Talk2Us
Dubious - Looking to connect with Kenyans who are driven.
@Quicksand, I want face to face meeting definately, my interest is to listen and chat, I want a different perspective and I want to know how different people do their stuff, but someone has to be worth the time, I am not trying to prove that I am better than anyone and I don't wanna meet someone with that attitude, I am not going to represent USA or Kenyans in America so I don't want anyone trying to respresent Kenya or any other country, if we have a genuine conversation everyone will take away something and you'll have a legitimate contacts and connection in me and I will have a legitimate contact and connnection in you, I am a person driven by money and I have seen and know money for a couple of years now if in the process of a the chat I see and opportunity to make money I bet I will recognize it and you won't even have to push me into it, I will push you into it. I have connections in wallstreet so one has to have some connections too and if you don't have connection and you have great ideas and is smart, I will take that as a raw talent and will love to meet you, I also have some recruiting background so it could be an opportunity for anyone.
Hate to be a spoilsport but this guy sounds like a con.Acquisitions and mergers? the guy has numerous spelling mistakes, bad grammar, sloppiness.This is not the hallmark of such a guy.Just my honest opinion.
I am scared someone will propose that I should release my college transcripts
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
Rollout wrote:I am scared someone will propose that I should release my college transcripts Better still, tell us which primary school and high school you attended. Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: Member Joined: 6/21/2010 Posts: 514 Location: Nairobi
Nigerians do pull better pranks than this. He's either a con or a wannabe. He's about to tell us that he is a Harvard, Columbia, or Stanford graduate and knew Geitner, Paulson or Dick. Oh almost forgot and that he's helped WB buy a co. Slim consolidate his wealth, Gates get into Mexico, Goldman rate their CDO's and Citi group re-engineer. Damn boy, this is Wazua just in case you didn't know now you do. 'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/2/2006 Posts: 1,206 Location: Nairobi
Rollout is simply a con.Fortune whatever guys dont have such lousy english.They also dont go around asking for contacts in public forums such as this one.They have direct contacts in various economics from all the billion dollar deals they come across. Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
I am actually off Carnegie Mellon University, which is the harvard of Quant and yes I had a stop in Merrill Lynch and UBS before I moved to Health insurance business.
Pliz let me have your email address, i have a proposal.
@Shal.. you can email me via optumuhg@gmail.com
@ Rollout You are condescending and full of it. It is people like you who propagate these stereotypes. Get off your high horse and hit the ground in Kenya, get a hustle on and put some food on the table, before you start knocking others.
I am in the west and have made a few trips home, what I can tell you is that you are in a bubble. 10 years ago is a lifetime, people have moved on, acquired serious assets and wealth. Tembea nyumbani before you start waving your CV and pomp, you will be dully humbled.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/16/2010 Posts: 906 Location: Nairobi
Rollout wrote:I am actually off Carnegie Mellon University, which is the harvard of Quant and yes I had a stop in Merrill Lynch and UBS before I moved to Health insurance business.
Which primary school did you go to?
Oh dear, these Kenyamericans and their English
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/16/2010 Posts: 906 Location: Nairobi
By the way, looking keenly at this Rollout's previous posts... HE IS A CON MAN @Rollout, toka hapa, shenzi type! I smelled a rat from the start. This is simply another Julius Mwale (remember that fool? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rrhtTibD6A http://www.propertykenya.com/news/1332770-patron-leaves-city-hotel-with-sh3-million-unpaid-bill ) @Rollout you have come to the wrong place to try your shenanigans. I have seen many like you come and go. You cannot fool wazuans. Try mashada or kenyanlist Also @wazua admin, this idiot will probably try and threaten you with litigation against your site so that you pull down damning evidence, but stand your ground. Don't hesitate to ban this fraudster. The same script has been played out on rcbowen.com and that cowardly mzungu admin actually fell for it. Angalia hapa: http://nipate.com/post3055.html
@Shal, stop your correspondence with this fool immediately, before he tries some tired advance fee tricks on you. @Rollout, wherever you are baki papo hapo! Chances are uko tu kwa cyber fulani mtaani trying to hustle 5k for rent while dispersing fiction writings about Uncle Sam, pumbavu wewe!
KenyanLyrics wrote:Rollout wrote:I am actually off Carnegie Mellon University, which is the harvard of Quant and yes I had a stop in Merrill Lynch and UBS before I moved to Health insurance business.
Which primary school did you go to? Yeah we are more concerned with your credibilty than your genius. Which primary and high school did you go to? Maybe we were classmates Life is short. Live passionately.
@Rollout
Think about walking into Muthaiga Golf Club, dropping your CV in the first minute of any conversation and declaring you only want to meet up with someone who is "worth the time".
Muthaiga Golf Club members collectively represent a vast array of business opportunities. But what do you think will be their response to such an amateurish entrance? Those old money guys will laugh out loud or ignore you wondering who this single digit millionaire is and indeed, whether YOU are worth their time.
Wazua is not Muthaiga Golf Club by any stretch. But understanding your audience and tweaking your introduction accordingly is everything in business unless you are Donald Trump and are already a dollar billionaire.
You sound successful, are in your late twenties and have passion. You are no doubt a smart and industrious employee. I think you genuinely want to do business.
If you can handle some unsolicited advice, you need to polish up on your non-technical skills if you want to cut out the jokers and still make the most of the opportunities in Kenya.
You have been drawn into petty fights over schools and employers which does not demonstrate a good sense of managerial judgment. Experienced business people avoid going into partnerships with persons that will want to fight over non-issues instead of focusing on the bottom line.
Success as an entrepreneur requires the use of more diverse skills than success as an employee does.
The responses you have received on Wazua are not unusual. I would urge you to start a similar thread on Diaspora blogs like RCBowen and see if you will not be blasted in worse language than has been used here.
Rank: Member Joined: 6/21/2010 Posts: 514 Location: Nairobi
Damn! Is this guy still around? Kind of reminds me of Ed, Edd & Eddy. Damner than ever. An investment banker who can't write a straight clean sentence to save his own ass, an 'M&A' specialist. C'mon just tell guys where you went to school. When you are done at the cyber and blowing this nonsensetical, fabricated, shitty, make believe shit out of proportion, go rebrand yourself then try again. Now that's an investment worth making with your 'billions' 'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
@Rollout: Jump in and get your hands dirty. Very simple. Buy some stocks, or some property and get on with it. CBA, Dyer & Blair and others play advisory functions as well. Enlist and get some direction on what to do with your money. Or do your own research. If you want business associates, you will have to get them through other means. If you persist with your current approach, the mistrust will only be entrenched.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/22/2011 Posts: 322 Location: Chicago, IL, USA
@Rollout (if you are still there... the primary school question seems to have bothered you a bit):
I read through your last post a few times- it took me a few good times to understand exactly what you were trying to convey to me. To respond to your comments (and not to show off or preen) my Fortune 500 experience is from IBM, Boeing, Raytheon, Computer Sciences Corporation, and JPMorganChase, among others. You mentioned "walking into" JPMC, IBM, Wells, and Goldman Sachs, however, I feel that while you have a few sporadic details here and there about these firms, I don't believe that you have actually worked for them in a meaningful capacity.
The fact of the matter is, that they waste enormous amounts of money on unnecessary or inefficient staff, office space, and fringe benefits for execs, inflated salaries, etc. while many of the firms are just shuffling money, instead of efficiently producing products and services that were once the core of their businesses.
Like I said, they can afford not to hit consecutive targets quarter-over-quarter, or stay in the red for several years while EA companies usually cannot. That's quite a difference in the dynamic of business. That's like me telling you that you can not only eat and live, but live very well, drive top-of-the range cars, and live in an ambassadorial home ad infinitum until you just “happen” to make some money on your business, or until your value raises because you happen to convince people that you are worth giving money to, on some future dream of realized gains. That doesn't make for efficiency. That makes for complacency.
Also, I don't know where you have gotten your information about doing business with the Chinese. It seems a bit ill-informed. What kind of "s***", as you put it, are you speaking of in regards to selling to Chinese firms, and what kind of "deals" are you speaking of in regards to having a team of analysts reviewing?
If you have indeed worked on "The Street", simply let me know your name, as you know mine, and I'm sure that I can contact some folks that can validate you and your work.
And on a lighter note, now that you have spent such quality time in the Fortune 500, do you twang when you speak? LOL. ;)
@KenyanLyrics, Lack of capital is a serious issue for businesses. Underfunding is probably the #1 reason businesses fail. It all depends on how big of an operation you are trying to put together. If your scope exceeds what you can accomplish with your available funds, you can "die on the vine" even if you do indeed get lucrative contracts or tenders, because you may not have the capital you need to survive until the actual checks start coming in.
@Ghengis Khan, Thanks for your comments. You are spot on with your comments. I don't think that black folks are lazy, I think that we place a higher value on family and friend time, and on work/life balance, than others do. We place less value on material trappings and possessions, so maybe we have less of a drive to attain those things. We are very spiritual, and find more fulfillment in such things. Maybe it just means that we need 24-hour economies that have two or three shifts per day, thus employing more people, instead of one person working 16 hours and killing themselves, as we have in the Fortune 500, in order to achieve high productivity rates. Is this good or bad? Well, that's debatable. I think that also our drive gets killed when we doubt our own abilities, bicker, and when we “eat up” all the propaganda from the rest of the world when they try to convince us how “advanced” they are.
I myself find that I like to work 80 hours weeks when I’m building out a large technology implementation, or managing a big project or initiative. I enjoy what I do. Maybe I'm a little spiritually detached. Maybe I’ve been well-programmed to be a worker bee. Maybe I've become a product of my environment, as I've worked full time in big corporate since I was a teenager. Is it good or bad? That too is debatable.
It's very interesting about what you say about Kenyan banks financing purchases of personal goods; can this be used to purchase business equipment such as notebook computers and printers instead, of TVs and couches (think of them as LCD monitors and office chairs instead!) under the same guises?
Also, 15%? LOL, in the USA, the rates for such purchases are routinely 26% to 300% (that's right, 300% with rent-to-own schemes). Some are able to get lower rates if they pay the balances off in 30 to 90 days- it's very rare, and fees usually bring the net interest rate right back up to the double-digits. In addition, personal loans from employers are pretty much unheard of. Employers do not finance employees. What I don’t understand about the Kenyan banking system, is how are defaults tracked (is there a national ID number that is used to track credit information) and how are credit-worthiness ratings applied?
I will say however, a person in the US with a clean credit history can get a government-backed small-business loan for about $15,000 if they have a pristine credit history for 7 years, but this simply isn't enough money to start a serious business in the US.
@innairobi, ericfloss, mkonomtupu, and Chaka, thank you for your kind words. And Chaka, it's too late! I already met a wonderful Kenyan woman in Atlanta that stole my heart so I proposed and married her. Then I wrote the check for bride price :) and I will tell you, she is worth that and million times more. And I don't know if I'm man enough to pull off an Akuku Danger ;)
Best all,
Hill
Rank: Member Joined: 3/10/2008 Posts: 301 Location: Abu Dhabi
Trully and insightful distinction between men and boys.
Talk2Us
Dubious - Looking to connect with Kenyans who are driven.