Two Rivers Mall
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Impunity wrote:Bigchick wrote:Impunity wrote:mawinder wrote:2012 wrote:So, what's the future for Village Market next door? Village market will retain serious clients..Parking is now sorted out and they are adding a few shops..Two rivers is inconsequential to Village market.The threat to Two Rivers is Rosslyn Riviera mall And what with this English and Spanish naming of Kenyan Malls? Why can we have original local names like #Kamindi Self Ridges, Shujaa etc? You are not the target group.They are targeting the experts who live in Kenya and the rich kenyans.So they must give names that they can identify with. Middle class wakutane Kamindi,Maguna Andu na Mathai.And drinks can be got from Kamakis. ION when I was young we had a family friend whose matatu was named "Kùhoha tì kùùma".Todate it still tickles me. Eti kuuma inakohoa?
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
The malls I feel sorry for are the ones outside big towns. At least the ones within the towns can be converted into 6x6 vibandas/stalls like the ones selling Turkey and Dubai clothes in town. BBI will solve it :)
Rank: Member Joined: 6/14/2014 Posts: 332 Location: Nairobi
Bigchick wrote:Impunity wrote:mawinder wrote:2012 wrote:So, what's the future for Village Market next door? Village market will retain serious clients..Parking is now sorted out and they are adding a few shops..Two rivers is inconsequential to Village market.The threat to Two Rivers is Rosslyn Riviera mall And what with this English and Spanish naming of Kenyan Malls? Why can we have original local names like #Kamindi Self Ridges, Shujaa etc? You are not the target group.They are targeting the experts who live in Kenya and the rich kenyans.So they must give names that they can identify with. Middle class wakutane Kamindi,Maguna Andu na Mathai.And drinks can be got from Kamakis. ION when I was young we had a family friend whose matatu was named "Kùhoha tì kùùma".Todate it still tickles me. Expats, hii ingine pia impunity ni expert wa welding
Bigchick wrote:Impunity wrote:mawinder wrote:2012 wrote:So, what's the future for Village Market next door? Village market will retain serious clients..Parking is now sorted out and they are adding a few shops..Two rivers is inconsequential to Village market.The threat to Two Rivers is Rosslyn Riviera mall And what with this English and Spanish naming of Kenyan Malls? Why can we have original local names like #Kamindi Self Ridges, Shujaa etc? You are not the target group.They are targeting the experts who live in Kenya and the rich kenyans.So they must give names that they can identify with. Middle class wakutane Kamindi,Maguna Andu na Mathai.And drinks can be got from Kamakis. ION when I was young we had a family friend whose matatu was named "Kùhoha tì kùùma".Todate it still tickles me. who are these?
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
mkenyan wrote:Bigchick wrote:Impunity wrote:mawinder wrote:2012 wrote:So, what's the future for Village Market next door? Village market will retain serious clients..Parking is now sorted out and they are adding a few shops..Two rivers is inconsequential to Village market.The threat to Two Rivers is Rosslyn Riviera mall And what with this English and Spanish naming of Kenyan Malls? Why can we have original local names like #Kamindi Self Ridges, Shujaa etc? You are not the target group.They are targeting the experts who live in Kenya and the rich kenyans.So they must give names that they can identify with. Middle class wakutane Kamindi,Maguna Andu na Mathai.And drinks can be got from Kamakis. ION when I was young we had a family friend whose matatu was named "Kùhoha tì kùùma".Todate it still tickles me. who are these?  Ni D- English problem.But am sure you know who am referring to. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
Mambo Bado!
Look at Thika Rd,Mountain Mall,TRM and Garden City and now Vantage Square all in a span of less than 1km square...Which population can support these malls???? We arent done yet. More malls coming up; Montave, Athi River Centre, Mlolongo Mall, Kileleshwa Mall, Vantage Mall & Enterprise Mall.In Mombasa, upcoming malls: one opposite Pearl Arcade in Likoni, Links Rd, 3; Mwembe Tayari; Even in laikipia there's a mall ......cedar mall.they just donot want to learn from struggling malls like NextGen Mall, Juja City Mall, Gateway Mall. ole wao!and did i say also, Kenya Railways is putting up a humongous retail centre abut the new SGR Mombasa . Folks prepare for ghost malls China style!
Fullykenyan wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:I will always shop at the Mama Mboga and mama Duka on my way home. They take loads of risks for low returns. They are the ones running this economy and not those big malls hakuna mama mboga muthaiga na runda, sasa where do you want us to buy our groceries  I would rather stick to my lane at carrefour Send your Maid to Marikiti twice a week. She will get everything you need at a lesser cost :). Food stuff in those supermarkets are expensive than in Europe Once you reach a "certain" level in society and reside in some of the residences, you've to conform with your neighbors expectations Marikiti ni ya watu wa umoja na kawangware If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Member Joined: 7/27/2014 Posts: 560 Location: Eastlando
That is warped thinking. You have to ask yourself if you are getting value for your money in those called Malls
Fullykenyan wrote:That is warped thinking. You have to ask yourself if you are getting value for your money in those called Malls No, it's your thinking which is warped. Value for money is subjective. Someone might argue a vitz offers value for money while another might argue a ferrari offers value for money too. In your case, you think that cheap translates to value for money while others are looking for convenience and quality of the sukuma, handling process of the sukuma and whether it was grown in an organic farm etc If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
Fullykenyan wrote:That is warped thinking. You have to ask yourself if you are getting value for your money in those called Malls You don't get mushrooms, rosemary, kiwi fruit and baby corn at marigiti. God bless the malls Life is short. Live passionately.
sparkly wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:That is warped thinking. You have to ask yourself if you are getting value for your money in those called Malls You don't get mushrooms, rosemary, kiwi fruit and baby corn at marigiti. God bless the malls Vegetables and fruits are actually cheaper in the malls than at mama mboga. e.g. the bunch of sukuma/spinach sold at Nakumatt, zucchini, Carrefour, naivas etc at 25bob would cost 40 Bob at mama mboga. Also those supplying to malls are vetted and farms are visited to ensure the produce isn't grown kwa dandora sewerage.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/27/2014 Posts: 560 Location: Eastlando
hardwood wrote:sparkly wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:That is warped thinking. You have to ask yourself if you are getting value for your money in those called Malls You don't get mushrooms, rosemary, kiwi fruit and baby corn at marigiti. God bless the malls Vegetables and fruits are actually cheaper in the malls than at mama mboga. e.g. the bunch of sukuma/spinach sold at Nakumatt, zucchini, Carrefour, naivas etc at 25bob would cost 40 Bob at mama mboga. Also those supplying to malls are vetted and farms are visited to ensure the produce isn't grown kwa dandora sewerage. Now that is a valid argument@Hardwood.
Fullykenyan wrote:hardwood wrote:sparkly wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:That is warped thinking. You have to ask yourself if you are getting value for your money in those called Malls You don't get mushrooms, rosemary, kiwi fruit and baby corn at marigiti. God bless the malls Vegetables and fruits are actually cheaper in the malls than at mama mboga. e.g. the bunch of sukuma/spinach sold at Nakumatt, zucchini, Carrefour, naivas etc at 25bob would cost 40 Bob at mama mboga. Also those supplying to malls are vetted and farms are visited to ensure the produce isn't grown kwa dandora sewerage. Now that is a valid argument@Hardwood. So true... possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Member Joined: 5/26/2009 Posts: 326 Location: Nairobi
maka wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:hardwood wrote:sparkly wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:That is warped thinking. You have to ask yourself if you are getting value for your money in those called Malls You don't get mushrooms, rosemary, kiwi fruit and baby corn at marigiti. God bless the malls Vegetables and fruits are actually cheaper in the malls than at mama mboga. e.g. the bunch of sukuma/spinach sold at Nakumatt, zucchini, Carrefour, naivas etc at 25bob would cost 40 Bob at mama mboga. Also those supplying to malls are vetted and farms are visited to ensure the produce isn't grown kwa dandora sewerage. Now that is a valid argument@Hardwood. So true... NOT True. Vegetables in large supermarkets are mainly supplied by something akin to 'cartel'. They dont care where produce comes from. Trust me...the best way is to grow your fruits and vegetables. That is, if your lane is ample enough to afford what it takes.
wa P wrote:maka wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:hardwood wrote:sparkly wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:That is warped thinking. You have to ask yourself if you are getting value for your money in those called Malls You don't get mushrooms, rosemary, kiwi fruit and baby corn at marigiti. God bless the malls Vegetables and fruits are actually cheaper in the malls than at mama mboga. e.g. the bunch of sukuma/spinach sold at Nakumatt, zucchini, Carrefour, naivas etc at 25bob would cost 40 Bob at mama mboga. Also those supplying to malls are vetted and farms are visited to ensure the produce isn't grown kwa dandora sewerage. Now that is a valid argument@Hardwood. So true... NOT True. Vegetables in large supermarkets are mainly supplied by something akin to 'cartel'. They dont care where produce comes from. Trust me...the best way is to grow your fruits and vegetables. That is, if your lane is ample enough to afford what it takes. Let me stick to my lane… The man who marries a beautiful woman, and the farmer who grows corn by the roadside have the same problem
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
hardwood wrote:sparkly wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:That is warped thinking. You have to ask yourself if you are getting value for your money in those called Malls You don't get mushrooms, rosemary, kiwi fruit and baby corn at marigiti. God bless the malls Vegetables and fruits are actually cheaper in the malls than at mama mboga. e.g. the bunch of sukuma/spinach sold at Nakumatt, zucchini, Carrefour, naivas etc at 25bob would cost 40 Bob at mama mboga. Also those supplying to malls are vetted and farms are visited to ensure the produce isn't grown kwa dandora sewerage. I beg to differ.Price yes quality no Mbogas in supermarkets are full of chemicals that are meant to keep them looking healthy for long.Have you noticed they have an unnatural green colour?have you noticed the leaves are extra large?what about the taste...for me they are flat and need spices to taste.Compare that with your backyard skumas or those grown in shags..they have a natural sweet taste that you could almost eat raw. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
ZZE123 wrote:wa P wrote:maka wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:hardwood wrote:sparkly wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:That is warped thinking. You have to ask yourself if you are getting value for your money in those called Malls You don't get mushrooms, rosemary, kiwi fruit and baby corn at marigiti. God bless the malls Vegetables and fruits are actually cheaper in the malls than at mama mboga. e.g. the bunch of sukuma/spinach sold at Nakumatt, zucchini, Carrefour, naivas etc at 25bob would cost 40 Bob at mama mboga. Also those supplying to malls are vetted and farms are visited to ensure the produce isn't grown kwa dandora sewerage. Now that is a valid argument@Hardwood. So true... NOT True. Vegetables in large supermarkets are mainly supplied by something akin to 'cartel'. They dont care where produce comes from. Trust me...the best way is to grow your fruits and vegetables. That is, if your lane is ample enough to afford what it takes. Let me stick to my lane… @waP http://www.nation.co.ke/...40148-9sox7m/index.html
Quote:Mukono of Uchumi Supermarkets spends most of his time receiving samples from farmers wishing to supply the supermarket chain with fresh produce. When dealing with new suppliers, Mukono first requests for a sample. Once satisfied, the farmer’s land is accessed.
“We look at a number of things. The kind of technology used on the farm, the source of water and hygiene.”Once satisfied, the farmer is given approval to supply the produce. The frequency of the supply depends on the harvest time. However, to effectively manage supply and avoid disappointing customers, the supermarket contracts a number of suppliers for a particular product. For instance, three or four farmers will be contracted to supply onions or mangoes. Zucchini Greengrocers Ltd, a popular store in Nairobi for high-end consumers, also follows a similar pattern, but often insists on farmers being consistent with supply of fresh produce. Reliability is crucial in keeping customers coming back to the grocery. “We first request farmers to bring samples of the produce. We then conduct a farm visit to establish the source of water used. This is to ensure that they are not using sewer water. We then give them our price for the products,” says Edwin Okoth, the procurement manager.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
Matoe wrote:Bigchick wrote:Impunity wrote:mawinder wrote:2012 wrote:So, what's the future for Village Market next door? Village market will retain serious clients..Parking is now sorted out and they are adding a few shops..Two rivers is inconsequential to Village market.The threat to Two Rivers is Rosslyn Riviera mall And what with this English and Spanish naming of Kenyan Malls? Why can we have original local names like #Kamindi Self Ridges, Shujaa etc? You are not the target group.They are targeting the experts who live in Kenya and the rich kenyans.So they must give names that they can identify with. Middle class wakutane Kamindi,Maguna Andu na Mathai.And drinks can be got from Kamakis. ION when I was young we had a family friend whose matatu was named "Kùhoha tì kùùma".Todate it still tickles me. Expats, hii ingine pia impunity ni expert wa welding Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
sparkly wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:That is warped thinking. You have to ask yourself if you are getting value for your money in those called Malls You don't get mushrooms, rosemary, kiwi fruit and baby corn at marigiti. God bless the malls In Marikiti they sell real and mature corn for Githeri and choma, they dont do babies! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Bigchick wrote:hardwood wrote:sparkly wrote:Fullykenyan wrote:That is warped thinking. You have to ask yourself if you are getting value for your money in those called Malls You don't get mushrooms, rosemary, kiwi fruit and baby corn at marigiti. God bless the malls Vegetables and fruits are actually cheaper in the malls than at mama mboga. e.g. the bunch of sukuma/spinach sold at Nakumatt, zucchini, Carrefour, naivas etc at 25bob would cost 40 Bob at mama mboga. Also those supplying to malls are vetted and farms are visited to ensure the produce isn't grown kwa dandora sewerage. I beg to differ.Price yes quality no Mbogas in supermarkets are full of chemicals that are meant to keep them looking healthy for long.Have you noticed they have an unnatural green colour?have you noticed the leaves are extra large?what about the taste...for me they are flat and need spices to taste.Compare that with your backyard skumas or those grown in shags..they have a natural sweet taste that you could almost eat raw. Even during this terrible drought the sukuma are very green, succulent and the leaves extra large. Kwani where do they grow them?
Two Rivers Mall