wazua Thu, May 7, 2026

3 Pages<123
proposed bill on marriage
#21 Posted : Wednesday, September 30, 2009 11:03:00 AM

Mh..Good to know. Thanks @Mukiha for the links

Btw,What happens in a case where a man has kid with a woman to whom he's not yet legally married,refuses to support the kid and legally marries another woman,but later on dies leaving a Will that doesnt recognize the first woman's kid. Can the Law somehow support this kid and ensure that he/she gets good education,shares in the deceased estate..etc?

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
Jacy26
#22 Posted : Wednesday, September 30, 2009 11:15:00 AM

@Leona,yes the kid can contest that will by applying to court to have him provided for in the will as a dependant. BUT I have no idea how he can prove that he is indeed a child of the deceased,probably a DNA test would do.

I will praise thee,O Lord my God,with all my heart: And I will glorify thy name forever more. Psalms 86:12
If you have only one smile in you, give it to the people you love - Maya Angelou
Mpenzi
#23 Posted : Wednesday, September 30, 2009 11:18:00 AM

@leona
Yes. Every child of a deceased person is entitled to inherit his or her estate. The only problem is proving that indeed the deceased was the father or mother of the child.
Ric dees
#24 Posted : Wednesday, September 30, 2009 12:04:00 PM

I personally support the proposed bill,though have not read it at all (will create time) guess it will put us all in check God knows it has worked in the UK,one cannot just go lying(both meanings apply here)) there way around and getting away with it.

On the flipside do i for see the a new breed of (chicks) as in the UK where young girls 12-17 yrs lie(pun intended) there way into financial security. Back there you impregnate a young chick and half of your salo goes to her,now picture this dude earning $100-150 p/a ...Guys be very afraid...and whats's all this nonsense chicks saying they cannot suppoprt their husbands..that is just tacky..

Success is not measured by what you accomplish,but by the opposition you have encountered and the courage with which you have maintained the struggle against the overwhelming odds'

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
Blackberry
#25 Posted : Wednesday, September 30, 2009 12:32:00 PM

@ Mukiha,sasa hii consent itapeanwa vipi? do we issue a new Certificate/swear afidavits showing we are now three? si there will be problems when dividing property because what is on record is two?

Opinion is free,truth is sacred.

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

#26 Posted : Wednesday, September 30, 2009 12:39:00 PM

@Blackberry;

Couple will have to declare in first instance whether they are getting into a monogamous or polygamous union.

If poly,then it will be assumed that the first wife has given permission for other to be married afterwards.

If mono,then the husband will not be allowed to take a second wife.....

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#27 Posted : Wednesday, September 30, 2009 12:40:00 PM

@Mpenzi and Jacy
Thanks. I thought as long as the parent is dead and the will is clear,nothing else can be done. I guess if the child has enough support(financial),the body can be exhumed and DNA tests done or something of the sort. Am not sure if the birth certificate with the deceased's name makes a difference in such a case or not though. Eh,these law things are interesting!

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
chi20
#28 Posted : Wednesday, September 30, 2009 12:41:00 PM

the polygamy way,non of the mainstream churches will ever give nod to this. this possibly means people will be bowing out of church for traditional marriages and then seek ways of rejoining the church or staying out.
secondly,the phrase denoting that first women will be give consent to their husbands for a second or third marriage will just be trashed. it should read '. . . . and the husband gave a notice of intention.' with or without first wives giving consents,men get away with it,after all there is a law to back up.

chi20
#29 Posted : Monday, March 31, 2014 9:44:33 AM

3 Pages<123