8 Pages<12345>»
Meet M-Shwari from Safaricom!!!!
rock
#41 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 1:54:50 PM

vky wrote:
Your M-Shwari account has been created successfully.....mi ni member already!!!

how do you sign up for the account

...just update you Mpesa menu and M-shwari will appear click on it and activate

Mi pia ni member pap!
#42 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 1:57:19 PM

Just because a big shot is at the launch doesn't mean a product is kosher.

Anyone remember the fanfair with Nation Hela?

This is a dangerous product even if you sugar coat it. You are saying that someone can borrow 7% pm...that's shylocking at its best.

On the other hand, you say it belongs to Safaricom...No it belongs to CBA....No it is only virtual money....Oh No...It is unregulated borrowing....You can have a press release if you wish but that's just what it is.

Mpesa must be regualated. Just because the CBK shared the bedroom with the Mpesa behomoth doesn't make it fair business practise.

In short, CBK has decided to support one lender in the country who is skimming money off uneducated folks who will be borrowing at rates previously unheard of. The story given as to who it supports simply means that the business people at Marikiti will be borrowing at a rate of 7% a day. Someone care to do the math?

They are also going to use my money that I have on Mpesa to give out loans to people who may otherwise not qualify for prudent loans. If equity has a bad loan book, anyone want to guess how long it will take for the 5k mama mbogas to start defaulting?

Hii Mpesa, will go Nation Hela way. Na mtalia.
#43 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 2:46:45 PM

@alma, as you kept shouting about MPesa, M-Shwari was luanched, mimi iko ndani kabisa!!!
#44 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 2:52:31 PM

@McReggae hakuna shida. You are under the new constitution. You can think and do as you wish.

I've said what I think about Mpesa.

Now can you please explain what you think rather than what you read in a press release that was paid for? Ama mnadhania we don't know how much money is being spent to sell this product.

Tell me if I'm wrong that tomorrow morning every radio station will be talking about it.

You journalists will be the end of this country. Regurgitating information for a paycheck.
bird_man
#45 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 2:58:03 PM

@Alma...what exactly is the problem with mshwari in your view?
As for the rates...its ok especially for business people who can make more from that advance than the rate.A case of "Chege wa Marikiti" has been given here.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
marshalliah
#46 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 2:59:58 PM

This product looks very similar to Mkesho. It will be an interesting case study noting that Mkesho as millions of Equity customers gave it a wide berth. Its just different a monkey this time but should sort out the failures of Mkesho. For instance, if you deposited 10,000 to Mkesho, you had to withdraw it twice before accessing the money, i.e. First withdraw from Mkesho to Mpesa was charged e.g 150, then withdraw again from an agent and charged again e.g. 150. To benefit from that interest on deposits, you had to get interest above these charges.

What is different now with Mshwari???

On borrowing, 7% per month is only music to those who can make much more profit like those 'marigiti' vendors.
#47 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 3:12:49 PM

I don't mind much about the interest rate since we are used to 10p.c of okoa jahazi after 3 days and airtel's kopa chapaa (with faulu) at 8.5p.c for 14 days.

What worries me most is defaulting on the entire economy, yet okoa jahazi already had hundreds of millions worth defaultees.
I have a handful of safcom shares and this worries me.

The process of getting the loan is too easy.

#48 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 3:13:12 PM

Can someone please explain how the governor of the central bank can be seen hobknobbing around with a product that is a case study in shylocking? Is that the current gov't policy? To lend funds at 7% per few hours for those who can't afford it?

Say what you will. Buy the media on every radio station on Wednesday. It doesn't change the fact that if Mpesa is lending out money, it should be under the Banking Act.

Unless the CBK is stating that shylocking is now a legitimate business, why would banks now follow KYB principles when its biggest competitor has none of those rules to follow?

#49 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 3:23:47 PM

Welcome to M-Shylock!!!!
bird_man
#50 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 3:27:06 PM

@Alma....I think the governer is allowed to attend whatever launch he wants to.The rates are ok for SOME people.Same way some people say mortgages are expensive while others go for them.It may be expensive to you but Mr.Chege will have made his 925sh that day.

Also note that all lending is not under Banking Act.Examples include Saccos,Non deposit taking MFIs etc.

Sema shida ingine.Infact my only worry is what they will do to prevent defaults.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#51 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 3:27:50 PM

@McReggae hakuna shida. You are under the new constitution. You can think and do as you wish.

I've said what I think about Mpesa.

Now can you please explain what you think rather than what you read in a press release that was paid for? Ama mnadhania we don't know how much money is being spent to sell this product.

Tell me if I'm wrong that tomorrow morning every radio station will be talking about it.

You journalists will be the end of this country. Regurgitating information for a paycheck.

Huh, I have now become a journo????....maybe in my next life!!!

The biggest difference with this and Mkesho is that you don't need to visit a bank to access your M-Shwari account!!!......the choice is for the user!!!!

.....most people talk about inability to pay 7% and they don't know what goes around in the informal settelements....the shylock rate is 10% per week or a minimum 25% per month for monthly rates!!!!
#52 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 3:38:46 PM

Sorry Reggae man, it should have been PSEUDO JOURNALISTS.

Of course I can go around peeing at my neighbours front lawn and everyone accepts that as just fine. It doesn't mean that it is fine.

Any rate above what is a reasonable rate of return is shylocking. Whether the guys in River Road charge 10% or 40% is beside the point.

In fact, we are now creating a shylocking monopoly. Sad

I have no doubt that someone will be able to pay it back. That is not the point.

The point is, what role is the gov't taking in encouraging shylocking as a legitimate business?

How long will it for banks to change their model and just start giving out loans willy nilly? After all, if Mpesa has the blessings of CBk, why can't they?

It's not about Mpesa. Its about the CBK bending its own rules and regulations to please one entity.

All you reading this, know deep down, there is something fundamentally wrong about this. It doesn't matter if Mpesa makes money off it or not. A can of worms is being opened as we watch.
#53 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 3:41:02 PM

Hii yote ya @alma ni chuki, fitina au kelele. The main issue is DEFAULTING. The impact of defaulting can bring safcom, cba, cck, kra and cbk down and needs to be addressed.

@alma, this product is not new. AIRTEL kenya and faulu banj has been having this same product since May 2012. Its called Kopa chapaa and the interest is at 8.5pc for 14 days. The loan ranges between 1k to 10k. So wacha fitina.

#54 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 3:43:08 PM

@alma, somewhere in the globe some banks charge as low as 4% as interest, ours were charging upto 29% at some point this year....were they shylocking then....this is a matter of choice and for me the convenience beats everything else!!!
#55 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 3:48:50 PM

the deal wrote:
This thing could be big or fry Safcom and the economy in general...

1. Lack of adequate credit appraisal and loan mechanisms since theyre not part of the banking system exposes Safcom to defaults and fraud
2. Interest expenses-5% pa is alot...what if people pack billions in their M-Swari accounts and don't borrow as much...Safcom will be forced to part away with a fortune in the form of interest expenses ala NBK Q3 2012 earnings
3. Liquidity-M-Shwari has the potential of tightening liquidity in the markets since Safcom is not part of the interbank market which could result in high interest rates i.e banks would not have access to the billions saved on the M-Shwari accounts, the likes of Equity Bank could be hardest hit since they rely on this deposits at the bottom of the pyramid for their onward lending...but in the meantime the likes of Faulu...Smep are on the verge of extinction...

Has Safcom gone too far?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

..@The deal for once allow me to disagree with you 5% interest expense per annum is peanuts,any fund manager or treasury manager professional worth their salt will tell you through proper and efficient cash sweeping and management they can be able to return way more than that in terms of revenue...If they are able to mitigate on the risk of default which is the biggest problem this thing is definitely the next big thing having in mind the spread(if they lower it banks are out of business) involved.The CBK governor should address the need for an investor compensation scheme if this thing goes bust.
Caveman
#56 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 3:50:14 PM

Hii yote ya @alma ni chuki, fitina au kelele. The main issue is DEFAULTING. The impact of defaulting can bring safcom, cba, cck, kra and cbk down and needs to be addressed.

For those who already have M-Shwari account, dial *197*6# and check how much you can borrow. May be then we can ask ourselves how this figure is calculated and whether one can easily default.
#57 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 3:51:13 PM

@alma, somewhere in the globe some banks charge as low as 4% as interest, ours were charging upto 29% at some point this year....were they shylocking then....this is a matter of choice and for me the convenience beats everything else!!!

.true our banks lack a sense of morality plus the process you have to go through before you get that loan isnt easy.
#58 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 3:51:36 PM

intr.v. shy·locked, shy·lock·ing, shy·locks
To lend money at exorbitant interest rates.

It doesn't matter the amount, rate or the ability to pay, or whether others are more expensive.

To lend money at exorbitant interest rates.

Dunkang...10000 kenyans borrow 10000 bob just before the election. Haki yetu go on the street. You will come back here screaming bloody murder.

Of course I may be wrong. After all, I'm no economist and don't have a degree. I really doubt that though.

This is a product that can bring the whole country to its knees if there is even a semblance of disorder. It must be regulated.
#59 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 3:56:26 PM

Bob's speech during the launch
#60 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2012 3:58:00 PM

Regulation can sometimes be a hindrance to innovation!!!...Safcom and CBA have had a team working on this for the last 12months!!!