wazua Tue, Feb 4, 2025

6 Pages<12345>»
a crime to hike house rents!!!??.....Githae the pig.
#41 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 3:13:17 PM

Manyala wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
Rents have always been increased over the years. It will be hard to tell any court that rent is being increased due to the taxes. Landlords will not have a problem paying taxes if mapping is enforced. The problem is, the tenants will be the conduit used to ensure the landlord doesn't suffer reduced net income as a result. That, sadly, is the fact to @essyk, @alma, et al.

thanks jus blazing...that is what i have been trying to tell them tenants but could not have put it in a better way...

Tenants,
Ati you will go to Court? If you cannot meet, the 30% increase, where to you get money to pay the lawyer, Court Filling Fees, etc.?
At the end of it 'Willing Buyer, Willing Seller'? Just relocate, instead of calling us tax evaders, na uko kwa mali ya wenyewe!

manyala wacha masarau!Sad
Most Landlords are poorer than us tenants).Servicing loans worth millions is no mean task,butshauri yenyuLaughing out loudly
By the time ur done with repaying loans you are too old to enjoy the proceeds.
Ni nyumba ya wazee tu sasa.

Si unaona kaigangio was begging us 'tenants to do a harambee for his family's upkeep cz debts are driving him crazy.
Now we have Atwoli on our side and we don't need individual lawyers. Team work will do.
Nyinyi landlords ndio mutahama!

#42 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 3:25:30 PM

@essyk, hope for the best but prepare for the worst. There's nothing that will stop a landlord from giving you notice. It's his property after all.
#43 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 3:27:22 PM

Manyala wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
Rents have always been increased over the years. It will be hard to tell any court that rent is being increased due to the taxes. Landlords will not have a problem paying taxes if mapping is enforced. The problem is, the tenants will be the conduit used to ensure the landlord doesn't suffer reduced net income as a result. That, sadly, is the fact to @essyk, @alma, et al.

thanks jus blazing...that is what i have been trying to tell them tenants but could not have put it in a better way...

Tenants,
Ati you will go to Court? If you cannot meet, the 30% increase, where to you get money to pay the lawyer, Court Filling Fees, etc.?
At the end of it 'Willing Buyer, Willing Seller'? Just relocate, instead of calling us tax evaders, na uko kwa mali ya wenyewe!

manyala wacha masarau!Sad
Most of you Landlords are poorer than us tenantssmile.Servicing loans worth millions is no mean task,but shauri yenyu

Si unaona kaigangio was begging us 'tenants to do a harambee for his family's upkeep cz debts are driving him crazy.
We have Atwoli on our side. Besides we don't need individual lawyers. Team work will do.
Nyinyi landlords ndio mutahama!

wewe wacha muchene....i did not beg tenants to do for me anything...if for any case it should be the other way round...

let us see:

Most of you Landlords are poorer than us tenantssmile....and why are you complaining when we tell you that we will increase the rent?

We have Atwoli on our side. Besides we don't need individual lawyers. Team work will do....we landlords have God, Mpigs (not githae) and KRA on our side...the odds are just too high for the tenant...

Nyinyi landlords ndio mutahama!...tuhame twende wapi?? since when did a slave become the master??

#44 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 3:37:20 PM

ahh now I see.

We have landlords who don't know or pretend they don't know that they should have been paying taxes.

It's the same guys who are talking about a tenant hamaring..hehe

I think we have pseudo landlords here. A tenant can make your life a living hell. With or without a lease. Just go to milimani courts and ask those "landlords".

So lets not get feisty here. Kama hauja lipa ushuru, please go pay.

The tenants will take care of themselves. Those that know the law know there is absolutely nothing the landlord can do if I decide not to hama.

It is obvious from the brow beating by pseudo landlords here that they don't read the law. so nothing surprising when they start shouting that they will increase rent kesho.

Ha! Let me see my rad rod trying to do that. Nitaishi kwa nyumba yake bure mwaka moja.

Kumbe hawa ma rad rod dio ma kajora. Hawataki kuripa.
segemia
#45 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 3:43:40 PM

I think there is nothing that can stop the Manyaras and Kaigangios of kenya to hike the rents tax or no tax.
The way i see it is that a landlord could invent something very small that leaves the tenant with no choice, but to either pay the new rent or move on.
Landlords are cunning idiots.
#46 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 3:43:44 PM

All ye landrods!
So how do u intend to go about it?
Slap a flat rent increase on all your tenants regardless of the size of house occupied or what?

If my neighbour occupies a 6 bedroomed massionate na mimi niko kwa ka sq near the watchies gate or the dog's cabin,are u going to slap us with the same increase?
*both houses are urs.*

#47 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 4:02:44 PM

I hope my Kaigangio & Manyala will hurumia us wanjiku. Pray

Our share of the increase can be recovered from the others.....

But wait, some individual landlords e.g. of residential units require rent in good old cash.

So in the typical estate e.g. like greenspan, or southlands, how will the taxman know, that the one in the residential unit is the tenant therefore require the owner to pay up?

This thing can still be beaten, I suspect, or?
#48 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 4:16:00 PM

Attention Mr Alma,

Dear sir,

REF: NOTICE OF EVACUATION ON PROPERTY LR NO. 1558/763 MUTEMA UUKI ESTATE

We refer to the lease agreement signed between ourselves and yourself on 1st January 2012 in our offices regarding the occupation of flat no, G04 in the above property.

Particular attention is drawn to the clause 12 II (c) part (xii), which states thus "..should either of the parties wish to terminate the lease, either party shall give a three (3) months notice or pay one months rent in leu of notice...". We, Kaigangio Property Management Limited wish to terminate your lease and are thus giving you a three (3) months notice as required.

Should you fail to vacate the premises by the expirely of the notice (that is by 19th September 2012) we will have no choice but to take legal action against you.

We remain,

yours faithfully,

kaigangio

For KPML

cc Kihiu Mwiri & Co. Advocates
#49 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 4:20:31 PM

Kaigangio wrote:

Particular attention is drawn to the clause 12 II (c) part (xii), which states thus "..should either of the parties wish to terminate the lease, either party shall give a three (3) months notice or pay one months rent in leu of notice...". We, Kaigangio Property Management Limited wish to terminate your lease and are thus giving you a three (3) months notice as required.

Make sure you don't have such a clause for your commercial properties!
#50 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 4:25:42 PM

Thank God u aren't my landlord.
#51 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 4:28:00 PM

bkismat wrote:
I think Githae cleverly played us. Have you realised that in addition to increasing rent he added VAT on essential commodities like food and also electricity meaning the cost of production will also go up?

In addition he sneaked something on phombe. From now the prices will be reviewed every 3 months and the tax will be applied at the consumption point and not at the production point.

Imagine that! And yet we're here praising this budget. This is bad news for our phombe industry.

#52 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 4:35:15 PM

effects of new katiba, be afraid be very afraid
#53 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 4:40:42 PM

ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF NOTICE OF TO VACATE PROPERTY LR NO. 1558/763 MUTEMA UUKI ESTATE

Date 19-Jun-2012

Mr. kaigangio:

This is to acknowledge the receipt of your Notice of intent to evacuate Mr Alma (our client) from the said property.

Please note that this is considered harassment of the tenant following recent levy of 30% rental income tax on housing by the government (2012/13 budget).

Further, rental income is not new. It has been in Kenya since independence and there is reason to believe that you have been evading the same, which is criminal offence if proven in a court of law.

We therefore, inform you that status quo remain until the case is heard and determined in court of law.

If you have any further questions, do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Preferred & Co. Advovates

cc @Alma
#54 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 4:41:12 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
Attention Mr Alma,

Dear sir,

REF: NOTICE OF EVACUATION ON PROPERTY LR NO. 1558/763 MUTEMA UUKI ESTATE

We refer to the lease agreement signed between ourselves and yourself on 1st January 2012 in our offices regarding the occupation of flat no, G04 in the above property.

Should you fail to vacate the premises by the expirely of the notice (that is by 19th September 2012) we will have no choice but to take legal action against you.

We remain,

yours faithfully,

kaigangio

For KPML

cc Kihiu Mwiri & Co. Advocates

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause

was having a very stressful day...thanks for that Laughing out loudly

By the way, you have heard of things like injunctions.

Haki I wish you were my landlord. You would have used that contract as your toilet paper.Laughing out loudly Shame on you

On a boring note: kyt what has the new katiba got to do with anyone not paying taxes.....noticed you blame the new katiba for everything...ur the QW of the katiba.

Get used to it.
#55 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 4:43:15 PM

ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF NOTICE OF TO VACATE PROPERTY LR NO. 1558/763 MUTEMA UUKI ESTATE

Date 19-Jun-2012

Mr. kaigangio:

This is to acknowledge the receipt of your Notice of intent to evacuate Mr Alma (our client) from the said property.

Please note that this is considered harassment of the tenant following recent levy of 30% rental income tax on housing by the government (2012/13 budget).

Further, rental income is not new. It has been in Kenya since independence and there is reason to believe that you have been evading the same, which is criminal offence if proven in a court of law.

We therefore, inform you that status quo remain until the case is heard and determined in court of law.

Sincerely,

cc @Alma

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause

mambo moto moto

Alph you have spilt the beans too early. I wanted them to try something that foolish. But maybe you saved someone serious embarassment at the kalocal.

Applause Applause
#56 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 5:11:17 PM

@AlphaDoti,

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly .....Consider yourself hired....and i wish you could add a twist to your acknowledgement by copying to KRA.....Halafu tuone kama KaigZ hatafungwa miguu na mikonosmile
#57 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 5:30:02 PM

@AlphaDoti,

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly .....Consider yourself hired....and i wish you could add a twist to your acknowledgement by copying to KRA.....Halafu tuone kama KaigZ hatafungwa miguu na mikonosmile

LOL!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Good one!!smile
Manyala
#58 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 5:45:47 PM

Date 19-Jun-2012

Mr. kaigangio:

Sincerely,

cc @Alma

Dear Preferred & Co.
Advocates,

The highlighted part of your letter refers.

Could you kindly clarify where you obtained this information from as none of these are quoted in our letter to your purported client.

I am disappointed, as a learned colleague, of you and your client's imaginary assumptions

Yours most faithfully,

You know who & Company
Advocates.

C.c. Manyala ~ Client
C.c. All Other Tenants.
#59 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 6:34:20 PM

@Doti popular reply amounts to nothing much. Nothing stops a property owner from increasing rent so long as it is within the provisions of the lease agreement and the law. Not unless you have a controlled tenancy!
#60 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 7:43:41 PM

Most informative thread I have ever read!!!!!! Enactment or enforcement of a law. How it affects landlords, how it affects tenants, legal ramifications. Someone can write a Masters or PhD thesis just from the responses of this thread. And its not some theoretical stuff but from real life experiences. I love Wazua, brilliant, absolutely brilliant!!!