wazua Sat, Apr 4, 2026

13 Pages<12345>»
A letter to Kenyans Abroad - by bikozulu
Rollout
#21 Posted : Monday, August 26, 2013 10:11:27 PM

Rollout wrote:
Honestly, I liked it, I find it funny...... can anyone write about Kenyans who just arrived at these Western countries and certainly after 1 yr. they don't want to speak in Swahili yet they can barely communicated in English?

What about Nairobi English, where is that accent from? Before I moved to USA I used to think the accent was American but I now know it is not, so where did that accent come from? It is not british either!

Hey, I am guilty about scared to eat in most Kenyan eating places, most of us haven't seen flies in decades! and yes it is uncomfortable when someone is breathing on your neck while lining up in banks and yes alot of Kenyans don't use deodorant and it is annoying when your friend smell so bad and you can't tell them.

about Nairobi english...the accent...well its from Nairobi! leafy green suburbs.
about being scared! you used to eat in those places! the difference between you and those bag packing odieros that eat in cheap places is that while its a new experience for them - wewe uilkuwa unafurahia mbaka unalamba vidole. anyway - utajuaje uko kenya kama hakuna 'flies' or 'people breathing down your neck'?

@Masukuma
I used to eat in those places but it if different now, not that I don't want to but if I do I won't sleep in the house that night, it has nothing to do with experience it is the environment.

For someone breathing down your neck, this is actually real, even when there are 3 people on the line, people just like to press their bodies against each other, infact they've place a security guard in some ATM place just to manage the line, if they didn't do that I assume someone would be just right there as you try to do your private transactions..... come on Kenyans do we need a security guard to tell us when to give people their privacy?
#22 Posted : Monday, August 26, 2013 10:37:42 PM

Rollout wrote:
Honestly, I liked it, I find it funny...... can anyone write about Kenyans who just arrived at these Western countries and certainly after 1 yr. they don't want to speak in Swahili yet they can barely communicated in English?

What about Nairobi English, where is that accent from? Before I moved to USA I used to think the accent was American but I now know it is not, so where did that accent come from? It is not british either!

Hey, I am guilty about scared to eat in most Kenyan eating places, most of us haven't seen flies in decades! and yes it is uncomfortable when someone is breathing on your neck while lining up in banks and yes alot of Kenyans don't use deodorant and it is annoying when your friend smell so bad and you can't tell them.

about Nairobi english...the accent...well its from Nairobi! leafy green suburbs.
about being scared! you used to eat in those places! the difference between you and those bag packing odieros that eat in cheap places is that while its a new experience for them - wewe uilkuwa unafurahia mbaka unalamba vidole. anyway - utajuaje uko kenya kama hakuna 'flies' or 'people breathing down your neck'?

@Masukuma
I used to eat in those places but it if different now, not that I don't want to but if I do I won't sleep in the house that night, it has nothing to do with experience it is the environment.

For someone breathing down your neck, this is actually real, even when there are 3 people on the line, people just like to press their bodies against each other, infact they've place a security guard in some ATM place just to manage the line, if they didn't do that I assume someone would be just right there as you try to do your private transactions..... come on Kenyans do we need a security guard to tell us when to give people their privacy?
this is racist!!! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#23 Posted : Tuesday, August 27, 2013 5:42:20 AM

Iko majibu from a Kenyan dame fulani mdavida in the diaspora.

letter from Kenian in the diaspora - mwakasi Mcharo

Its getting interesting - heck this should be on its own thread!

P.s. Naomba muwe wapole the writer is a sista /yaani audrey/socketLaughing out loudly Pray Pray

for the record it is not me who said eti she went majuu courtesy of the old mzungu she caught in MtwapaSad Sad Sad

that is mberrow but what did she expect when she starts lecturing us about perfume and equating us to he-goats

does she know african taught wazungu about bathing? halafu eti we stink ! nugu ino
"πŸ˜–πŸ˜‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
#24 Posted : Tuesday, August 27, 2013 8:18:19 AM

Siringi wrote:
Iko majibu from a Kenyan dame fulani mdavida in the diaspora.

letter from Kenian in the diaspora - mwakasi Mcharo

Its getting interesting - heck this should be on its own thread!

P.s. Naomba muwe wapole the writer is a sista /yaani audrey/socketLaughing out loudly Pray Pray

for the record it is not me who said eti she went majuu courtesy of the old mzungu she caught in MtwapaSad Sad Sad

that is mberrow but what did she expect when she starts lecturing us about perfume and equating us to he-goats
does she know african taught wazungu about bathing?

Rough!!!!
Expecting a full online flame war ...Kenyans attacking other Kenyans,...or 'Kenyans' Laughing out loudly....should be interesting
Tokyo
#25 Posted : Tuesday, August 27, 2013 8:25:33 AM

Bashing of diaspora Kenyans by that "journalist " is empty , old and tired. Maybe low season in politics that politicians aren't dishing enough bribes to be quoted in his reporting. But shouldn't be taken seriously. He is representing top 1%. His choir group well reprinted locally
work to prosper
#26 Posted : Tuesday, August 27, 2013 8:52:55 AM

Tokyo wrote:
Bashing of diaspora Kenyans by that "journalist " is empty , old and tired. Maybe low season in politics that politicians aren't dishing enough bribes to be quoted in his reporting. But shouldn't be taken seriously. He is representing top 1%. His choir group well reprinted locally

That was just mare fact and truth @Nabwire....I see u
Nabwire
#27 Posted : Tuesday, August 27, 2013 8:56:18 AM

This is so petty, who is this Biko guy? I honestly read it and felt sorry for him. First of all not all Kenyans abroad are the same, there are those who go home and love every minute of it, and there are those who go back and hate every minute of it, then there are those who dont see any need to go home. So this guy trying to lump us all is just nonsensical. Secondly, who is he to tell us what we can and cant do? Ni kazi amekosa? I'm sorry, I will not start saying boot instead of trunk, or bonnet instead of hood and pronouncing "tomahto" instead of "tomayto" just to make this Biko guy comfortable. So he wants me to change the way I have been speaking for over 10 years, just so he can feel comfortable and appreciated? And he calls diasporans arrogant? Note to self,dont comment about anything, good or bad while in Kenya, NKT!!!
Museveni
#28 Posted : Tuesday, August 27, 2013 9:01:57 AM

wazuaguest wrote:
Rollout wrote:

for someone who started using deodorant at age 30 can claim here that tunanuka wewe ni kumbafu tu kaa huko na usiwahi Rudi otherwise utapta kufa juu ya hewa mbaya.

@Roll-on .... sorry ... @Rollout hapa hujaambiwa vizuri... Laughing out loudly
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
Tokyo
#29 Posted : Tuesday, August 27, 2013 9:12:04 AM

Tokyo wrote:

Which facts? That if you live in China don't try to learn Chinese ? Or while in Kenya concern and attention towards your security is like abomination just because you are a diaspora. aiiii Jameni!! This BikoZulu guy.
work to prosper
#30 Posted : Tuesday, August 27, 2013 9:14:46 AM

Tokyo wrote:

Which facts? That if you live in China don't try to learn Chinese ? Or while in Kenya concern and attention towards your security is like abomination just because you are a diaspora. aiiii Jameni!! This BikoZulu guy.

Fact that many are tired of all the whining
13 Pages<12345>»