Culture
Stop the Noise in Residential Areas
AlphDoti wrote:Mainat wrote:I don't care what your religion is, close the door behind you when you pray or sing. Mungu/Allah/Budha/Mwene nyaga baado atasikia. I think that wailing at 3 or 5am in the morning is ufala of the highest order. if muslims are so devoted, try the alarm clock or keep a cockerel. The wailing is actually banned in most of the cities in the West even where the muslims are the majority. @Mainat So, no one will take such demands seriously. At the time when people used to live in villages, closely together, a simple shout from the mouth as enough. Nowadays, loudspeaker is used for only a minute or two during morning call for prayer (Fajr Adhan). It does not cause noise pollutionIf you compare this to the time of Christian or Hindu festivals, loudspeakers blare loudly for the whole night. And not a single Muslim ever complained about it. I don't think there is any point raising these such issues. It will only create division between the two people and further polarize the country. So you appreciate that people have moved on through time. Similarly the alternatives to the 5am noise should be sought. Almost all families have at least a phone. They should set alarms and wake the entire clan in peace. Similarly, Churches who use blasting Loud speakers are doing a great damage to our environment. I once had to relocate my dwelling since the speakers from the churches in that neighborhood were so loud as if they were competing for the award of church with the loudest systems.. It wasn't good at all especially when one had a hang-over on a Sunday morning. "Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
Kihara joni wrote:I don't have a problem with the call for prayers BUT why do all the mosques (4 in my vicinity) have to do the call all at once, and why the horn speakers? Those things work even when there is a blackout, anyway I admire the commitment of Muslims to their religion. @kihara, you've a good heart. Muslims don't go with trends or Western culture. It keeps all God commands, and ritual of all the prophets of God. See the adhan ( call for prayer) in time of Jeremiah. God tells him to stand at the entrance of the Synagogue and shout to the people, tell them God is Greatest! Jeremiah 7:1" Hili ndilo neno lililomjia Yeremia kutoka kwa BWANA: - "Simama kwenye lango la nyumba ya BWANA na huko upige mbiu ya ujumbe huu: (stand at the entrance and shout to the people) - " ‘Sikieni neno la BWANA, enyi watu wote... mliokuja kumwabudu BWANA. - Hili ndilo asemalo BWANA Mwenye Nguvu: - Tengenezeni njia zenu na matendo yenuSee another tradition. Standing in line, led by Imam reading the Book (Qur'an). Reading the first chapter of Qur'an and end with "Ameen". Nehemi 8:4-5- Ezra stood at podium which they had made for the purpose. And beside him stood 6 people on his right hand; and 7 others on his left hand. (like the Muslims standing in line, shoulder to shoulder) - Ezra opened the book... and when he opened it, all the people stood up (Reading the first chapter of Qur'an) - Then Ezra blessed the Lord the great God (OPening chapter of the Qur'an "In The Name Of Allah, The Beneficent, The Merciful. All praise is due to Allah, the Lord of the Worlds). - And all the people answered, “Amen, Amen!” while lifting up their hands (like Muslims ending first dua with "Ameen"); - then they bowed low and worshiped the Lord with their faces to the ground (Muslims bow down and prostrate) - Also... explained the law to the people while the people remained in their place (khutbah) - They read from the book, from the law of God, translating to give the sense so that they understood the reading (we read Qur'an)
Tebes wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Mainat wrote:I don't care what your religion is, close the door behind you when you pray or sing. Mungu/Allah/Budha/Mwene nyaga baado atasikia. I think that wailing at 3 or 5am in the morning is ufala of the highest order. if muslims are so devoted, try the alarm clock or keep a cockerel. The wailing is actually banned in most of the cities in the West even where the muslims are the majority. @Mainat So, no one will take such demands seriously. At the time when people used to live in villages, closely together, a simple shout from the mouth as enough. Nowadays, loudspeaker is used for only a minute or two during morning call for prayer (Fajr Adhan). It does not cause noise pollutionIf you compare this to the time of Christian or Hindu festivals, loudspeakers blare loudly for the whole night. And not a single Muslim ever complained about it. I don't think there is any point raising these such issues. It will only create division between the two people and further polarize the country. So you appreciate that people have moved on through time. Similarly the alternatives to the 5am noise should be sought. Almost all families have at least a phone. They should set alarms and wake the entire clan in peace. Similarly, Churches who use blasting Loud speakers are doing a great damage to our environment. I once had to relocate my dwelling since the speakers from the churches in that neighborhood were so loud as if they were competing for the award of church with the loudest systems.. It wasn't good at all especially when one had a hang-over on a Sunday morning. The adhan calls Muslims to go for a prayer. We go to the Mosque for prayers and worship Allah. Don't complain about 5 o'clock in the morning call for prayer, this is almost waking time for most people who go to bed early. You realize that it is the alcoholics who stagger home at 3am who have a problem with waking up early. Besides, if you read about successful people, even our own Chris Kirubi, check what time they wake up. Anybody telling people they should not wake up early, is an advocate of telling them to drink alcohol until wee hours of the night and struggle with hangover at 10am, as you have indicated. However, I don't support the culture of blasting through the speakers all night like the churches and night clubs. Night is meant for sleeping. Even scientifically our bodies are build that way. There is an hormone released by our bodies when night falls to induce sleep. So you realize that the last adhan is at 8pm, then next one is at 5am. There is not absolutely any sound pollution by adhan.
So now churches and hindus create noise pollution when they celebrate once a year, but muslims dont despite wailing daily? Goooooogles are thick. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
KulaRaha wrote:So now churches and hindus create noise pollution when they celebrate once a year, but muslims dont despite wailing daily?
Goooooogles are thick. Yes, the Christian noise is a lot, all that singing on Sundays and keshas, then Christmas... but we Muslims never complain. Compared to the Muslim call for prayer is only for a minute or two. It does not cause noise pollution. And this is almost waking time for most people who go to bed early. And this Muslim daily plan is the healthy plan. You can compare this with that of experts and you'll confirm the same. If you find anything better than the below, let me know. For a family that lives in an Islamic way ( other successful families have similar plan), the one that wakes up at 5am, below is the programme. 5:00am - Time for getting out of bed. 5:05am - Take bath (only for me and my wife if there was any love making that night) and prepare for salah (prayer) 5:30am - Offering of subhi (morning) prayer 5:45am - Recite verses of the Quran (we try to abide to this, sometimes I read news) 6:15am - Prepare breakfast, the kids help the parents6:30am - Breakfast (ends by thanking Allah) 6:45am - The kids look at their books7:30am - The kids leave for school and adults leave for day's activities in the farm or office (arriving on time) 12:30pm - Lunch time (ends by thanking Allah) 1:15pm - Dhuhr prayer (in jamaa) 1:30pm - Back to class for kids. For adults rest or study or blogging or back to work (on time) 4:15pm - Asr prayer (in jamaa) 4:30pm - School activities and games5:00pm - return straight home from school and take bath6:00pm - any good deed (help parents or do studies or rest) 6:30pm - Maghrib prayer (in jamaa) 6:40pm - religious studies or recite quran or assist parents at house work or porridge time etc8:15pm - Isha prayer (in jamaa) 8:30pm - Supper/dinner (ends with thanking Allah) 8:45pm - Study or do homework for the big kids9:45pm - Sleeping timeThe children can use their free time on Sat and Sun in attending madrasas in the mornings, then afternoon games (e.g. football) or visiting relatives and helping them or going out for ride or picnic or any family fun. NOTE: I'm proud of the goggles because a good family always have good discipline, good sleep, good plan for work etc. They follow some rules in order to keep healthy. Going to drink whole night and having to struggle waking up is not healthy lifestyle. So I'm proud of my goggles.
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz Oh well, looks like I'll have the get the neighborhood association to take this up. Watch the press. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
KulaRaha wrote:zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Oh well, looks like I'll have the get the neighborhood association to take this up.
Watch the press. Thank you man. I can assure you that you cannot win. Kenyatta senior was a very good friend of Muslims community, he was a friend of Jamia mosque, and he was a friend of long serving Imam of Jamia, who could go to State House anytime he wanted, until he passed away. Even the Jnr. It's only WSR who has no clue what Islam is about. The National anthem words were borrowed the first chapter of the Quran. I give you and advice, in the meantime, please google the meaning of this call and the first chapter of the Quran, don't be ignorant. It has a message, not only for Muslims, but also for all the people. Check it here
Jangwa la Jangili wrote:uhmmm friends, sovereigns have a slight hearing problem. not difficult to see that. morning wailing is to wake up the gods. woe unto you if your deity is not awake by 5am. you will be all alone the rest of the day battling saitani. shindwe hiyo. and that NEMA goddammit! they are agents of saitani whose goal is to block our messages to the almighty. god answers he or she who can shout the loudest. Its all good.
AlphDoti wrote: ....
Don't attempt to try to direct Muslims on how to practise our religion. Adhan is not a new phenomenon in Islam.
Why would you attempt to lecture others on when they should wake up? Or stagger home? Don't you know that there people who work late and sleep in in the morning? Or babies?
radio wrote:AlphDoti wrote: ....
Don't attempt to try to direct Muslims on how to practise our religion. Adhan is not a new phenomenon in Islam.
Why would you attempt to lecture others on when they should wake up? Or stagger home? Don't you know that there people who work late and sleep in in the morning? Or babies? @radio I say you started it. And if you want to stagger home, then it's your choice, I will not stop you. You can as well do your research and come give us report of the great benefits of staggering home. Cheers.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
Currently in Yemen stuck up in some hotel.... hawa watu walilipua mziki jana usiku yote!! ni kama disco ya kawaida. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
I know this is not primarily about the muslim calls, but about noise in general - lakini why don't they call out in the local language, or at least kiswahili so that as we vumilia the shouting at least one can comprehend what they are saying.
Alphdoti, sasa ile story yetu itakuwa when?
nakujua wrote:I know this is not primarily about the muslim calls, but about noise in general - lakini why don't they call out in the local language, or at least kiswahili so that as we vumilia the shouting at least one can comprehend what they are saying. @nakujua thank you for your calm comment. But this call for prayer is in Arabic. And this is the beauty part of it, so that wherever part of the world you go, it is universal. If you go to France, and you don't understand French, so you will wonder what is the person shouting, is he abusing somebody? So throughout the world, you have it in Arabic. Even if I don't know Arabic, at least I know the translation of the adhan. So it is a reminder. In the morning prayer, it says: "As-salatu Khayrun Minan-nawm" (Prayer is better than sleep) So when you hear, ah prayer is better than sleep, you wake up. So even though you have watch, you don't keep on watching. And a reminder. About its meaningit has good message. It is not the allegation @jangili & @wainadi are posting up there. They are copying from a certain ignorant Rev. Hajj, who talked about many lies & allegations against Muslims. This is nonsense. Whoever swallows those lies is ignorant.
nakujua wrote:I know this is not primarily about the muslim calls, but about noise in general - lakini why don't they call out in the local language, or at least kiswahili so that as we vumilia the shouting at least one can comprehend what they are saying. This was what the real thread was meant to portray- noise in genersl now it has turned to Muslims vs Christians type of fiasco...NEMA just forgot what they are mandated to do,even in the middle of CBD the big speakers are back something should be really done... possunt quia posse videntur
AlphDoti wrote: Compared to the Muslim call for prayer is only for a minute or two. It does not cause noise pollution. And this is almost waking time for most people who go to bed early.
I have had to change hotels when I noted I was getting startled from my peaceful sleep by that noise!! Who gave the mwadhini the duty to wake up those of us who don't go to mosques?
AlphDoti wrote:KulaRaha wrote:zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Oh well, looks like I'll have the get the neighborhood association to take this up.
Watch the press. Thank you man. I can assure you that you cannot win. Kenyatta senior was a very good friend of Muslims community, he was a friend of Jamia mosque, and he was a friend of long serving Imam of Jamia, who could go to State House anytime he wanted, until he passed away. Even the Jnr. It's only WSR who has no clue what Islam is about. The National anthem words were borrowed the first chapter of the Quran. I give you and advice, in the meantime, please google the meaning of this call and the first chapter of the Quran, don't be ignorant. It has a message, not only for Muslims, but also for all the people. Check it here in the estate where i grew up the only time guys tolerated the morning call was during ramadhan, the rest of the year morning calls were not allowed this was as a result of a compromise after non muslims who formed the majority in our hood protested the noise 'One headache for famous medieval holy people was that someone might murder you to acquire your body parts for the relics trade'
Lolest! wrote:[quote=AlphDoti]
Who gave the mwadhini the duty to wake up those of us who don't go to mosques? Kularaha can pay to have a mosque around his place demolished ....enyewe it is so annoying.Its you prayer dammit! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Njung'e wrote:Lolest! wrote: Who gave the mwadhini the duty to wake up those of us who don't go to mosques?
Kularaha can pay to have a mosque around his place demolished ....enyewe it is so annoying.Its you prayer dammit! @guka, you always display your ignorance in religious issues. It shows that many of you are just Christians by name. You don't follow anything Jesus (pbuh) said or did and you're not even ready to do or follow. I thought Christian is one who follows Christ. How can you be if you don't wake very early in the morning before the sun rises like Jesus used to do!! He prayed at night before going to bed too. He prayed several times during the day... This is why Muslims follow. 1. Mark 1:35Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, and went to pray. But it's true what he said, this is not for kina @guka, they don't understand even if they have ears, or eyes. 2. Matthew 11:25-26At that time Jesus said, "I praise you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, because you have hidden these things from the wise and learned, and revealed them to little children. So, go ahead, you can fight those trying to tell yu truth. The time of Jesus (pbuh), people hated him for preaching the truth, and plotted to kill him because the followers were growing in number. So even now, there are those elite, just like the time of Jesus (pbuh). The truth will stand out from error.
Culture
Stop the Noise in Residential Areas