wazua Thu, May 7, 2026

11 Pages<12345>»
Ban on Night Travel Coast Bus Behaving Badly
#21 Posted : Monday, December 30, 2013 8:24:53 PM

I want to look at it as a temporary move during this season when bus companies rush to make a kill.I support it for now but pray that by 10th January a better solution will have been discussed and arrived at by all stake holders.

Yes accidents occur at any time but somehow statistics point at more deaths in night accidents.

Pse note since the ban, we have not had a single accident.

I urge the Ministry to invite views from all and you will be amazed at the solutions that will come our way.
#22 Posted : Monday, December 30, 2013 9:20:58 PM

I want to look at it as a temporary move during this season when bus companies rush to make a kill.I support it for now but pray that by 10th January a better solution will have been discussed and arrived at by all stake holders.

Yes accidents occur at any time but somehow statistics point at more deaths in night accidents.

Pse note since the ban, we have not had a single accident.

I urge the Ministry to invite views from all and you will be amazed at the solutions that will come our way.

What statistics and who's statistics?

We have to be very careful when quoting gov't officials after they make uninformed decisions.

Does it mean that if an accident happens today, tomorrow we ban day travel too?

There is only one solution to road carnage. Fire the crazy lot in that ministry, fire the traffic cops and get people who can implement the current laws as they are.

Not creating another tax.

Look at what's happening with the alchoblow already. If you want to escape it, carry 2k with you. If you don't have it, have a smart phone and join the anti-alchblow groups.

I mean we are becoming a joke

Simonkabz has just laid down to you the exact cost of doing business. Instead of 24 hours, its now 72 hours. That is the real tax.

This uhuru gov't is now becoming the joke of the day. ICC kila saa. No working plan on any issues that affect kenyans.
#23 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 1:15:42 AM

This govt is a total joke. A while back, these people used to do their business, then jioni board a bus to NBI, buy stuff during day n travel back that same night. On arrival biashara pap. Sasa kimeumana. Day1 travel, arrive jioni, look for some cash for lodging, next day shop, jioni another lodging expenditure, 3rd day travel back, arrive jioni n go to bed.

From one daytime to 3 daytimes. Isorait. Uhuru has lost it completely.

I support it 100% Money can never be compared to life. Those 'urgent' businessmen can always use the train or take a flight.

heheee clearly wewe hupendi mbesha lol! Economy first! There are many pragmatic solutions to road carnage, not these stupid kneejack kicks by the govt.
#24 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 6:27:36 AM

This govt is a total joke. A while back, these people used to do their business, then jioni board a bus to NBI, buy stuff during day n travel back that same night. On arrival biashara pap. Sasa kimeumana. Day1 travel, arrive jioni, look for some cash for lodging, next day shop, jioni another lodging expenditure, 3rd day travel back, arrive jioni n go to bed.

From one daytime to 3 daytimes. Isorait. Uhuru has lost it completely.

I support it 100% Money can never be compared to life. Those 'urgent' businessmen can always use the train or take a flight.

heheee clearly wewe hupendi mbesha lol! Economy first! There are many pragmatic solutions to road carnage, not these stupid kneejack kicks by the govt.

Laughing out loudly As there are many pragmatic solutions to mbesha! Let Gova kick as much as possible, I'd rather be a little late than dead-on-time(pun very much intended).

#25 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 9:23:12 AM

kenya bin-adam ha tosheki
#26 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 9:28:20 AM

I totally agree with @Bigchick, the ban on night travel might not be the permanent solution to reducing road carnage but it offers a temporary reprieve during this festive season. Its also a fact that we've lost so many lives on the road this year in night-time accidents than during the day. Perhaps the police and govt are to blame but you just need to look at how we behave on the roads to realize that we (drivers) are not making the work any easier. On the highways when Police put up road blocks we alert each other in advance then once umepita its back to reckless driving.....sasa we have a group on FB alerting Kenyans on Alcoblow hot spots na bado unasema ati hatuna shida, SMH!
Money Whisperer
#27 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 9:44:06 AM

how are these special night travel licences given, the threshold one has to meet etc? what if all saccos get the night licences then what? of course the garment is richer halafu? alama ya dukuduku
"Money never sleeps"
#28 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 9:45:30 AM

can they also ban night travel on lang'ata road and other 'hot spots' where we are sure to have accidents mainly due to DUI whether it's the festive season or not?

nkt. these knee jerk reactions to road safety will not work. we already lose a lot of time to build the economy whilst stuck in traffic jams. having buses travel only during the day will add to the congestion.

something that struck me is that the ban will affect travel to and from western and coastal areas. hii ban ni ya goggles ama?

i agree with TAZ that we the drivers do not make the situation any better - indiscipline galore
#29 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 10:44:32 AM

.......so some two guys travelled to Bunyala via a motor bike coz of this very unreasonable decision......fuel ni 600/=!!!
#30 Posted : Tuesday, December 31, 2013 11:12:00 AM

.......so some two guys travelled to Bunyala via a motor bike coz of this very unreasonable decision......fuel ni 600/=!!!

From where to Bunyala?

11 Pages<12345>»