#42 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 10:55:39 PM

Half baked or just raw?

I personally think they are too baked but on outdated stuff and theories. Most of them learn new skills from scratch when employed. But I think KU, JKUAT and Strathmore are doing well.

Boss, hapo umetereza.

I have worked with graduate and registered civil and agric. engineers from all universities that offer the course, accredited by EBK or not, and i can tell you for free, ITS NOT ABOUT WHICH UNIVERSITY YOU WENT TO, ITS THE INDIVIDUAL'S BIDII YA KUJUA VITU HARAKA HARAKA once employed!

@Nakujua has told us that he/she spent all her time at Moi (or is it Egerton) buying goats, drinking and partying, once employed, he/she refused to learn. Matokeo ni hayo sasa. BEING SACKED AFTER EVERY 6 Months!

I agree with you that it's up to the individual, everything is up to the person but the university matters as well eg. those of you like me who had the honour of attending UON know that nobody fails in UON and the lecturers there show up when they feel like and teach how they feel like but can't have students failing their class because atamulikwa. How can you get quality out of that? But I know their medical school and law are up there.

you must have done some funny course with funny lecturers. in my year and class the lecturers were spoiling to fail guys. and only like one guy got first class. most guys passed just coz it was hard for them to fail - but there were enough supplementaries, most undeserved.
#43 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 11:37:28 PM

Lol! Ati nobody failS at UON??

Hahaha, that's a new one.....like berating what one couldn't get!!!
#44 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 6:56:10 AM

i have worked with graduates and non graduates.i would say the non graduates outperforms the graduates in the same professional tasks. the non graduates eagerly learn on the job and are flexible while the graduates are rigid knowit all internet zombies concentrating on facebook and other timewasting social sites.

graduates behave like wheelbarrow.you have to push them to get any meaningful output.
symbols
#45 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 7:34:17 AM

Is it what you know or who you know?
What's the value of knowledge vs corruption?
Why study when you can cheat?
Why work when you can steal?
Why lead when you can manipulate?

Learning is going on just not what you're expecting.
#46 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 8:39:50 AM

Lol! Ati nobody failS at UON??

Hahaha, that's a new one.....like berating what one couldn't get!!!

Which Public University did @2012 go to? Ati nobody fails.

Its only in public universities that Lecturers want you to fail!

#47 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 8:56:02 AM

mkenyan wrote:
Half baked or just raw?

I personally think they are too baked but on outdated stuff and theories. Most of them learn new skills from scratch when employed. But I think KU, JKUAT and Strathmore are doing well.

Boss, hapo umetereza.

I have worked with graduate and registered civil and agric. engineers from all universities that offer the course, accredited by EBK or not, and i can tell you for free, ITS NOT ABOUT WHICH UNIVERSITY YOU WENT TO, ITS THE INDIVIDUAL'S BIDII YA KUJUA VITU HARAKA HARAKA once employed!

@Nakujua has told us that he/she spent all her time at Moi (or is it Egerton) buying goats, drinking and partying, once employed, he/she refused to learn. Matokeo ni hayo sasa. BEING SACKED AFTER EVERY 6 Months!

I agree with you that it's up to the individual, everything is up to the person but the university matters as well eg. those of you like me who had the honour of attending UON know that nobody fails in UON and the lecturers there show up when they feel like and teach how they feel like but can't have students failing their class because atamulikwa. How can you get quality out of that? But I know their medical school and law are up there.

you must have done some funny course with funny lecturers. in my year and class the lecturers were spoiling to fail guys. and only like one guy got first class. most guys passed just coz it was hard for them to fail - but there were enough supplementaries, most undeserved.

Sounds like B.com, Finance option!
#48 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 9:01:38 AM

i have worked with graduates and non graduates.i would say the non graduates outperforms the graduates in the same professional tasks. the non graduates eagerly learn on the job and are flexible while the graduates are rigid knowit all internet zombies concentrating on facebook and other timewasting social sites.

graduates behave like wheelbarrow.you have to push them to get any meaningful output.

@Newfarer, are you a graduate?

A graduate is say in Accounting is not supposed to be an accountant caryying out routine tasks of debiting and crediting(anyone can do that).

A graduate is supposed to be a management accountant or a finance person, who provides strategic leadership and decision making for issues to do with accounting and finance.

Otherwise if you take an a graduate and make him/her an accountant to be debiting and crediting transaction which is the work of A KATC I; S/he is bound to fail.

Maybe our(us) graduates are not half baked but we end up dong the wrong assignments
#49 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 9:03:26 AM

Was trying to explain something concerning Jebel Ali to a graduate,when she paused and asked 'who's jebel ali.?
She couldn't even tell the diff btwn an original and a photocopied doc!
Eventually I was forced to ask,do you know vera sidika and nishike?

smile , enyewe mimi si baked - reading through I was also trying to figure out who Jebel Ali is, had to engage my friend google.

hata huyu nishike mimi sijui yeye, at least lary reduced my rawness concerning sidika.

and how do you differentiate between an original and photocopied one, assuming hakuna signature, or if the signature is in a fine black pen.

vane, hii masomo ni ngumu sasa. smile

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Kysse has made me feel like a goat!

I thought Jebel Ali is a person
#50 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 10:19:41 AM

Hands up to all the people who knew what 'JEBEL ALI' is. There are some things that are learned on the job.
PeterReborn
#51 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 11:00:29 AM

A graduate is say in Accounting is not supposed to be an accountant caryying out routine tasks of debiting and crediting(anyone can do that).

A graduate is supposed to be a management accountant or a finance person, who provides strategic leadership and decision making for issues to do with accounting and finance.

Otherwise if you take an a graduate and make him/her an accountant to be debiting and crediting transaction which is the work of A KATC I; S/he is bound to fail.

Maybe our(us) graduates are not half baked but we end up dong the wrong assignments

Shame on you Shame on you Thats where the problem lies.If you have a graduate and doesnt understand debit and credit then how is he/she supposed to advise the junior or guide them to correct mistakes.A finance manager who is a graduate will make decisions based on the reports prepared by juniors.He needs to understand but the technical and managerial aspects.
The problem is most JAB graduates thinks they are better and smarter than parallel/Private uni graduates.Some private uni such as strath are doing much better than public universities. During graduation,a graduand is given power to read and that means knowledge is a continuous process.
Consistency is better than intensity
#52 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 11:16:01 AM

PeterReborn wrote:

Shame on you Shame on you Thats where the problem lies.If you have a graduate and doesnt understand debit and credit then how is he/she supposed to advise the junior or guide them to correct mistakes.A finance manager who is a graduate will make decisions based on the reports prepared by juniors.He needs to understand but the technical and managerial aspects.
The problem is most JAB graduates thinks they are better and smarter than parallel/Private uni graduates.Some private uni such as strath are doing much better than public universities. During graduation,a graduand is given power to read and that means knowledge is a continuous process.

I didn't say a graduate is not supposed to understand Dr and Cr;I said he is not supposed to be doing such basic accounting jobs(which in my view can be done by a person who has never done accounting);Its like having an office manager or admin manager prepare tea, sweep the office, replace tissues in the bathrooms, change ink toners replace bulbs etc.

The problem is having a graduate doing the wrong tasks which are not motivational enough thus they loose the focus and we think they are half baked yet it is the employer who gave the graduate the wrong tasks.

For example, I don't understand why banks insist on having tellers/cashiers to be graduates yet it is just counting money(or confirming the money count from the money dispenses) and recording. a job that can be done by a form four person of KATC 1.

See what Equity are doing by hiring people who just left highschool as cashiers and tellers
#53 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 11:21:32 AM

I am not even baked, and yet I went through a kenyan university in the rift valley - no wonder I lack employability skills, technical mastery and basic work-related capabilities - worked for three years in 5 different places and I was sacked in 4 of the places.
sasa mimi ni stay at home dad.
naomba wazua munisaidie na kazi, since I have realized kuna masonko hapa, tafadhali.

Went to a rift valley based public university... (Moi or Egerton)

3 Years experience in 5 different work places..DAFUQ!

Sacked 4 times...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

WEWE KWISHA! SEMA WHICH FIELD OF STUDY!!! They can't just give you a medicine job when you studied textile, you know!

badala unihurumie unanicheka, smile - I will not mention names since I might face a defamation suit, lakini my time huko was spent mostly buying goats from a neaby famous place for that and enjoying the nyam chom with the boys every other weekend, na kuteremusha with some yummy yogurt which was in plenty.

I have applied for many jobs for 4 years now from my last sacking, mpaka I have given up.

You need an award in non-employability skills

I have given up on that, especially considering my baking at the university did not yield good cakes - I am thinking of distance learning from liverpool, they seem to have better ovens huko.

Hehehe! wacha nikuambie boss... hear this from a graduate from university of liverpool graduate - HAKUNA TOFAUTI... My considered opinion is that the UoL people online just want your money. I did it for the papers, I travel a lot and finally coz I could not stand disruptions caused by the Kenyan education system. Kila mtu anajisomea wacha kungoja mwalimu akufunze vitu.
PeterReborn
#54 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 11:37:26 AM

PeterReborn wrote:

I didn't say a graduate is not supposed to understand Dr and Cr;I said he is not supposed to be doing such basic accounting jobs(which in my view can be done by a person who has never done accounting);Its like having an office manager or admin manager prepare tea, sweep the office, replace tissues in the bathrooms, change ink toners replace bulbs etc.

The problem is having a graduate doing the wrong tasks which are not motivational enough thus they loose the focus and we think they are half baked yet it is the employer who gave the graduate the wrong tasks.

For example, I don't understand why banks insist on having tellers/cashiers to be graduates yet it is just counting money(or confirming the money count from the money dispenses) and recording. a job that can be done by a form four person of KATC 1.

See what Equity are doing by hiring people who just left highschool as cashiers and tellers

A graduate is an all round person.He should not be choosy.A graduate must learn to multi-task.One of the reasons y we have high employment is because graduates look down upon some jobs that are considered low skilled.The graduates overate themselves.Some have no experience but want a big salary and will spend the whole day on Fb and other social sites like Wazua talking politics.It is no wonder that some companies would rather hire a diploma in Engineering from Kenya poly than a graduate or that Safaricom and Nakumatt prefer diploma graduates than university graduates.
Consistency is better than intensity
#55 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 11:38:21 AM

PeterReborn wrote:

I totally agree, some of our graduates lack employability skills which don't really come with the grades. All they have is a misplaced sense of entitlement where they feel that they deserve to be at the top and well paid but kazi imewashinda!
#56 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 12:36:07 PM

I like this sort of thread.... A mere cursory look at it can serve as a very good indicator of academic qualifications of wazuans.

There is no way somebody with a university degree can criticize the same.
#57 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 12:56:13 PM

I am not even baked, and yet I went through a kenyan university in the rift valley - no wonder I lack employability skills, technical mastery and basic work-related capabilities - worked for three years in 5 different places and I was sacked in 4 of the places.
sasa mimi ni stay at home dad.
naomba wazua munisaidie na kazi, since I have realized kuna masonko hapa, tafadhali.

Went to a rift valley based public university... (Moi or Egerton)

3 Years experience in 5 different work places..DAFUQ!

Sacked 4 times...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

WEWE KWISHA! SEMA WHICH FIELD OF STUDY!!! They can't just give you a medicine job when you studied textile, you know!

Haiya.. Yaani Zetec... began in Rift Valley?
#58 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 1:08:48 PM

mwenza wrote:
I like this sort of thread.... A mere cursory look at it can serve as a very good indicator of academic qualifications of wazuans.

The article @Swenani attached indicates that "at least half of graduates produced by East African universities lack employability skills, technical mastery and basic work-related capabilities". That 50% probably includes mimi na wewe......
#59 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 1:23:56 PM

mwenza wrote:

The article @Swenani attached indicates that "at least half of graduates produced by East African universities lack employability skills, technical mastery and basic work-related capabilities". That 50% probably includes mimi na wewe......

Your views on academic qualifications are well known and documented.
Coincidence?

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...osts&t=27734&p=2
mkeiy
#60 Posted : Friday, June 20, 2014 1:25:28 PM

@mkei, so the problem is private universities? I think the problem is CHE. Why are accounting exams not in excel?

@murchr, Accounting exams CANNOT be in excel because it's not all about computations. There is law, management, taxation theory etc.

The problem is the EASY route to a degree. Para and private universities admit students with very low marks, as low as grade D.

If in high school one could not get good grades, how on earth do they go to university and PASS with degrees? Whatever stopped them from passing in high school, will stop them from learning and "passing" at the work place. That's the general rule.

Dimwits with degrees and a good deal of ATTITUDE to boot!