Investor
Stocks
National Bank - Rights Issue
Rank: Member Joined: 9/14/2011 Posts: 834 Location: nairobi
PKoli wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:PKoli wrote:vastcapital wrote:The last person who I personally knew to have an account with them vowed never to step into that bank,we discussed this I believe in the Market section,this is one bank with poor customer care something they should have sorted out way back... National Bank wins Global re-branding award! http://www.rebrand.com/d...-national-bank-of-kenya[/quote] Last time I saw a company seriously do marketing /rebranding was CIC. I think NBK has a bright future Coz it rebranded? There's more to re-branding. It has to change attitudes, customer service, innovation, etc ... not just logos and colors. Old wine in new bags does no good. @VVS Agreed, but NBK is doing more than rebranding from management changes at the top to service. I think they are on the right track. they are doing more i used to have an account about 2 years ago and you could hardly find ATMs -these days i see them coming up in many places. not sure whether that is entirely a good thing from a cost perspective but i feel their presence much more
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/4/2010 Posts: 1,668 Location: nairobi
i have an account with NBK. Recently a client sent money to my account through rtgs and it took me 2 days and losts of emails/phone calls/visits to the bank for the money to reflect in my account. For money transactions that are time sensitive, NBK can easily cause unnecessary delay. As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
heri wrote:PKoli wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:PKoli wrote:vastcapital wrote:The last person who I personally knew to have an account with them vowed never to step into that bank,we discussed this I believe in the Market section,this is one bank with poor customer care something they should have sorted out way back... National Bank wins Global re-branding award! http://www.rebrand.com/d...-national-bank-of-kenya[/quote] Last time I saw a company seriously do marketing /rebranding was CIC. I think NBK has a bright future Coz it rebranded? There's more to re-branding. It has to change attitudes, customer service, innovation, etc ... not just logos and colors. Old wine in new bags does no good. @VVS Agreed, but NBK is doing more than rebranding from management changes at the top to service. I think they are on the right track. they are doing more i used to have an account about 2 years ago and you could hardly find ATMs -these days i see them coming up in many places. not sure whether that is entirely a good thing from a cost perspective but i feel their presence much more I have also started to notice. They have a shiny new branch on Ngong road near Prestige. Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,551 Location: nairobi
sparkly wrote:heri wrote:PKoli wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:PKoli wrote:vastcapital wrote:The last person who I personally knew to have an account with them vowed never to step into that bank,we discussed this I believe in the Market section,this is one bank with poor customer care something they should have sorted out way back... National Bank wins Global re-branding award! http://www.rebrand.com/d...-national-bank-of-kenya[/quote] Last time I saw a company seriously do marketing /rebranding was CIC. I think NBK has a bright future Coz it rebranded? There's more to re-branding. It has to change attitudes, customer service, innovation, etc ... not just logos and colors. Old wine in new bags does no good. @VVS Agreed, but NBK is doing more than rebranding from management changes at the top to service. I think they are on the right track. they are doing more i used to have an account about 2 years ago and you could hardly find ATMs -these days i see them coming up in many places. not sure whether that is entirely a good thing from a cost perspective but i feel their presence much more I have also started to notice. They have a shiny new branch on Ngong road near Prestige. I wish them well, but brick and mortar is being replaced by agencies and mobile.. Who has used their mobile banking platform and what is it called??? Actually, do they even have one??? HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
The company has the brightest of prospects on the NSE.. Lakini with its shares hakuna kitu hapo as long as GOK can wake up morning and decide to convert those prefs!! Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: New-farer Joined: 10/10/2010 Posts: 51 Location: Nairobi
guru267 wrote:The company has the brightest of prospects on the NSE.. Lakini with its shares hakuna kitu hapo as long as GOK can wake up morning and decide to convert those prefs!!
The prefs are likely to be converted during the rights issue.
guru267 wrote:The company has the brightest of prospects on the NSE.. Lakini with its shares hakuna kitu hapo as long as GOK can wake up morning and decide to convert those prefs!!
obiero wrote:sparkly wrote:heri wrote:PKoli wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:PKoli wrote:vastcapital wrote:The last person who I personally knew to have an account with them vowed never to step into that bank,we discussed this I believe in the Market section,this is one bank with poor customer care something they should have sorted out way back... National Bank wins Global re-branding award! http://www.rebrand.com/d...-national-bank-of-kenya[/quote] Last time I saw a company seriously do marketing /rebranding was CIC. I think NBK has a bright future Coz it rebranded? There's more to re-branding. It has to change attitudes, customer service, innovation, etc ... not just logos and colors. Old wine in new bags does no good. @VVS Agreed, but NBK is doing more than rebranding from management changes at the top to service. I think they are on the right track. they are doing more i used to have an account about 2 years ago and you could hardly find ATMs -these days i see them coming up in many places. not sure whether that is entirely a good thing from a cost perspective but i feel their presence much more I have also started to notice. They have a shiny new branch on Ngong road near Prestige. I wish them well, but brick and mortar is being replaced by agencies and mobile.. Who has used their mobile banking platform and what is it called??? Actually, do they even have one??? They do have a mobile banking platform and also online banking they call nbkonline If you don't want to go to plan B have a good plan A.
obiero wrote:sparkly wrote:heri wrote:PKoli wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:PKoli wrote:vastcapital wrote:The last person who I personally knew to have an account with them vowed never to step into that bank,we discussed this I believe in the Market section,this is one bank with poor customer care something they should have sorted out way back... National Bank wins Global re-branding award! http://www.rebrand.com/d...-national-bank-of-kenya[/quote] Last time I saw a company seriously do marketing /rebranding was CIC. I think NBK has a bright future Coz it rebranded? There's more to re-branding. It has to change attitudes, customer service, innovation, etc ... not just logos and colors. Old wine in new bags does no good. @VVS Agreed, but NBK is doing more than rebranding from management changes at the top to service. I think they are on the right track. they are doing more i used to have an account about 2 years ago and you could hardly find ATMs -these days i see them coming up in many places. not sure whether that is entirely a good thing from a cost perspective but i feel their presence much more I have also started to notice. They have a shiny new branch on Ngong road near Prestige. I wish them well, but brick and mortar is being replaced by agencies and mobile.. Who has used their mobile banking platform and what is it called??? Actually, do they even have one??? They actually have a mobile banking platform and also online banking they call nbkonline though I've never used either If you don't want to go to plan B have a good plan A.
Rank: Member Joined: 8/30/2010 Posts: 183 Location: Migingo
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
My gut tells me that this Rights issue will be a flop. How many shareholders will contribute money to pay off the same gov that wasted the bank? If GOK and NSSF commit to the rights, then i will gladly buy post rights. Life is short. Live passionately.
sparkly wrote:My gut tells me that this Rights issue will be a flop. How many shareholders will contribute money to pay off the same gov that wasted the bank? If GOK and NSSF commit to the rights, then i will gladly buy post rights. If rights issue does succeed and the pref shares are wiped off the book, NBK will be a buy target.$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Rank: Member Joined: 2/13/2011 Posts: 284 Location: Nairobi
Team NBK mko wapi..th share has bin on an upward trend of late na bado results za H1. Leo iko 33.5
the EastAfrican wrote:Kenya’s Treasury has deleted from its revised budget estimates a provision for Ksh5 billion ($51 million) it would have made from selling its rights in National Bank of Kenya and Mumias Sugar Company, a move that could delay plans by the two firms to raise additional capital.
The government had initially opted not to take up additional shares in the bank and sugar miller, and factored the Ksh5 billion ($51 million) it would have made as a result of the decision into financing part of the budget deficit estimated at Ksh566.95 billion ($5.78 billion) in the 2015/2016 fiscal year. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
it could also mean they intend to take up the rights?
instinct wrote:it could also mean they intend to take up the rights? In fact this is what was reported in December.See story below http://www.businessdaily...4/-/5osxtiz/-/index.html
Investor
Stocks
National Bank - Rights Issue