#41 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2016 7:38:49 AM

enyands wrote:
@newfarer, I wish I could say 30M tosha like you. Congrats man

Back in my campo days, I'd hear fmr students on their first jobs complain about their 35k salos. I'd wonder what was wrong with these fellows. To me hiyo ilikuwa pesa I could manage to live with for the rest o my working life. I'd think of amts such as 70k as mwisho wa mawazo. In my thinking then, anybody earning such was not to complain

Shock on me when I landed 'out here'

Lakini godliness snd contentment is great gain. kudos

Basing on the 35k I guess you cleared Campo 2000- 2004 coz I had the same thoughts too .

No. 2k I was still in Secondary school!

Kwani uko mdogo aje? Ni kelele yako iko nyingi lakini experience ni ZERO!

I always thought wewe ni born '76...kumbe ni kiherehere tu, no wonder saa zingine wewe hukasirika sana ukiambia kitu personal from an anonymous wazuan whose face you dont even know!

I have always thought wewe ni born 2000s. Utoto mingi na upumbavu

Unabeba magrudges alafu unakuja hapa kuniaccuse. Seen you many times 'catch' over nothing.

I tolerate lots of nonesense but it reaches the point of MTN-Maximum Tolerable Nonsense.
#42 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2016 8:07:37 AM

With 30 million (Assuming you already have a plot) you can build a flat with a monthly rental income of between 400k and 500k. You can be reinvesting the surplus of this money if you feel like.

You can then use your time doing things that have real importance - like spending time with family and friends, playing with your kids, listening to them, travelling, hobbies etc. Of course you can still be doing some work (IF you want to) but for lesser hours - 9 to 3 in the worst case scenario!

The problem with us is that we spend all our time amassing wealth then we die! We live like we will never die then we die like we never lived!

For example, do you think Kirima really enjoyed his wealth or he was busy trying to get more? I have said here before that I feel very sad (for the kids) when I go to places like Village Market and I see kids accompanied by House Helps in full uniform coming for swimming or something and then are picked by the driver. No parent in sight. Kids accompanied by their parents always seem to have more fun.

Juzi there was a wazuan who was telling us you need 800k net to live comfortably in Kenya

Then I heard some people in this country are paying 22M to educate their kids up to grade 13

It is not a school for the children of the average wage earner. It would cost a cool Sh22 million to take a child through the school from the foundation stage (FS) 1 to Year 13. And you won’t even be done with the secondary education.

In Years 12 and 13, the annual fees is Sh1.9 million, tuition being Sh1.2 million and boarding fees Sh700,000.

Between Year 7 and 11, the annual fees is Sh1.7 million, tuition accounting for Sh1.1 million.

The annual fees for Years 3 to 6 is Sh1.6 million, Sh1 million being tuition fees.

Boarding services are not provided to pupils in Year 2 and below, meaning the charges are lower: Sh882,700 for Year 2, Sh646,100 for Year 1 and Sh509,600 and Sh464,100 for FS 2 and FS 1 respectively.

Anyway, I think I'm the one who needs toi work on the CONTENTMENT part

http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/70re3qz/-/index.html
#43 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2016 8:17:13 AM

popat wrote:
Hata kama, what the heavens do you want to do with a billion?
For me ksh20-30million is enough for me to live a quiet life and leave enough for generations to come. Watu wawache tamaa!

Boss 30million is what will kill you with stress.Thats a four bedroom house in Mlolongo.So how do you live out of that?

Let me say my upcoming house in a better location than mlolongo is decent enough, my neighbours too just for notes comparison, I m still far from spending 5million as yet, by the time the cost gets to 6m it will be good enough, this can be done pole pole, so again why do I need a billion. Even worse a stolen billion.
If you spend that clean 30million prudently you can live a decent life and leave a clean story to your descendants . Acha za wizi.

Na sasa Range Rover utabuy na pesa gani?

Must one have a range to have lived? The need for a car is to help you move from point a to b with little inconveniences. You don't need a billion to own a well serviced mark I I

No. You don't need to. But if you have the ability to get it and you'd derive satisfaction from it, why not?

BTW, it is not just the rich that are stressed. Even the not-so-rich with properties in road reserves, Syokimau airport land have also suffered ulcers
#44 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2016 8:24:30 AM

@Lolest! - One does not need anywhere close to 800k net a month to live comfortably. Yet for some, 800k a month is not enough!!! It depends with what you consider important.

I know there are private jets, helicopters, limited sports cars, private islands, private performances by Adele and Jay Z for kids birthdays, holiday homes all over etc. to buy/pay for but luckily for me, I don't think I need those to live a full/complete life. Some of them are nice things to have but I don't NEED them. I might WANT them, but NEED, No! And even once you get all of them, you will still want more. Someone will be owning a bigger private jet than yours, faster and rarer sports car, a more exclusive private island with perfect weather all year round etc. And the cycle continues.

What makes you happy, content and comfortable? If it is material possession, that is very sad!!! And how much material possession at that? Will it ever be enough??
enyands
#45 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2016 7:19:03 PM

@Lolest! - One does not need anywhere close to 800k net a month to live comfortably. Yet for some, 800k a month is not enough!!! It depends with what you consider important.

I know there are private jets, helicopters, limited sports cars, private islands, private performances by Adele and Jay Z for kids birthdays, holiday homes all over etc. to buy/pay for but luckily for me, I don't think I need those to live a full/complete life. Some of them are nice things to have but I don't NEED them. I might WANT them, but NEED, No! And even once you get all of them, you will still want more. Someone will be owning a bigger private jet than yours, faster and rarer sports care, a more exclusive private island with perfect weather all year round etc. And the cycle continues.

What makes you happy, content and comfortable? If it is material possession, that is very sad!!! And how much material possession at that? Will it ever be enough??

Super Excessive material wealth desire is a rat race in a rat wheel. It will never stop.desire more and more and more.peace is always found in being comfortable and to be in right with a supreme being be it God ,Buddha,Allah, Krishna or whoever.
Problem is you can't mix the two wealth and supreme being. They insist on humility and sharing which the wealthy find it hard.
I would love to be able to educate my kids, be able to eat healthy ,be in a comfortable house (why do I need an 8 bedroom house knowing that I can only sleep in one bedroom and one bed?).
Sometimes it good to think that it's not the wealth we leave behind when the dark days are neigh that matters but what we leave inside people.as you go on your way up to richness you will cross people make friends and enemies.being super rich is a tough call.
This is just me
sitaki.kujulikana
#46 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2016 11:11:20 PM

Its funny guys are defending normal life as having a car, putting kids through school, having a 5,6,7 m house. That is rich by kenyan standards, majority of kenyans are poor and live on less than a dollar a day. thats like 3k per month.
Now imagine the 3k per month person saying, I don't want to be rich, a car is stressful with the parking menace, car jackings e.t.c, a house is stressful since you need metal windows and you can be attacked anytime, and you have to maintain it, have a house help, why put your kids to a school you pay 20-30 k per term that's like a ten year income.
There is nothing like comfortable 'riches' all assets or money generating ventures comes at a cost.
Mkimwa
#47 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2016 11:49:05 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Its funny guys are defending normal life as having a car, putting kids through school, having a 5,6,7 m house. That is rich by kenyan standards, majority of kenyans are poor and live on less than a dollar a day. thats like 3k per month.
Now imagine the 3k per month person saying, I don't want to be rich, a car is stressful with the parking menace, car jackings e.t.c, a house is stressful since you need metal windows and you can be attacked anytime, and you have to maintain it, have a house help, why put your kids to a school you pay 20-30 k per term that's like a ten year income.
There is nothing like comfortable 'riches' all assets or money generating ventures comes at a cost.

This is what i call perspective..
enyands
#48 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2016 11:54:17 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

I should spend less time worrying about my wealth and spend more time on my health. If you spend much time on wealth my assumption is some diseases can catch up and feed on your health and you won't be there to enjoy the wealth .

Denmark as a country doesn't have much wealth like usa but it has the best Healthcare ,education and labor force . People work only 35 hrs a week .results is that they have the highest life expectancy and people are generally happier than any country in the world, not because of richness but people there persue happiness instead of wealth.usa on the other side is opposite of Denmark because people are driven by desire to have more and more and more at what cost? At cost of broken families, compromised food- pesticides and gmo,broken Healthcare system ,broken labor laws-ask most kenyans they work two or more jobs 65hr+ a week,has highest gun violence in the world, It's the country with the most cancer patients,has the highest infant mortality,low life expectancy,and many more .

So to prove your point every level of wealth comes at a cost as you put it is true BUT it depends whether you chose to be happy with your wealth and health or not. As mentioned some of these stinking rich guys live on medications sir-antidepressants ,anti-anxiety ,bipolar ,moods stabilizers call it. All in the name of worrying about my much wealth. Lakini wafula in bungoma with his 3 acres ya miwa uses his bonus to pay fees will never book appointment to go take all the above meds,except now that Mumias company is on turbulence .move around and you will see.

NamastÄ™

Happiness in Denmark
UpcomingPaperChaser
#49 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2016 1:22:07 AM

My ideal comfortable life:

1. 500k assured monthly income in perpetuity from all my business

2. Good health, (gym, swimming, basketball, athletics) and free from erectyle dysfunction

3. Unlimited number of friends, blacks, whites, 'orange', african, Hispanics, poor, middle class, rich, celebrities

4. No celebrity: i want a life where i can walk freely without anyone noticing me and giving me unnecessary attention.

5. 2nd wife: Has to be a literate/learned wife from the cushitic community of Kenya (Rendille, Oromo, Marsabitians, Isioloians, Manderans, Wajirans or Moyalen)

6. Mpango wa kando: to be housed in those stand alone mansionettes opposite USIU Roysa area

7. 5 cars:
- Nissan Patrol 2015 model
- Mercedes Benz C Class
- FORD Ranger Double Cabin
- Toyota Alphard
- Volkswagen Beetle 1972 model

8. 6 bedroom mansion occupying two acres with a swimming pool, basketball court and tennis court!!

9. 3 very big German shepherd dogs!

4 small Japanese Spitz dogs (the ones that are all white and small like)

10. 100 acre farm back in Nandi County to be used for farming dairy cows, wheat and tea farming.

My life will be complete if i happen to ammass all these and i will not require a heaven to transcend to upon the expiry of my allowed time on the planet. If i could have all these then, i would not steal from anyone or do any harm to anyone.

N/B (I dont smoke anything illegal, these are my true desires at my soberest state)
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
enyands
#50 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2016 1:37:05 AM

UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:

2. Good health, (gym, swimming, basketball, athletics) and free from erectyle dysfunction

3. Unlimited number of friends, blacks, whites, 'orange', african, Hispanics, poor, middle class, rich, celebrities

4. No celebrity: i want a life where i can walk freely without anyone noticing me and giving me unnecessary attention.

5. 2nd wife: Has to be a literate/learned wife from the cushitic community of Kenya (Rendille, Oromo, Marsabitians, Isioloians, Manderans, Wajirans or Moyalen)

6. Mpango wa kando: to be housed in those stand alone mansionettes opposite USIU Roysa area

7. 5 cars:
- Mercedes Benz C Class
- Toyota Alphard

8. 6 bedroom mansion occupying two acres with a swimming pool, basketball court and tennis court!!

10. 100 acre farm back in Nandi County to be used for farming dairy cows, wheat and tea farming.

My life will be complete if i happen to ammass all these and i will not require a heaven to transcend to upon the expiry of my allowed time on the planet. If i could have all these then, i would not steal from anyone or do any harm to anyone.

N/B (I dont smoke anything illegal, these are my true desires at my soberest state)

UpcomingPaperChaser, Laughing out loudly you made my evening . Wewe u never get late to mention "mpango" kwani wewe u have too much testosterone hormones aje.

Two I'm happy all your ideas are based in kenya sio ulaya the way you had wanted earlier . I'm happy someone changed your mind somehow .

Why do you need 6 bedrooms unless you want to have 6 children. Unless u want your mipangos to inhabit those rooms

Have a trustworthy doc to help you with the antidepressants and bipolar meds .you will need him later when your mipangos start firing back

Thank me later
Mike Ock
#51 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2016 5:00:24 AM

7. 5 cars:
- Mercedes Benz C Class
- Toyota Alphard

You'll need kedo 100 million MINIMUM for that lifestyle.
#52 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2016 5:55:25 AM

Mike Ock wrote:

7. 5 cars:
- Mercedes Benz C Class
- Toyota Alphard

With this lifestyle the 100m will be finished in less than a year... Kwanza two wives and a mpango
enyands
#53 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2016 6:49:27 AM

Mike Ock wrote:

7. 5 cars:
- Mercedes Benz C Class
- Toyota Alphard

With this lifestyle the 100m will be finished in less than a year... Kwanza two wives and a mpango

About the mipangos, UpcomingPaperChaser chaser never fails to recognize their importance in the greater community.Laughing out loudly
#54 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2016 11:33:28 AM

enyands wrote:
Mike Ock wrote:

7. 5 cars:
- Mercedes Benz C Class
- Toyota Alphard

About the mipangos, UpcomingPaperChaser chaser never fails to recognize their importance in the greater community.Laughing out loudly

I had to go back and check the topic of the thread, wazua Laughing out loudly
#55 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2016 11:40:08 AM

Mike Ock wrote:

7. 5 cars:
- Mercedes Benz C Class
- Toyota Alphard

Hii hata 100m haitoshi!!! The Mansion, the 100 acre farm, 5 cars and Mpangos house in USIU area, 100m iliisha kitambo!!!
UpcomingPaperChaser
#56 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2016 11:48:13 AM

enyands wrote:

7. 5 cars:
- Mercedes Benz C Class
- Toyota Alphard

UpcomingPaperChaser, Laughing out loudly you made my evening . Wewe u never get late to mention "mpango" kwani wewe u have too much testosterone hormones aje.

Two I'm happy all your ideas are based in kenya sio ulaya the way you had wanted earlier . I'm happy someone changed your mind somehow .

Why do you need 6 bedrooms unless you want to have 6 children. Unless u want your mipangos to inhabit those rooms

Have a trustworthy doc to help you with the antidepressants and bipolar meds .you will need him later when your mipangos start firing back

Thank me later

1. Am going Ulaya to look for money to satiate this lifestyle

2. Mpango na second wife lazma. Balanced diet, not just boiled cabbages daily.

3. 6 bedroom, u neva know, daughters might bear kids before getting married n fail to get husbands!! so it will be babu na wajukuu wake

4. Playing basketball is entranched in my blood, so no worries for blood pressure.
UpcomingPaperChaser
#57 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2016 11:54:14 AM

Mike Ock wrote:

7. 5 cars:
- Mercedes Benz C Class
- Toyota Alphard

Hii hata 100m haitoshi!!! The Mansion, the 100 acre farm, 5 cars and Mpangos house in USIU area, 100m iliisha kitambo!!!

Hhahaha.....but habari ndio hiyo!! dream lifestyle
UpcomingPaperChaser
#58 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2016 11:55:54 AM

enyands wrote:
Mike Ock wrote:

7. 5 cars:
- Mercedes Benz C Class
- Toyota Alphard

Absolutely, they play a critical role in ensuring that the social fabric is intact and ensuring merrier moments as asali ya kuchovya ni tamu kuliko ya nyumbani
UpcomingPaperChaser
#59 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2016 11:57:26 AM

Mike Ock wrote:

7. 5 cars:
- Mercedes Benz C Class
- Toyota Alphard

Boss, women from the cushitic community of kenya as long as there is food on the table and TV, they wont need more than that
#60 Posted : Saturday, January 30, 2016 12:00:14 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

You are not getting the message.

Money is not bad. The issue is the cost of getting it and the balance in life. If I am poor, then I will work even 15 hours a day because I am looking for basic needs!!! I will not work 8 hours for some balance while my kids are sleeping hungry, have been sent home for school fees etc.

BUT when I get to some level (And this level depends on individuals and is where most of us go wrong) I reevaluate the balance. If have a home, a functional car, can afford to pay all bills and sudden financial shocks will not put my family's welfare in jeopardy, I have assured/passive income (A few hundred thousands as most are quoting a month) then I allocate more time to my kids, family, friends, hobbies, health etc.

There is nothing wrong with one legally earning hundreds of thousands or even millions a month if the life-work balance is not upset (and is actually in favour of life).

If I am making 500k a month working 6 hours a day but can make 1 million working 15 hours a day and in the process sacrificing things I hold dear to - like kids - believe you me, I will not!! But if using my brain I can make a million in the same 6 hours a day or may be I need to add an hour or two, then why not!!!

Amassing wealth just for the sake has taken over our lives. You leave the house at 5:00am and you are working up to 10:00 pm for most of your life and for what? Your kids only see you on Sunday as you are taking them for the family outing/lunch where you spend half your time on the phone. You don't even know you kids' favourite food, music etc., you don't know the name of even one of their friends, you don't attend weddings, funerals, birthdays, get togethers etc ukitafuta pesa.