Hands off Our Elephants
#41 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 10:04:38 AM

aemathenge wrote:
Siringi wrote:
#Hands off our elephants

This thing is getting out of hand...Sad Sad Sad
I saw a KWS warden cry ...a whole grown man ..." hii ndio payslip yetu wanaua."

At this rate the next generation shall only be hearing stories of once upon a time..

What we do now?

Excuse me. Since when did they become Our\my elephants, rhino, lion et al?

I have nothing to loose if each and every elephant in Kenia is killed.

It is not my tribe. They are not adding any ugali to my plate. They are inhabiting idle land. Do you know how many tu-ploti they are sitting on?

Our elephants my foot.

So human are the only animals with right on this planet? Who is encroaching into whose territory? Maasais live peacefully with the wild animals.

Next you'll say what is the use of bees forgetting it's the same bee which stings that helps pollinate the same crops you're boasting of growing. Next you'll kill all vultures, next etc

See where human attitude will take this planet
#42 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 10:10:53 AM

Siringi wrote:
#Hands off our elephants

At this rate the next generation shall only be hearing stories of once upon a time..

What we do now?

That crying warden should be sacked, you dont cry in front of the enemy when you are a soldier!

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Ni machungu, apart from tourism dying the guy is staring at joblessness if The UK does not declare Poaching a national disaster and issue shoot to kill orders

Here is the guy

Now that's the guy who should be head of KWS.

This current one.....does anyone even know his name?
#43 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 10:17:17 AM

HERE IS THE POACHER...SO BIG THAT THE GOVERNMENT CANNOT STOP "IT"!!
#44 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 10:24:06 AM

Sad Sad

#45 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 10:29:55 AM

Siringi wrote:
#Hands off our elephants

What we do now?

That crying warden should be sacked, you dont cry in front of the enemy when you are a soldier!

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Ni machungu, apart from tourism dying the guy is staring at joblessness if The UK does not declare Poaching a national disaster and issue shoot to kill orders

Here is the guy

Now that's the guy who should be head of KWS.

This current one.....does anyone even know his name?

The Director says all is OK. The NGOs are blowing the issue out of proportion.
http://www.capitalfm.co....ng-crisis-in-kenya-kws/
#46 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 10:34:13 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
kollabo wrote:
India is a poor country that borders China. They don't kill their elephants for ivory. What is wrong with us?

I think Indian elephants don't have tusks

Apparently Indian elephants have evolved not to grow tusks.

No tusks no poaching
segemia
#47 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 10:38:14 AM

Please Mr President and deputy President why is the cabinet secretary under whose wildlife docket lies still in office? Why is the director general of KWS still in office?

What the F*#@K are you two waiting for to act?NKT!!!
#48 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 11:45:53 AM

We cant cut Elephant tusks like those of bulls in my region to curb this menece!
#49 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 11:58:34 AM

@kaigangio before the 5th post, I want it give my suggestions:

1. Problem one animals destroying crops: Being smart people that we claim to be, why don't we build walls around the game reserves to prevent animals from getting out?

2. Problem two poachers who enter into the game reserve and kill animals. Work on corruption resulting in the cartel. That's why the wardens and genuine officials not able to contain the poaching.
#50 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 12:50:09 PM

Who is the current KWS
head?

He is one of the kipsisi/kipmimi/kipyeye but cant recall his exact name

this whole saga is just very sad......SMH
kollabo
#51 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 3:14:08 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
kollabo wrote:
India is a poor country that borders China. They don't kill their elephants for ivory. What is wrong with us?

Where did you get that from? Boss fanya research. Asian elephants have tusks.
#52 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 3:23:16 PM

kollabo wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
kollabo wrote:

@kollabo....you just didn't get it!!!!
kollabo
#53 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 3:27:46 PM

kollabo wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
kollabo wrote:

Jamagelo, Wikipedia is your friend angalia vizuri.
#54 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 3:40:49 PM

kollabo wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
kollabo wrote:

Jamagelo, Wikipedia is your friend angalia vizuri.

I meant the figure of speech from @Kulaheppy ndio imekupita mblo!!!!
#55 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 3:43:57 PM

and why do they kill them? why not put them to sleep and cut the horns and tusks professionally and let the animals to live? Same way farmers do with bulls? So now after they kill them all what next?
#56 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 5:43:31 PM

kollabo wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
Kenyans are a very funny lot...very funny indeed!!!

Oh ati poachers!!!Oh ati mashainese poachers...my goodness!!!

Why don't you go to the high ranking government officials and get the poachers!!!NKT!!!

Exactly, the poachers just like the pharmacists are well known and protected!!!

Please name and shame them here!

Did you watch Onsarigo's expose expose on poaching, let us just give up! These guys are going to wipe out the elephants and rhinos, one way or another. And with it, tourism. A time is coming when this country will be so far gone that we will envy Somalia!

The poachers are state functionaries, with a full unit at GSU and another at KWS! The poachers have full state protection from the very top! My only sorrow from the report is that anytime they want to be seen to be working, they lure innocent Kenyans into the parks and shoot them dead then nickname them poachers!

#57 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 6:05:40 PM

and why do they kill them? why not put them to sleep and cut the horns and tusks professionally and let the animals to live? Same way farmers do with bulls? So now after they kill them all what next?

maybe we should negotiate with the poaching cartels like what alshabaab sympathisers have been suggesting we do with the terrorists
#58 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 6:12:09 PM

maybe we should negotiate with the poaching cartels like what alshabaab sympathisers have been suggesting we do with the terrorists

#59 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 6:14:40 PM

kollabo wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
kollabo wrote:

They actually don't atleast the females don't completely. The males are supposed to have but in practise a good number don't have or will have semi developed ones.

Theres your research http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asian_elephant
#60 Posted : Thursday, March 27, 2014 7:36:20 PM

What if ranchers huko laikipia and elsewhere were licensed to breed and rear elephants and rhinos and harvest the ivory and horns for sale? Just like some people rear crocodiles for skins and meat. The elephant and rhino meat could also be sold to restaurants or made into pet food. After all elephants and rhinos are herbivores like cattle that the ranchers have been rearing for yrs. That way the demand for ivory could be met while the ranchers and gov't make money.