7 Pages<12345>»
Safaricom encouraging MPesa fraud
sitaki.kujulikana
#41 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 5:42:18 PM

the technology for the poor man, if you mess you are on your own
#42 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 6:46:56 PM

This insensitivity to customers will soon come to haunt safcom.

Wasn't it just the other day, Valentine's that the set a message to millions of subscribers? Did the CEO say it was a mistake and apologised. If they can do such a mistake how about an elderly woman, a man in distress, etc.

But @mawinder case is a Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
For Sport
#43 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 7:23:54 PM

Would we be giving the same answers if we were talking about money erroneously deposited into a bank account?
mnandii
#44 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 7:58:04 PM

premio wrote:
Every 1 missing the point here and some of us will learn the hard way. If i send 45k to someone and the guys withdrawals all of it i have no problem with safaricom. My problem is if the money is still in the recepient account what THE HELL OF A RULE do i have to follow that they cant reverse since part of it was utilised thats sheer stupidity and i think cbk should look at the safety of all money transfers mobile or western union. Money sent to utility companies and paybill numbers is never reversible ands thats ok. Child kidnappers are using mpesa because of these simple stupid rules that if ransom money is sent to otieno then otieno transfers to kamau then they cant touch kamaus account . What some people forget is that Mpesa is a way of life nowadays and it has made it very easy to do bussiness, its creating employment to thousands but.We pay for spares via mpesa, uchumi via mpesa,schools fees /kplc deposit cash to banks via mpesa so the chance of one making a mistake is there and safaricom must eliminate those stupid rule that if whole amount is not intact no reversal

For accounting purposes!
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
#45 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 8:14:46 PM

Kwani,you cannot account if part of the money is refunded or are you making a mockery of the accountin.g profession?
mozenrat
#46 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 8:18:02 PM

premio wrote:
Every 1 missing the point here and some of us will learn the hard way.

No no no no.. we get the point, a corrupt crook tried to get a job using dishonest means and was conned and now he expects to get sympathy here.. Akwende!!
mnandii
#47 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 8:20:46 PM

Kwani,you cannot account if part of the money is refunded or are you making a mockery of the accountin.g profession?

The idea was to reverse the transaction. How can u reverse a transaction when the amounts involved are different?

This is painful but jst like @McReggae says write down the numbers, check and recheck before sending.
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
#48 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 8:47:31 PM

premio wrote:
Every 1 missing the point here and some of us will learn the hard way.

Suppose someone buys your goods, pays by mpesa, walks away for some meters then calls Safaricom to cancel the transaction. Won't you have lost the goods?
Just picture yourself been Safcom. The only way is for the users to be very keen when transacting. So next time you are paid by MPESA, re-transfer a portion of the money immediately so as the buyer doesn't cancel the transaction

#49 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 9:59:52 PM

I usually buy credit for my modem using my phone.
So one day I missed a digit and bought sh1000 credit for a stranger!!.I had the green sim.
Sijawahi umwa hivyo.
On calling that number it was mteja.A week later it still was!
Safcom customer care told me that it would have been reversible if it was an mpesa to mpesa transaction,but buying credit is ur trouble.
A colleague sent his rent to a strange number!!
Safaricom assured him that they would track the number and refund my colleague when the 'thief' reloads!
But I wonder how that is possible cz all I need to do it acquire a new line.

Some people are also heartless.Just return the money!!
premio
#50 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 10:24:52 PM

[quote=premio] Every 1 missing the point here and some of us will learn the hard way.

Suppose someone buys your goods, pays by mpesa, walks away for some meters then calls Safaricom to cancel the transaction. Won't you have lost the goods?
Just picture yourself been Safcom. The only way is for the users to be very keen when transacting. So next time you are paid by MPESA, re-transfer a portion of the money immediately so as the buyer doesn't cancel the transaction[

No No reversing does not mean that they immediately give the money to the sender if u ever done a reversal takes btn 72-120hrs to fully be complete a time that allows safaricom to enable them get both side of the story. If its pure fraud abvious the recipient will not even call safaricom but incase of a trade dispute or safaricom cancels the reversals and encourage u to seek redress from the courts or police which is okay but with fraud they should reverse regardless.
seeker*
#51 Posted : Friday, October 12, 2012 10:49:22 PM

Why didn't your friend just send the wrong number 50shs to make the amount complete again? 44950+50=45000 problem solved.
Don't fight a battle if you gain nothing by winning.” Erwin Rommel
When I was a child, I spoke like a child, thought like a child, and reasoned like a child. When I became an adult, I no longer used childish ways.
#52 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 6:35:34 AM

Mozenrat,some of these jobs are got through lobbying.The Pm does it,the president does it and a host of guyz.Mark you it was double my salo.i dont expect any sympathy and was just sharing with wazuans my experience.
theking
#53 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 10:21:20 AM

one can only pick a contact from phonebook if it's saved in the SIM card n not in the phone. in case u din't know now u know
#54 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 10:50:20 AM

mawinder wachana!
those are tales by the moonlight kama zangu.
#55 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 11:41:42 AM

Essyk,imagine the pain of loosing 100k.needless to say i didn't get the job.
#56 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 1:12:51 PM

Mozenrat,some of these jobs are got through lobbying.The Pm does it,the president does it and a host of guyz.Mark you it was double my salo.i dont expect any sympathy and was just sharing with wazuans my experience.

So the corrupt & crooked cowboy roads contractor got conned and is now blaming Safcom?
#57 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 1:28:00 PM

I usually buy credit for my modem using my phone.
So one day I missed a digit and bought sh1000 credit for a stranger!!.I had the green sim.
Sijawahi umwa hivyo.
On calling that number it was mteja.A week later it still was!
Safcom customer care told me that it would have been reversible if it was an mpesa to mpesa transaction,but buying credit is ur trouble.
A colleague sent his rent to a strange number!!
Safaricom assured him that they would track the number and refund my colleague when the 'thief' reloads!
But I wonder how that is possible cz all I need to do it acquire a new line.

Some people are also heartless.Just return the money!!

No wonder we can never get through to Safcom customer care if these are the kind of issues that occupy them 24/7.
#58 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 1:46:25 PM

roflol Jagger!

Do you still call safcom customer care??
Do you know there are peeps who call them to beg money? some for emergency and stuff? I wouldn't like to work in any customer care department cz nitafutwa day 1.
Email is faster.
#59 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 6:37:20 PM

seeker* wrote:
Why didn't your friend just send the wrong number 50shs to make the amount complete again? 44950+50=45000 problem solved.

Genius!

sitaki.kujulikana
#60 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 6:45:31 PM

seeker* wrote:

Genius!

you can only cancel a transaction, so he will only get his 50 bob back not the 45,000