wazua Thu, May 7, 2026

6 Pages<12345>»
if youre 35 and dont drive,youre a failure
Fundaah
#21 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2009 9:25:00 AM

If failure to have a car affects your self esteem,get one if you can.

I mean fundamental analysis,you get me?

Fundamental analysis of a business involves analyzing its financial statements and health,its management and competitive advantages,and its competitors
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#22 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2009 9:34:00 AM

What is success? What is the measure of success? What determines when you are successful and when you have failed?

@Gashoroge
What if that person who stays next to his office and has car justifies having such a car because he has to go check his business over lunch time and in the evening before he goes back home... you cant expect him to walk home over lunch time,pick the car,check the business,drive back home sot hat he can walk to work,would you? Or he's got kids to drop at school

Success is very relative. Why do we work so hard/smart? To be happy.... does being happy have to be a standard thing - that i have to be happy when i achieve what Djinn has achieved? No. If the LR 4.6 makes me happy,why should i not buy it because of what others will think of me and my priorities? Should i conform with what the society thinks is the route to success? No. What if i have my prospects of making it big in life and am working towards it but in the meantime,i have my dream car and rented a house in Kile?? Whats wrong with that? Well,this doesnt mean this is what i,as a person do,but there are many things we do not understand when it comes to people's lifestyles.

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
Burning Spear
#23 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2009 9:41:00 AM

@gashoroge,mukiha,

You are spot on.I cant add more.

Buy car only with excess money (just like shares) if its not a business car.Never take a loan only to buy something to take you from club A to B.and receive approval from your peers.

Disclaimer : This is my opinion and not a recommendation.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#24 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2009 9:43:00 AM

hii ni nini sasa? Ati ukiwa na gari @35 umesucceed!! Aiii,never heard of this before.....

me thought that the damn thing is a tool,like one had to have a wheelbarrow back in the village as a means of ferying coffee to the factory; lakini haikuwa indicator of success!! Kuna wengine hawakuwa nayo but were able to get their damn coffee to the factory on the backs/heads

@mwabili........you may have to redefine what success is!!

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks.
Kwanini
#25 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2009 10:49:00 AM

success.... the elusive meaning. Happiness? what is happiness? A car? a spouse? two kids- one boy other girl? own house at Ruai? Masters/PHD? Kshxxxxx bank balaance? Reminds me when we were growing up our desires of what would make us most happy? lots of $$$ to buy nyam chom and babito!!! But i digress,at 35,i hope no Skerian still lives at the paros digz,like one crying jamaa,with a full kipara,who had to call his mum after he got thumped over the weekend.

For i am the master and the captain of my fate !
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
adept
#26 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2009 10:50:00 AM

Happiness and financial success are two very distinct matters. I understand the discussion here to be on financial independence.

Basing major financial decisions on 'feelings of happiness' has for generations sent many people down the wide road that leads to financial hell. We must correct the notion of making feel-good instead of rational choices. It is the very reason why Americans (and now Kenyans) are suffocating under the weight of credit card debt.

I drive a gari and have nothing against owning a 4.6...hope to get one someday. My point is that I don't think a car should be used as my benchmark for financial success.

But then again,it is a free country so to each his own. If the '4.6 is it!' for you before doing all else...hey,knock yourself out.
wangura
#27 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2009 10:57:00 AM

Someone said that most nairobians buy cars because that is mostly the item of 'value' that most can afford since they cant afford houses
mnjoro
#28 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2009 11:08:00 AM

Real men by this period have undergone 1st life stage.They are broke cause they are busy raising their 2-3 kids.They actually narate to the kids they once had a car.You struggle upto 40yrs and maybe the tuplots one had invested appreciates.The kids are all going to school hence the proper time to buy another cause mostly it will be cheaper dropping the kids and mother at work.Otherwise @35 and no family or kaplots you are in the wrong direction.I say real men cause they don,t shy away from getting into Mathrees with their wifys.

KENYA OUR BELOVED COUNTRY
#29 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2009 11:24:00 AM

Success.....mmmhhh,this word has different meaning for different people just as evidenced in this thread and again it is now equal to wealth!!!

I believe happinness is the best thing on the world if you can achieve it so whichever thing makes you happy.......do it,it's your life anyway!!!!!

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
Jokimy
#30 Posted : Monday, April 27, 2009 12:10:00 PM

@35 and you don't drive? Are you a success or failure. Neither! A car is not a measure of success. And what is the measure of success/failure anyway. It relative. Even without a car,you are a success to some people. And even with a car,you are a failure to others. You are only a failure after failure has been accepted in your mind.

The plans of the diligent lead surely to plenty,but those of everyone who is hasty,surely to poverty.
6 Pages<12345>»