wazua Fri, Apr 17, 2026

12 Pages<12345>»
July deadline for ban on cash for bus fare
#21 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 5:30:41 PM

So now the gov't can tell you what mode of payment you must use?

This is a tax and spend gov't. they will tax anything that is walking if they have to, to get those raptops.

Can't even come up with an idea of what happens to the people who don't like phones or even use them.

Honestly this is worse than the imagination can reach.

It's ok to move a society to move towards a cashless society, but it is criminal to force someone to become digital by a particular date and also force business owners to pay tax to a bank of 1%

This is another of those fake jubilee decrees that are going nowhere very fast.

Hold your guns...look at it keenly, its one way of encouraging ticketing so that some form of tax is collected by the gov. Sincerely the Matatu industry is lucrative and huge enough to be a contributor to the economy..

MPESA is not the only payment platform there are others but Mats prefer it. I think the system used by Tea room matatus is fair enough, well documented may be what remains is to make it electronic. We need more education in this unfortunately the media wont

Even if its supporting the government, not this way. Hii nimekataa. Let Uhuru concentrate on sealing the holes that drain the public coffers before he add more tax burden on me meager earnings.

- They are saying that this electronic fare system will reduce police bribery, yes roadside bribes but not corruption in the traffic department. Not at all.
- Ati KRA will collect more taxes, yes they will, but at the expense of the Kibera/Korogocho commuter. What is this KRA doing with what they are already collecting. 100s of billions are stolen by U#πR√£o and their buddies annually.

- Ati it will attract more investors by reducing theft by employees, again true, but the small time operators will be kicked out of the business by the big boys (most probably a Chinese bus company) due to this choking unfair taxes and levies.

#22 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 5:38:29 PM

How do those nice red buses going to Rongai operate?
#23 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 5:49:15 PM

When does one pay his/ her fare using this system? How is the payment verified and who verifies the payment?

Is it true that such a system is incorruptible? I can imagine a situation where passengers can be charged at a discount for under the radar deals.

The government has really to change its perception and role if it's to have any revenues in a digital world. And the idea that digital transactions can reduce corruption is also not true.

Maybe the question to ask is why is it that the more things change the more they remain the same?
#24 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 6:00:29 PM

the lies this njumbiree gov't will tell.

somewhere in the usa is a town more ndigital than kenya. but the bus fare is paid by cash. In fact if you don't have exact change, the bus driver would tell us not to board his bus.

the same goes for using the train.
#25 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 6:11:39 PM

somewhere in the usa is a town more ndigital than kenya. but the bus fare is paid by cash. In fact if you don't have exact change, the bus driver would tell us not to board his bus.

Wacha kudanganya watu...in the US you go to the "BRT" office or "stage" get a route ticket that will last upto midnight of that day. No cash transactions take place in mbuses or trains thats why I think we dont have enough or the right information on what is in plan here
Ole Lenku
#26 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 6:16:00 PM

Wacha kudanganya watu...in the US you go to the "BRT" office or "stage" get a route ticket that will last upto midnight of that day. No cash transactions take place in mbuses or trains thats why I think we dont have enough or the right information on what is in plan here

Can the ticket be bought using cash at the BRT office or stage?
#27 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 6:19:27 PM

murchr ulikuwa wapi america? you know the place is big.

Ati route ticket. That's in Greyhound.

My gishagi, unapanda basi, there's a ka machine you drop your money in. And its otongolos only. No beba pay, no mpesa, just tongolo.

Even greyhound allows you to pay cash.

But because njumbiree is made up of TAXATION Hogs WILL LIE even on the internet, here's a bit to help you out.

Cashless society only exists in terminator movies. and the minds of njumbiree
#28 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 6:20:43 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:

Can the ticket be bought using cash at the BRT office or stage?

Yes they even have coin boxes which dispense tickets just incase you are in a hurry, those who get in are those with no change. Just like the train system they have now
#29 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 6:24:17 PM

murchr ulikuwa wapi america? you know the place is big.

Ati route ticket. That's in Greyhound.

My gishagi, unapanda basi, there's a ka machine you drop your money in. And its otongolos only. No beba pay, no mpesa, just tongolo.

Even greyhound allows you to pay cash.

But because njumbiree is made up of TAXATION Hogs WILL LIE even on the internet, here's a bit to help you out.

Cashless society only exists in terminator movies. and the minds of njumbiree

Si ati nilikuwa wapi...i use them during my wkds
#30 Posted : Saturday, January 04, 2014 6:27:04 PM

which part of the pictures above murchr, don't you understand. The rectangle thing with a 1 printed on it is CASH.

We are trying to copy ideas that don't even exist. Even the google card being touted by the gov't is a beta test that has not passed google engineers yet.

Cashless matatus my foot. Ati digital. Hii ni Taxation. Let's just accept and move on.
12 Pages<12345>»