India sends spacecraft to Mars
A nice comparison: http://www.nationmaster....are/India/Kenya/Economy
We beat them in some fronts, they beat us in others... Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
tycho wrote:Poverty can't be alleviated by resource allocation. People are poor because they don't use the resources they already possess.
If the government has a role to play, then it's that of setting standards high by expressing the highest ideals possible for her people so that more citizens can raise their own standards. In that case, India has done and has been doing well.
The cultural and spiritual heritage of India can't be compared to Kenya's, and that's where we are losing it.
Like of late, I have come to see that young people in Kenya are getting more disenchanted with life and their pursuits tend to be harmful to their health and humanity's welfare. That is, Kenya is rapidly increasing it's population of the poor.
But I also realize that Kenya can change overnight and become an international power house. The ingredient that's needed is a suitable cultural and philosophical framework that can utilize advances in information and communication technology.
And that needs only a private initiative, and in a few years we can raise the civilization level by tapping most of the solar energy that goes unused.
We are fast asleep, and we really need to wake up. You've put it rightfully
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
jaggernaut wrote:It's all got to do with Maslow's hierarchy of needs.......India is up there at self actualization while we are at the very bottom of the pyramid thinking about food and shelter.  you are using a scale to measure apples on oranges. Maslow's hierarchy of needs is for INDIVIDUALS. Countries should never think like individuals. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Lets demystify things....putting objects in space is not that expensive! ION its the intellectual requirement that is problematic to most countries. the trip to Mars will cost India (a 1.7 trillion dollar economy) 72 million dollars. the truth is the cost of running a space program is mostly about paying scientists! Going to Mars is not just propelling yourself to mars you make use of the earth's gravitational pull to slingshoot you to mars! its complicated maths but it has been done. the US did it to get to the moon and back here. The rocket is only useful in putting objects in orbit from that point forward its using gravity and very little propulsion to get you to the next object. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
while you people are thinking about subsistence and looking up into the sky wondering what is out there! the rest of the world is using technology from 1925 to propel objects to Mars! think about it... the computers that took people to the Moon had computing power similar to smartphones! so instead of thinking of a problem as being too big or too expensive the copping out with statements like 'we need to feed our people first' read and you will find out that it's not a difficult and expensive as you thought! people have been placing things in orbit since the 50s! for the curious ones... here is how to get objects to Mars http://www2.jpl.nasa.gov/basics/bsf4-1.phpAll Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Mukiri wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Mukiri wrote:Where do people rush to? Gaining the whole world and losing your soul in the process... Doesn't India need the human resource to complement its projects? Tax, labor etc Shouldn't then its primary beneficiary in terms of revenue allocation be poverty alleviation.
Reminds me of people too busy to eat. Do you know that India has the highest number of unemployed/underemployed PhDs in the world? That human resource has the potential to take India to unbelievable heights. If the potential is there, what is lacking...? Capital? But either way Kenya needs to learn from Indians. It beats me why Safcom makes billions in and calling costs are in shillings, should be cents! Education should be so affordable that we should attract foreign students, medical care should be top class we should attract people from all over, we should find other ways to fight inflation as opposed to interest rates, money should be available and affordable... banks making billions is not right! Our taxation... I won't even go there. Even the duvets the Indian street dwellers are rocking are way better that what alot of Wazuans have. this is the type of thinking that is problematic in kenya!! emancipate yourself from mental slavery... please!! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:while you people are thinking about subsistence and looking up into the sky wondering what is out there! the rest of the world is using technology from 1925 to propel objects to Mars! think about it... the computers that took people to the Moon had computing power similar to smartphones! so instead of thinking of a problem as being too big or too expensive the copping out with statements like 'we need to feed our people first' read and you will find out that it's not a difficult and expensive as you thought! people have been placing things in orbit since the 50s! for the curious ones... here is how to get objects to Mars http://www2.jpl.nasa.gov/basics/bsf4-1.php
Exactment! I think we have big problem, which we discussed here and concluded it's atttitude and laziness. Our attitude is so bad that we have to argue about something, even if it so obvious. This is an issue here in Kenya, and it cuts across Africa.
AlphDoti wrote:masukuma wrote:while you people are thinking about subsistence and looking up into the sky wondering what is out there! the rest of the world is using technology from 1925 to propel objects to Mars! think about it... the computers that took people to the Moon had computing power similar to smartphones! so instead of thinking of a problem as being too big or too expensive the copping out with statements like 'we need to feed our people first' read and you will find out that it's not a difficult and expensive as you thought! people have been placing things in orbit since the 50s! for the curious ones... here is how to get objects to Mars http://www2.jpl.nasa.gov/basics/bsf4-1.php
Exactment! I think we have big problem, which we discussed here and concluded it's atttitude and laziness. Our attitude is so bad that we have to argue about something, even if it so obvious. This is an issue here in Kenya, and it cuts across Africa. Waambie!! and this has to change!! bad attitude! negative attitude! laziness in thought!! we think we are hardworking because we do manual work well! fungueni macho! think! think! think! research! research! research! act! act! act! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
kwanza Africans should try out the sea! while the sea has brought misfortune to this continent - the times have changed! unlike most continents majority of our population lives inland coz of fear!! fear of tsunamis!!! sijui fear of mermaids and underwater devils! fear of X, fear of Y. We still think there North is 'up' and south is 'down'. We don't realize a boat in on the Coast of Cape Town is at the same altitude as one in Mombasa as one in a harbour in Tokyo or even one in Alaska! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Where are we running to? Who lived a better life, our fore-fathers with their loin-skins and simple life or us?
masukuma wrote:AlphDoti wrote:masukuma wrote:while you people are thinking about subsistence and looking up into the sky wondering what is out there! the rest of the world is using technology from 1925 to propel objects to Mars! think about it... the computers that took people to the Moon had computing power similar to smartphones! so instead of thinking of a problem as being too big or too expensive the copping out with statements like 'we need to feed our people first' read and you will find out that it's not a difficult and expensive as you thought! people have been placing things in orbit since the 50s! for the curious ones... here is how to get objects to Mars http://www2.jpl.nasa.gov/basics/bsf4-1.php
Exactment! I think we have big problem, which we discussed here and concluded it's atttitude and laziness. Our attitude is so bad that we have to argue about something, even if it so obvious. This is an issue here in Kenya, and it cuts across Africa. Waambie!! and this has to change!! bad attitude! negative attitude! laziness in thought!! we think we are hardworking because we do manual work well! fungueni macho! think! think! think! research! research! research! act! act! act! We argue about everything. It reminded me of Machakos, the Governor and his people who want to make sure the projects are not done. WHy didn't they sit down, draft wayforward to address the land issue, focus on the customer who's the mwananchi of Machakos... But what did they decide to do. Show muscle, you'll know who's stronger here, you or me!! Grrrrr!!!
Mukiri wrote:Where are we running to? Who lived a better life, our fore-fathers with their loin-skins and simple life or us? I think I addressed this specific comment in another thread sometime back... hapa to be exact! masukuma wrote:Mukiri wrote:limanika wrote:Mukiri wrote:Super power is for what? Is it needed? 666=end of times=new world order=super power It is human nature, many nations or peoples are envious of any country that is superpower. That is why there is struggle for economic and military dominance everywhere as a means to superpower status. This economic and military competition is the reason why the superpower trophy has changed hands several times throughout human history. By the end of the 19th century Germany and the United States had eroded Britain's economic lead. Subsequent military and economic tensions between Britain and Germany were major causes of the First World War. The First World War can therefore be seen as a transition from Britain as superpower to either Germany or US. Of course Germany lost the battle. After Second World War, the USSR came calling for the trophy hence the onset of transition period marked by the cold war. USSR lost the battle. As we speak, China is aiming for the trophy. As you can see, transition period from one superpower to another is very unsettling and is one factor that can lead to Third World War. But come to think of it, where would we be without this kind of competition throughout human history? Not very far from Dark Ages in my view. My point exactly! Dark ages is good.. Me, my goats, my crops and bare chested beauties running around. Isn't that the life? Now I'm stuck with this modern times.. STDs, cancer, stress and unnecessary thinking! Think about it, the more we think we are going forward, the more we go back! don't fight change - like a judoca use its force and direct it. those dark days did not have cures for simple things like diahorea. be like those guys in 1 Chronicles 12:32.... Know the times and know what step you are going to take. Even the bible tells you the same thing! in ecclesiastes 7:10 p.s with an life expectancy of 22 years in precolonial Africa you would already be DEAD!! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:jaggernaut wrote:It's all got to do with Maslow's hierarchy of needs.......India is up there at self actualization while we are at the very bottom of the pyramid thinking about food and shelter.
you are using a scale to measure apples on oranges. Maslow's hierarchy of needs is for INDIVIDUALS. Countries should never think like individuals. Individual needs can be scaled up to those of a society/country's population.
jaggernaut wrote:masukuma wrote:jaggernaut wrote:It's all got to do with Maslow's hierarchy of needs.......India is up there at self actualization while we are at the very bottom of the pyramid thinking about food and shelter.
you are using a scale to measure apples on oranges. Maslow's hierarchy of needs is for INDIVIDUALS. Countries should never think like individuals. Individual needs can be scaled up to those of a society/country's population. society is not here to solve your problems! Its here to solve collective problems. Jilishe! Jivishe! Our taxes are not to be used to feed you or clothe you. When your problems become society problems we will define a minimum standard to which as a society we wish all of our people should live above and use tax payers money to sponsor it but that is not the real reason we have a society. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
masukuma wrote:Mukiri wrote:Where are we running to? Who lived a better life, our fore-fathers with their loin-skins and simple life or us? I think I addressed this specific comment in another thread sometime back... hapa to be exact! masukuma wrote:Mukiri wrote:limanika wrote:Mukiri wrote:Super power is for what? Is it needed? 666=end of times=new world order=super power It is human nature, many nations or peoples are envious of any country that is superpower. That is why there is struggle for economic and military dominance everywhere as a means to superpower status. This economic and military competition is the reason why the superpower trophy has changed hands several times throughout human history. By the end of the 19th century Germany and the United States had eroded Britain's economic lead. Subsequent military and economic tensions between Britain and Germany were major causes of the First World War. The First World War can therefore be seen as a transition from Britain as superpower to either Germany or US. Of course Germany lost the battle. After Second World War, the USSR came calling for the trophy hence the onset of transition period marked by the cold war. USSR lost the battle. As we speak, China is aiming for the trophy. As you can see, transition period from one superpower to another is very unsettling and is one factor that can lead to Third World War. But come to think of it, where would we be without this kind of competition throughout human history? Not very far from Dark Ages in my view. My point exactly! Dark ages is good.. Me, my goats, my crops and bare chested beauties running around. Isn't that the life? Now I'm stuck with this modern times.. STDs, cancer, stress and unnecessary thinking! Think about it, the more we think we are going forward, the more we go back! don't fight change - like a judoca use its force and direct it. those dark days did not have cures for simple things like diahorea. be like those guys in 1 Chronicles 12:32.... Know the times and know what step you are going to take. Even the bible tells you the same thing! in ecclesiastes 7:10 p.s with an life expectancy of 22 years in precolonial Africa you would already be DEAD!! Any reliable rink to this allegation? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
masukuma wrote:Lets demystify things....putting objects in space is not that expensive! ION its the intellectual requirement that is problematic to most countries. the trip to Mars will cost India (a 1.7 trillion dollar economy) 72 million dollars. the truth is the cost of running a space program is mostly about paying scientists! Going to Mars is not just propelling yourself to mars you make use of the earth's gravitational pull to slingshoot you to mars! its complicated maths but it has been done. the US did it to get to the moon and back here. The rocket is only useful in putting objects in orbit from that point forward its using gravity and very little propulsion to get you to the next object.  the space programme costs 1b usd/yr about kes 87b ..going to mars is just one part of the programme I may be wrong..but then I could be right
digitek1 wrote:masukuma wrote:Lets demystify things....putting objects in space is not that expensive! ION its the intellectual requirement that is problematic to most countries. the trip to Mars will cost India (a 1.7 trillion dollar economy) 72 million dollars. the truth is the cost of running a space program is mostly about paying scientists! Going to Mars is not just propelling yourself to mars you make use of the earth's gravitational pull to slingshoot you to mars! its complicated maths but it has been done. the US did it to get to the moon and back here. The rocket is only useful in putting objects in orbit from that point forward its using gravity and very little propulsion to get you to the next object.  the space programme costs 1b usd/yr about kes 87b ..going to mars is just one part of the programme We are talking about the same thing. For those who are asking about the life expactancy in precolonial Africa i quote from Entrepreneurship and Religion by Léo-Paul Dana who quotes from Gwyn Campbell's State and Pre-colonial Demographic History: the Case of Nineteenth-century Madagascar All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:Mukiri wrote:Where are we running to? Who lived a better life, our fore-fathers with their loin-skins and simple life or us? I think I addressed this specific comment in another thread sometime back... don't fight change - like a judoca use its force and direct it. those dark days did not have cures for simple things like diahorea. be like those guys in 1 Chronicles 12:32.... Know the times and know what step you are going to take. Even the bible tells you the same thing! in ecclesiastes 7:10 p.s with an life expectancy of 22 years in precolonial Africa you would already be DEAD!! Boss, that 22 is a fallacy. Maybe in Europe at the height of their plague. If anything, back then, they live a longer, healthier life... and since you've brought up the Bible, check the ages in the Old Testament. Death is inevitable. I intend to take my sweet slow time, savoring every moment till then. Hii kukimbia kimbia, nimekwachia wewe
Those who are talking about poverty levels and people hungry in need of feeding, why don't we start right here.
Feed every hungry stomach before LAPSSET,new railway line,etc etc.
The poor and hungry will always be there. How many whites are talking of hungry South Africans now that the World Cup came and went?
It's white supremacy. Sad some wazuans are buying into it.
@masukuma. Hats off. On this one,tuko pamoja.
India sends spacecraft to Mars