quietly.The silent warriors in Government and the private sector will make this country succeed in the fight against corruption,” said President Kenyatta. Commenting on Kenya's real estate market, President Kenyatta said he was encouraged that the country’s property industry remains robust and that the World Bank has rated it the third most developed in Sub-Saharan Africa with assets equivalent to over 2.5 percent of the country’s Gross Domestic Product. The Head of State noted that provisional estimates of the country’s GDP indicates that the economy expanded by an improved 5.7 per cent during the first quarter of 2018 compared to 4.8 per cent in a similar quarter the previous year. “This growth is as a result of the efforts my Government has continued to put in place to enhance economic development,”said President Kenyatta. Turning to his administration's Big-4 development agenda where the construction of 500,000 affordable housing units by 2020 is a top priority, President Kenyatta urged the private sector to partner with the government to turn this goal into reality. “Whereas the focus of the Government will be mainly to develop homes for the citizenry, the role of the Private Sector will be to develop commercial spaces for business enterprises,” said President Kenyatta. Speaking at the event, Nairobi Governor Mike Mbuvi Sonko said the County Government will continue taking action against all structures that flout building laws. Governor Sonko assured Nairobi residents that his government will demolish buildings illegally erected on public utility lands including land reserved for schools, in an effort to “correct mistakes of the past”. Keep going Mr. President, talk less and let us see more action. Hii safari ni ndefu; it is like going to Mombasa, right now you are only in Mlolongo.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Swenani wrote:tycho wrote:masukuma wrote:I have never understood why people celebrate the demolition of buildings instead of taxing or taking over them... don't they see it as a loss to the collective? it's like killing a child who is a product of some bad sexual relation. Should the parents be punished - yes! I see people clapping when someone elses 1B goes down the drain instead of thinking... now this guy... tutafanya nini we profit from this thing? If the buildings are being demolished, then there must be a value for its absence. How much is the value? Then we can subtract the 1B and see if there's a profit or loss to the collective. Otherwise, saa hii naona wee ni mtu wa 'yetu'. Pia hizo buildings ni zetu. Si unajua? Masukuma's problem is putting a $$$ value on everything I wonder if there's a value measure beyond monetary value, and what is valued by that unique measure. And even, how we can have a conversation about it without resorting to violence.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Swenani wrote:Njunge wrote:Swenani wrote:[quote=tycho][quote=masukuma]
Masukuma's problem is putting a $$$ value on everything Don't inconveniences such as flooded roads and traffic jams have a value? It depends whether you are an economist, affected or not. Is there $$$ value for having fresh air, clean rivers, public spaces, pedestrian ways, clean toilets etc?
If you can attach a $$$ value, then Masukuma's point could be valid I think we can calculate the values of the respective 'entities', but we may need a simulator. That way losses may be averted early enough.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
Let Uhuru Kenyatta understand very very well. His legacy will not be he beat "raira charo nefa mbe". We shall judge him based on CORRUPTION. We shall be harsh. I will say this without fear. Property developers are the most corrupt human beings you shall find in Kenya. And they are very adept at the law. In fact they hire a few lawyers some based on Wazua. You steal a piece of land from a primary school. You go to lands office and honga some fella there over nyama choma in Kitengela and bring him a gashungwa to boot. You then head to Nema and you honga a few of those madmen who wear suits in those offices. You then bribe the county planning officers who drink in Bahati and buruburu bars. Not forgeting the banks who hire lawyers and valuers who basically steal from their own members. No one can pretend that banks that lent money to Tmall owners did not know that it is there "illegally". You now have a "LEGAL" excuse to take Kenyans to court forever. I say no! Let this evil be dealt with accordingly. Destroy those buildings and then take the officers with their signatures on those papers. This idea of feeling sorry for tenants is stupid. Which is this stupid tenant who doesn't know that Ukay is on riparian land? Who is this stupid tenant who doesn't know TMall for heavens sake should not be there? Only a CORRUPT tenant. President Uhuru, I support you. But shall only believe you when I'm advised on who allowed students from a certain primary school be teargassed. Not forgeting the governor who was present when a certain muindi was building a dam that killed hundreds of people. Only then shall I swallow the coolaid. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
StanChart taking precautionary measures as regards Ukay Centre...
Received this email...
Closure of Ukay Branch
Dear X Y Z,
We are writing to advise you of the closure of the Ukay branch with effect from 10th August 2018.
. . .
Your account will move to Westlands Branch on a temporary basis. We will further advise you of your new branch location. In the meantime, you can access all our banking services at any branch that is most convenient to you.
For more information, you may call us on our 24-hour Client Contact Centre on 020 329 3900, 254 732 143900, 254 703 093900 or email us at Ke.Service@sc.com
We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause to you.
Thank you for banking with us, we value your business.
Yours Sincerely,
D**** I****
Head of Retail Clients, Kenya & East Africa
"There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
Nice Murchr But We all know Kidero. My fren crush Kidero and I can assure you, I will join in the Uhuru brigade. I know what Sonko is doing and why and for whom. To me that's just politico. I think there's a greater good. Deal with Kidero and for the first time since Nathan Kahara, I'll know Nairobi may change. I still ask about Langata Primary kids. Hapo #kitawelekana Not before. To me it's still the promises we always get from Jubilee. Then nothing happens. It's another laptop issue. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
happening at nakummatt ukay.pinch and slap me too if you wish.Uhurao ,the best combination Kenya can have punda amecheka
newfarer wrote:happening at nakummatt ukay.pinch and slap me too if you wish.Uhurao ,the best combination Kenya can have NEMA is now having upmarket breakfast. Wise tenants moved out yesterday after learning the courts had declined to grant orders against the intended demolition.
My fren's silence on this matter is so loud i cant hear anything!!
harrydre wrote:Swenani wrote:Njunge wrote:Swenani wrote:[quote=tycho][quote=masukuma]
Masukuma's problem is putting a $$$ value on everything Don't inconveniences such as flooded roads and traffic jams have a value? It depends whether you are an economist, affected or not. Is there $$$ value for having fresh air, clean rivers, public spaces, pedestrian ways, clean toilets etc? If you can attach a $$$ value, then Masukuma's point could be valid Yes, healthwise, Floods and famine? How much can you attach to possible deaths caused? what is the dollar/KES value of your health? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
alma1 wrote:Nice Murchr But We all know Kidero. My fren crush Kidero and I can assure you, I will join in the Uhuru brigade. I know what Sonko is doing and why and for whom. To me that's just politico. I think there's a greater good. Deal with Kidero and for the first time since Nathan Kahara, I'll know Nairobi may change. I still ask about Langata Primary kids. Hapo #kitawelekana Not before. To me it's still the promises we always get from Jubilee. Then nothing happens. It's another laptop issue. Weston is on public land yes, but I think it is Airport land (Wilson). I had a hunch, how about the GoK taking over some of these properties......for instance, bringing down Weston may not help anybody at all. How about handing it over to Wilson Airport and going hard after those who approved any document that led to the construction? It will still have the same effect as bringing it down anyway, but with zero real loss to the economy. How does this sound ladies and genomen?? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Coolbull wrote:mpobiz wrote:Pinch me too because I can't also belive what you are saying . But we here last year when we discussed how uhuru will be ruthless when he comes back for the second term We never thought the current happenings were the definition of 'ruthless'. Even CSs are wetting their pants. The surprisingly thing is that all along we had corrupt-free civil servants in all the arms of the government especially DCI and DPPs offices, waiting for the right time to pounce. I didn't know the government knows so much about an individual.....now I will believe if they tell me that in 1992 I peed in an alley along river road. The data being unleashed is so deep and accurate especially for a country like Kenya where we believe there is poor record keeping. Aiiii nanii, If the Government knows about terrorists, the most secretive kind, how about an odinare??? Have you seen/heard al-kebabs in Nairobi since Westgate and the infamous Eastleigh raids/Kasarani detentions/deportations? Siri-kali huwezi ficha kitu, sooner or later they will know. Si ata kina Maraga walijua hawajui, when their game came to light..... TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
masukuma wrote:I have never understood why people celebrate the demolition of buildings instead of taxing or taking over them... don't they see it as a loss to the collective? it's like killing a child who is a product of some bad sexual relation. Should the parents be punished - yes! I see people clapping when someone elses 1B goes down the drain instead of thinking... now this guy... tutafanya nini we profit from this thing? I see we agree on this one. War should continue, but how we go about it should inform our decisions, not destroying for destruction's sake. The GoK is the custodian of all public land on behalf of the people, through its parastatals and Govt institutions. It simply takes ownership of all property on this land, and kicks everybody out, demolishes those properties that harm the environment or cause pain on Kenyans and profiteers from the rest. Then hang all accomplices including sellers, signatories, lawyers, brokers to dry. BUT......I do support the momentum. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Pinch me hard. Is this still Kenya?