wazua Sat, Aug 16, 2025

Mzee Ojwang
#41 Posted : Monday, July 13, 2015 11:03:09 PM

OJWAN'G HATARI ONDIEK MAN'GAN'GA BRRRRRRR Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
he still lives in our hearts.
#42 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2015 10:32:35 PM

mpobiz wrote:
OJWAN'G HATARI ONDIEK MAN'GAN'GA BRRRRRRR Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
he still lives in our hearts.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly did I hear OTOYO

https://fbcdn-video-a-a....33838702469462cf8517550
Alba
#43 Posted : Thursday, July 16, 2015 11:04:31 PM

Government misused Vitimbi group for many years. Back in the 1980s and 1990s, Vitimbi was the highest rated TV show on KBC. I would assume it generated a lot of advertizing revenue for KBC. Yet the actors were paid peanuts. They used to be paid as low as 20 bob per episode.
#44 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2015 7:09:48 AM

Alba wrote:
Government misused Vitimbi group for many years. Back in the 1980s and 1990s, Vitimbi was the highest rated TV show on KBC. I would assume it generated a lot of advertizing revenue for KBC. Yet the actors were paid peanuts. They used to be paid as low as 20 bob per episode.

Misuse?No

As we mourn Mzee Sibuor Hatari Man'gan'ga let us remember his was a job like any other and that time moves and a day will surely come when you will leave the job.How do you prepare for that day?

Secondly being a celeb does not qualify one to be maintained by government.
Tufanye kazi sote kwa bidii na tusave for tomorrow.
Let us also do things the "right" time.Ojwangs kids seem rather young meaning he started a family well into his fifties. (That is assuming it was by choice(kula raha kwanza) not a medical.issue)
#45 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2015 8:34:21 AM

Alba wrote:

Misuse?No

As we mourn Mzee Sibuor Hatari Man'gan'ga let us remember his was a job like any other and that time moves and a day will surely come when you will leave the job.How do you prepare for that day?

Let us also do things the "right" time.Ojwangs kids seem rather young meaning he started a family well into his fifties. (That is assuming it was by choice(kula raha kwanza) not a medical.issue)

How old are the shudren?
If he gave birth at 35s like most middle class males then his last born should be your age mate by now.

PeterReborn
#46 Posted : Friday, July 17, 2015 12:24:12 PM

Alba wrote:

Misuse?No

It is wrong to condemn anyone for being poor.It is also wrong to assume that because he died poor it is because aliponda raha.We all know that acting was not taken as a career before.No parent would want their kids to be in the acting industry.No one could sustain his lifestyle by acting alone.He was passionate about acting and was good at it.He may not have made much money when he was acting but he added life in our living rooms.May his soul RIP.
Consistency is better than intensity
Alba
#47 Posted : Thursday, July 23, 2015 11:38:40 PM

Alba wrote:

Misuse?No

It sure was exploitation, misuse and abuse. His pay was not commensurate with the amount of revenue he was generating for VoK/KBC. Government took advantage of the fact that vitimbi group had no other choice.
I do not expect government to pay for all celebs. Lakini it must be pointed out that these people were exploited. Its not slavery but a step above it. Maybe sharecropping.
#48 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2015 12:19:19 AM

Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:

Misuse?No

It sure was exploitation, misuse and abuse. His pay was not commensurate with the amount of revenue he was generating for VoK/KBC. Government took advantage of the fact that vitimbi group had no other choice.
I do not expect government to pay for all celebs. Lakini it must be pointed out that these people were exploited. Its not slavery but a step above it. Maybe sharecropping.

You are very lucky if your earnings are commensurate to what you generate for your employer.

Following your logic parking attendants should be earning huge salaries.
Alba
#49 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2015 1:10:27 AM

You are very lucky if your earnings are commensurate to what you generate for your employer.

You can't be serious.

Parking attendants do not generate any money at all. If Ojwang was a nondescript parking attendant, no one would go to park because of him.

On the other hand Ojwang and his gang generated a lot of money for KBC. People watched vitimbi specifically because of Ojwang and his gang. If Ojwang was not there, the vitimbi audience would have been much lower. Which means KBC would make less money from advertizing. As you know, advertizing costs are based on how large the audience is for a TV program. The higher the TV audience for a program, the more a company has to pay KBC to advertize within that program.
This is why I say Ojwang and his gang generated a lot of advertizing revenue for KBC.

In America for example, the best TV actors are able to negotiate deals based on how much revenue they generate. Thus Gerry Seinfeld was offered US $ 4 million per episode. While his parking attendant likely made minimum wage. This is because Seinfeld's show is the most popular of all time and generated a huge amount of advertizing revenue for NBC.

Musicians also make money based on how much they generate. If you sell more records, you recording company pays you more. If you sell more concert tickets, then organizers pay you more.

So you are wrong when you say people rarely make the amount of money they generate. What you said may be true in the corporate world. But In the entertainment world, people do make money based on how much they generate unless they are being exploited and have no other options.
#50 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2015 5:37:58 PM

Alba wrote:

You can't be serious.

Parking attendants do not generate any money at all. If Ojwang was a nondescript parking attendant, no one would go to park because of him.

On the other hand Ojwang and his gang generated a lot of money for KBC. People watched vitimbi specifically because of Ojwang and his gang. If Ojwang was not there, the vitimbi audience would have been much lower. Which means KBC would make less money from advertizing. As you know, advertizing costs are based on how large the audience is for a TV program. The higher the TV audience for a program, the more a company has to pay KBC to advertize within that program.
This is why I say Ojwang and his gang generated a lot of advertizing revenue for KBC.

In America for example, the best TV actors are able to negotiate deals based on how much revenue they generate. Thus Gerry Seinfeld was offered US $ 4 million per episode. While his parking attendant likely made minimum wage. This is because Seinfeld's show is the most popular of all time and generated a huge amount of advertizing revenue for NBC.

Musicians also make money based on how much they generate. If you sell more records, you recording company pays you more. If you sell more concert tickets, then organizers pay you more.

So you are wrong when you say people rarely make the amount of money they generate. What you said may be true in the corporate world. But In the entertainment world, people do make money based on how much they generate unless they are being exploited and have no other options.

@Alba, get your facts right. In the 1980s and 1970s KBC/VOK was the only broadcaster so the audience would be constant,hence revenues accrued from Vitimbi and other shows. When competition set in these shows faded. Why? Secondly the amounts paid to the comedians was comes urate to the earnings of the day 20 bob in 1980 is equivalent to over 4000 today. Lastly what you do with your earnings no matter how small in your hay days matters in your sunset years.
BGL
#51 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2015 5:44:45 PM

This should remind all wazuans that despite your current status in society, if you do not save and invest then your life in old age may be miserable.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
Alba
#52 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2015 6:44:41 PM

Rahatupu wrote:

@Alba, get your facts right. In the 1980s and 1970s KBC/VOK was the only broadcaster so the audience would be constant,hence revenues accrued from Vitimbi and other shows. When competition set in these shows faded. Why? Secondly the amounts paid to the comedians was comes urate to the earnings of the day 20 bob in 1980 is equivalent to over 4000 today. Lastly what you do with your earnings no matter how small in your hay days matters in your sunset years.

How clueless are you ?

Audiences were not constant. Vitimbi was one of the most popular shows , perhaps the most popular and everyone tuned in and everyone spoke about it. By saying audiences were constant you are implying that a program like Joy bringers or mamboleo had a similar audience size to vitimbi which is nonsense.

Although there was only one broadcaster, audiences were not constant. People sat down to watch the popular shows and ignored the less popular shows. And vitimbi at one point had the highest audience.

Eti ksh 20 in 1980 is worth Ksh 4000. Where did you get that from? Hiyo ni porojo mingi. That would mean that in 35 years, the kenya shilling has devalued by a factor of 200 ! which is bogus.

And by the way in 1980, VoK actors were probably paid nothing. A news article that appeared in the early 1990s stated that KBC actors were being given 20 bob for each episode.

By the way Vitimbi programs were also very popular in Tanzania. Perhaps even more than in Kenya. Yet I doubt Ojwang and his group ever got additional money acruing from being shown in Tanzania.

Vitimbi did not fade when other channels came round. It was still popular though less popular. That has to do with the fact that it had been on TV for over 10 years. Audiences do get tired of seeing the same show for 10 years. Thats why in Europe and North America, sitcoms usually stay on TV for 5 years or so. Then the actors move on to other projects.

I am not saying the government owes Wanjau aka Ojwang Hatari his medical bills. I am stating that it is a fact that he was exploited as were most KBC actors of that period.
#53 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2015 12:42:36 PM

I watched mama Kayai's interview on Saturday's Citizen news

She feels nothing like what most complainers have been singing ati ohh gava, ooh KBC, sponsors etc

For her, she feels she is doing well and that Mzee Ojwang died being fairly Ok. She pointed out to the plot she lives in Kasarani and all other things including educating her kids are from proceeds of her acting career.

The Late Mzee Ojwang owns a neighboring plot
#54 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2015 12:51:46 PM

She feels nothing like what most complainers have been singing ati ohh gava, ooh KBC, sponsors etc

For her, she feels she is doing well and that Mzee Ojwang died being fairly Ok. She pointed out to the plot she lives in Kasarani and all other things including educating her kids are from proceeds of her acting career.

ok

#55 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2015 12:53:58 PM

If my memory serves me right, Mzee Ojwang was also given a house by Moi.
Alba
#56 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2015 4:17:19 PM

Then Mama Kayai is contradicting herself. She has been very vocal in criticizing KBC

Back in March she and Ojwang were interviewed and were very bitter with KBC. This is what they said:

“We worked at KBC for 40 years and we got nothing in the end,” said Wanjau.

Mama Kayai for her part complained that they were terminated without notice "We were chased from KBC like dogs" she said

Even during Ojwangs funeral, KBC actors were trashing KBC. Some were saying that Vitimbi is televised in Tanzania and South Africa yet the actors are not paid royalties.

So which is which?
#57 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2015 5:52:55 PM

Alba wrote:

Then Mama Kayai is contradicting herself. She has been very vocal in criticizing KBC

Back in March she and Ojwang were interviewed and were very bitter with KBC. This is what they said:

“We worked at KBC for 40 years and we got nothing in the end,” said Wanjau.

Mama Kayai for her part complained that they were terminated without notice "We were chased from KBC like dogs" she said

Even during Ojwangs funeral, KBC actors were trashing KBC. Some were saying that Vitimbi is televised in Tanzania and South Africa yet the actors are not paid royalties.

So which is which?

And they say "reading does not finish the eyes"...in that interview I can see @Mama Kayai saying KBC did not pay them, she only said that their last contact was terminated without "prior" notice.

#58 Posted : Monday, August 03, 2015 11:29:00 PM

maybe her 'acting career' included proceeds from mzee ojwang's hustle(s). in other words, alimmaliza kabisa!
#59 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2015 5:56:19 AM

maybe her 'acting career' included proceeds from mzee ojwang's hustle(s). in other words, alimmaliza kabisa!

smile smile

Fomoney
#60 Posted : Tuesday, August 04, 2015 8:39:27 AM

All those saying ati wanategemea gava can't be serious. They made mad money for KBC through advertising but were not properly compensated. The fact that they are ok right now is because of their side hustles, playing in hotels and the like. they used to be the biggest local TV show on KBC with a bunch of advertisers riding on their shows. I know it's history but dudes never got paid.