wazua Thu, May 7, 2026

6 Pages<12345>»
Insecurity in Karen
jokes
#21 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 9:28:51 AM

Chief i read your post. i was just sharing my thoughts. What i realized as you have indirectly indicated in your post no amount of hiding can deter a determined criminal. Information on your security measures is always out there for those who want to know. You have also rightly noted that kids are the worst, with some love kindness and friendship small kids will leak all information that you thought hidden even you clandes. Now about your incidence i have a similar one from central province during the mungiki reign. There was a chief who really wanted to reform the society he was guarding and was resolute in his determination to eradicate the mungiki menace by arresting and chasing the gang members. He used to preach against the gang and it's teachings with zeal vowing to remove the menace once and for all. One night the gangsters came to his house and started breaking down the wall supporting the burglar proof door with a sledge hammer. As you can imagine this made alot of noise and the chief wondered loudly where his two Aps were. The mother of the house called to the gangsters to let her open the door but they told her not to worry they will could do it themselves. Once they had completed breaking down the wall they entered the house and ordered the mama to cook for them tea. They ordered the chief to sit down. Once they were setted down and comfortable drinking tea with the chief they introduced themselves as mungiki and wanted to show him no matter where he goes and what he does (direct translation) they will still find him. They hereafter praised the mama for a good cup of tea and left. The chief was shocked and never returned to his previous zeal again.
when i was narrated this story i found it to be hilarious and amazed at the sheer display of power. this was until i became a victim when i realized you will never know what the other half feels until it happens to you. People read such incidents hear about them but they can never relate to them, to them these things happen to other people not you, they are completely disassociated from the horror that takes place daily in other peoples lives until it happens to them and then they can't believe it happened to them then you realize others do not understand what happened to you.
Mine was minor. what of those families who are butchered raped mutilated in the dark of the night in tana river mandera turkana while you watch and are left to live the tale? What kind of horror is it? What do we do about it? we shrug it off as a shocking story and move on.
mkeiyd
#22 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 10:13:50 AM

We need to rethink our priorities as a country. If Switzerland is thinking of capping their salaries even with their not-so-unequal society, how about Kenya?
The highest paid employee in a company shall not earn more than 12 times,of the lowest paid.
How much does the lowest paid employee in Safcom earn? 20k? The max Bob should be taking home is 240k.

Otherwise we aren't going anywhere with some people earning 100 times of their lowest paid.
THE BITTER TRUTH.
#23 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 10:21:04 AM

jokes wrote:
Chief i read your post. i was just sharing my thoughts. What i realized as you have indirectly indicated in your post no amount of hiding can deter a determined criminal. Information on your security measures is always out there for those who want to know. You have also rightly noted that kids are the worst, with some love kindness and friendship small kids will leak all information that you thought hidden even you clandes. Now about your incidence i have a similar one from central province during the mungiki reign. There was a chief who really wanted to reform the society he was guarding and was resolute in his determination to eradicate the mungiki menace by arresting and chasing the gang members. He used to preach against the gang and it's teachings with zeal vowing to remove the menace once and for all. One night the gangsters came to his house and started breaking down the wall supporting the burglar proof door with a sledge hammer. As you can imagine this made alot of noise and the chief wondered loudly where his two Aps were. The mother of the house called to the gangsters to let her open the door but they told her not to worry they will could do it themselves. Once they had completed breaking down the wall they entered the house and ordered the mama to cook for them tea. They ordered the chief to sit down. Once they were setted down and comfortable drinking tea with the chief they introduced themselves as mungiki and wanted to show him no matter where he goes and what he does (direct translation) they will still find him. They hereafter praised the mama for a good cup of tea and left. The chief was shocked and never returned to his previous zeal again.
when i was narrated this story i found it to be hilarious and amazed at the sheer display of power. this was until i became a victim when i realized you will never know what the other half feels until it happens to you. People read such incidents hear about them but they can never relate to them, to them these things happen to other people not you, they are completely disassociated from the horror that takes place daily in other peoples lives until it happens to them and then they can't believe it happened to them then you realize others do not understand what happened to you.
Mine was minor. what of those families who are butchered raped mutilated in the dark of the night in tana river mandera turkana while you watch and are left to live the tale? What kind of horror is it? What do we do about it? we shrug it off as a shocking story and move on.

Are you saying evil will prevail over good?

Yes, things might be dire but 'God has not given me a spirit of fear but...' That Chief should have reiterated with a show of brute force.. What people seem to forget is that it is inevitable that we'll all die.

#24 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 10:48:45 AM

The thugs normally cut through the fence huko nyuma...like in this sad case in Runda.

Daily Nation: Australian man killed by gangsters in Runda

I think there's more than meets the eye in this case as well. If the thugs had police attire why not go through the gate. Did they exit through the hole? I doubt. Why would a big number of thugs shoot the guy at close range? I think the hole was to throw people off the real intention but hey, that's just my unsolicited, unprofessional opinion.

Ngong
#25 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 11:14:05 AM

As long as the police is an individualistic force,nothing will ever change.
Seen one or two officers on the road just soliciting?
One officer armed walking alone?
Its all about money real work is boring!

hindi ni riu
#26 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 1:31:20 PM

Mjasirii wrote:
Sirkal saidia tafasari, iko mbaya sana saidi....

RINK

That link is not credible.Were the guards who guard those residences killed?Most of those houses have alarms,cctvs etc and belong to who is who.Karen is not Umoja.

The thugs normally cut through the fence huko nyuma...like in this sad case in Runda.

Daily Nation: Australian man killed by gangsters in Runda

They kata that kei apple fence n make a way hadi buffalo inaweza pita n once they r in the compound that watchie even with his karungu will have to hide... I think the solution is to have like 10 serious dogs...rottweilers hivi...

@Jagger and @Maka...all those things you have mentioned above do not stop these guys when they strike!! Just last month in the same area, they stormed into a house belonging to a friend of mine....killed all the dogs, took time to cut the burglar proof windows, shot the hinges of the bullet proof windows and stormed in....others remianed outside, and when the security company came to the rescue, they responded abrasively by firing..the security company was rendered irrelevant....all this time, I have been thinking of the best way to secure a house.....any ideas?

Did they use silencers? Or did the neighbors decide to ignore the shots, and not call RECCE? Who are these thugs because that is some scary sh*t!

If this is Karen, in a house with bullet-proof windows, what about ordinary mwanainchi?

Convert / factor in a safe room in the house during construction where you and your family get in as you call in for help. The room should have reinforced walls to withstand high calibre bullets the door should be bulletproof, oxygen mask in case they decide to smoke you out and lastly equip it with fire fighting equipments.

Sad Sad Waa...all this for what? Makes me think maisha ni ngumu sana kwa mabwenyenye kuliko mwananchi wa kawaida. How about you also get a bullet proof car, 2 chase cars, 4 body guards, and all that stuff.

“Once the last tree is cut and the last river poisoned,you will find you cannot eat your money" Traditional saying.
#27 Posted : Sunday, February 16, 2014 11:49:31 AM

More crime...Police records show that a robbery incident has happened every night in the exclusive estates in the last two months.

http://www.nation.co.ke/counties/nairobi/Nairobi-Crime-Burglaries-Robberies/-/1954174/2208534/-/88g0ws/-/index.html

C&P
The latest of such attacks happened at Mimosa Grove estate in Runda on Thursday night last week when three men armed with improvised explosives – a bicycle wire and match stick phosphorus broke into the house of Margaret Kamene Matheka, an auditor with the Education Ministry. They stole two mobile phones and a Toyota Rav 4.

On Tuesday of the same week, Felister Muli, who works at the Ministry of Public Works, was waylaid by four thugs – two armed with pistols outside her house in Tabere Crescent in Kileleshwa.

She was robbed of Sh24,000, an iPhone and forced to reveal her ATM and M-Pesa PINs where they withdrew Sh20,000 from each of the account in the 10 pm incident. The thugs then abandoned her along Rhapta Road and drove off in her Toyota Prado.

Last Monday, seven thugs armed with an AK-47 rifle and a pistol stole household goods worth Sh805,000 from Dr Saaio Mauro’s house in Miotoni Ridge in Karen. They also stole Sh9,000, $300 (Sh25,500) and €600 Euros (Sh70,800).

The same night, four thugs shot and critically injured a guard at Saminaa Mohammed’s home in Karen during a 1 am robbery incident. They stole Sh1,000, six mobile phones and jewellery.

February 8 appears to have been the busiest for the thieves. At 4.45 am, six men armed with crude weapons cut through the kai-apple fence of Briton Jim Cheatle’s homestead in Runda Estate but did not steal anything after the alarm went off.

Earlier that night, three men, also armed with crude weapons, raided the home of Mr Pierre Parson at Pepo Lane in Karen at 3.10 am and stole a CPU, two wedding rings and a phone. They injured one of the guests on their way out.

At 1 am, businessman Alfayaz Sundaji was ambushed in his Range Rover just after the security guard opened the gate to his Royal Park home on Rhapta Road.

The gang ransacked his house and stole Sh350,000, $4,000 (Sh340,000), two iPads, a laptop and a log book.

The previous night, Fardorisa Yusuf had been blocked from behind outside her home on Githunguri Road in Kileleshwa by two armed men in a saloon car, who drove off in her car.
#28 Posted : Sunday, February 16, 2014 12:30:07 PM

These robberies imo are well planned and co-ordinated by people who know the victims well.
Fundis,movers,watchmen,staff,drivers,electricians,digital cable guys,everyone who understands their worth is a possible suspect working in collusion with thugs.

Rhapta road for instance has taxi guys 24/7 waiting to drop guys at the main road or westie.
All houses have tight security, so you wonder how thugs manage to break in and leave unnoticed.

Runda is supposed to be secure even though some areas overlook the bush but still.....guys invest in security more than in anything else those sides..

Twice I have slept with the main gate and door to my house open,the only stray thing was a cat.
See how sweet it is to live in a normal estate?
No fears or worries.

Some places are pretty during the day but come 6pm and it's... teren teren.

#29 Posted : Sunday, February 16, 2014 1:43:39 PM

What will we do when we get a lot of money. Living in a posh estate looks like not an option.

Living in a Kawaida estate (Mwiki, Kayole, Zimmer et. al.) sounds like been too mean to ourselves and family.

Do we give away this money every end month or we wait for it to be taken away from us, by force, by gangsters.

sitaki.kujulikana
#30 Posted : Sunday, February 16, 2014 1:50:15 PM

What will we do when we get a lot of money. Living in a posh estate looks like not an option.

Living in a Kawaida estate (Mwiki, Kayole, Zimmer et. al.) sounds like been too mean to ourselves and family.

Do we give away this money every end month or we wait for it to be taken away from us, by force, by gangsters.

Give it to the poor and store your wealth where moths and robbers can not access, you will be a very happy person.
6 Pages<12345>»