Investor
Stocks
Safaricom at 4 bob...
dunkang wrote:lower mtr shelved again. Activists run to court to block 'phones switch off.' This is definately good news for safcom shares price and investors, but how about the other kenyans? Yep. CCK still got no teeth...
www.businessdailyafrica....516/-/i1273/-/index.html
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Very tricky this. If Airtel was to fold that would leave Essar very exposed for depending on Airtel's sites for network coverage. I wonder why this skewed arrangement. Does it mean Safaricom and Orange refused to share their sites with Essar? www.businessdailyafrica....0/-/dbfkbvz/-/index.html$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
hisah wrote:Very tricky this. If Airtel was to fold that would leave Essar very exposed for depending on Airtel's sites for network coverage. I wonder why this skewed arrangement. Does it mean Safaricom and Orange refused to share their sites with Essar? www.businessdailyafrica....0/-/dbfkbvz/-/index.html a telco must close shop this year. even GTV started this way. Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
Airtel pissed with CCK www.nation.co.ke/busines...0/-/p77n87z/-/index.html$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
And I'm pissed off with airtel. They just erased my 2.9GB of data and have not returned it, just a word (two weeks ago) that they are looking into it. For all I care right now they might as well pack their bags (or is it masts) and go back to wherever they came from.
Airtel subscribers to send mobile cash free of charge - http://www.businessdaily...6/-/tsc6px/-/index.html Quote:The firm said Thursday it had abolished the fee, which ranged between Sh5 and Sh25 per transaction, but did not change the withdrawal charges, which ranged between Sh15 and Sh300. “The zero transaction charge applied to any amount sent to the recipients on any network in Kenya,” said managing director Shivan Bhargava in a statement.
The review of the tariffs comes in a year when its rival Safaricom increased the fees for sending and receiving amounts above Sh3,500 in a bid to increase the commissions paid to agents. Safaricom charges between Sh3 and Sh250 for cash transfers.
Safaricom, the market leader with 19 million subscribers, has nearly 40,000 M-Pesa agents leaving the rest of the service providers with 9,000 agents across Kenya.
Airtel says it has 6,000 agents and 4.4 million subscribers. As a result, the bulk of the mobile cash transactions have been restricted in Safaricom’s network.
I would be biting my fingernails if I were an Airtel shareholder. They have few customers, fewer agents... This is a zero sum game. $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
hisah wrote:Airtel subscribers to send mobile cash free of charge - http://www.businessdaily...6/-/tsc6px/-/index.html Quote:The firm said Thursday it had abolished the fee, which ranged between Sh5 and Sh25 per transaction, but did not change the withdrawal charges, which ranged between Sh15 and Sh300. “The zero transaction charge applied to any amount sent to the recipients on any network in Kenya,” said managing director Shivan Bhargava in a statement.
The review of the tariffs comes in a year when its rival Safaricom increased the fees for sending and receiving amounts above Sh3,500 in a bid to increase the commissions paid to agents. Safaricom charges between Sh3 and Sh250 for cash transfers.
Safaricom, the market leader with 19 million subscribers, has nearly 40,000 M-Pesa agents leaving the rest of the service providers with 9,000 agents across Kenya.
Airtel says it has 6,000 agents and 4.4 million subscribers. As a result, the bulk of the mobile cash transactions have been restricted in Safaricom’s network.
I would be biting my fingernails if I were an Airtel shareholder. They have few customers, fewer agents... This is a zero sum game. Airtel is still to understand the Kenya Market. Reducing charges wont cut it. They can as well give free calls and no one will move to their network. What they need to do is to be creative in product offerings to their customers or identify a niche market and exploit it. Life is short. Live passionately.
sparkly wrote:hisah wrote:Airtel subscribers to send mobile cash free of charge - http://www.businessdaily...6/-/tsc6px/-/index.html Quote:The firm said Thursday it had abolished the fee, which ranged between Sh5 and Sh25 per transaction, but did not change the withdrawal charges, which ranged between Sh15 and Sh300. “The zero transaction charge applied to any amount sent to the recipients on any network in Kenya,” said managing director Shivan Bhargava in a statement.
I would be biting my fingernails if I were an Airtel shareholder. They have few customers, fewer agents... This is a zero sum game. Airtel is still to understand the Kenya Market. Reducing charges wont cut it. They can as well give free calls and no one will move to their network. What they need to do is to be creative in product offerings to their customers or identify a niche market and exploit it. in an earlier post, we had a serious argument about Celtel now Airtel verses Safaricom thats is history now... Airtel will never catch up with safaricom by fighting the gov't ... even if MTR was reduced today they wont make it anywhere near safcom with the kind of strategy they have never.... by the way everything was done to their favour including MNP but as the going is safcom has been the benefiter.... Airtel no longer says MNP MNP they lost it.
I am trying to imagine what would be airtel if safcom would come up with a 20bob offer for say 20minutes, 20sms and 20 MB for JUST 2 weeks. LOL Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2010 Posts: 2,221 Location: Sundowner,Amboseli
peep wrote:And I'm pissed off with airtel. They just erased my 2.9GB of data and have not returned it, just a word (two weeks ago) that they are looking into it. For all I care right now they might as well pack their bags (or is it masts) and go back to wherever they came from. Same here. Erased mine in August and "they are still looking into it" Quickly wrote it off as bad debts and moved on. Infact you're the one who's reminded me Airtel belongs to stone age! @SufficientlyP
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,129 Location: Nairobi
Githae readies his prescription for more taxes to pay for the recent populist measures. http://www.standardmedia...h40b-in-new-tax-measure
Safaricom will be hit with this. As will BAT & EABL. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
The hit will be on the consumer, the service provider/manufacturer will push it to you and me.
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
Jamani wrote:The hit will be on the consumer, the service provider/manufacturer will push it to you and me. It will cause a demand for even higher salaries!! Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Jamani wrote:The hit will be on the consumer, the service provider/manufacturer will push it to you and me. Safaricom, BAT & EABL will suffer. Higher price leads to lower demand of elastic goods. Folks will start consuming less (for Safcom it could mean fewer transactions) as prices rise. If Safaricom expects 50% growth in turnover at current prices, if the 'tax' is passed on to consumers it may reduce growth to 45% thus hurting Safcom's profits. If Safaricom 'eats' the levy turnover growth remains 50% but the expected PAT drops. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:Jamani wrote:The hit will be on the consumer, the service provider/manufacturer will push it to you and me. Safaricom, BAT & EABL will suffer. Higher price leads to lower demand of elastic goods. Folks will start consuming less (for Safcom it could mean fewer transactions) as prices rise. If Safaricom expects 50% growth in turnover at current prices, if the 'tax' is passed on to consumers it may reduce growth to 45% thus hurting Safcom's profits. If Safaricom 'eats' the levy turnover growth remains 50% but the expected PAT drops. Same applies to Airtel, Telkom, Yu, Mastermind, Keroche etc.
Jamani wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Jamani wrote:The hit will be on the consumer, the service provider/manufacturer will push it to you and me. Safaricom, BAT & EABL will suffer. Higher price leads to lower demand of elastic goods. Folks will start consuming less (for Safcom it could mean fewer transactions) as prices rise. If Safaricom expects 50% growth in turnover at current prices, if the 'tax' is passed on to consumers it may reduce growth to 45% thus hurting Safcom's profits. If Safaricom 'eats' the levy turnover growth remains 50% but the expected PAT drops. Same applies to Airtel, Telkom, Yu, Mastermind, Keroche etc. Well, we can't (directly) invest in Airtel, Telkom, Yu, Mastermind, Keroche that's why I picked BAT, EABL & Safaricom. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Why aim mobile money? I don't get this treasury move given the economy slump. Slamming the breaks on the velocity of mobile money at this point is senseless! $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
hisah wrote:Why aim mobile money? I don't get this treasury move given the economy slump. Slamming the breaks on the velocity of mobile money at this point is senseless! Since it will not be passed to consumers the velocity of cash will be left unchanged!! The volumes in mobile money are HUGE.. I agree that treasury needs some of it for the ballooning budget!! Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Me thinks the target was Airtel's free everything nonsense. (note that airtel had just declared free cash transfer, whilst safcon had been heavily advertising MPESA). Never ever fight the ruling class. Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
guru267 wrote:hisah wrote:Why aim mobile money? I don't get this treasury move given the economy slump. Slamming the breaks on the velocity of mobile money at this point is senseless! Since it will not be passed to consumers the velocity of cash will be left unchanged!! The volumes in mobile money are HUGE.. I agree that treasury needs some of it for the ballooning budget!! If I were the mobile operator, what incentive do I have to absorb the 10% excise duty on mobile money on behalf of the consumer? This will nail my profits. This tax is a bad idea and still see it affecting money velocity. And the timing is equally questionable due to the current econ slump. It's treasury's duty to manage it's ballooning budget in a sensible way e.g. cutting unnecessary spending esp for those depts that are known for not utilizing their allocations yearly.$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Investor
Stocks
Safaricom at 4 bob...