The Tale of 2 Countries Kenya & Singapore
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
murchr wrote:FRM2011 wrote:nakujua wrote:Swenani wrote:nakujua wrote:timbosho wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:Torio wrote:nakujua wrote:[quote=Torio][quote=nakujua][quote=Torio] Hapo sawa, so its basically poor leadership that pulled Kenya back as compared to Singapore
Hapana si sawa. Leadership is just one small bit of it.  so human capital (as defined on Wikipedia) is number one, the port number two, some other stuff then, Lee yee/ arap moi just a tinny little bit. hapo ni sawa. In simple terms he's saying that the "African" IQ is lower that that of the Asian thus the difference. Hapo sawa, I guess then we africans especially kenyans were not born with the creative capacity nor the ability to perform meaningful labor to produce economic value. The Bell curve is a fact of life. The blacks on average score 85 per cent on IQ and it is accurate, nothing to do with culture. The whites score on average 100. Asians score more … the Bell curve authors put it at least 10 points higher. These are realities that, if you do not accept, will lead to frustration because you will be spending money on wrong assumptions and the results cannot follow. Lee Kuan Yew, The Man & His Ideas, 1997 Hapo sawa timbosho, ndivyo nilikubaliana na torio , sisi wamiliki wa ngozi nyeusi huzaliwa na kiwango kikubwa sana cha ujinga, na ukosefu wa akili. Can we therefore conclude that the more black you are the lower you IQ is?  nyakati fulani zilizopita kulikuwa na mzalendo, ambaye hakufurahishwa hata kidogo na matamshi ambayo yalilenga kuzua utatanishi katika mshikamano wetu kama wakenya. nitaepuka swali lako la balagha, ili nisijipate mashakani. Bwana nakujua, kiswahili kiako, ni kisuri sana.  ni kugeria tu pwana - lived in bongo land kidogo and its torture when you listen to the lingual mastery in that place, felt embarrassed with my half baked english na kiswahili.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
murchr wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:@Torio,
Welcome aboard, I like the way you are thinking and arguing.
Your argument makes a lot of sense. I have always argued that human capital surpasses all other resources in the world. That it why the average Kenyan as you correctly put it in 1964 had no chance of competing with the Singaporean (who is basically a chinese immigrant) in commerce and investment growth.
The chinese have been engaged in organised nation building and trade since recorded history while the african/kenyan remains organised upto the clan level and probably went to school simply because the local missionary was insistent on getting anyone to learn to read and as they were the youngest (or weakest) child in a family and were not fit to herd cattle their father had no problem getting rid of them by sending them to school.
Given the same tools, the performance of the Kenyan leader would be dragged down by the collective mediocrity of the led while the Singaporean leader's performance will be raised by the high knowledge and expectations of the led. Are you saying that the Chinese had "formal" education before the white man? Excuses! The African was as educated as the avg Singaporean in the 60s uzembe plus lack of a defined focus is what made us lag behind everything in the world has context... understanding context is key to everything...  All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:murchr wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:@Torio,
Your argument makes a lot of sense. I have always argued that human capital surpasses all other resources in the world. That it why the average Kenyan as you correctly put it in 1964 had no chance of competing with the Singaporean (who is basically a chinese immigrant) in commerce and investment growth.
The chinese have been engaged in organised nation building and trade since recorded history while the african/kenyan remains organised upto the clan level and probably went to school simply because the local missionary was insistent on getting anyone to learn to read and as they were the youngest (or weakest) child in a family and were not fit to herd cattle their father had no problem getting rid of them by sending them to school.
Given the same tools, the performance of the Kenyan leader would be dragged down by the collective mediocrity of the led while the Singaporean leader's performance will be raised by the high knowledge and expectations of the led. Are you saying that the Chinese had "formal" education before the white man? Excuses! The African was as educated as the avg Singaporean in the 60s uzembe plus lack of a defined focus is what made us lag behind everything in the world has context... understanding context is key to everything...  You are not understanding the context of this argument Makales. Go back to page 1 "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
masukuma wrote:murchr wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:@Torio,
Given the same tools, the performance of the Kenyan leader would be dragged down by the collective mediocrity of the led while the Singaporean leader's performance will be raised by the high knowledge and expectations of the led. Are you saying that the Chinese had "formal" education before the white man? Excuses! The African was as educated as the avg Singaporean in the 60s uzembe plus lack of a defined focus is what made us lag behind everything in the world has context... understanding context is key to everything...  may be the wealth the african woman is after is a roof and food on the table for her family, ama what do you mean in your context of wealth.
I tend to think that countries like Singapore know which cog to fit onto which wheel, it doesn't matter how many people a country has whose IQ is north of 100, its about putting the write talent/intellect at the right place. If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:masukuma wrote:murchr wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:@Torio,
Given the same tools, the performance of the Kenyan leader would be dragged down by the collective mediocrity of the led while the Singaporean leader's performance will be raised by the high knowledge and expectations of the led. Are you saying that the Chinese had "formal" education before the white man? Excuses! The African was as educated as the avg Singaporean in the 60s uzembe plus lack of a defined focus is what made us lag behind everything in the world has context... understanding context is key to everything...  may be the wealth the african woman is after is a roof and food on the table for her family, ama what do you mean in your context of wealth. context of where 'hardwork' gives results.. I agree with @muchr... focus has never been in our culture. We love lots of business... you are employed, you have some chicken and quails, some cows at home, some plots in ruai, some flats in kinoo, some green house to plant green beans or tomatoes or [PLACE WHATEVER GROWS IN A GREEN HOUSE HERE], you own a matatu and taxis, you have a photo studio, you also are doing some wheat farming in Narok... you have some tea you grow in Limuru/Kaimosi/Kericho. it's a bit difficult to for you to be excellent... hard for you to provide world class excellence in one of these. YOU ARE A REAL HARD WORKER BUT NOTHING FROM THESE WILL EVER BE WORLD CLASS. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
We got many exemplary talented Africans(blacks) as individuals. Challeging aspect is when we form a community. We lose focus , lack clear goals , hate each other and laziness. Those among us smarter enough take that opportunity to enrich themselves. work to prosper
nakujua wrote:masukuma wrote:nakujua wrote:Hapo sawa timbosho, ndivyo nilikubaliana na torio , sisi wamiliki wa ngozi nyeusi huzaliwa na kiwango kikubwa sana cha ujinga, na ukosefu wa akili. you people never fail to surprise me. So... is IQ a factor of skin color? presence of melanin or lack there of? is melanin abundance a causal factor or a correlational factor? Lazy brains tend to draw up conclusions like this! is IQ a factor of birth, diet, environment? Does the weight a mother pick up during her pregnancy affect the IQ of the child she is bearing? Does talking to your child while in the womb and after they are born (way before they can give your any kind of feedback) affect the IQ of the child? What about having elder siblings? Are there other factors? are they causal or correlational? What are the causal not correlational factors that actually make IQ tests differ among groups of people?Don't be a lazy thinker!! In my well considered opinion it's all down to 2 things... CULTURE and DIET amongst other factors! even such things as height are to a large extent having a dietary correlation. Has anyone looked up the Flynn effect? by the way... how come the Japanese or the chineses (that are supposed to have higher IQs) don't go around reminding everyone that they are in the front of the bell curve and yet it's the people in the middle that do? Don't consume hate science and look at your kids any differently! your kids are not damned to be low IQed just because their folks had black skins... priss! synthesising the causality of IQ or any other trait of the human race to just 1 or 2 variables is incredibly lazy... FAGA!! DON'T BE A LAZY THINKER! sasa @ma-sukuma, si @ti-mbosho amesema bell curve ni ukweli wa maisha - how is one supposed to discuss with one who believes that the color of your skin is a determinant of ones intelligence, si unakubaliana tu na yeye - sasa utamwambia nini, na tayari anajua yeye na wewe na mimi tulizaliwa na ujinga. Sio timbosho alisema. Ni Uncle Lee alisema, the great Lee Kuan Yew. Personally I'm not quite sure why it is Asians and whites dominating the world economy and politics, not black people. But come to think of it, outside of Egypt, Mali and Ethiopia, what have we contributed to the world in terms of scientific, economic or cultural achievements? The Chinese can point to tea, philosophy, gunpowder, paper money etc. What can we point to? I do not know if its lazy thinking or not, but when you open the book of African achievements in the past and now, it is mostly blank outside Egypt, Ethiopia and Mali. Either what was achieved was lost in time/forgotten, or just was not there to begin with.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Phallic comparisons and tales of inadequacy are generally symptoms of alienation. On this thread, the African isn't being aware of himself; instead he's projecting an image he's acquired from a white supremacist worldview and critiquing it. That is, he's blocking his authenticity even further.
'Wimbi la maneno na kelele. Kupanda kelele na kuvuna kelele.'
tycho wrote:Phallic comparisons and tales of inadequacy are generally symptoms of alienation. On this thread, the African isn't being aware of himself; instead he's projecting an image he's acquired from a white supremacist worldview and critiquing it. That is, he's blocking his authenticity even further.
'Wimbi la maneno na kelele. Kupanda kelele na kuvuna kelele.' Hmm...How else can we compare/value ourselves? By changing what we value?
timbosho wrote:nakujua wrote:masukuma wrote:nakujua wrote:Hapo sawa timbosho, ndivyo nilikubaliana na torio , sisi wamiliki wa ngozi nyeusi huzaliwa na kiwango kikubwa sana cha ujinga, na ukosefu wa akili. you people never fail to surprise me. So... is IQ a factor of skin color? presence of melanin or lack there of? is melanin abundance a causal factor or a correlational factor? Lazy brains tend to draw up conclusions like this! is IQ a factor of birth, diet, environment? Does the weight a mother pick up during her pregnancy affect the IQ of the child she is bearing? Does talking to your child while in the womb and after they are born (way before they can give your any kind of feedback) affect the IQ of the child? What about having elder siblings? Are there other factors? are they causal or correlational? What are the causal not correlational factors that actually make IQ tests differ among groups of people?Don't be a lazy thinker!! In my well considered opinion it's all down to 2 things... CULTURE and DIET amongst other factors! even such things as height are to a large extent having a dietary correlation. Has anyone looked up the Flynn effect? by the way... how come the Japanese or the chineses (that are supposed to have higher IQs) don't go around reminding everyone that they are in the front of the bell curve and yet it's the people in the middle that do? Don't consume hate science and look at your kids any differently! your kids are not damned to be low IQed just because their folks had black skins... priss! synthesising the causality of IQ or any other trait of the human race to just 1 or 2 variables is incredibly lazy... FAGA!! DON'T BE A LAZY THINKER! sasa @ma-sukuma, si @ti-mbosho amesema bell curve ni ukweli wa maisha - how is one supposed to discuss with one who believes that the color of your skin is a determinant of ones intelligence, si unakubaliana tu na yeye - sasa utamwambia nini, na tayari anajua yeye na wewe na mimi tulizaliwa na ujinga. Sio timbosho alisema. Ni Uncle Lee alisema, the great Lee Kuan Yew. Personally I'm not quite sure why it is Asians and whites dominating the world economy and politics, not black people. But come to think of it, outside of Egypt, Mali and Ethiopia, what have we contributed to the world in terms of scientific, economic or cultural achievements? The Chinese can point to tea, philosophy, gunpowder, paper money etc. What can we point to? I do not know if its lazy thinking or not, but when you open the book of African achievements in the past and now, it is mostly blank outside Egypt, Ethiopia and Mali. Either what was achieved was lost in time/forgotten, or just was not there to begin with. @ti-mbosho your answer will be found in this thread >>http://wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&m=454868 Funny how you've been conditioned to think that even the African has no culture yet these same white people cross oceans just to come experience that innate African culture. Just as your fore fathers were told that their gods were/are idols and that the only way to connect with the maker is by worshiping the middle eastern gods. That's why i respect those Kikuyu elders who go to worship and offer libations whilst facing mt. Kenya. This brainwashing continues to this day i see you've even taken off Egypt Ethiopia from your list of African people because......they have a white/fair skin? Anyway...its such mindsets that lag the African back. You need to learn your history. Let me just mention, that astronomy was African invention - Google Namoratunga - PS the white man will tell you that is witchcraft. Another google assignment - Mpemba effect. The reason why ngozi nyeupe thrives, is because he has been conditioned to believe that he is superior hence the can do attitude until it happens. You just need to interact with them "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
timbosho wrote:tycho wrote:Phallic comparisons and tales of inadequacy are generally symptoms of alienation. On this thread, the African isn't being aware of himself; instead he's projecting an image he's acquired from a white supremacist worldview and critiquing it. That is, he's blocking his authenticity even further.
'Wimbi la maneno na kelele. Kupanda kelele na kuvuna kelele.' Hmm...How else can we compare/value ourselves? By changing what we value? The point of comparing ourselves with others is a delusion. It supposes an objective reality as a standard. But there's no such thing. Values are about adapting to internal and subjective needs and experiences. All humans are the same, but different experiences lead to different learning and behavior. One, I have learnt, should be very careful when labeling behavior. 'Laziness' can be either taught, or can be 'passive aggression'. 'Lack of focus' is easy when there's a feeling of desperation or frenzy to 'catch up'. GDP, designer wear, 'formal education' and the like aren't universal metaphors or values. There are many more metaphors available to humans, each equally valid.
tycho wrote:timbosho wrote:tycho wrote:Phallic comparisons and tales of inadequacy are generally symptoms of alienation. On this thread, the African isn't being aware of himself; instead he's projecting an image he's acquired from a white supremacist worldview and critiquing it. That is, he's blocking his authenticity even further.
'Wimbi la maneno na kelele. Kupanda kelele na kuvuna kelele.' Hmm...How else can we compare/value ourselves? By changing what we value? The point of comparing ourselves with others is a delusion. It supposes an objective reality as a standard. But there's no such thing. Values are about adapting to internal and subjective needs and experiences. All humans are the same, but different experiences lead to different learning and behavior. One, I have learnt, should be very careful when labeling behavior. 'Laziness' can be either taught, or can be 'passive aggression'. 'Lack of focus' is easy when there's a feeling of desperation or frenzy to 'catch up'. GDP, designer wear, 'formal education' and the like aren't universal metaphors or values. There are many more metaphors available to humans, each equally valid. @tycho by asking these questions I am only seeking answers to why is Africa behind economically and cannot seem to manage to feed, dress and take care of its people. I do not subscribe to the idea that Africans are inferior or superior to other peoples. I am wondering why whenever we face a challenge like famine, we run to the developed nations and/or China for "aid". I am wondering why despite of having an abundance of natural resources, well educated, hard working people, poverty and disease still stalks a large percentage of Africans as compared to other regions of the world. In seeking answers I compare Africa to the other regions of the world that have managed to address these challenges. I see how their histories have influenced them and their approach to the challenges they face, and I compare that to what we are doing as Africa, what we have done in the past, and cannot help but wonder. For example, what is my history, where is it written down, why was it not written down by my forefathers? I was born in a place called Kenya but Kenya is a name that came into being on the say so of the white man. What did my great great grandfather call where we lived? Did my great great great grandfather travel to the coast? What did he call the ocean if he did? Was he able to read and write? Did my people build ships like the Romans and the Chinese did 6000 years ago? These are the questions that run through my mind. Other people can answer questions like these about themselves, but I cannot, because my history was not written down by those who went before for me to read. Why didnt we learn to read and write in our languages? Was it because there was no need for it? That is what I mean by the book being empty when it comes to achievements. The reason I removed Egypt and Ethiopia, and Mali is because their achievements are well known. I am more curious about the achievements of those who were found in the geographical areas outside these 3.
timbosho wrote: @tycho by asking these questions I am only seeking answers to why is Africa behind economically and cannot seem to manage to feed, dress and take care of its people. I do not subscribe to the idea that Africans are inferior or superior to other peoples. I am wondering why whenever we face a challenge like famine, we run to the developed nations and/or China for "aid". I am wondering why despite of having an abundance of natural resources, well educated, hard working people, poverty and disease still stalks a large percentage of Africans as compared to other regions of the world. In seeking answers I compare Africa to the other regions of the world that have managed to address these challenges. I see how their histories have influenced them and their approach to the challenges they face, and I compare that to what we are doing as Africa, what we have done in the past, and cannot help but wonder. For example, what is my history, where is it written down, why was it not written down by my forefathers? I was born in a place called Kenya but Kenya is a name that came into being on the say so of the white man. What did my great great grandfather call where we lived? Did my great great great grandfather travel to the coast? What did he call the ocean if he did? Was he able to read and write? Did my people build ships like the Romans and the Chinese did 6000 years ago? These are the questions that run through my mind. Other people can answer questions like these about themselves, but I cannot, because my history was not written down by those who went before for me to read. Why didn't we learn to read and write in our languages? Was it because there was no need for it? That is what I mean by the book being empty when it comes to achievements. The reason I removed Egypt and Ethiopia, and Mali is because their achievements are well known. I am more curious about the achievements of those who were found in the geographical areas outside these 3.
you see other races doing stuff and you think... hey... why have we not done that? how come africans have not [INSERT ACHIEVEMENT HERE] not realising that the situation is more complex that what you can comprehend.... Naturally you think... 50 years is a long time we should have been like [INSERT ASIAN TIGER HERE] because we got independence at the same time (like years of independence is some sort of metric that contributes to growth or "development"... but I digress). What you want is to be seen like others, to have some form of pride... like others. You think that people need to do some things to be seen as people and you want africans to have done some of those things and your bitterness is that... here in lies the very root of your problem - the problem to be seen as a 'person' in the eyes of other races or so you think. You think that if we could only do [INSERT SOME ACHIEVEMENT HERE] we would be in the ranks of 'people'. You think that you will have some social currency if your people built some contraption and sailed the seas 6k yrs ago... too bad... not such thing happened. As for the other achievements you are seeking? Well... we have not done [INSERT ACHIEVEMENT HERE]! that's a fact... we are not the only ones not to have done that. polynesian, american indians, inuits, mongolians, australian aborigines, people from papua new guinea, latinas e.t.c. have not done it.... but that's not even the point the point is YOUR BEING A HUMAN BEING (PERSON) HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH WHAT YOUR SOCIETY'S/ANCESTORS' ACHIEVEMENTS. can someone answer my question... why do all these IQ issues emanate from one Race? We don't here it for the people at the very end of the so called intelligence bell curve. disease, famine e.t.c. are also contextual.... even if we had exactly the same context... even if we were right in the middle of the old world not having the sahara separating us from the rest of the 'action'. Even if we were right in the center of things and we did nothing... we would still have been humans (people)...since the being human has nothing to do with doing stuff. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Member Joined: 1/27/2012 Posts: 851 Location: Nairobi
masukuma wrote: you see other races doing stuff and you think... hey... why have we not done that? how come africans have not [INSERT ACHIEVEMENT HERE] not realising that the situation is more complex that what you can comprehend.... Naturally you think... 50 years is a long time we should have been like [INSERT ASIAN TIGER HERE] because we got independence at the same time (like years of independence is some sort of metric that contributes to growth or "development"... but I digress). What you want is to be seen like others, to have some form of pride... like others. You think that people need to do some things to be seen as people and you want africans to have done some of those things and your bitterness is that... here in lies the very root of your problem - the problem to be seen as a 'person' in the eyes of other races or so you think. You think that if we could only do [INSERT SOME ACHIEVEMENT HERE] we would be in the ranks of 'people'. You think that you will have some social currency if your people built some contraption and sailed the seas 6k yrs ago... too bad... not such thing happened. As for the other achievements you are seeking? Well... we have not done [INSERT ACHIEVEMENT HERE]! that's a fact... we are not the only ones not to have done that. polynesian, american indians, inuits, mongolians, australian aborigines, people from papua new guinea, latinas e.t.c. have not done it.... but that's not even the point the point is YOUR BEING A HUMAN BEING (PERSON) HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH WHAT YOUR SOCIETY'S/ANCESTORS' ACHIEVEMENTS.
can someone answer my question... why do all these IQ issues emanate from one Race? We don't here it for the people at the very end of the so called intelligence bell curve. Just because the others don't bother with it,doesn't render it meaningless.
disease, famine e.t.c. are also contextual.... even if we had exactly the same context... even if we were right in the middle of the old world not having the sahara separating us from the rest of the 'action'. Even if we were right in the center of things and we did nothing... we would still have been humans (people)...since the being human has nothing to do with doing stuff.
@Masukuma. What are you saying? Are you saying it was meaningless for those who had advanced in medicine/ technology/literature etc to have done so? Did the African choose not advance? Or was he simply unable to? For the last 2,000 years, what was the African doing? What is the African doing now? A lot might not have been documented,WHY? In places where there was documentation, there was some sort of education system. Students could study lit, maths, science etc etc become engineers, writers,philosophers. In East & Central Africa, without schools, where were the engineers,doctors, financial analysts etc to come from? The factors that made Singapore/S.Korea to be at par with Kenya were man made. They have a history of achievements stretching more than 3,000 years whereas he in Kenya, our history & achievements hardly stretch 200 years. In short, i think some people cultures have had enough 'developmental' time, we on the other hand, we are just starting to crawl. That's how Singapore is where it is and Kenya is where it is.
mkeiy wrote:masukuma wrote: you see other races doing stuff and you think... hey... why have we not done that? how come africans have not [INSERT ACHIEVEMENT HERE] not realising that the situation is more complex that what you can comprehend.... Naturally you think... 50 years is a long time we should have been like [INSERT ASIAN TIGER HERE] because we got independence at the same time (like years of independence is some sort of metric that contributes to growth or "development"... but I digress). What you want is to be seen like others, to have some form of pride... like others. You think that people need to do some things to be seen as people and you want africans to have done some of those things and your bitterness is that... here in lies the very root of your problem - the problem to be seen as a 'person' in the eyes of other races or so you think. You think that if we could only do [INSERT SOME ACHIEVEMENT HERE] we would be in the ranks of 'people'. You think that you will have some social currency if your people built some contraption and sailed the seas 6k yrs ago... too bad... not such thing happened. As for the other achievements you are seeking? Well... we have not done [INSERT ACHIEVEMENT HERE]! that's a fact... we are not the only ones not to have done that. polynesian, american indians, inuits, mongolians, australian aborigines, people from papua new guinea, latinas e.t.c. have not done it.... but that's not even the point the point is YOUR BEING A HUMAN BEING (PERSON) HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH WHAT YOUR SOCIETY'S/ANCESTORS' ACHIEVEMENTS.
can someone answer my question... why do all these IQ issues emanate from one Race? We don't here it for the people at the very end of the so called intelligence bell curve. Just because the others don't bother with it,doesn't render it meaningless.
disease, famine e.t.c. are also contextual.... even if we had exactly the same context... even if we were right in the middle of the old world not having the sahara separating us from the rest of the 'action'. Even if we were right in the center of things and we did nothing... we would still have been humans (people)...since the being human has nothing to do with doing stuff.
@Masukuma. What are you saying? Are you saying it was meaningless for those who had advanced in medicine/ technology/literature etc to have done so? Did the African choose not advance? Or was he simply unable to? For the last 2,000 years, what was the African doing? What is the African doing now? A lot might not have been documented,WHY? In places where there was documentation, there was some sort of education system. Students could study lit, maths, science etc etc become engineers, writers,philosophers. In East & Central Africa, without schools, where were the engineers,doctors, financial analysts etc to come from? The factors that made Singapore/S.Korea to be at par with Kenya were man made. They have a history of achievements stretching more than 3,000 years whereas he in Kenya, our history & achievements hardly stretch 200 years. In short, i think some people cultures have had enough 'developmental' time, we on the other hand, we are just starting to crawl. That's how Singapore is where it is and Kenya is where it is. yeah... let's say we have answers to all those questions... so? you ask about the last 2000 years...why stop there? well the modern human has been walking this planet for 150k-200k years - WHAT THE F**K WERE THEY DOING ALL THIS TIME? they suddenly woke up 10k years ago? what was up with the 140k-190k years? Biologically speaking they were the same lot - right? just a few cosmetic changes in hair color, eye color, density of melanin e.t.c.... so to answer your question... Africans had been doing exactly the same S**t the rest of the humans were doing for 140k-190k years - so sue us! Accept your fate and don't be bitter, cut corners when you can - the rules are not made for you. And by the way - you need to answer the question... when you get to be Singapore or Malaysia or Japan or China or US or Sweden... SO? will you be more human than you are now? All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
@timbosho, your questions, and indeed the fact of questioning is great. It's what drives us actually, and sometimes one goes through many answers and thoughts. It's like a trial and error kind of thing. I've also been going through similar questions, and even when I speak my frame of reference is my experience.
By studying my experience I realize that 'I' am basically like a self running transmitter-receiver networked to an abstract called 'mind'. This receiver-transmitter works on a kind of protocol I name, 'call-receive protocol'.
Now, when the CRP is flooded, and I have seen such floods, then one finds himself 'overwhelmed' by desire and want, irascible, lacking in focus, and most of the symptoms we see in Africa.
But by regulating my CRP protocol, I have managed to for example, improve the quality of my experience, increase my rate of 'achievement', I am registering better performance and am still discovering nuggets here and there.
And considering a community or society is a network of similar transmitter-receivers, then if the CRP is impeded either by flooding or otherwise then we should expect a compounded effect.
Does this model explain Singapore? Yes. Kenya? Yes. America? Yes. Anyway, am still testing it historically and on live subjects.
Best thread ever  @timbosho, mkeid and Torio. Keep the brain racking. @Tycho please keep contributing with simple english. @Masukuma, you are lost, calm down and try and read the thread from page 1. Question. What is Africas/kenyas biggest problem? The more I think and read the thoughts here. The more I am convinced its our lack of knowledge of state building. There is no evidence of organisation of a people beyond the village level in subsaharan africa before colonisation. May be thats what we have been trying to do for the last 50 years. Once the brits left us 50 years ago we got a piece of land called kenya. This could as well have been kenganda had the brits decided to have a single administration in east africa. Infact is there a subsaharan country that is cohesive and proud of their country. The Asians may have been conquered by the European in the 17th century to date. But records show they have lived in organised societies for years. It was therefore easy for them to pick up from where the colonialists left. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Quote:The more I think and read the thoughts here. The more I am convinced its our lack of knowledge of state building. There is no evidence of organisation of a people beyond the village level in subsaharan africa before colonisation. May be thats what we have been trying to do for the last 50 years. Just because most Kenyan communities were governed by councils of elders doesn't mean all Africans were like that!
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
timbosho wrote:nakujua wrote:masukuma wrote:nakujua wrote:Hapo sawa timbosho, ndivyo nilikubaliana na torio , sisi wamiliki wa ngozi nyeusi huzaliwa na kiwango kikubwa sana cha ujinga, na ukosefu wa akili. you people never fail to surprise me. So... is IQ a factor of skin color? presence of melanin or lack there of? is melanin abundance a causal factor or a correlational factor? Lazy brains tend to draw up conclusions like this! is IQ a factor of birth, diet, environment? Does the weight a mother pick up during her pregnancy affect the IQ of the child she is bearing? Does talking to your child while in the womb and after they are born (way before they can give your any kind of feedback) affect the IQ of the child? What about having elder siblings? Are there other factors? are they causal or correlational? What are the causal not correlational factors that actually make IQ tests differ among groups of people?Don't be a lazy thinker!! In my well considered opinion it's all down to 2 things... CULTURE and DIET amongst other factors! even such things as height are to a large extent having a dietary correlation. Has anyone looked up the Flynn effect? by the way... how come the Japanese or the chineses (that are supposed to have higher IQs) don't go around reminding everyone that they are in the front of the bell curve and yet it's the people in the middle that do? Don't consume hate science and look at your kids any differently! your kids are not damned to be low IQed just because their folks had black skins... priss! synthesising the causality of IQ or any other trait of the human race to just 1 or 2 variables is incredibly lazy... FAGA!! DON'T BE A LAZY THINKER! sasa @ma-sukuma, si @ti-mbosho amesema bell curve ni ukweli wa maisha - how is one supposed to discuss with one who believes that the color of your skin is a determinant of ones intelligence, si unakubaliana tu na yeye - sasa utamwambia nini, na tayari anajua yeye na wewe na mimi tulizaliwa na ujinga. Sio timbosho alisema. Ni Uncle Lee alisema, the great Lee Kuan Yew. Personally I'm not quite sure why it is Asians and whites dominating the world economy and politics, not black people. But come to think of it, outside of Egypt, Mali and Ethiopia, what have we contributed to the world in terms of scientific, economic or cultural achievements? The Chinese can point to tea, philosophy, gunpowder, paper money etc. What can we point to? I do not know if its lazy thinking or not, but when you open the book of African achievements in the past and now, it is mostly blank outside Egypt, Ethiopia and Mali. Either what was achieved was lost in time/forgotten, or just was not there to begin with. at least if you care to go back several years back you would have tripped across that ka achievement of turning a monkey into some crude form of a human being, if africa and to a good extent kenya had not done that we would all be jumping from tree to tree, picking ticks from each other. If you also got into the ka time machine and zoomed back into some carefully selected time you will realize that there is that ka achievement of selling its people abroad to work in some plantations, i am told that fed into some good chunk of what the west has now. Ama how are we measuring the achievements ? But seriously why would you measure achievement of a region then remove the achievers from it.
The Tale of 2 Countries Kenya & Singapore