wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

6 Pages<12345>»
Keep Left Unless Overtaking
mkeiyd
#41 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 1:06:11 PM

seppuku wrote:

But I contest the idea that it leads to everybody's good. I don't see how. To the contrary, it causes problems. And by observation, I think most drivers agree.

It's not about the number of drivers who think or agree with you. It's wrong and stupid.

The inner most lane is for those doing maximum speeds or even higher. On a highway with 100kmh as the maximum, and one is doing 60kmh,sticking to the outer lane will be the more reasonable thing to do than having traffic overtaking you from both sides.
vky
#42 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 1:12:07 PM

all this talk is fine and dandy but the fact is that its a jungle out there on our roads
'One headache for famous medieval holy people was that someone might murder you to acquire your body parts for the relics trade'
urstill
#43 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 1:12:57 PM

seppuku wrote:
JkMwatha wrote:
seppuku wrote:
It's coz of the speeds involved. If you are on the inner lane and you are driving slowly, of course you'll make faster drivers keep maneuvering the lanes. The outer lane is for slow cars and those exiting, while the inner lane is for higher speeds. Again, the left side is your blind side, it's easier to see cars from your right side mirror.

Which IS a problem. If I am cruising at 110kph, why not just stick to the innermost (right-most) lane instead of weaving in and out of the left one? That feels like the less dangerous and more efficient strategy.

What if I am behind you cruising at 120kph?

You overtake me from the left.Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you I see no harm with that. We're all driving in the same direction.

Man must live!
urstill
#44 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 1:15:58 PM

CLK wrote:
JkMwatha wrote:
seppuku wrote:
It's coz of the speeds involved. If you are on the inner lane and you are driving slowly, of course you'll make faster drivers keep maneuvering the lanes. The outer lane is for slow cars and those exiting, while the inner lane is for higher speeds. Again, the left side is your blind side, it's easier to see cars from your right side mirror.

Which IS a problem. If I am cruising at 110kph, why not just stick to the innermost (right-most) lane instead of weaving in and out of the left one? That feels like the less dangerous and more efficient strategy.

You will be over-speeding.

I don't think there's something like that. Maybe in Kenyan roads!!
Man must live!
urstill
#45 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 1:17:42 PM

mukiha wrote:
Driving lesson number 2384: The maximum speed limit on Thika highway is 100km/h; not 110km/h. It was reduced after the expansion - only God knows why!

Driving lesson number 2169: There is nothing like a "fast lane" in the highway code. All vehicles must be driven on the left-most lane even if the road has 10 lane! The only exception is when you are overtaking.

Driving lesson number 1575: You should never overtake a vehicle from the left hand side.

Hope that clears things up.

The problem is that nowadays, there are no driving lessons to speak of and the driving test is one big sham!

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
Man must live!
#46 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 1:18:50 PM

seppuku wrote:
mukiha wrote:
Driving lesson number 2384: The maximum speed limit on Thika highway is 100km/h; not 110km/h. It was reduced after the expansion - only God knows why!

Driving lesson number 2169: There is nothing like a "fast lane" in the highway code. All vehicles must be driven on the left-most lane even if the road has 10 lane! The only exception is when you are overtaking.

Driving lesson number 1575: You should never overtake a vehicle from the left hand side.

Hope that clears things up.

The problem is that nowadays, there are no driving lessons to speak of and the driving test is one big sham!

Wewe mtu ya hesabu, which numbers are these you are quoting? Anyway, very well said. But my question is why? Why fanatically cling onto the left-most lane and keep weaving in and out of it to overtake slow-moving trailers? Why not just get onto a clearer lane closer to the center and floor it? What is wrong with overtaking from the left on a one way road? Is it because you can crash into someone else overtaking the same car from the other side? If this is why, I don't see how consistently overtaking from the right alleviates this risk. You could still crash into someone trying to retreat to the all-sacred left-most lane.

@seppuku first there are basic rules. After observing the basic, then you can apply others. For example, it's basic rule to overtake on the right. Which means most drivers look at the right mirror more often than the left mirror. By default, many drivers will assume others will overtake from the right.

So it does not mean you cannot overtake from the left on dual road. But the risk is higher than when you overtak from the right.

Hence the first highwayrule: keep left.

So, what happens when you are safely overtaking from the right and the other safe driver 2 lanes away to your right is busy careening back to the left-most lane? If anything, thinking that no one is going to be coming from that side is what is dangerous. You will be far less careful than the guy who accepts that "overtakers" can pop out even from the dividing wall.

that driver like you should be indicating before changing lanes....you will know what they want to do...that driver shall be in front of you and unless you are too close you should not hit them...the driver overtaking the trailer from its left cannot be seen by you...they can also not see you....then you both immediately change to the lane in front of the trailer after overtaking...etc
#47 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 1:25:01 PM

Theory Vs Pratical........unfortunately Kenyans have over time developed their own rules on the road......not very good ones!!!!
Rollins
#48 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 2:19:19 PM

seppuku wrote:
Ante_Christa wrote:
seppuku wrote:
I have noticed road signs saying "Keep Left Unless Overtaking" on the Thika Superhighway. They are posted on sections that have 3 lanes on either side. Is this the proper way to driver on a one-way road? I can't imagine what is to be gained by driving this way or what is to be lost by driving along whichever lane happens to be clear - with careful cross-lane maneuvering of course.

I have also heard it said that the outer lane is for slow vehicles and the inner one is for the ones driving faster. Ukweli iko wapi?

On the left, maybe you are exiting hence going slower.

Those signs had been there ever since it was still a dual carriage way

Well, there are long stretches of road with no exit in sight. In fact on the Superhighway it's pretty easy to slip out of the main road even at near-max-limit speeds.

As for the signs, I didn't realize they were always there. I didn't imply they weren't either, did I?

As a regular user of that road while back home, my observation is that very few drivers observe the rule. I find it very necessary especially when 3 slow trucks/vehicles are moving parallel to each other. It can very nearly cause an accident
Even a BrOKeN clock is right twice a day
#49 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 3:04:28 PM

seppuku wrote:
@Ante_Christa/@thuks, so you are saying that the slow guys should stick to the left-most lane and leave the other lanes for faster traffic? No?

YES YES YES....I sooooo hate those guys driving at 30kph and they are on the fast lanes. Others are those whose vehicles are faulty, complete with hazard on, and they are on the fast lane. Seriously, what kind of brains are those?
Ngogoyo
#50 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 4:27:36 PM

seppuku wrote:
@Ante_Christa/@thuks, so you are saying that the slow guys should stick to the left-most lane and leave the other lanes for faster traffic? No?

YES YES YES....I sooooo hate those guys driving at 30kph and they are on the fast lanes. Others are those whose vehicles are faulty, complete with hazard on, and they are on the fast lane. Seriously, what kind of brains are those?

boiled onesd'oh!
#51 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 4:47:27 PM

urstill wrote:
CLK wrote:
JkMwatha wrote:
seppuku wrote:

You will be over-speeding.

I don't think there's something like that. Maybe in Kenyan roads!!

Shame on you Speeding it is!!
#52 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 5:05:19 PM

How and where exactly did some people here learn driving? I hope they are not driving yet. Woooiiiiii andu aitu!!!
Sansa
#53 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 5:05:55 PM

If the slow guys stayed in the left lane and the guys in the middle drove at the required speed eg 100kph (or the speed of traffic), then there would be no need to keep weaving in and out from that middle lane to the right lane. This would also ease traffic as the slow movers aren't blocking everyone.

I think there should be laws about driving below a certain speed on the freeway and cops in cars ready to chase you down to enforce those laws ... but sadly this is kenya we are talking about.

seppuku
#54 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 7:44:59 PM

Some people here are zealously repeating what is already well known and acknowledged in the title of the thread - that the law says you should keep left unless you are overtaking. Others are making up their own rules about fast lanes and slow lanes. I am saying that I think this particular rule does more harm than good on a one-way road with multiple lanes. And by the way, does it have exceptions? When you are driving up to a roundabout to make a 270 degree turn for example, you want to be on the rightmost lane, right? But you are not overtaking. When you get onto the superhighway from Roysambu for instance, and there are 2 slow-moving trucks 700m apart on the left-most lane, are you going to get back between them when you overtake the first one or are you going to maintain your higher speed on the next lane for as long as it is clear? Who here drives like this? The fact that you think divergent opinion is stupid or wrong doesn't lend any credence to your own.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#55 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 8:06:39 PM

seppuku wrote:
Some people here are zealously repeating what is already well known and acknowledged in the title of the thread - that the law says you should keep left unless you are overtaking. Others are making up their own rules about fast lanes and slow lanes. I am saying that I think this particular rule does more harm than good on a one-way road with multiple lanes. And by the way, does it have exceptions? When you are driving up to a roundabout to make a 270 degree turn for example, you want to be on the rightmost lane, right? But you are not overtaking. When you get onto the superhighway from Roysambu for instance, and there are 2 slow-moving trucks 700m apart on the left-most lane, are you going to get back between them when you overtake the first one or are you going to maintain your higher speed on the next lane for as long as it is clear? Who here drives like this? The fact that you think divergent opinion is stupid or wrong doesn't lend any credence to your own.

d'oh! d'oh!
#56 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 8:25:30 PM

seppuku wrote:

You questioned how practicable this rule was...many thought it was lack of knowledge!!!!!
#57 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 9:12:08 PM

seppuku wrote:

Sijui niseme...

JkMwatha
#58 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 10:59:07 PM

In KE there aren't many cars on the roads hence some here, are not able to grasp the need for the rule. In eg UK, lane hogging caused by failure to observe the 'keep left unless overtaking' is a major unnecessary reason for traffic build up.

See links below

Keep left unless....

middle lane hoggers
http://bit.ly/1a7Cj0h
#59 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 11:32:37 PM

[quote=JkMwatha]In KE there aren't many cars on the roads hence some here, are not able to grasp the need for the rule. In eg UK, lane hogging caused by failure to observe the 'keep left unless overtaking' is a major unnecessary reason for traffic build up.

See links below

Keep left unless....

middle lane hoggers
http://bit.ly/1a7Cj0h[/quote]

Applause Applause Applause Applause I wonder why this is too hard to get for some people.

The slower drivers often blame the faster ones for this excessive lane changing and for overtaking on the inside. But the fault frequently lies with the slow guys being in the wrong lanes.

A complaint from the slower drivers is that they hate other drivers overtaking their car on the left. However, guys and gals, it’s simple to stop that from happening – keep left unless overtaking and it’s then impossible for anyone to overtake you on the left.
Thiong'o
#60 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 10:47:48 AM

The Kitengela/Athi- River round about needs marking or a neon sign for onward traffic heading the direction to Nairobi. There is a is a small bed (turn) just as you join the dual way and some drivers hardly notice this at night and just drive straight on rather than join the correct side of the dual.
Yesterday around 10.30Pm was heading to Athi River on the accelerating lane, and as we were in the middle of the round-about the colleague I was dropping told me to move to the other lane (the outer late) as he had noticed in the past vehicle heading to Nbi at night failing to join their side of the dual way. As I was changing the lanes a big truck was there -ahead of me cruising at a very high speed on the wrong side of the dual and flashing lights on me, luckily the other lane was clear for me to join. I imagined the consequences this will have on the trucks behind me that were actually using both lanes and bearing in mind there are barriers on both sides of the road/bridge and thus not possible to move out of the road to or give way.
I knew this was a disaster in making and on my way back (11pm) the truck actually overturned and crashed other cars but on the other side of the dual way, -I think the driver unsuccessfully tried to cross over to the correct side of the dual (the side heading to Nbi) but could not manage coz of the trench.
There is urgent need for a neon sign there to direct vehicles joining the dual way coz of that bed.