Investor
Stocks
CFC Stanbic half year 2013 results PBT up 81.6%
@guru @young @dividend.hunters, keep off this growth counter. We (@deal, hisah, stocksmaster, mwanahisa, dunkang, cnn, mwekezaji, et al) are after capital gains which are surely coming #Buffet.Style
mwekez@ji wrote:@guru @young @dividend.hunters, keep off this growth counter. We (@deal, hisah, stocksmaster, mwanahisa, dunkang, cnn, mwekezaji, et al) are after capital gains which are surely coming #Buffet.Style This kind of thread is just what this counter needs.... The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Aguytrying wrote:mwekez@ji wrote:@guru @young @dividend.hunters, keep off this growth counter. We (@deal, hisah, stocksmaster, mwanahisa, dunkang, cnn, mwekezaji, et al) are after capital gains which are surely coming #Buffet.Style This kind of thread is just what this counter needs.... ......... ;-) ....... cheers
@cnn - I'm still not excited even with the rosy results as I had explained in the other thread. I need to see 75/- level taken and turned into support. For now, just a lot of huffing and puffing to nowhere just like equity and kcb... #toppishness... $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
hisah wrote:@cnn - I'm still not excited even with the rosy results as I had explained in the other thread. I need to see 75/- level taken and turned into support. For now, just a lot of huffing and puffing to nowhere just like equity and kcb... #toppishness... I don't know what TA is this... a quick scan of this chart shows that the stock has crossed a major resistance...which is bullish.
Doing big things in South Sudan....$100mn trade credit & Forex line with GoSS http://www.sudantribune.com/spip.php?article47884
the deal wrote:hisah wrote:@cnn - I'm still not excited even with the rosy results as I had explained in the other thread. I need to see 75/- level taken and turned into support. For now, just a lot of huffing and puffing to nowhere just like equity and kcb... #toppishness... I don't know what TA is this... a quick scan of this chart shows that the stock has crossed a major resistance...which is bullish. Sasa wewe @deal u are making TA look like rocket science. Just check the 5yr chart then see why I stated 75 zone is still a barrier. Until 100 is smashed bado hii counter iko na resistance bushes to clear...
@cnn - hope now you understand the huffing & puffing to nowhere last month that i also noticed on kcb and equity...
Btw I'm happy to see discounts coming back. Undervaluation is always welcome on quality counters
Now waiting for mpesa bank exdiv to see if it'll make the market sag further.$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah wrote:the deal wrote:hisah wrote:@cnn - I'm still not excited even with the rosy results as I had explained in the other thread. I need to see 75/- level taken and turned into support. For now, just a lot of huffing and puffing to nowhere just like equity and kcb... #toppishness... I don't know what TA is this... a quick scan of this chart shows that the stock has crossed a major resistance...which is bullish. Sasa wewe @deal u are making TA look like rocket science. Just check the 5yr chart then see why I stated 75 zone is still a barrier. Until 100 is smashed bado hii counter iko na resistance bushes to clear...
@cnn - hope now you understand the huffing & puffing to nowhere last month that i also noticed on kcb and equity...
Btw I'm happy to see discounts coming back. Undervaluation is always welcome on quality counters
Now waiting for mpesa bank exdiv to see if it'll make the market sag further. LOL its not rocket science...look at the state of the market...I didnt see you make a call if the market was gonna decline like this...the market has literally plunged over the last week...this counter has remained resillient...its even trading ex dividend...counters are tumbling because of profit taking...poor interim earnings...risk aversion...not because of them trading ex dividend....the likes of KCB went ex dividend long time ago....I talked of the taper & setting aside cash on the other thread..I knew this was gonna happen...it has nothing to do with the chart above....btwn use FT they have better charts...its even free.
clearly @hisah was correct. he predicted the movement downwards when the share looked like its taking off, a call difficult at those times and his is the only prediction here btw glad to see bargains too chief The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,124 Location: Nairobi
Aguytrying wrote:clearly @hisah was correct. he predicted the movement downwards when the share looked like its taking off, a call difficult at those times and his is the only prediction here btw
glad to see bargains too chief I am not a fan of CFC vs other banks which rely on more on EAC [especially Kenya] vs SS. I find SS a volatile market & unreliable i.e. too much gov't influence. And CFC Stanbic Bank is not listed but the Holding Company is which includes the insurance arms. At the end of the day, which is the best value? I am going with I&M as it drops in price. I expect better results out of Mauritius & Rwanda in 3Q. An acquisition or greenfield is in the works in Uganda but that is a crowded market. I like Equity but it faces some major challenges in 2013. After these are cleared up [or the price falls precipitously] is when I will look at Memba. As for Simba, the NPL does worry me despite their assurances. Who is the client who restructured the loan? Is the client really back on track? Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:Aguytrying wrote:clearly @hisah was correct. he predicted the movement downwards when the share looked like its taking off, a call difficult at those times and his is the only prediction here btw
glad to see bargains too chief I am not a fan of CFC vs other banks which rely on more on EAC [especially Kenya] vs SS. I find SS a volatile market & unreliable i.e. too much gov't influence. And CFC Stanbic Bank is not listed but the Holding Company is which includes the insurance arms. At the end of the day, which is the best value? I am going with I&M as it drops in price. I expect better results out of Mauritius & Rwanda in 3Q. An acquisition or greenfield is in the works in Uganda but that is a crowded market. I like Equity but it faces some major challenges in 2013. After these are cleared up [or the price falls precipitously] is when I will look at Memba. As for Simba, the NPL does worry me despite their assurances. Who is the client who restructured the loan? Is the client really back on track? @VVS naah stop misleading folks...the insurance biz was hived off from CFC Stanbic Holdings long time ago....it is what is known as Liberty Kenya today...CFC Stanbic Holdings the listed entity is now CFC Stanbic Bank Kenya & South Sudan plus SBG Securities...all 100% subsidiaries....lets talk of EAC? where is KCB & Member making money? South Sudan....South Sudan is a relatively young untaped market...CFC will do wonders there...the $100mn trade line to the GoSS is just the beginning...I&M is good but not as attractive as CFC at current prices....CFC aims at becoming a top 4 bank in Kenya...they will do it.
@the deal - Does the current CFC Stanbic have no insurance subsidiaries or shareholding in any insurers? BTW, their RTGS system collapsed on Monday last week. Clients were left stranded with many payments not being sent on time. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:@the deal - Does the current CFC Stanbic have no insurance subsidiaries or shareholding in any insurers?
BTW, their RTGS system collapsed on Monday last week. Clients were left stranded with many payments not being sent on time. No...its just the bank & the stockbroker...could have collapsed due too overload....the banking halls are starting to get overcrowded...alot of new clients...folks switching from other banks...hopefully its back online...customer service is great there unlike Barclays...
Rank: Veteran Joined: 3/26/2012 Posts: 985 Location: Dar es salaam,Tanzania
....btwn use FT they have better charts...its even free.[/quote] @Deal Many thanks!You've saved me the monthly 1000 bob on live.mystocks at least i can now be assesing live.mystocks once in a while for real time prices and splits βThe pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.β
the deal wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:@the deal - Does the current CFC Stanbic have no insurance subsidiaries or shareholding in any insurers?
BTW, their RTGS system collapsed on Monday last week. Clients were left stranded with many payments not being sent on time. No...its just the bank & the stockbroker...could have collapsed due too overload....the banking halls are starting to get overcrowded...alot of new clients...folks switching from other banks...hopefully its back online...customer service is great there unlike Barclays... What customer service? No-one. No-one. No-one called or e-mailed to inform clients that RTGS were delayed or cancelled. When folks on the other side [recipients] did not receive the funds & complained/informed the client is when the information was 'released' [this is on Tuesday] about the crash. For many businesses, a late payment attracts penalties, late fees, penalty interest IN ADDITION to embarrassment and loss of 'trust'. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@vvs. I think both cfc holdings and I and M will make me profits. one way or another, they are both undervalued compared with the other listed banks and they are growing their profits at a good clip. and not to forget the takeover undertones. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Not all is rosy in South Sudan http://www.africareview..../-/ewu3sez/-/index.html
This is a grab for forex by GOSS. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
@VVS this is old news...the bank is in compliance http://www.the-star.co.k...en-south-sudan-9-months[/quote] Thanks @deal! Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.β β Rashi
Investor
Stocks
CFC Stanbic half year 2013 results PBT up 81.6%