SME
Ideas
Is there money to be made online stictly from Kenyan market?
I represent Moranhosting and would be willing to support any issue regarding hosting in this forum. Domain names: .coms 1k Webhosting from Kshs 999/- (Enough for a new website with not much traffic. An upgrade is available.) Support is free and there is 30 day money back guarantee.
http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Corporate-News/Visa-sets-sights-on-mass-market-in-growth-plan/-/539550/1701168/-/uxv5b7/-/index.htmlReport link. http://www.ict.go.ke/images/IDC%20Julisha.pdfThe payment side of it is slowly being developed.Next stop is deliveries and distribution networks.For me its not a matter of if,its a matter of when. Uncertainty is certain.Let go
I found this from Nakumatt CEO to be rather disturbing then hugely encouraging. http://www.cofek.co.ke/i...p;catid=1%3Alatest-news
It reminded me of the days when Barnes and Noble used to say that no one would buy books online. Now we have amazon. If the big companies aren't willing to change, therein lies an opportunity for investors and young people. If anyone is interested, join me and lets see if we can't do something about it. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
alma wrote:I found this from Nakumatt CEO to be rather disturbing then hugely encouraging. http://www.cofek.co.ke/i...p;catid=1%3Alatest-news
It reminded me of the days when Barnes and Noble used to say that no one would buy books online. Now we have amazon. If the big companies aren't willing to change, therein lies an opportunity for investors and young people. If anyone is interested, join me and lets see if we can't do something about it. I'm game. Uncertainty is certain.Let go
Great Chessmaster. It's really simple. I know someone who can source anything from the manufacturer out there. I have a semi-good seo team. We probably need 1. A financier - not interested in doing VC capital and not too much is needed as you iron out the kinks. 2. Someone who can source from manufacturers in Kenya 3. Someone very good in logistics 4. A strategic planner. Let's put our work where our mouth is. You can send to emasaa 80 at yahoo if you're game. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
alma wrote:Great Chessmaster.
It's really simple. I know someone who can source anything from the manufacturer out there. I have a semi-good seo team. We probably need
1. A financier - not interested in doing VC capital and not too much is needed as you iron out the kinks. 2. Someone who can source from manufacturers in Kenya 3. Someone very good in logistics 4. A strategic planner.
Let's put our work where our mouth is.
You can send to emasaa 80 at yahoo if you're game. J Uncertainty is certain.Let go
Wazuans,its about to pop.If you are interested start realigning yourself. Uncertainty is certain.Let go
Kickstarter - Crowd FundingAlthough concerns of a bubble might be raised,I think such a concept can propel businesses in Kenya. My thinking is this,if people fund companies that they want a product from,they get both the product and the dividends from the product.Committing as an investor because you know you will be a consumer. Uncertainty is certain.Let go
ChessMaster wrote:Wazuans,its about to pop.If you are interested start realigning yourself. Checklist so far: 1.Technology is in place. 2.Money transfer is continue to flourish. 3.Feature phones will be phased out by smartphones. 4.Infrastructure is expanding. 5.Government commitment. Next in line: 1.Consumer education. 2.Distribution. 3.Niches. Uncertainty is certain.Let go
Google testing the waters on same day deliveriesAre they trying to create a monopoly in e-commerce?You click an advert,use google wallet to pay and use their delivery services. Uncertainty is certain.Let go
Value addition offered by the web. Uncertainty is certain.Let go
ChessMaster wrote:
Checklist so far: 1.Technology is in place. 2.Money transfer is continue to flourish. 3.Feature phones will be phased out by smartphones. 4.Infrastructure is expanding. 5.Government commitment.
Next in line: 1.Consumer education. 2.Distribution. 3.Niches.
1. consumer education + brand awareness i.e where will people look when they want something 2. Distribution. where will verification of the good occur? at the Buyer or the seller? what are the Guarantees? 3. Niches: Geography - Nairobi is already heavily populated with consumer good purchase points. is there value in Extending geographical reach? product: must provide convenience unavailable everywhere else Add to that margins of every kind. profit, transaction fee. transport fees. agent fees. all these must be above a threshold for operational effectiveness.
falsafa wrote:ChessMaster wrote:
Checklist so far: 1.Technology is in place. 2.Money transfer is continue to flourish. 3.Feature phones will be phased out by smartphones. 4.Infrastructure is expanding. 5.Government commitment.
Next in line: 1.Consumer education. 2.Distribution. 3.Niches.
1. consumer education + brand awareness i.e where will people look when they want something 2. Distribution. where will verification of the good occur? at the Buyer or the seller? what are the Guarantees? 3. Niches: Geography - Nairobi is already heavily populated with consumer good purchase points. is there value in Extending geographical reach? product: must provide convenience unavailable everywhere else Add to that margins of every kind. profit, transaction fee. transport fees. agent fees. all these must be above a threshold for operational effectiveness. I was thinking in terms of creating awareness of how e/m-commerce works and what benefits one might derive from them.m-pesa managed to handle this well.Maybe you can explain what you meant by brand awareness in this scenario. Distribution is a major issue especially goods verification.C2C is one riddled with problems the biggest one being that of theft(either physical or financial).B2C can work if its backed up with insurance to protect buyers thus creating confidence in the consumer.Distribution is a huge challenge but the company that manages to establish a functioning system can monopolize distribution for e/m-commerce.Basically become a platform. I don't view purchase points and geographical reach as an issue.What I find to be important in an online venture is the value it offers consumers over other forms of businesses.Does it offer diversity,specialization,cost,speed,comparisons,recommendations...anything that can build on what technology has to offer otherwise it won't be utilizing its strengths.Margins will always be there and depending on the product/service one is offering I still believe it will be cheaper than a brick and mortar store but not at the expense of quality. But I agree with you,until those three reach a certain threshold some ventures will be hampered but others can still flourish.Welcome to Wazua.
symbols wrote:
I was thinking in terms of creating awareness of how e/m-commerce works and what benefits one might derive from them.m-pesa managed to handle this well.Maybe you can explain what you meant by brand awareness in this scenario.
...Welcome to Wazua.
One of the things people overlook with regards to how fast Mpesa grew is the customer care safaricom got when it adopted a franchise system. In the rural areas people took great comfort that they could approach an agent (a neighbor they were familiar with) and inquire about how the system works. sometimes this assistance continued well over the course of days and weeks. It helped the system gain trust, traction and legitimacy very fast. e-commerce cannot grow that fast. its scope is limited. the only thing that can come close to it is the legitimacy accrued from consumers being aware of your brand and willing to trust it. which is why if you hear a piece of juicy news from someone you know you treat it with doubt until you can confirm from formal channels (news). My mum asked me about olx and i told her it was a website where they sold things. she asked me "whose things do they sell?" The important thing is ownership. when you buy things from tuskys those things belong to tuskys even though they were manufactured by other organisations. when conducting e-commerce, ownership can be a frustrating target that is often characterized by fear. That is where brands come in. they offer a guarantee to consumers that the only person they have to deal with is this organisation. It precedes all else and permeates every transaction conducted. Thank you for the welcome note, am glad to be here
I agree,that system worked for Mpesa.I've been thinking it can possiblly be used to implement a distribution system on the same principle using kiosks and other retail outlets.
When it comes to digital goods and services I don't believe trust will be a big problem.Digital goods will suffer though unless something is done considering how Kenyans share but there are models already being worked on to curb that.Mainly the 'Access not ownership' theme.
Trust is a major problem with physical goods.Although using brand names sounds ideal it brings in new complications though it has its benefits.My thoughts on how that would work would be on social capital which needs time to be developed.It works on recommendations and reviews thus users know what they are getting into and companies are punished for inefficiency and incompetence.
Mass media,has lost its ground especially to digizens.Although it can reach a wider audience,people want to see comments,likes,reviews and such....especially from friends.It's a system which can't be manipulated in the long run because of the massive numbers.
Telecom's can't handle this shift.Its banks and insurance companies who will propel it.They can reap massive profits from it.
Btw on the issue of distribution, there are thousands of post offices with Intelsat dishes and ample space all over the country. it would be much easier for them to leverage this to become the distribution backbone of the nation. instead they choose to start a bank?? Streamline all operations, invest in logistics software , expand County HQ's to handle packaging and distribution and set up post offices as collection points and boom deliveries within 2 days everywhere in kenya I agree with you on almost all the issues but i would like you to note that in-order for e-commerce to be effective it must compete with traditional models on market share. ie significant amounts of trade must happen online and significant organisations and people must do business online. we cannot for example have one very well performing good (e.g music) or one demographic (college students) or one organisation (e.g olx). while all this can be a starting point IT MUST demonstrate the ability to grow beyond that. symbols wrote:It works on recommendations and reviews thus users know what they are getting into and companies are punished for inefficiency and incompetence.
Mass media,has lost its ground especially to digizens.Although it can reach a wider audience,people want to see comments,likes,reviews and such....especially from friends.It's a system which can't be manipulated in the long run because of the massive numbers.
That part about interactions is very very important.Whoever wins in this e-commerce game makes amazon money.
falsafa wrote: Whoever wins in this e-commerce game makes amazon money.
And then we consider the potential to transfer it regionally like M-pesa did.I hope the locals can do it before foreigners because we already understand the resources and issues before us. Brilliant idea about the post offices.Practical solution that already understands the terrain and doesn't need as much investment as it does reorganization. Let's talk about the market share and get closer to understanding it better.This is how I see it,an overwhelming majority of Kenya is youth.They interact with electronics all the time and will expect other areas of their lives to incorporate this nature. They can become both the referees,fans and the players.It will feed back on itself like a cycle.They can be employees.They can be the investors through crowdfunding.They can be the customers,developers and marketers through crowdsourcing. It has already changed social life.It continues to infiltrate the education system.From trends in developed nations,it has started to challenge traditional models for work.Eventually business will have to adapt itself(to some extent) to the needs and expectations of this demographic.
ChessMaster wrote:ChessMaster wrote:Wazuans,its about to pop.If you are interested start realigning yourself. Checklist so far: 1.Technology is in place. 2.Money transfer is continue to flourish. 3.Feature phones will be phased out by smartphones. 4.Infrastructure is expanding. 5.Government commitment. Next in line: 1.Consumer education. 2.Distribution. 3.Niches. Hello Chessmaster, I agree with this 110% Internet businesses are based on network externalities. and as you rightly pointed out, its all slowly taking shape. Dum vivimus, vivamus.
new wrote:ChessMaster wrote:ChessMaster wrote:Wazuans,its about to pop.If you are interested start realigning yourself. Checklist so far: 1.Technology is in place. 2.Money transfer is continue to flourish. 3.Feature phones will be phased out by smartphones. 4.Infrastructure is expanding. 5.Government commitment. Next in line: 1.Consumer education. 2.Distribution. 3.Niches. Hello Chessmaster, I agree with this 110% Internet businesses are based on network externalities. and as you rightly pointed out, its all slowly taking shape. Thank you new.Changed identity.Sorry for the confusion.Nice that you brought up the network effect.The indicators that I like using for that are social media and group buying sites. This one is a matter of when not if.
SME
Ideas
Is there money to be made online stictly from Kenyan market?