Culture
Nairobi County housing.
Rank: Member Joined: 5/6/2011 Posts: 391 Location: Nairobi
kayhara wrote:Most people think public green spaces are a waste of space, in Nairobi, if you are in your ka-flat and you want to soak in some sun, your options are limited, you can't seat at the road side you'll look like a mad idler, you can't go in a school ground you'll look like a pedophile, you dont want to go to Uhuru park that's mamboch,s space, so you either go to your local built on a road reserve. In those gated Estates you all want, teens are trapped, kids can play on the streets what about the teens, when chamas come home teens either hide in their bedrooms or go to base where other teens eat miraa whistle at passing ladies, start doing drugs etc, our social hall are now only rental, churches only open their grounds to paid events or on Sundays only. In short we don't have public areas in our residential areas so bars and clubs are the new public spaces, where you have to buy to stay. Very true ..and Aboretum is now a Koroga fest venue apart from the usual random groups of churches. I think even the resident monkeys vacated. "You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/20/2011 Posts: 1,820 Location: Nakuru
what happened to Kidero's(or was it jubilees) mass urban housing project in mlolongo and ruai, complete with social and green spaces for kids, teens, women and men?....ama ilikuwa ni danganya toto jinga? or hekaya za kaka sungura na kaka mbweha? Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/20/2011 Posts: 1,820 Location: Nakuru
Looking at the google map for Nairobi, i can see that one prime space is Moi Air Base(MAB) but to the south there is an eyesore (kiambiu slums a.k.a Buru Buru phase 6). The slum is practically on riparian land. Kwani Kidero just demolished two houses in Huruma and forgot there are plenty of shanties built on grabbed riparian land? Is kiambiu a security threat to MAB? Why are slums occupying more than 50% (judging from what i see from the map) of Nairobi's surface area? When did Kayole become so big? Why is Kenya railways not reclaiming back Mukuru kwa njenga, Mukuru ka yaba land while the land belongs to them? where did those people living there come from? Why can't they go back where they came from?.... if you think about the rot that is in Nairobi and by extension Kenya, you will just die. As someone pointed out, it is all because of greed and an insatiable appetite for 1/8th. Poor land policy and lack of adherence to urban planning.Houses in Housing estates that resemble the estates of yesteryears are selling for a song..The messiah in the Kenyan context is who will build the first public housing estate resembling Jericho that will house 10,000 families. Uhuru has failed, Raila and Baks failed, Baba Moi failed, old Jomo did not fail. Atlest a few estates were built when he was still sitting on the throne. Finally, should wazuans be asking what the National housing corporation has been doing? Ama just like the matatus, the urban housing chaos must be sustained to ensure thieves who have built houses in pipeline, umoja,hamsa, TRM etc continue reaping where they stole...hujuma hii Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
The most important lesson we should learn is, we have to plan for cities and growth should not be organic. Its a pity that some so called intellectuals believe that cities should grow organically., Kwame Owino was on TV the other day talking gibberish on this. Organic growth is what we see in middle class estates, githurai, kasarani, syokimau etc. I guess that's what economics teach a terrible school of thought "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
murchr wrote:hardwood wrote:Alba wrote:Buru is indicative of Nairobi's poor planning and greed. The net result is issues like insane traffic, water shortages, flooding, poor services etc. Things will only get worse as the population surges. How have cities like London and Paris survived for hundreds of years? Their estates built in the 1800s AD still look nice, while buruburu built just the other day is in shambles. Actually, the whole of Nairobi is in shambles. 1. London and Paris are governed by by-laws stipulating the rules and regulations of the city, here is the website. Nairobi has by-laws, do you know where you can get a hold of them? Here they are mchezo tu. 2. We as a people are still evolving. We behave like the baboons in the park. Buy a banana from mtindwa, peal, eat and throw the skin on the path. Heathens is an understatement. Totally uncivilized I agree with you @murchr. Every time I pass by some paths when in town, I pick banana peels, and I wonder why somebody throws them on the path! I go to the downtown and I see council viosks selling all kinds of items, first electronic, next cosmetics, next one hardware, next one fresh juice etc and they all put on loud music, each their own tune as if competing... what is this!!!
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
hardwood wrote:Alba wrote:Fullykenyan wrote: There is some stupidity a black man has, that i don´t really know where it came from. A missionary in Africa told me, although i found it racist then, that black people were created to do sports while white people were created to be academically superior. Sometimes, i think he was right although it is a hard pill to take
The problem with Kenya is cultural not cerebral. We are not stupid. We are just greedy. The culture of greed was created by Jomo Kenyatta. The first president of Kenya was greedy beyond belief. He was a relentless land grabber who is said to have grabbed enough land for 3 or 4 counties. He set the tone for the rest of the country. When people saw the prezzi grabbing land, they also followed suit. In fact Kenyatta and Moi both encouraged their inner circle and government officials to be corrupt while Kibaki and UK have decided to turn a blind eye to corruption and theft. The net result is that anyone who has an opportunity to grab land or bribe or build an illegal building will do so. Our leaders have created a culture where such behaviour is acceptable. As I said in the other thread, I blame Jomo Kenyatta for the mess that is Nairobi. He lived in London for 15 years so he had a chance to see a fully functional mature city. He could have come back to Kenya and ensured that land was reserved for fire stations, road expansion, drainage , water catchment, sewers and other infrastructure. Instead of looking out for the future of the city and its people, he looked out for his family: He grabbed land even within the cities and towns and encouraged well connected people to do the same. So now the heirs of these people are fighting over multi-billion shilling property while you battle insane traffic, water shortages, power shortagaes and so forth. @fullykenyan You have to be stupid to believe such nonsense. We have very many academically gifted blacks including many professors even in the US. @alba Jomo Kenyatta is NOT to blame for the mess in nairobi. When he died in 1978 he left what the world used to call "the green city in the sun". It was a city where you could even go window shopping at tom mboya street, river road at midnight. He even left a working public transport system and buses used to run on time, even at night. He left beautiful well planned estates even in eastlands eg buru buru, umoja, donholm etc with playgrounds, social halls etc. Then Moi took over and everything went haywire. I had a feeling some sycophant will cut in and defend Jomo!!! Actually this is the problem in Kenya, tribalism. We defend our own even if the wrong they have done is as clear as day and night. Shame on such kind of kina @hardwood
AlphDoti wrote:murchr wrote:hardwood wrote:Alba wrote:Buru is indicative of Nairobi's poor planning and greed. The net result is issues like insane traffic, water shortages, flooding, poor services etc. Things will only get worse as the population surges. How have cities like London and Paris survived for hundreds of years? Their estates built in the 1800s AD still look nice, while buruburu built just the other day is in shambles. Actually, the whole of Nairobi is in shambles. 1. London and Paris are governed by by-laws stipulating the rules and regulations of the city, here is the website. Nairobi has by-laws, do you know where you can get a hold of them? Here they are mchezo tu. 2. We as a people are still evolving. We behave like the baboons in the park. Buy a banana from mtindwa, peal, eat and throw the skin on the path. Heathens is an understatement. Totally uncivilized I agree with you @murchr. Every time I pass by some paths when in town, I pick banana peels, and I wonder why somebody throws them on the path! I go to the downtown and I see council viosks selling all kinds of items, first electronic, next cosmetics, next one hardware, next one fresh juice etc and they all put on loud music, each their own tune as if competing... what is this!!! hapo hata mimi nakubali, guys throwing litter all over is just disgusting, the worst thing I se on the roads is that parents are teaching that to the kids, unanunulia mtoto yogurt, the kid drains the whole thing in the car opens the window and throws the box out, no wonder watoto sasa wanachoma shule
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:AlphDoti wrote:murchr wrote:hardwood wrote:Alba wrote:Buru is indicative of Nairobi's poor planning and greed. The net result is issues like insane traffic, water shortages, flooding, poor services etc. Things will only get worse as the population surges. How have cities like London and Paris survived for hundreds of years? Their estates built in the 1800s AD still look nice, while buruburu built just the other day is in shambles. Actually, the whole of Nairobi is in shambles. 1. London and Paris are governed by by-laws stipulating the rules and regulations of the city, here is the website. Nairobi has by-laws, do you know where you can get a hold of them? Here they are mchezo tu. 2. We as a people are still evolving. We behave like the baboons in the park. Buy a banana from mtindwa, peal, eat and throw the skin on the path. Heathens is an understatement. Totally uncivilized I agree with you @murchr. Every time I pass by some paths when in town, I pick banana peels, and I wonder why somebody throws them on the path! I go to the downtown and I see council viosks selling all kinds of items, first electronic, next cosmetics, next one hardware, next one fresh juice etc and they all put on loud music, each their own tune as if competing... what is this!!! hapo hata mimi nakubali, guys throwing litter all over is just disgusting, the worst thing I se on the roads is that parents are teaching that to the kids, unanunulia mtoto yogurt, the kid drains the whole thing in the car opens the window and throws the box out, no wonder watoto sasa wanachoma shule Y'all should be janitors. We could sure use folk like you guys.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
Anti_Burglar wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:AlphDoti wrote:murchr wrote:hardwood wrote:Alba wrote:Buru is indicative of Nairobi's poor planning and greed. The net result is issues like insane traffic, water shortages, flooding, poor services etc. Things will only get worse as the population surges. How have cities like London and Paris survived for hundreds of years? Their estates built in the 1800s AD still look nice, while buruburu built just the other day is in shambles. Actually, the whole of Nairobi is in shambles. 1. London and Paris are governed by by-laws stipulating the rules and regulations of the city, here is the website. Nairobi has by-laws, do you know where you can get a hold of them? Here they are mchezo tu. 2. We as a people are still evolving. We behave like the baboons in the park. Buy a banana from mtindwa, peal, eat and throw the skin on the path. Heathens is an understatement. Totally uncivilized I agree with you @murchr. Every time I pass by some paths when in town, I pick banana peels, and I wonder why somebody throws them on the path! I go to the downtown and I see council viosks selling all kinds of items, first electronic, next cosmetics, next one hardware, next one fresh juice etc and they all put on loud music, each their own tune as if competing... what is this!!! hapo hata mimi nakubali, guys throwing litter all over is just disgusting, the worst thing I se on the roads is that parents are teaching that to the kids, unanunulia mtoto yogurt, the kid drains the whole thing in the car opens the window and throws the box out, no wonder watoto sasa wanachoma shule Y'all should be janitors. We could sure use folk like you guys. Someone needs to walk around with a whip!! In naks before kibaki people used to kojoa ovyo ovyo near that bridge (railway crossing) on those bougainvillea bushes. Watu wakashikwa kadha and the fear of God gripped people. I once overheard someone lamenting (in Kyuk) Quote:Sasa wanataka watu wakojoe (simame) wapi? Watu walijipanga!! The last time I went to Nairobi safari walk I saw people enticing Animals with food so that they can take selfies next to a board that says - "Don't feed the animals"... Viboko tu ndio zitasidia! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
But also London and New York were filthy at somepoint with horse poop, hotels used to slaughter pigs behind the hotels etc, but at some point they changed that, London built sewer line so that the mzungus don't poop in river Thames, new York came up with a proper garbage collection etc. Problem with Kenya is land and politics, if Railways tries to kick out the slum guys Sonko, Ruto and Unye will be there to protect votes, if not a judge will issue a stay and set the hearing next year December and postpone it for ten years, so Kenyans move with the problem like they moved from CBD to upper hill, same problem moved with them. To Each His Own
Rank: Member Joined: 7/27/2014 Posts: 560 Location: Eastlando
A Nigerian told me Nairobi us worse than lagos. He was suprised how dirty your shoes can get in Nairobi
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Hata New York had lots of extensions and hawkers selling mitumba, and "wine and spirits", 'just the other day" that make dandora look like paradise.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sch...ciety/slum_conditions_2
Quote:After World War 2, the mainly Victorian accommodation of Glasgow and many other UK cities posed serious problems, including overcrowding, lack of sanitation and a poor state of repair. In 1945 around one seventh of the population of Scotland lived in just three square miles of the city centre of Glasgow, leading to serious over-crowding. Living in slum conditions led to poor health and in 1950 Glasgow had the highest mortality rate from tuberculosis in Europe. In 1951 more than half of Glasgow households lived in one- or two-roomed accommodation without bathrooms, kitchens or electricity. The situation was similar in many other large UK cities.
masukuma wrote:Anti_Burglar wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:AlphDoti wrote:murchr wrote:hardwood wrote:Alba wrote:Buru is indicative of Nairobi's poor planning and greed. The net result is issues like insane traffic, water shortages, flooding, poor services etc. Things will only get worse as the population surges. How have cities like London and Paris survived for hundreds of years? Their estates built in the 1800s AD still look nice, while buruburu built just the other day is in shambles. Actually, the whole of Nairobi is in shambles. 1. London and Paris are governed by by-laws stipulating the rules and regulations of the city, here is the website. Nairobi has by-laws, do you know where you can get a hold of them? Here they are mchezo tu. 2. We as a people are still evolving. We behave like the baboons in the park. Buy a banana from mtindwa, peal, eat and throw the skin on the path. Heathens is an understatement. Totally uncivilized I agree with you @murchr. Every time I pass by some paths when in town, I pick banana peels, and I wonder why somebody throws them on the path! I go to the downtown and I see council viosks selling all kinds of items, first electronic, next cosmetics, next one hardware, next one fresh juice etc and they all put on loud music, each their own tune as if competing... what is this!!! hapo hata mimi nakubali, guys throwing litter all over is just disgusting, the worst thing I se on the roads is that parents are teaching that to the kids, unanunulia mtoto yogurt, the kid drains the whole thing in the car opens the window and throws the box out, no wonder watoto sasa wanachoma shule Y'all should be janitors. We could sure use folk like you guys. Someone needs to walk around with a whip!! In naks before kibaki people used to kojoa ovyo ovyo near that bridge (railway crossing) on those bougainvillea bushes. Watu wakashikwa kadha and the fear of God gripped people. I once overheard someone lamenting (in Kyuk) Quote:Sasa wanataka watu wakojoe (simame) wapi? Watu walijipanga!! The last time I went to Nairobi safari walk I saw people enticing Animals with food so that they can take selfies next to a board that says - "Don't feed the animals"... Viboko tu ndio zitasidia! Maskuma, kanju tried and KOT raised a ruckus. Maybe even here in Wazua. Remember how they were angry against a certain wheelchair individual (who suffered nothing but a bruised ego) sometime back and keyboard warrior people strongly defended the accused?
kayhara wrote:But also London and New York were filthy at somepoint with horse poop, hotels used to slaughter pigs behind the hotels etc, but at some point they changed that, London built sewer line so that the mzungus don't poop in river Thames, new York came up with a proper garbage collection etc. Problem with Kenya is land and politics, if Railways tries to kick out the slum guys Sonko, Ruto and Unye will be there to protect votes, if not a judge will issue a stay and set the hearing next year December and postpone it for ten years, so Kenyans move with the problem like they moved from CBD to upper hill, same problem moved with them. When London was filthy, there were no laws to govern the city. On the contrary, we have laws that we cannot abide by. Jungle mentality my friend. Rules and standards have to be set and followed if we want to live in a clean environment "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:kayhara wrote:But also London and New York were filthy at somepoint with horse poop, hotels used to slaughter pigs behind the hotels etc, but at some point they changed that, London built sewer line so that the mzungus don't poop in river Thames, new York came up with a proper garbage collection etc. Problem with Kenya is land and politics, if Railways tries to kick out the slum guys Sonko, Ruto and Unye will be there to protect votes, if not a judge will issue a stay and set the hearing next year December and postpone it for ten years, so Kenyans move with the problem like they moved from CBD to upper hill, same problem moved with them. When London was filthy, there were no laws to govern the city. On the contrary, we have laws that we cannot abide by. Jungle mentality my friend. Rules and standards have to be set and followed if we want to live in a clean environment You can't be serious. London has had a council and a mayor for about 1,000 yrs i.e since 1032 AD, and also laws to govern the city. The city became clean only recently in the 19-20th century with the advent of flushing toilets, sewerage system, waste management. http://www.bbc.co.uk/his...urban_planning_01.shtml
https://www.cityoflondon...the-city-of-london.aspx
hardwood wrote:murchr wrote:kayhara wrote:But also London and New York were filthy at somepoint with horse poop, hotels used to slaughter pigs behind the hotels etc, but at some point they changed that, London built sewer line so that the mzungus don't poop in river Thames, new York came up with a proper garbage collection etc. Problem with Kenya is land and politics, if Railways tries to kick out the slum guys Sonko, Ruto and Unye will be there to protect votes, if not a judge will issue a stay and set the hearing next year December and postpone it for ten years, so Kenyans move with the problem like they moved from CBD to upper hill, same problem moved with them. When London was filthy, there were no laws to govern the city. On the contrary, we have laws that we cannot abide by. Jungle mentality my friend. Rules and standards have to be set and followed if we want to live in a clean environment You can't be serious. London has had a council and a mayor for about 1,000 yrs i.e since 1032 AD, and also laws to govern the city. The city became clean only recently in the 19-20th century with the advent of flushing toilets, sewerage system, waste management. http://www.bbc.co.uk/his...urban_planning_01.shtml
https://www.cityoflondon...the-city-of-london.aspx
Did you read this Quote:Cholera epidemics, the 'Great Stink' and miasmas combined to create a death rate in Britain's cities higher than at any time since the Black Death. The Government was forced to face up to the need for an urban planning policy. Having a mayor and council with no laws and plans is akin to what we have now at City hall "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Member Joined: 7/27/2014 Posts: 560 Location: Eastlando
After the second World war , Germans treated things like coffee and bread as luxurious items. A Friend told me recently, that when his father was celebrating his 12th Birthday, the whole Family each surrendered their piece of bread so that he could eat it all alone. It was his Birthday gift.He was overwhelmed with joy from this act of kindness from his family members.10 years later the whole family could enjoy their Holidays in Majorca and each of them was driving a a VW Beetle. They could afford having Fridges and such luxuries that didn´t come easily ten years ago. I once asked an old man, how Germany made it so fast and easily to overcome poverty, he told meeverybody was paid fair wages and Hard work was duly compesated. That is what we lack in Kenya
Fullykenyan wrote:After the second World war , Germans treated things like coffee and bread as luxurious items. A Friend told me recently, that when his father was celebrating his 12th Birthday, the whole Family each surrendered their piece of bread so that he could eat it all alone. It was his Birthday gift.He was overwhelmed with joy from this act of kindness from his family members.10 years later the whole family could enjoy their Holidays in Majorca and each of them was driving a a VW Beetle. They could afford having Fridges and such luxuries that didn´t come easily ten years ago. I once asked an old man, how Germany made it so fast and easily to overcome poverty, he told meeverybody was paid fair wages and Hard work was duly compesated. That is what we lack in Kenya Even us Kenyans, many were brought up with tea plus ugali, ngwaci, nduma, nyoyo for breakfast since our families couldn't afford bread. But just 10-20yrs later we could afford toyotas, mercs, BMWs, pizzas, iphones, holidays to coast, apartments, homes in gated communities etc. So how did we make it so fast and overcome poverty? I am sure we worked hard in school, and in our jobs/businesses to afford these things. That is why the middle class is growing fast. What matters is you work hard, whether in Germany or in Kenya.
Culture
Nairobi County housing.