Investor
Stocks
CoopBank Q1 2011 - Brilliant results
I appreciate that but I have also observed that when he is somewhat cornered he turns marxist/socio-capitalist. "I shall fear no man but myself" 
Rank: Member Joined: 1/3/2011 Posts: 264 Location: Nairobi
mlennyma wrote:Equity is one bank which was highly inclined to gvt bonds. Just finished looking at 2010 sheets for kcb, coop and ebk, coop had 4 billion g-paper for dealing purposes, ebk had 22 billion, kcb had 0.8 billion (If thats what they call 'held for trading investments), bottom line is, ebk may have pulled good numbers due to bonds in 2010, this year, they must be suffering from insomnia.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,221 Location: Nairobi
Cde Monomotapa wrote:I appreciate that but I have also observed that when he is somewhat cornered he turns marxist/socio-capitalist. "I shall fear no man but myself"  Wacha ku-sully my name! My point is that it is stupid [though politics is not logical] to control some prices [in a non-monopolitic environment] & not all... OMCs rely heavily on financing imports due to the nature of the industry. It is credit driven to an extent. The cost of financing is NOT 'fixed' while the banks can vary the interest rates charged. Some folks claim OMCs are a cartel yet the hold of the top 5 banks is much HIGHER! If not for the hurdles of financing & the inefficiency of KPC/KPA/KPRL there would be many more significant players in the oil industry... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Muthawamunene wrote:mlennyma wrote:Equity is one bank which was highly inclined to gvt bonds. Just finished looking at 2010 sheets for kcb, coop and ebk, coop had 4 billion g-paper for dealing purposes, ebk had 22 billion, kcb had 0.8 billion (If thats what they call 'held for trading investments), bottom line is, ebk may have pulled good numbers due to bonds in 2010, this year, they must be suffering from insomnia. 22B?! That's a lot. If it is indeed too bad for them then I see them reclassifying them as "held to maturity" the effects of that we will get to see soon. Cheers.
Cde Monomotapa wrote:Matter of fact Qw...KCB will be triple digit. chief! Thats a fantacy but its ok to dream. LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
guru267 wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:guru267 wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:youcan'tstopusnow wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:mlennyma wrote:The 1st listed bank to pull the trigger has not disappointed.kenya is a great economy despite the politics,inflation and drought. Or they are exploiting us... Funny, that when OMCs make a low ROA but prices of fuel go up... all are up in arms yet Kenya's largest OMC makes far less in 1 year than Barclays or Equity does in 1 quarter....    VVS, mafuta ni muhimu! I humbly suggest that people should stack their portfolios with banks. THIS IS THE DECADE OF THE BANKS! I support free markets but if we are going for price controls then start with banks! Let the lending & savings rates be 'fixed' through a fair formula so banks will have to be more efficient on how they deliver services. Banking is not an essential service therefore no grounds for price controls I disagree. Banking predates petrol by many centuries! We would have more chaos if banking stopped vs no petrol [since we will find alternates to petroleum] I disagree.. Especially in africa.. Millions of people live without bank accounts and banking does not affect food prices... So high lending rates impacts a very small segment of the economy whereas fuel is a different story guru, i actually dont support your argument. Banks are essential in everyday life. Even the unbanked use money dispensed thru banks. Those oil firms get loans from banks. All that interest is passed to the end user! LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
kyt wrote:guru267 wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:guru267 wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:youcan'tstopusnow wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:mlennyma wrote:The 1st listed bank to pull the trigger has not disappointed.kenya is a great economy despite the politics,inflation and drought. Or they are exploiting us... Funny, that when OMCs make a low ROA but prices of fuel go up... all are up in arms yet Kenya's largest OMC makes far less in 1 year than Barclays or Equity does in 1 quarter....    VVS, mafuta ni muhimu! I humbly suggest that people should stack their portfolios with banks. THIS IS THE DECADE OF THE BANKS! I support free markets but if we are going for price controls then start with banks! Let the lending & savings rates be 'fixed' through a fair formula so banks will have to be more efficient on how they deliver services. Banking is not an essential service therefore no grounds for price controls I disagree. Banking predates petrol by many centuries! We would have more chaos if banking stopped vs no petrol [since we will find alternates to petroleum] I disagree.. Especially in africa.. Millions of people live without bank accounts and banking does not affect food prices... So high lending rates impacts a very small segment of the economy whereas fuel is a different story guru, i actually dont support your argument. Banks are essential in everyday life. Even the unbanked use money dispensed thru banks. Those oil firms get loans from banks. All that interest is passed to the end user! Hold on! Banking has been around even among the unbanked! When I was a kid, my 'cash' was held in trust by my Grandfather. He was my bank even though I was 'unbanked' according to 'official' records! As for PETROLEUM fuel. Kwani? How many used it in Kenya 100 years ago? Yet, I am sure the forefathers used granaries to store foddstuffs after a harvest. Or even 'lent' some to neighbours which is banking of a non-monetary type. If the jirani died, then it was written off like bad debts! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: New-farer Joined: 3/29/2011 Posts: 56 Location: Kenya
For a complete analysis of The Co-operative Bank of Kenya 1st Quarter 2011 results, go to http://kenyainvesting.blogspot.com
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
Cde Monomotapa wrote:Muthawamunene wrote:mlennyma wrote:Equity is one bank which was highly inclined to gvt bonds. Just finished looking at 2010 sheets for kcb, coop and ebk, coop had 4 billion g-paper for dealing purposes, ebk had 22 billion, kcb had 0.8 billion (If thats what they call 'held for trading investments), bottom line is, ebk may have pulled good numbers due to bonds in 2010, this year, they must be suffering from insomnia. 22B?! That's a lot. If it is indeed too bad for them then I see them reclassifying them as "held to maturity" the effects of that we will get to see soon. Cheers. Big trades going down at Equity. There is also a bid of 1.1 million shares at 27 which is yet to be serviced. GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Rank: Member Joined: 6/21/2010 Posts: 514 Location: Nairobi
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:Anyone with the dates of when other banks will announce please post the dates. erifloss uko wapi? These are ''very good'' results according to your criteria. I said a couple of banks will pull off above 50 percent growth. Co-op was the first. Not the last I've looked at the Financials and i must say i'm impressed. - They are sitting on a good positive cashflow. - Increased their loan portfolio substantially. - Reduced govt securities. - Customer deposits are up. - Interest income from loans & advances substantially up and interest from govt securities nearly same meaning that they are now concentrating on their core business commercial banking. - Decrease in interest expense good with me as still shows that they are running their core business efficiently and their spread seems to be widening. - Other fees & commissions up though I'm always weary of this item as some institutions shore up their income using this. - Though they should be keen on their Staff costs & other operating expenses as they are to me substantially growing and the trend might not be good in the long run. - What has made me smile is the big drop on Gross non performing loans. - The rise in Insider loans is not so comforting as at times this creates a weakness. - Strengthening their core capital. All in all i think its a brilliant performance. 'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
VituVingiSana wrote:kyt wrote:guru267 wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:guru267 wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:youcan'tstopusnow wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:mlennyma wrote:The 1st listed bank to pull the trigger has not disappointed.kenya is a great economy despite the politics,inflation and drought. Or they are exploiting us... Funny, that when OMCs make a low ROA but prices of fuel go up... all are up in arms yet Kenya's largest OMC makes far less in 1 year than Barclays or Equity does in 1 quarter....    VVS, mafuta ni muhimu! I humbly suggest that people should stack their portfolios with banks. THIS IS THE DECADE OF THE BANKS! I support free markets but if we are going for price controls then start with banks! Let the lending & savings rates be 'fixed' through a fair formula so banks will have to be more efficient on how they deliver services. Banking is not an essential service therefore no grounds for price controls I disagree. Banking predates petrol by many centuries! We would have more chaos if banking stopped vs no petrol [since we will find alternates to petroleum] I disagree.. Especially in africa.. Millions of people live without bank accounts and banking does not affect food prices... So high lending rates impacts a very small segment of the economy whereas fuel is a different story guru, i actually dont support your argument. Banks are essential in everyday life. Even the unbanked use money dispensed thru banks. Those oil firms get loans from banks. All that interest is passed to the end user! Hold on! Banking has been around even among the unbanked! When I was a kid, my 'cash' was held in trust by my Grandfather. He was my bank even though I was 'unbanked' according to 'official' records! As for PETROLEUM fuel. Kwani? How many used it in Kenya 100 years ago? Yet, I am sure the forefathers used granaries to store foddstuffs after a harvest. Or even 'lent' some to neighbours which is banking of a non-monetary type. If the jirani died, then it was written off like bad debts! @vvs please look at it from a third world point of view... The major reason most the african banks were unscathed from the financial crisis was good policy but also the irrelevance in many african economies... The whole thing came and past without a whisper in africa.. But have you seen the impact of rising fuel prices.. Protests everywhere... Is their any country that devotes a large weighting to lending rates when calculating CPI... How much consideration to companies give to borrowing rates as opposed to fuel costs??? Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Will banks really be able to maintain their brilliant performance all the way to Q4 2011? GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:Will banks really be able to maintain their brilliant performance all the way to Q4 2011? Why wouldnt they?? They are managing these profits amidst a very slow q1.. I highly doubt the rest of the quarters will b worse than q1 Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:Will banks really be able to maintain their brilliant performance all the way to Q4 2011? When is KCB expected to ROAR her Q1? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:youcan'tstopusnow wrote:Will banks really be able to maintain their brilliant performance all the way to Q4 2011? When is KCB expected to ROAR her Q1? I expect them on friday or latest next week.. Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Rank: New-farer Joined: 4/19/2011 Posts: 9 Location: Nairobi
CO-OP, GOTCHA ! 17.50 was a Superb Deal ! Keep them coming Price is Determined by Demand and Supply but it is Discovered by an Auction to give the Best Value for both the Seller & the Buyer! www.magari.co.ke strives to give the best Value for Cars
guru267 wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:kyt wrote:guru267 wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:guru267 wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:youcan'tstopusnow wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:mlennyma wrote:The 1st listed bank to pull the trigger has not disappointed.kenya is a great economy despite the politics,inflation and drought. Or they are exploiting us... Funny, that when OMCs make a low ROA but prices of fuel go up... all are up in arms yet Kenya's largest OMC makes far less in 1 year than Barclays or Equity does in 1 quarter....    VVS, mafuta ni muhimu! I humbly suggest that people should stack their portfolios with banks. THIS IS THE DECADE OF THE BANKS! I support free markets but if we are going for price controls then start with banks! Let the lending & savings rates be 'fixed' through a fair formula so banks will have to be more efficient on how they deliver services. Banking is not an essential service therefore no grounds for price controls I disagree. Banking predates petrol by many centuries! We would have more chaos if banking stopped vs no petrol [since we will find alternates to petroleum] I disagree.. Especially in africa.. Millions of people live without bank accounts and banking does not affect food prices... So high lending rates impacts a very small segment of the economy whereas fuel is a different story guru, i actually dont support your argument. Banks are essential in everyday life. Even the unbanked use money dispensed thru banks. Those oil firms get loans from banks. All that interest is passed to the end user! Hold on! Banking has been around even among the unbanked! When I was a kid, my 'cash' was held in trust by my Grandfather. He was my bank even though I was 'unbanked' according to 'official' records! As for PETROLEUM fuel. Kwani? How many used it in Kenya 100 years ago? Yet, I am sure the forefathers used granaries to store foddstuffs after a harvest. Or even 'lent' some to neighbours which is banking of a non-monetary type. If the jirani died, then it was written off like bad debts! @vvs please look at it from a third world point of view... The major reason most the african banks were unscathed from the financial crisis was good policy but also the irrelevance in many african economies... The whole thing came and past without a whisper in africa.. But have you seen the impact of rising fuel prices.. Protests everywhere... Is their any country that devotes a large weighting to lending rates when calculating CPI... How much consideration to companies give to borrowing rates as opposed to fuel costs??? LOL... Let's start with the flawed misconceptions! 1) Not all African banks escaped unscathed. You are using a broad brush & some were lucky not always coz of 'good' policies but the (lucky) 'simple' models in use. BTW, the Nigerian banks which were HUGE compared to Kenyan banks were affected. Severely affected. Some went under & are being bailed out by Govt of Nigeria through AMCON. 2) Banks are very relevant in African economies. I can't think of any major African economy where banks are not relevant. Please illustrate with examples of a major (free) economy without banks. In the '3rd world' or 'African' perspective, banking is more than 'Banks' but includes your village moneylender, MFI, even Safaricom charges a fee for Kopa Credit! 3) CPI calculations probably do not include interest since it cannot be measured accurately in a basket of goods. Nevertheless, interest forms a part of the basket through OTHER goods. Your mama mboga who borrows from Equity to buy veggies weekly. Your matatu owner who borrows to buy the van. Your tea/coffee farmer who borrows (or on credit) to buy fertilizer. Your hairstylist who borrows to buy chairs, etc. 4) You are kidding me! "How much consideration to companies give to borrowing rates as opposed to fuel costs???" [I think QW has stolen you ID] - Firms that 'borrow' are very sensitive to interest rates. If your firm's CFO does not 'consider' the interest rates then I would sell out asap! Let's take KQ, they negotiate interest rates then try to fix them. Why? It is an IMPORTANT & HUGE part of their costs. They also try to 'fix' fuel costs by hedging. - Compare apples to apples! Many firms would be 20% of the size without borrowing since they finance buildings, equipment, inventory. Fuel costs are almost the same for all businesses in that sector. Interest costs are not so for a leveraged firm a CFO/CEO who does not pay as much consideration to interest costs should be sacked! As for why protests over fuel & not interest rates? This is merely a matter of perception. What you see vs what you don't see. Consumers are often idiots or are not shown the whole picture. In Kenya, it is ILLEGAL for retailers to display goods ex-VAT. Why? GoK does NOT want you to know you pay 100 + 16% VAT but want you to pay 116/-. They don't want you grumbling about 16% VAT. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
LOAR!!! The journey to another house & more..here we come!!
guru267 wrote:youcan'tstopusnow wrote:Will banks really be able to maintain their brilliant performance all the way to Q4 2011? Why wouldnt they?? They are managing these profits amidst a very slow q1.. I highly doubt the rest of the quarters will b worse than q1 guru, Q1 was anything but slow. Ask CBK. As for Q2, we will have to wait... GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
4) You are kidding me! "How much consideration to companies give to borrowing rates as opposed to fuel costs???" [I think QW has stolen your ID]
Investor
Stocks
CoopBank Q1 2011 - Brilliant results