wazua Mon, Jan 6, 2025

36 Pages<12345>»
UNGA anyone?
Wa_ithaka
#41 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 8:48:25 AM

Back down to 12 with no higher demand. Full year results won't be out until September.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#42 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 10:10:58 AM

the deal wrote:
@ guru hehehe 78 bob...are u talkin of unga or something??? all the corruptness is in the maize...its ruto's friends first then unga number last...

"Last" is not a number... ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha !!!
#43 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 6:25:52 PM

Wa_ithaka, sina haraka. Actually ended in the green today, albeit 5 cents only.
Simba mwenda pole ndiye mla nyama.
#44 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 8:55:05 PM

guru267 wrote:
Kesh! wrote:
Can someone please enlighten me what unga and dollar have to do with each other. Kwani we r exporting unga ya chogoo abroad.lol!

@kesh unga does export abroad more so here in uganda and the rest of EA... the funny thing is that the kenya shilling weakening against the dollar is supposed to help exporters but in ugandas and EA's case due to currency pegs the strengthening of the dollar leads to the strengthening of the kenya shilling agaisnt these currencies...

this cant be good for unga tho i dont know bout the percenatge of their business that is abroad

The exports are nominal so not a huge factor though UGX has depreciated even more coz of silly pronouncements by museveni!

The bottomline is that Unga IMPORTS grains (maize + wheat) thus the effects of US$/KShs affects them...

Also, other costs e.g. fuel, spares, etc affected coz US$ based
#45 Posted : Sunday, May 23, 2010 4:15:52 PM

Took the plunge last Friday with a small lot at 12 bob. Let's see how this one goes.
#46 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 6:46:38 AM

Another problem is their old milling technology.....very old equipment requiring massive amounts of energy/fuel....that is their biggest undoing
#47 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 7:17:26 AM

@kingfisher; I don't agree.

They installed the latest automation technology in their milling plant a few years ago. In terms of technology, they rank at the same level as BAT, Unilever, Bamburi EABL etc. Indeed even their contract millers [Rafiki Millers on Mombasa Road, opposite GM] were compelled to automate their mill under the watchful eye of the Unga technical team.

Their mills are operated via touch-screens and they automatically detect the amount of grain inside and adjust the milling power in order to get optimum efficiency.

They have also installed energy-saving systems [so-called Power Factor Correction Banks] in their power circuits.

You should pay a visit to their commercial street plant.... or read about the automation here: http://www.iet.co.ke/docs/projects_a_d.htm
#48 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 7:19:51 AM

mukiha wrote:
@kingfisher; I don't agree.

They installed the latest automation technology in their milling plant a few years ago. In terms of technology, they rank at the same level as BAT, Unilever, Bamburi EABL etc. Indeed even their contract millers [Rafiki Millers on Mombasa Road, opposite GM] were compelled to automate their mill under the watchful eye of the Unga technical team.

Their mills are operated via touch-screens and they automatically detect the amount of grain inside and adjust the milling power in order to get optimum efficiency.

They have also installed energy-saving systems [so-called Power Factor Correction Banks] in their power circuits.

You should pay a visit to their commercial street plant....
Thanks for the info... I wish they did a tour like Sameer Tyres... [I dont like merali lakini he knows how to keep shareholders 'happy' on that one day at the AGM]

#49 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 7:23:16 AM

Read about their automation here: http://www.iet.co.ke/docs/projects_a_d.htm
#50 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 7:32:47 AM

[quote=mukiha]Read about their automation here: http://www.iet.co.ke/docs/projects_a_d.htm[/quote]asante... will read it later
#51 Posted : Monday, May 24, 2010 6:32:58 PM

mukiha wrote:
Took the plunge last Friday with a small lot at 12 bob. Let's see how this one goes.

@mukiha how liquid is this counter? What are the chances of getting my ka 1k order executed in full?
#52 Posted : Tuesday, May 25, 2010 2:40:08 AM

mukiha wrote:

@mukiha how liquid is this counter? What are the chances of getting my ka 1k order executed in full?
1,000 shares should not be a problem...
Wa_ithaka
#53 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 4:17:05 PM

Ugali is up. Mbudget was positive with reduction on some duties
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#54 Posted : Saturday, June 12, 2010 12:35:25 PM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
Ugali is up. Mbudget was positive with reduction on some duties

@Wa_ithaka that deal was done by one investor who probably felt like bidding up the price just like a couple of guys and I did with Jubilee... i think you need to see alot more trades before we can see this price rally being sustained
#55 Posted : Sunday, June 13, 2010 12:47:51 PM

guru, you mean its only one guy who scooped those 14,000 shares?
But why would he/she bid as far as 12.80/= when the preceding closing price was 11.95/=.
Wasn't that a bit high? 12.30 would have been "reasonable".
Ama anajua kitu hatujui? Hehe!
#56 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 7:13:37 AM

It will all revert to the 'correct' price...

When does Unga release results?
#57 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 5:51:47 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
guru, you mean its only one guy who scooped those 14,000 shares?
But why would he/she bid as far as 12.80/= when the preceding closing price was 11.95/=.
Wasn't that a bit high? 12.30 would have been "reasonable".
Ama anajua kitu hatujui? Hehe!

@youcant..... i think you've seen what i meant after todays price action... its down 6.25%

believe me when some investors believe a stock is worth four or five times its current value they are willing to bid as high as they want but its a risk
#58 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 6:04:48 PM

@VVS

Results out end August or early september
#59 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 6:21:37 PM

FundamentAli wrote:
@VVS

Results out end August or early september

Asante... I wish NSE firms wud have specific dates instead of this all over the place nonsense!

EABL, KQ, etc have specific dates that help us plan!
#60 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 6:32:28 PM

Am getting in... No way all wazua fundamentalists can be wrong. To exit when price equals the book value.