wazua Sun, Apr 12, 2026

6 Pages<12345>»
Corruption in Kenya.
#21 Posted : Thursday, July 11, 2013 5:33:16 PM

Having observed most of our processes and procedures, I have a feeling we sometimes set ourselves up for failure. Some of the processes are so cumbersome and inefficient one gets the feeling they're deliberately set that way to create opportunities for rent-seeking behavior. All those who've queued for hours on end at Times Towers hands up....thank you, you may put your hands down. And the story is replicated literally at all gov't offices that one has to seek some sort of service or another. Those who've had to seek the multiple licenses required to set up a business in Kenya will probably have similar tales of woe.

Na saa zingine pia we set up ourselves for failure. Like one of the guys who'd called in saying he was once caught by cops speeding (over 140) on the highway, was a little tipsy and to top it all off, didn't have his DL on him having left it at work. He eventually had to give 'something small' to the cops to let him go. Sasa mtu kama huyu anaweza sema Kenya kuna ufisadi kweli?
thuks
#22 Posted : Thursday, July 11, 2013 5:51:55 PM

thuks wrote:
Laptops for kids = corruption? Is that the reason why our position has "improved"? I can bet over 98% of us try to negotiate with police for ANY offense committed and unfortunately, they mostly succumb.

Some people eat heir cut before some projects are conceived!!! And hence no turning back!

Ok! Someone has to " eat" for each of the pledges! Finised!
I care!
#23 Posted : Thursday, July 11, 2013 6:50:03 PM

Drobos fly wrote:

Why should we force laptops down the throat of kids a d teachers? What is behind this aggressiveness...and many more meaningless projects...

That is the trouble with seeing things through a certain filter (lifestyle).
One can only identify with your problems if they have walked a mile in your shoes.

or on your bare feet Sad
#24 Posted : Thursday, July 11, 2013 6:53:54 PM

Keenly watching the hits.......probably we might blame wazungu for this the wazua way!!!!

Why should we force laptops down the throat of kids a d teachers? What is behind this aggressiveness...and many more meaningless projects...

You promise free Keniatta milk...buy out akina Molo milk, and be the sole distributor of the "free" milk in schools...gaarment lazima iandike cheque to supplier...
#25 Posted : Friday, July 12, 2013 6:52:04 AM

Keenly watching the hits.......probably we might blame wazungu for this the wazua way!!!!

You promise free Keniatta milk...buy out akina Molo milk, and be the sole distributor of the "free" milk in schools...gaarment lazima iandike cheque to supplier...

Kwanza isnt this conflict of interest...ama mtasema ni biashara tu kama kawaida...
kiash
#26 Posted : Friday, July 12, 2013 7:14:34 AM

Guess one of the best way to end corruption among traffic police is introducing merit by numbers. No fixed police controls but patrols and at the end of the day, you present to the station boss the number of people you have netted for the day and the fine they paid . At the end of the year the best offficer considered for promotion.
CLK
#27 Posted : Friday, July 12, 2013 7:33:28 AM

Kwanza isnt this conflict of interest...ama mtasema ni biashara tu kama kawaida...

Hapana, Uhuru ndio orezzo, Muhoho ndio supplier.....
majimaji
#28 Posted : Friday, July 12, 2013 8:52:34 AM

Corruption in Kenya is treated casually, it's treated like a victimless crime where only the giver and the receiver benefit and no one else is hurt.
The other day I was in Keroka and i saw 15 passengers (men and women) emerge from a probox matatu, my knee jerk reaction was to blame the police, then i realised it's part of our culture to flout rules.
D32
#29 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2016 8:39:56 PM

They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
#30 Posted : Tuesday, February 09, 2016 2:08:56 AM

kiash wrote:
Guess one of the best way to end corruption among traffic police is introducing merit by numbers. No fixed police controls but patrols and at the end of the day, you present to the station boss the number of people you have netted for the day and the fine they paid . At the end of the year the best offficer considered for promotion.

You have been mayuu far too long, come back!

a promotion will probably earn the guy KES10k a month, best case KES30k a month, now in the streets, if he nets 10 guys a day, and each cough a k, that's 10k a day. Those are basic offenses, on a 'good' day with extreme offenses, he can fetch 5k ~ 10k per netted guy. Do the math @kiash!!

6 Pages<12345>»