wazua Thu, May 7, 2026

7 Pages<12345>»
Classic FM and marriage...
#21 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2011 9:47:33 AM

Then again.. the likes of Tichi Nyasani are sleeping in the job.
Doesnt she work for the commission thats supposed to monitor such content..?

take for instance this mr. Flavour fella.. His song is banned in Naija.. yet we have the pleasure of hosting him here... CRAAAAPPPPP!!!
#22 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2011 10:05:48 AM

I was shocked when they played that clip of a woman begging for sex last week. They played it before 8am...sex sells that is why this is the most popular morning show. Here in wazua, we have our Mainas too and they are very popular too!
#23 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2011 10:12:23 AM

I was shocked when they played that clip of a woman begging for sex last week. They played it before 8am...sex sells that is why this is the most popular morning show. Here in wazua, we have our Mainas too and they are very popular too!

Whaaaat... they played whaat again?.. Don't we have a censorship board in Kenya and some fellow there who is supposed to be working? Or even the media council??

@Lolest I really hope I am getting you wrong!Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray
nwamaina
#24 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2011 10:44:08 AM

NOW NOW NOW...tuwache hypocrisy...who does not know the Kenyan society is getting rotten at an alarming rate..the things being discussed in this radio shows are not plans to make them happen but they are actually happening in the Kenyan society,morals have been thrown out of the window and are only applied when they suit someone.

Kenyans complain of impunity in Government and yet we are the voters and we practice more impunity than anyone else...think of the motorists running the traffic lights when they should stop,business people bribing without shame,GoK officials accepting and soliciting for bribes,people dumping trash outside their gates/estates,Kenyans getting drunk without control in spite of laws fighting that,corrupt justice system,corrupt police force,fake reformers,fake leaders,parents who abuse their children,thugs who rape/steal/murder with impunity.Young men and women prostituting in clubs in the name of freedom,Pedestrians who walk with impunity and ignore traffic rules,don't even talk about matatu madness and the support they receive from Kenyans....all these and Kenyans complain about impunity and all...as you continue complaining know that you are complaining about yourself...
#25 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2011 11:01:01 AM

@nwamaina

Simply because we do other evils doesn't mean we add more.
do you know how much power radio has.. this are stories happening to a very small percentage of Married couples a very small fraction of Kenyans.. now amplifying every day at such an hour for our children is misdirecting a whole generation.. its insidious..

i shall forever look forward to the death of that show.. so help us God.
#26 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2011 11:17:37 AM

@bwenyenye, nope, u gettn me right, they played that clip. Imagine being with your mum in a mat playing such stuff aibu!
#27 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2011 11:42:26 AM

nwamaina,
two wrongs have never made a right!!!
Blackberry
#28 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2011 11:55:38 AM

radio wrote:
Bree wrote:
There's an online petition to stop the show, sign it up & maybe something might happen...na sijui kuweka rink, just google
Good day y'all

@Bree, is it this one

http://www.change.org/petitions/classic-breakfast-just-stop

wasnt there a deadline to change the content or be zimwad?....kweli Kenyans tunasahau haraka sana.

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

#29 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2011 12:05:51 PM

Elder wrote:
Good people, how about switching to one of the other over 100 radio stations out there if you don't like what you hear? It's not like you don't have choice.

...did you care to read the blog, this aint about those who have options but rather the ones without!!!!

Everyone has an option. If all the people in a matatu opted for another station, I know the driver will comply.

With all due respect, that is a lot of crap you have managed to squeeze into two sentences.

With all due respect, your cowardice and a lot of effort in doing nothing is what ruins this country. How do you surrender your values to a tout? You're waiting for who to bring the change? We really need a new generation with new mindsets if this country is to flourish.

Spend.thrift
#30 Posted : Monday, October 17, 2011 1:20:04 PM

The Real Shaft wrote:
is it the company's policy...???

that their key presenters have waged relentless war....

with undefatiguable energy ......

against the institution of marriage......!!!

kwanza maina the son of wangui.....

whats his beef...???

he should come out straight....

and tell us...

and the mukamba..... Churchill...... as saved as he is....... surely cant he object......???

ama...

its all because of the love for money.....

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth

While I agree on the need for freedom of expression, I also have come to agree that Sex Fm has gone too far. I was seated next to an elderly woman(accompanied by her ten or so year old daughter) in a matatu on one of those mornings characterised by long trafiic jams. The matatu crew, kept the dial on Sex FM and the journey to town was one embarrasing spell for me. Some recently married woman was talking of some "anaconda" and as some passengers stupidly giggled, I was dying in unease. I suspect the woman and her daughter was doing much worse than me. All the time, I felt like having that looser of a host choke on his words. Then I remember that some radio stations too have adults only content but the timing and orientation doest leave viewers or listeners with a sour taste in their mouths.

I am not a lawyer or media practitioner but I think the following could work.

From sections (e.g Section 46 I) of the http://www.communication....ke/Documents/media.pdf

1. Every agrieved person to write to the Communications Commision of Kenya with details of the exact date, time and exact content of the offending shows. The result will be so many independent/ different but verifiable complains because profanity seems to be company policy. This should be done just when the fm station's licence is up for renewal.

Similary, we can have so many people and groups lodging separate civil suits that the Sex Fm will need to open up offices next to the High court to reduce their transport costs.

2. Contact the Station owner/CEO directly and ask him to ask his presenters to tone down on morning profanity-Again, the pile of letters will be too many and unless the station owner has a very thick skin and thick brain, some change is likely to be seen. Remember to copy the letter to the CCK-the point is to have a similarly high number of complains at both offices.

3. Write petitions to the marketing teams of major advertisers e.g banks, mobile phone operators, airlines e.t.c and express your dislike with your favorite brand's association with profanity and obscenity. This is bound to have immediate results.

If this doesn't work, buy your own car and make sure you ask the cars's radio manufacturer to exclude one frequency from the device.
7 Pages<12345>»