wazua Mon, Jan 27, 2025

December 25th: Who’s birthday is it?
hamburglar
#41 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 10:14:43 AM

95% of the people don't even care whose birthday it is on Christmas day. They are just glad to get a day off from work and for some, an opportunity to chomp on some juicy goat ribs. These storos of sijui Jesus birthday is a non issue. The real issue here is knowing "where the goat, mukimo and Tusker party is at?" That's Christmas day in a nutshell. Hehehe.

You guys waste too much time trying to make sense out of nonsensical religious crap.
Ngalaka
#42 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 10:20:35 AM

Christmas is a day/season of fun, celebration, compassion and sharing.
Along with the new years day it is the most widely celebrated holiday.

You can be sure that on Friday, in most entertainment and fun joints many non Christians will also be in attendance.

The thing to do is not to engage in controversies, enjoy it while it lasts.

Merry Christmas every one!
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
Anti_Burglar
#43 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 10:27:32 AM

hamburglar wrote:
95% of the people don't even care whose birthday it is on Christmas day. They are just glad to get a day off from work and for some, an opportunity to chomp on some juicy goat ribs. These storos of sijui Jesus birthday is a non issue. The real issue here is knowing "where the goat, mukimo and Tusker party is at?" That's Christmas day in a nutshell. Hehehe.

You guys waste too much time trying to make sense out of nonsensical religious crap.

Make that oily goat ribs.
Liv
#44 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 11:01:00 AM

Liv wrote:
Who cares? Celebrate bwana!! don't get pedantic about it!! Even those other calendars are man made... Everyone decided to have a calendar based on something to have some symmetry and order in our almost insignificant lives to the fate of the universe on the surface of this rock speeding across the boundless universe! some based it off the moon , others the sun and other a combination of sun and moon. But they are all man made contraptions to have some kind of order. It really doesn't matter if Jesus was born on 25th... it actually doesn't matter if he was born at all! the reality is HE IS CELEBRATED AND BELIEVED BY MANY PEOPLE. So don't focus your energies on the actualities of these holidays... these holidays were created to tame people who had other holidays in their stead so... RELAX... Say Merry Christmas... it comes once a year and move on! check this out... even if you don't celebrate it... OTHERS WILL! you will be bombarded with messages in your whatsapp groups, your sms, people will call you and you will resent it. Christmas music will play and even you may be accosted by some random thin black guy in an oversized red suit with comical white hair ringing a bell! And you know why it's also going to be significant? you will not go to the supermarket and find it open. in other words -whether you accept it or not, whether you like it or not, whether history is right or wrong.... the reality is that CHRISTMAS is here and it's bigger than any of us.

Well said @Masukuma.

And we are celebrating 2015 years AD ..... After His death. Whoever does not like it, can go ahead have his own calendar, but the fact remains that the world systems are based on events related to his life in the world. The birth and death of Christ. That is why the world celebrates these events everywhere.

All we are saying is that this celebration is PAGAN tradition. Jesus Christ p.b.u.h was not born on 25th Dec, but someone else was. Open up your mind and find out. But if you are afraid to use your God given power of reasoning, and can't think on your own apart from relying on what you inherited from your forefathers, then that's okay.

Peace!

You think we don't know that Jesus was not born on 25th December? That is common knowledge. I don't understand why that knowledge is making you so excited. Is it a recent discovery for you?

Suppose we celebrated Christmas in April or October, which date would it be? How would people agree on that date? Wouldn't some people argue that it is not the exact date he was born? No one knows the exact date Jesus was born... in fact dates and calendar keeping were different at the time of his birth. Why are you arguing about what month He was born? Why does it matter to you..... A Muslim?

My point is that Jesus became the centre of everything in this world. His worship replaced pagan worship for those who believed, we celebrate His birth and not pagan gods. He is the center of everything in this life. Even the Koran confirms that in a way.... Why would the Koran mention Jesus many more times than the number of times Mohammed is mentioned?

And btw....the Koran says Jesus is alive, I don't understand why you have to include "pbuh" like all the other dead prophets.
#45 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 11:10:48 AM

Liv wrote:
Liv wrote:
Who cares? Celebrate bwana!! don't get pedantic about it!! Even those other calendars are man made... Everyone decided to have a calendar based on something to have some symmetry and order in our almost insignificant lives to the fate of the universe on the surface of this rock speeding across the boundless universe! some based it off the moon , others the sun and other a combination of sun and moon. But they are all man made contraptions to have some kind of order. It really doesn't matter if Jesus was born on 25th... it actually doesn't matter if he was born at all! the reality is HE IS CELEBRATED AND BELIEVED BY MANY PEOPLE. So don't focus your energies on the actualities of these holidays... these holidays were created to tame people who had other holidays in their stead so... RELAX... Say Merry Christmas... it comes once a year and move on! check this out... even if you don't celebrate it... OTHERS WILL! you will be bombarded with messages in your whatsapp groups, your sms, people will call you and you will resent it. Christmas music will play and even you may be accosted by some random thin black guy in an oversized red suit with comical white hair ringing a bell! And you know why it's also going to be significant? you will not go to the supermarket and find it open. in other words -whether you accept it or not, whether you like it or not, whether history is right or wrong.... the reality is that CHRISTMAS is here and it's bigger than any of us.

Well said @Masukuma.

And we are celebrating 2015 years AD ..... After His death. Whoever does not like it, can go ahead have his own calendar, but the fact remains that the world systems are based on events related to his life in the world. The birth and death of Christ. That is why the world celebrates these events everywhere.

All we are saying is that this celebration is PAGAN tradition. Jesus Christ p.b.u.h was not born on 25th Dec, but someone else was. Open up your mind and find out. But if you are afraid to use your God given power of reasoning, and can't think on your own apart from relying on what you inherited from your forefathers, then that's okay.

Peace!

You think we don't know that Jesus was not born on 25th December? That is common knowledge. I don't understand why that knowledge is making you so excited. Is it a recent discovery for you?

Suppose we celebrated Christmas in April or October, which date would it be? How would people agree on that date? Wouldn't some people argue that it is not the exact date he was born? No one knows the exact date Jesus was born... in fact dates and calendar keeping were different at the time of his birth. Why are you arguing about what month He was born? Why does it matter to you..... A Muslim?

My point is that Jesus became the centre of everything in this world. His worship replaced pagan worship for those who believed, we celebrate His birth and not pagan gods. He is the center of everything in this life. Even the Koran confirms that in a way.... Why would the Koran mention Jesus many more times than the number of times Mohammed is mentioned?

And btw....the Koran says Jesus is alive, I don't understand why you have to include "pbuh" like all the other dead prophets.

That's why the topic says "December 25th: Who’s birthday is it?"

Thank you for confirming that you know it is not the birthday of Jesus Christ.

The question is: whose birthday is it? Do you know or you're just following and coming back here and say "I don't care".

You should know so that you don't follow blindly.
#46 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 11:15:45 AM

Anti_Burglar wrote:
hamburglar wrote:

Make that oily goat ribs.

Liv
#47 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 11:21:05 AM

Liv wrote:
Liv wrote:

Well said @Masukuma.

Peace!

That's why the topic says "December 25th: Who’s birthday is it?"

Thank you for confirming that you know it is not the birthday of Jesus Christ.

The question is: whose birthday is it? Do you know or you're just following and coming back here and say "I don't care".

You should know so that you don't follow blindly.

We are not celebrating the birthday of Jesus Christ. We are celebrating the fact that He was born. God came into this world in the form of a human being by being born as a child and He changed the world for the better. That's why we celebrate.

Anti_Burglar
#48 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 2:14:17 PM

Alphdoti, Muslims of Brunei have banned christmas. Si uende uishi huko?
#49 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 2:58:25 PM

Anti_Burglar wrote:

Do you know reasons why Brunei has banned that Pagan tradition?
#50 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 3:22:17 PM

I find it funny that masukuma revived this thread yet he has been complaining in the past that kaka sheikh doti and I engage in too many religious fights

Anyway, let the worshipper of the pagan god of Arabia have his day. He is in a religion where almost everything was copied from other faiths including worship of some idol worshipped at the ka'aba
#51 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 3:27:24 PM

Anti_Burglar wrote:

Do you know reasons why Brunei has banned that Pagan tradition?

when will your pagan religion be banned?
#52 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 3:53:46 PM

I find it funny that masukuma revived this thread yet he has been complaining in the past that kaka sheikh doti and I engage in too many religious fights

Anyway, let the worshipper of the pagan god of Arabia have his day. He is in a religion where almost everything was copied from other faiths including worship of some idol worshipped at the ka'aba

Yes Mr. @lonest. So tell me what that religion copied? It's funny how "that" religion didn't copy Chrsitmas celebration smile
#53 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 4:16:59 PM

Yes Mr. @lonest. So tell me what that religion copied? It's funny how "that" religion didn't copy Chrsitmas celebration smile

That guy was bright, I admit. The rosary, the moon at the centre of events, monotheism...not badsmile
#54 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 4:39:54 PM

The sun is a powerful symbol of 'God', and it's neither a coincidence or a bad thing to equate Christ and the sun especially given the three day burial and resurrection...
#55 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 5:18:40 PM

That guy was bright, I admit. The rosary, the moon at the centre of events, monotheism...not badsmile

What language are you speaking? I asked you to show me what was copied and where it was copied from... We don't want rumours in here. Otherwise you tell us what you are admitting Sad
#56 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 5:31:20 PM

What language are you speaking? I asked you to show me what was copied and where it was copied from... We don't want rumours in here. Otherwise you tell us what you are admitting Sad

English. Who are the 'we'?
#57 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 5:39:38 PM

Behaviour of people with baseless claims. Now you have resorted to digressing and effort to change topic. I assume you had no claim smile
#58 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 5:55:39 PM

Behaviour of people with baseless claims. Now you have resorted to digressing and effort to change topic. I assume you had no claim smile

Yeah, I have no claim. I want to celebrate Christmas. The birth of Jesus. Not debate with people who have problems with the day but they have no problems inheriting Arabian pagan religion

Merry Christmas brosmile
#59 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 6:39:03 PM

Yeah, I have no claim. I want to celebrate Christmas. The birth of Jesus. Not debate with people who have problems with the day but they have no problems inheriting Arabian pagan religion

Merry Christmas brosmile

Away goes the "copied" claim Liar Liar

Baseless with no evidence. Your attempts have been tried by many for centuries in vain. You're just a young man, born yesterday. truth is clear from falsehood. Your fellow Christians say you're just celebrating some random day, borrowed from Pagan tradition. Prove me wrong is you're truthful Shame on you
#60 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2015 7:53:13 PM

pa·gan
ˈpāɡən/
noun
noun: pagan; plural noun: pagans

a person holding religious beliefs other than those of the main world religions.
synonyms: heathen, infidel, idolater, idolatress; archaicpaynim
"pagans worshiped the sun"
datedderogatory
a non-Christian.
an adherent of neopaganism.

adjective
adjective: pagan

relating to pagans.
"a pagan god"
synonyms: heathen, ungodly, irreligious, infidel, idolatrous
"the pagan festival"

Origin
late Middle English: from Latin paganus ‘villager, rustic,’ from pagus ‘country district.’ Latin paganus also meant ‘civilian,’ becoming, in Christian Latin, ‘heathen’ (i.e., one not enrolled in the army of Christ).

If it's a matter of etymology then this 'apparent' debate is no debate in fact.