Culture
World's oldest stone tools found near Lake Turkana
KulaRaha wrote:Impunity wrote:KulaRaha wrote:newfarer wrote:[quote=KulaRaha]They also found the skeleton of a whale near Lake Turkana. Apparently there was a river running from the sea all the way there. Looks like that area was very active and fertile. Link Could this collaborate biblical world wide Noahs flood? The flood story cuts across all religions, although some place the great flood much earlier than the Bible. It must have happened during the ending of the ice age. Question is, was man around to document it? Which other religion apart from Christianity and Islam mentions the great flood? Hnduism has it, Maasai have it. Here is a list: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_flood_myths[/quote] Wikipedia is a great source of awareness but you should not cite it as a buttress.
Alba wrote:masukuma wrote: All those guys got into trouble when the quick witted Homo Sapiens visited their homeslands. Cheza na binadamu...
This is true. Some scientists theorize that Homo Floresiensis existed as recently as 300 years ago. When the Portuguese first arrived on the Island of Flores, the natives regaled them with stories of a human like creature that existed on the island. This creature could supposedly mimic human speech, was ape like in appearance and were only 3 feet tall. Of course the Portuguese were dismissive. Then in 2003, skeletons of such creatures were found. Scientists named them Homo Floriesiensis. Though the most recent Homo floresiensis skeleton found is 12,000 years old, its plausible that Ebu Gogo were indeed the last remnants of homo floreseiensis The natives of flores killed the last remnants of Homo floresiensis by throwing firebrands into their caves http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ebu_gogo
Quote:villagers disposed of the Ebu Gogo by tricking them into accepting gifts of palm fiber to make clothes. When the Ebu Gogo took the fiber into their cave, the villagers threw in a firebrand to set it alight. The story goes that all the occupants were killed However, Indonesia is classified in the Koeppen-Geiger classification as Af climate, a hot, humid tropical climate with regular typhoons between Sep and Dec. Typhoon si ni kama ile flooding ya jusi hapa Nairobi? Sasa hiyo typhoon is 'regular'. What are the odds that, or, is it reasonably plausible that a cave in such a climate can be sufficiently dry to be easily ignitable and readily combustible from a firebrand? I am criticising Wikipedia, not you or your point of view.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
KulaRaha wrote:newfarer wrote:KulaRaha wrote:They also found the skeleton of a whale near Lake Turkana. Apparently there was a river running from the sea all the way there. Looks like that area was very active and fertile. Link Could this collaborate biblical world wide Noahs flood? The flood story cuts across all religions, although some place the great flood much earlier than the Bible. It must have happened during the ending of the ice age. Question is, was man around to document it? At least five major ice ages have occurred throughout Earth’s history: the earliest was over 2 billion years ago, and the most recent one began approximately 3 million years ago and continues today (yes, we live in an ice age!).so yes... man was (is ) very much around during the most recent ice age... the current ice age peaked some 20-20k years ago.... All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
KulaRaha wrote:Impunity wrote:KulaRaha wrote:newfarer wrote:[quote=KulaRaha]They also found the skeleton of a whale near Lake Turkana. Apparently there was a river running from the sea all the way there. Looks like that area was very active and fertile. Link Could this collaborate biblical world wide Noahs flood? The flood story cuts across all religions, although some place the great flood much earlier than the Bible. It must have happened during the ending of the ice age. Question is, was man around to document it? Which other religion apart from Christianity and Islam mentions the great flood? Hnduism has it, Maasai have it. Here is a list: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_flood_myths[/quote] Then if maasai myth existed before the mzungu came in, that black Noah son was a maasai. It reads like the biblical story carbon copy. The Noah story changes everything . The sedimentary deposits created so many layers in 40 days that scientists confuse with the work of billions of years. It takes a long time to create a single layer of sedimentary deposits used in carbon dating in normal circumstances punda amecheka
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
newfarer wrote:KulaRaha wrote:Impunity wrote:KulaRaha wrote:newfarer wrote:[quote=KulaRaha]They also found the skeleton of a whale near Lake Turkana. Apparently there was a river running from the sea all the way there. Looks like that area was very active and fertile. Link Could this collaborate biblical world wide Noahs flood? The flood story cuts across all religions, although some place the great flood much earlier than the Bible. It must have happened during the ending of the ice age. Question is, was man around to document it? Which other religion apart from Christianity and Islam mentions the great flood? Hnduism has it, Maasai have it. Here is a list: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_flood_myths[/quote] Then if maasai myth existed before the mzungu came in, that black Noah son was a maasai. It reads like the biblical story carbon copy. The Noah story changes everything . The sedimentary deposits created so many layers in 40 days that scientists confuse with the work of billions of years. It takes a long time to create a single layer of sedimentary deposits used in carbon dating in normal circumstances if it was 40 days work the difference in carbon dating between the top layer and the bottom layer would be less than 40 days right? Noah's story is a myth that seeks to explain the current crop of humans we have considering that it did not capture groups of people who were not in list of sons of Noah. Chinese? Red Indians and Inuit? Australian Aborigines? San people? Actually if you read the texts you see them as explanations to what was being observed by the writers not of things that they could not perceive or correctly understand how they worked. These stories are but guidelines. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:newfarer wrote:KulaRaha wrote:Impunity wrote:KulaRaha wrote:newfarer wrote:[quote=KulaRaha]They also found the skeleton of a whale near Lake Turkana. Apparently there was a river running from the sea all the way there. Looks like that area was very active and fertile. Link Could this collaborate biblical world wide Noahs flood? The flood story cuts across all religions, although some place the great flood much earlier than the Bible. It must have happened during the ending of the ice age. Question is, was man around to document it? Which other religion apart from Christianity and Islam mentions the great flood? Hnduism has it, Maasai have it. Here is a list: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_flood_myths[/quote] Then if maasai myth existed before the mzungu came in, that black Noah son was a maasai. It reads like the biblical story carbon copy. The Noah story changes everything . The sedimentary deposits created so many layers in 40 days that scientists confuse with the work of billions of years. It takes a long time to create a single layer of sedimentary deposits used in carbon dating in normal circumstances if it was 40 days work the difference in carbon dating between the top layer and the bottom layer would be less than 40 days right? Noah's story is a myth that seeks to explain the current crop of humans we have considering that it did not capture groups of people who were not in list of sons of Noah. Chinese? Red Indians and Inuit? Australian Aborigines? San people? Actually if you read the texts you see them as explanations to what was being observed by the writers not of things that they could not perceive or correctly understand how they worked. These stories are but guidelines. 40 abnormal days where rain came from all corners of the earth including below and above the earth . Anyway hizi vitu ni gumu kushika.where life came from is something you don't want to crack your head thinking about. Leave that mystery to the the inventor of life. Who invented life btw? That being has no beginning or end. There are so many things that man has been unable to unravel with certainty. For sure there is a super being which knows more than we do. If a simple digitally enabled m370 plane ilitushinda kutrace what about things that happened before analogue and written records time? punda amecheka
Rank: Member Joined: 10/27/2010 Posts: 266 Location: Nairobi
UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:Then some niggas who have been westernized into believing that religion (Islam and Christianity) is the only thing believe that Adam and Eve were created about 5000 years ago!! Thats why I do not believe in the creation stories at all!! How could a snake talk to a woman!!! Acheni hizo!!
On the other hand, I am finding this to be very helpful. Kumbe wazuans are these brainysome, cheerz and keep it up folks!! Brings to mind Bishop Dr. Boniface Adoyo of NPC. A few years ago, he went on the offensive against the National Museum of Kenya, threatening to mobilize the faithful to storm and destroy the fossils inside, a la ISIS. His grouse was that the fossils were controverting the Bible, and must have been the creation of the Devil.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
Muriel wrote:
However, Indonesia is classified in the Koeppen-Geiger classification as Af climate, a hot, humid tropical climate with regular typhoons between Sep and Dec.
Typhoon si ni kama ile flooding ya jusi hapa Nairobi? Sasa hiyo typhoon is 'regular'.
What are the odds that, or, is it reasonably plausible that a cave in such a climate can be sufficiently dry to be easily ignitable and readily combustible from a firebrand?
I am criticising Wikipedia, not you or your point of view.
Muriel No one said the entire cave ignited. If a people are hiding in a cave, you can kill them not by burning a cave but by lighting a fire at the cave entrance. The people inside the cave will die from smoke inhalation and not from being burned. The Wikipedia entry is presenting the oral history of the Nage people. They are not presenting it as fact. We do not know yet if Homo Floresiensis went extinct 12,000 years ago or if they went extinct 500 years ago as the Nage people claim. But the science of evolution is very dynamic. In the next few years, a fossil may be found that further confirms their story. The Ebu Gogo myth was initially dismissed by scientists. But some scientists now think its plausible because: 1. Fossils of a Human hobbit were actually been found in 2003 2. The behaviour of the hobbit as described by the Nage people actually matches what you would expect from a proto-human species.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
Its worth noting that fossilization is a very rare event which is why finding fossils is so difficult. Most of the time an animal dies, its remains are consumed or scattered by scavengers. This is especially true in foreasted areas and thats why chimpanzee fossils are so rare. And For this reason, it is very difficult to find fossils of homo floresiensis. Fossilization will usually happen along river sediments where a dead body can be quickly covered by sediments before scavengers find it. Thats why the fossils of human ancestors who lived in the open savannah are more common.
About the noah floods. I cant remember which chanel but it was either on discovery or natgeo but they once had a documentary on some possible explanations of what could have caused the floods. Their most convincing cause was a giant tsunami caused by the erruption of mt etna in sicily across the mediterenian. I cant write all the details but it was realy convincing the floods actually occured and its not a myth. Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
Don't dismiss Noah's ark story as a myth just yet. Explorers are said to have found it in Turkey. Again there are those who say that Noah's ark was a "DNA storage facility of the time" Ancient astronaut theorist's believe the flood was actually a means of ridding the earth of mans biological imperfections. By using Noah and his family they (extra terrestrials) could repopulate the planet with a genetically superior species. In 2008 on the Arctic Island of Svalbard, a vault was built to store the seeds of hundreds of thousands of plants in the event of global catastrophe. I remember seeing Wangari Maathai actually dropping a few of those. Elsewhere every effort is being made to store animal and human "DNA" as well. Is this just science, or merely history repeating itself? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Alba wrote:Muriel wrote:
However, Indonesia is classified in the Koeppen-Geiger classification as Af climate, a hot, humid tropical climate with regular typhoons between Sep and Dec.
Typhoon si ni kama ile flooding ya jusi hapa Nairobi? Sasa hiyo typhoon is 'regular'.
What are the odds that, or, is it reasonably plausible that a cave in such a climate can be sufficiently dry to be easily ignitable and readily combustible from a firebrand?
I am criticising Wikipedia, not you or your point of view.
Muriel No one said the entire cave ignited. If a people are hiding in a cave, you can kill them not by burning a cave but by lighting a fire at the cave entrance. The people inside the cave will die from smoke inhalation and not from being burned. The Wikipedia entry is presenting the oral history of the Nage people. They are not presenting it as fact. We do not know yet if Homo Floresiensis went extinct 12,000 years ago or if they went extinct 500 years ago as the Nage people claim. But the science of evolution is very dynamic. In the next few years, a fossil may be found that further confirms their story. The Ebu Gogo myth was initially dismissed by scientists. But some scientists now think its plausible because: 1. Fossils of a Human hobbit were actually been found in 2003 2. The behaviour of the hobbit as described by the Nage people actually matches what you would expect from a proto-human species. Ah, yes, Alba. It might be so, who knows, and I agree that the science of evolution is very dynamic. I opine that that is not an asset but a liability, you know, about consistency and all that. And I also agree with you in your subsequent post that a sudden catastrophe is required for fossilization to occur.
murchr wrote:Don't dismiss Noah's ark story as a myth just yet. Explorers are said to have found it in Turkey. Again there are those who say that Noah's ark was a "DNA storage facility of the time" Ancient astronaut theorist's believe the flood was actually a means of ridding the earth of mans biological imperfections. By using Noah and his family they (extra terrestrials) could repopulate the planet with a genetically superior species.
In 2008 on the Arctic Island of Svalbard, a vault was built to store the seeds of hundreds of thousands of plants in the event of global catastrophe. I remember seeing Wangari Maathai actually dropping a few of those. Elsewhere every effort is being made to store animal and human "DNA" as well. Is this just science, or merely history repeating itself? This 'alien' story is quite attractive. It surely is worth exploring further. It is appalling that those who front it are often dismissed as loonies as part of efforts to bully opinion to favour evolution.
masukuma wrote:newfarer wrote:KulaRaha wrote:Impunity wrote:KulaRaha wrote:newfarer wrote:[quote=KulaRaha]They also found the skeleton of a whale near Lake Turkana. Apparently there was a river running from the sea all the way there. Looks like that area was very active and fertile. Link Could this collaborate biblical world wide Noahs flood? The flood story cuts across all religions, although some place the great flood much earlier than the Bible. It must have happened during the ending of the ice age. Question is, was man around to document it? Which other religion apart from Christianity and Islam mentions the great flood? Hnduism has it, Maasai have it. Here is a list: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_flood_myths[/quote] Then if maasai myth existed before the mzungu came in, that black Noah son was a maasai. It reads like the biblical story carbon copy. The Noah story changes everything . The sedimentary deposits created so many layers in 40 days that scientists confuse with the work of billions of years. It takes a long time to create a single layer of sedimentary deposits used in carbon dating in normal circumstances if it was 40 days work the difference in carbon dating between the top layer and the bottom layer would be less than 40 days right? Noah's story is a myth that seeks to explain the current crop of humans we have considering that it did not capture groups of people who were not in list of sons of Noah. Chinese? Red Indians and Inuit? Australian Aborigines? San people? Actually if you read the texts you see them as explanations to what was being observed by the writers not of things that they could not perceive or correctly understand how they worked. These stories are but guidelines. What is 'guideline'? To what? To whom? Etc
Alba wrote:The Standard is now reporting albeit a month late that stone tools that are 3.3 million years old have been discovered on the shores of lake Turkana. Big news because scientists have always assumed that only members of the genus homo made stone tools. Remember in form one you were taught that Homo Habilis (handy man) was the first tool maker. It appears earlier hominind species were making tools. Possibly Australopithecus Garrhi or Kenyanthropus platyops Link So, I was reading about it ‘Predate humans’: Stone tools made 3.3mn years ago found in Kenya When something struck me. The 'tool' looks just like a 'stone'. So it is 3.3 million years old. What is 3.3 million years old? The 'stone' or the 'tool'? When I was a child, we - siblings, friends etc looked for and used 'tools' or stones to do somethings. Of course we did not 'make' the 'tools' but we used them nonetheless. I feel left out that our 'tools' have not been carbon dated and have not made it to scientific journals.
Muriel wrote:murchr wrote:Don't dismiss Noah's ark story as a myth just yet. Explorers are said to have found it in Turkey. Again there are those who say that Noah's ark was a "DNA storage facility of the time" Ancient astronaut theorist's believe the flood was actually a means of ridding the earth of mans biological imperfections. By using Noah and his family they (extra terrestrials) could repopulate the planet with a genetically superior species.
In 2008 on the Arctic Island of Svalbard, a vault was built to store the seeds of hundreds of thousands of plants in the event of global catastrophe. I remember seeing Wangari Maathai actually dropping a few of those. Elsewhere every effort is being made to store animal and human "DNA" as well. Is this just science, or merely history repeating itself? This 'alien' story is quite attractive. It surely is worth exploring further. It is appalling that those who front it are often dismissed as loonies as part of efforts to bully opinion to favour evolution. But in all honesty, what are the odds we are the ONLY intelligent life form in this huge universe? I think that is very arrogant thinking. There has to be life out there, statistically. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
KulaRaha wrote:Muriel wrote:murchr wrote:Don't dismiss Noah's ark story as a myth just yet. Explorers are said to have found it in Turkey. Again there are those who say that Noah's ark was a "DNA storage facility of the time" Ancient astronaut theorist's believe the flood was actually a means of ridding the earth of mans biological imperfections. By using Noah and his family they (extra terrestrials) could repopulate the planet with a genetically superior species.
In 2008 on the Arctic Island of Svalbard, a vault was built to store the seeds of hundreds of thousands of plants in the event of global catastrophe. I remember seeing Wangari Maathai actually dropping a few of those. Elsewhere every effort is being made to store animal and human "DNA" as well. Is this just science, or merely history repeating itself? This 'alien' story is quite attractive. It surely is worth exploring further. It is appalling that those who front it are often dismissed as loonies as part of efforts to bully opinion to favour evolution. But in all honesty, what are the odds we are the ONLY intelligent life form in this huge universe? I think that is very arrogant thinking. There has to be life out there, statistically. Absolutely! If our intelligence, as is supposed, arose from a 'chance event', it is also likely that it could be replicated elsewhere. Anyway, existence of aliens, extra terrestials cannot be easily dismissed despite the cavil all around. Infact, rumours of a soon coming 'alien' invasion are grounded.
Rank: Member Joined: 10/27/2010 Posts: 266 Location: Nairobi
murchr wrote:Don't dismiss Noah's ark story as a myth just yet. Explorers are said to have found it in Turkey. Again there are those who say that Noah's ark was a "DNA storage facility of the time" Ancient astronaut theorist's believe the flood was actually a means of ridding the earth of mans biological imperfections. By using Noah and his family they (extra terrestrials) could repopulate the planet with a genetically superior species.
In 2008 on the Arctic Island of Svalbard, a vault was built to store the seeds of hundreds of thousands of plants in the event of global catastrophe. I remember seeing Wangari Maathai actually dropping a few of those. Elsewhere every effort is being made to store animal and human "DNA" as well. Is this just science, or merely history repeating itself? Hmmmm.....I've always wondered how big the Ark was to accommodate all those animals. And how did the Lion survive 40 days of hunger as it nestled next to the gazelle?
Caramba wrote:murchr wrote:Don't dismiss Noah's ark story as a myth just yet. Explorers are said to have found it in Turkey. Again there are those who say that Noah's ark was a "DNA storage facility of the time" Ancient astronaut theorist's believe the flood was actually a means of ridding the earth of mans biological imperfections. By using Noah and his family they (extra terrestrials) could repopulate the planet with a genetically superior species.
In 2008 on the Arctic Island of Svalbard, a vault was built to store the seeds of hundreds of thousands of plants in the event of global catastrophe. I remember seeing Wangari Maathai actually dropping a few of those. Elsewhere every effort is being made to store animal and human "DNA" as well. Is this just science, or merely history repeating itself? Hmmmm.....I've always wondered how big the Ark was to accommodate all those animals. And how did the Lion survive 40 days of hunger as it nestled next to the gazelle? This is what the bible says; Gen 6 wrote:14 So make yourself an ark of cypress[c] wood; make rooms in it and coat it with pitch inside and out. 15 This is how you are to build it: The ark is to be three hundred cubits long, fifty cubits wide and thirty cubits high.[d] 16 Make a roof for it, leaving below the roof an opening one cubit[e] high all around.[f] Put a door in the side of the ark and make lower, middle and upper decks....
19 You are to bring into the ark two of all living creatures, male and female, to keep them alive with you. 20 Two of every kind of bird, of every kind of animal and of every kind of creature that moves along the ground will come to you to be kept alive. 21 You are to take every kind of food that is to be eaten and store it away as food for you and for them.” Chap 7 wrote:2 Take with you seven pairs of every kind of clean animal, a male and its mate, and one pair of every kind of unclean animal, a male and its mate, 3 and also seven pairs of every kind of bird, male and female, to keep their various kinds alive throughout the earth. Note, I dont know if lions were there because the clean animal per jewish customs are cow, goat sheep, gazelle roebuck and the unclean are the pigs rabbit etc. Now if you read the Noah's ark story per the Mesopotamia's texts that kinda solves the hungry lion puzzle. PS. I believe the writters of the bible just translated the Mesopotamia story to suit them. http://www.dailymail.co....acle-reeds-bitumen.html "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Culture
World's oldest stone tools found near Lake Turkana