Casa Mia
#41 Posted : Sunday, November 15, 2015 3:56:57 PM

Bykhovets wrote:
UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:
popat wrote:
This business of service charge shud discourage any sober thinking Kenyan who plans to run away from tenancy. Otherwise I don't get the logic of buying a property you will continue paying some 22k per month for the rest lof your stay there. You better continue paying rent at an address of your preference in perpetuity.

From a professional point of view, service charge is a must, though you should ensure that you are not exploited. Always vouch for a committee established by the residents. service charge should, however, be reasonable. Rent cant be 60k and service charge is 25k!!

Explain to me why paying service charge for a house that you own is a must.

Nyayo Estate charges 2,500 which I find reasonable considering security, garbage, landscaping, cleaning of general areas. Na watu wawache kumisuse akili, service charge can never be 22k per month, unless rent is about 750k per month for sauna, jacuzzi, swimming pool etc

COOP 70,000 ABP 15.20; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#42 Posted : Sunday, November 15, 2015 8:47:48 PM

Bykhovets wrote:
popat wrote:
This business of service charge shud discourage any sober thinking Kenyan who plans to run away from tenancy. Otherwise I don't get the logic of buying a property you will continue paying some 22k per month for the rest lof your stay there. You better continue paying rent at an address of your preference in perpetuity.

From a professional point of view, service charge is a must, though you should ensure that you are not exploited. Always vouch for a committee established by the residents. service charge should, however, be reasonable. Rent cant be 60k and service charge is 25k!!

Nyayo Estate charges 2,500 which I find reasonable considering security, garbage, landscaping, cleaning of general areas. Na watu wawache kumisuse akili, service charge can never be 22k per month, unless rent is about 750k per month for sauna, jacuzzi, swimming pool etc

I saw a house on riverside Drive whose rent is 250,000/- per month and the service charge is 20k per month. i find it proportionate because i believe the definition changes depending on the location and covers much more than the takataka and security assumptions
#43 Posted : Sunday, November 15, 2015 8:49:54 PM

Chaka wrote:
One thing I don't like about Kangundo rd are the old sand carrying trucks(Isuzu)that are driven recklessly..

You cannot use such criteria for ruling out an investment. I would rather operate between these trucks than in the CBD full of careless mats
#44 Posted : Sunday, November 15, 2015 8:56:40 PM

[quote=4eva eva]Siku hizi Kuna 1 /12 th,hiyo imezidi sasa[/quote

I was taught in my survey class that the smallest legally divisible prot was an 1/8!

For 1/12th one gets an allotment letter and not the title deed which is freehold, as it will be with the management company. You get a lease of 99 years(96 years to go) meaning your grand children will worry about renewing the lease if nothing changes in between.
#45 Posted : Sunday, November 15, 2015 9:26:35 PM

Sober wrote:
4eva eva wrote:
Siku hizi Kuna 1 /12 th,hiyo imezidi sasa

I was taught in my survey class that the smallest legally divisible prot was an 1/8!

For 1/12th one gets an allotment letter and not the title deed which is freehold, as it will be with the management company. You get a lease of 99 years(96 years to go) meaning your grand children will worry about renewing the lease if nothing changes in between.

So I was right concerning the smallest deedable prot being an 1/8?
Can one secure a loan with an allotment letter really?

#46 Posted : Sunday, November 15, 2015 11:09:01 PM

Sober wrote:
4eva eva wrote:

So I was right concerning the smallest deedable prot being an 1/8?
Can one secure a loan with an allotment letter really?

No you were NOT right!!!! And that is why you should go for a refund from whoever taught you such stuff!!!

And you stop lying to wazuans because if the stuff you say here was true, you would know you can get a title for land smaller than 1/8th and secure a loan with it if you so wished!

Different counties can regulate the smallest pieces for whatever reasons though. VERY FEW Kenyans have their houses built on an 1/8th and above in middle class Nairobi for example!!! And they have titles to their land!! And I am talking about Nairobi not "its environs".
lekamu
#47 Posted : Sunday, November 15, 2015 11:10:22 PM

Sober wrote:
[quote=4eva eva]Siku hizi Kuna 1 /12 th,hiyo imezidi sasa[/quote

Ruiru Murera area plots of 0.0212ha are on sale 'aparrently with title deeds' .. No idea how they got the deeds then.

RINK
Only Fools Have No Plan B
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#48 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 1:28:08 AM

4eva eva wrote:

lol....... wacha zianze kujazana njata tv
enyands
#49 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 2:31:30 AM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:
4eva eva wrote:

1/24 should be coming soon .
its2013
#50 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 7:44:21 AM

popat wrote:
I've been there and I can assure you no one would travel that far to pay even 10k rent.So brother better do something better with your money.am even surprised there is a service charge of 22k to crown it all.Lakini wakenya we are too gullible.

You are wrong regarding rents in the area. There are 2 bedroom apartments rental apartments at 15kpm and are always fully occupied - I've been making a point of checking every now and then when I am in that area.
Pretty hurts
#51 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 10:41:44 AM

enyands wrote:
4eva eva wrote:

Apartments are hanging in the air having zero land the owner can claim to be his.
#52 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 11:15:23 AM

Bykhovets wrote:
popat wrote:

Service charge is used to for maintaining common areas and facilities. If you live in a block of apartments and engage security and garbage collection companies collectively, then service charge goes to pay for these, whether you are living there as a tenant or owner. The big problem in Nairobi is that management companies sometimes take advantage of this and also that residents are sometimes not committed to meeting and discussing such issues so that service charge rates can be reasonable.

Having said that, I think that Casa Mia service charge fee is very suspect unless it was a typo and it was supposed to be 2,200. 22K is for high-end areas like Riverside & Upperhill which commonly have high-end tenants for serviced apartments requiring higher levels of security facilities, servicing of lifts, etc.

#53 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 11:21:24 AM

enyands wrote:
4eva eva wrote:

Apartments are hanging in the air having zero land the owner can claim to be his.

the land in this case is the floor space you own.
omhangla
#54 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 2:49:07 PM

popat wrote:
I've been there and I can assure you no one would travel that far to pay even 10k rent.So brother better do something better with your money.am even surprised there is a service charge of 22k to crown it all.Lakini wakenya we are too gullible.

me believes after a developer develops houses and sells all of them, they should hand everything to the buyers who will sit down put in place a management committee, calculate the expenses required to maintain the estate then come with a reasonable service charge per resident. hii mambo kuuzia watu nyumba then you continue being their manager mimi apana taka
Aguytrying
#55 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 2:52:48 PM

omhangla wrote:
popat wrote:

me believes after a developer develops houses and sells all of them, they should hand everything to the buyers who will sit down put in place a management committee, calculate the expenses required to maintain the estate then come with a reasonable service charge per resident. hii mambo kuuzia watu nyumba then you continue being their manager mimi apana taka

Its very greedy of them. If they sell all the units, they should leave the affairs to the new owners
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#56 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 3:20:03 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
omhangla wrote:
popat wrote:

Its very greedy of them. If they sell all the units, they should leave the affairs to the new owners

But the developer owns the land and has the title deed and has only given you a sublease. In essence you are his tenant.
Chaka
#57 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 3:52:38 PM

[/quote]

But the developer owns the land and has the title deed and has only given you a sublease. In essence you are his tenant.[/quote]
I haven't heard of this arrangement before.In this case then,the developer should leave and come back after the 99 year lease lapses..Are land rent and rates applicable for that lease?
#58 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 4:29:35 PM

its2013 wrote:
popat wrote:

You are wrong regarding rents in the area. There are 2 bedroom apartments rental apartments at 15kpm and are always fully occupied - I've been making a point of checking every now and then when I am in that area.

where is that ? in malaa ? on average even in ruai town that would be on the higher side, I have not gone past Joska of late, so maybe that's the case - but I really hope you are giving correct info.
#59 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 4:39:33 PM

butterflyke wrote:
Bykhovets wrote:
popat wrote:

Service charge is used to for maintaining common areas and facilities. If you live in a block of apartments and engage security and garbage collection companies collectively, then service charge goes to pay for these, whether you are living there as a tenant or owner. The big problem in Nairobi is that management companies sometimes take advantage of this and also that residents are sometimes not committed to meeting and discussing such issues so that service charge rates can be reasonable.

Having said that, I think that Casa Mia service charge fee is very suspect unless it was a typo and it was supposed to be 2,200. 22K is for high-end areas like Riverside & Upperhill which commonly have high-end tenants for serviced apartments requiring higher levels of security facilities, servicing of lifts, etc.

must have been a typo, you might also have a typo in your statement, this area should be around 220, 2,200 is for middle class areas like nyayo estate. smile

But in honesty I like the house designs, but I thought in that area for now they would have been better of doing big houses on say half an acre and sell them as retirement villas - land in that area is still dirt cheap and building materials (sand and stones) are just found around the corner.

Lakini they might be knowing something we do not, the guys selling the units are not new in this biashara, the wilson airport rumor might be true.
#60 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 6:46:18 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
omhangla wrote:
popat wrote:

But the developer owns the land and has the title deed and has only given you a sublease. In essence you are his tenant.

Woi!!! If you bought an apartment and the developer still owns the land, you were just shafted!!!

The developer should form a company which owns the land and if there are 40 units for example, the company should have 40 shares. For each house you buy, you get one share in the company. That way, the home owners collectively own the land. When you sell your house, you should sell it together with your share!!

Hii ingine yote ni wizi na slavery of the highest order!!!