Talk2Us
What are you most grateful about Wazua
tycho wrote:essyk wrote:tycho wrote:For helping me understand my self and my mind. for me its the other way, It's helped me understand minds,perceptions and our society at large. The blue section has helped me buy some.Probs is, I buy and forget that I did. Look at society now; how are you feeling? It is very judgmental. It judges people by their financial worth,positions and looks.It defines us not the other way round. For one to belong to a particular society, they must posess the standards set by it no matter how shallow or unrealistic. When this happens, people with real talents but lacking in all the physicals, are left behind in matters of progress, because people tend to network within their circles. That is why there can never be equality. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
essyk wrote:tycho wrote:essyk wrote:tycho wrote:For helping me understand my self and my mind. for me its the other way, It's helped me understand minds,perceptions and our society at large. The blue section has helped me buy some.Probs is, I buy and forget that I did. Look at society now; how are you feeling? It is very judgmental. It judges people by their financial worth,positions and looks.It defines us not the other way round. For one to belong to a particular society, they must posess the standards set by it no matter how shallow or unrealistic. When this happens, people with real talents but lacking in all the physicals, are left behind in matters of progress, because people tend to network within their circles. That is why there can never be equality. I have been trying to look at society too. And I recall that not so long ago I envisioned society as a monster. And then I discovered to my horror, that the monster was in my head. . .
....its here i got the urge(and finally did it) to jump from 200 Ft up with my ankles tied up to some rope, @ Leona Never forgotten @Guka's moans!!
I have been trying to look at society too. And I recall that not so long ago I envisioned society as a monster.
And then I discovered to my horror, that the monster was in my head. . .
I like that.Very true indeed. I think one must be able to rise above the society's expectations and create their own standard,after all, we are the society. Just be useful where you are and live a legacy. Is my motto. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
@essyk, I am now looking at the idea of rising above 'society's standards'.
The other day I took a meet the people tour, and in particular I went to places I used to enjoy visiting - clubs mostly.
And I tried to grasp to what people were saying and doing . . . My conclusion was that many people were being propelled into action by a seemingly inexplicable force to use sex and money to find meaning.
Then it later occurred to me that force was the urge to stay ahead, and maybe 'rise above'?
And as to every action there's an opposite and equal reaction society seems to pull you back. . .
Hehe nice, Do it, but be prepared for the outcome. Here is what,many who did, left marks in the world yet they never 'belonged'. That is what standing out means.Being different,not agreeing with everybody or frequenting places where everybody else frequents. It helps one get rid of a crowd mentality,think individually and live a stress free life. 'It also takes a strong willed individual to be able to do that since you may lose a crowd. Quest I always ask myself before I set out to do anything is,Does it ADD any value to my life so that I can become a better person or does it only make me approved by the crowd? Rising above means learning to say No when your body,time,pocket and crowd shouts Yes. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
I once saw a T-shirt written 'No! No! no! . . . then 'Maybe!' Then 'Why not!'
I've been through this path lots of times!
And when the 'No!' is still strong the mind is so divided. Your entire life becomes a pathological case. Action loses authenticity.
Is there a way the mind and body can be at harmony?
you know tycho whenever I read your posts one person comes to mind.>Hamburglar. You analyse a lot which is not bad. But using that example.Found myself deliberately in places I swore I could never set foot in courtesy of friends and that is where the battle of the mind comes in. Prob with me is, I always think about 'the after and never now. Questions like what happens after this,will I regret,how will I be like tomorrow, Will I be sober,will my dignity be intact and all that? Now that destroys the craze, cz if it's unpredictable,the interest goes. I fear losing myself more than anything else. But look here,as a man thinketh so is he. The commander/control is your mind not body. The body only follows instructions even though it wants to do stuff against your will. I think they can be in harmony if the mind is strong. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Wazua rocks!!!-for many reasons! For example,I get updates on what's happening back home hapa hapa tuu.....even if ni uvumi saa zingine hehehhe
essyk wrote:you know tycho whenever I read your posts one person comes to mind.>Hamburglar. You analyse a lot which is not bad.
But using that example.Found myself deliberately in places I swore I could never set foot in courtesy of friends and that is where the battle of the mind comes in. Prob with me is, I always think about 'the after and never now. Questions like what happens after this,will I regret,how will I be like tomorrow, Will I be sober,will my dignity be intact and all that? Now that destroys the craze, cz if it's unpredictable,the interest goes. I fear losing myself more than anything else. But look here,as a man thinketh so is he. The commander/control is your mind not body. The body only follows instructions even though it wants to do stuff against your will. I think they can be in harmony if the mind is strong.
essyk wrote:you know tycho whenever I read your posts one person comes to mind.>Hamburglar. You analyse a lot which is not bad.
But using that example.Found myself deliberately in places I swore I could never set foot in courtesy of friends and that is where the battle of the mind comes in. Prob with me is, I always think about 'the after and never now. Questions like what happens after this,will I regret,how will I be like tomorrow, Will I be sober,will my dignity be intact and all that? Now that destroys the craze, cz if it's unpredictable,the interest goes. I fear losing myself more than anything else. But look here,as a man thinketh so is he. The commander/control is your mind not body. The body only follows instructions even though it wants to do stuff against your will. I think they can be in harmony if the mind is strong. essyk, I'd say I am more playful than analytical, though my posts may show other wise. Anyway, I hope I am bearable enough to make you heal me more with your thoughts. So, can one who is afraid to lose himself love? How predictable is the future when you are depending on another person? Is anything predictable at all? Or is predictability a reversion to the 'monster' called society?
tycho wrote: essyk, I'd say I am more playful than analytical, though my posts may show other wise. Anyway, I hope I am bearable enough to make you heal me more with your thoughts.
So, can one who is afraid to lose himself love? How predictable is the future when you are depending on another person?
Is anything predictable at all? Or is predictability a reversion to the 'monster' called society?
una maswali mengi kwani wewe ni polisi? But yes one can choose to love. Losing oneself means losing one's mind and that means being in a position where one is forced to make decisions based on the prevailing circumstances,which are in many cases temporal. It's pressure based, not guided by one's principles. Is the future predictable? no but there can be tell tell signs of what to expect.or?? The society is not a monster.We are the society. Our actions make up the standards, which we end up gauging ourselves against. So what we see is our own reflection and creation. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
essyk, Pressure based choice is no choice or is it? And even worse is the fact that the choice is time bound and or worldly('temporal').
Isn't it interesting to note that while you say losing yourself is losing your mind; the Gospel says that you gain yourself in losing yourself?
yes it is.It just has disastrous consequences. gain urself in losing urself? well I can't seem rem the that scripture, but if memory serves me right, I would take it to mean that one must decrease in order for God to increase in their lives. And when that happens, the individual finds his purpose on earth. It doesn't mean getting confused/lost and learning through it. but hey am no pastor lol just me. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
essyk wrote:yes it is.It just has disastrous consequences.
gain urself in losing urself? well I can't seem rem the that scripture, but if memory serves me right, I would take it to mean that one must decrease in order for God to increase in their lives. And when that happens, the individual finds his purpose on earth. It doesn't mean getting confused/lost and learning through it. but hey am no pastor lol just me.
'Love is a forced choice that has disastrous consequences'. You are saying. And, 'When we diminish and allow God consciousness to increase, our minds become clear- our purpose'. Wouldn't you say that love is the purpose? '. . . and these three remain; faith, love and hope, and the greatest is. . .' Are you seeing a contradiction somewhere?
'Love is a forced choice that has disastrous consequences'. You are saying. No I didn't say that.We often find ourselves under pressure and are forced to make quick decisions with disastrous effects. At the time of doing that, we lose ourselves. Love is a choice and a diff.subject all together. Why are we discussing it?
And, 'When we diminish and allow God consciousness to increase, our minds become clear- our purpose'. Wouldn't you say that love is the purpose? '. . . and these three remain; faith, love and hope, and the greatest is. . .' Are you seeing a contradiction somewhere? No, love is not a purpose.It is the root cause of a purpose.It's imo the fuel that brings a purpose to it's full realisation. Once you have a purpose ask yourself what drives it.Is it Love,hate ,revenge,guilt,what?.
I have understood you. I am most grateful for your time and thought.
tycho wrote:I have understood you. I am most grateful for your time and thought. thanks "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
That dialogue made my morning Uncertainty is certain.Let go
Considering the diverse characters here,I've bettered my people skills,learnt to share more and what gets clicks. Uncertainty is certain.Let go
Talk2Us
What are you most grateful about Wazua