wazua Fri, Jul 25, 2025

3 Pages<123
PORTFOLIO RESTRUCTURING
Cde Monomotapa
#41 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2011 10:04:08 PM

@YCSN...What do you own. I know only of KCB & EBL. What else?
#42 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2011 10:39:04 PM

the deal wrote:
My portifolio returned 60% in the first quater...if it was not for the losses i took in KQ it would have been 70%...Stocks is the only thing that has offered me such kind of returns...or the other business ventures i have tried have ended in failure...i recently tried to go into the IT business...the stock currently piled in my room is a painful remind of 'stick to what you knw best'

Take heart and learn from the positives
#43 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2011 10:53:28 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
@YCSN...What do you own. I know only of KCB & EBL. What else?

DTB, NIC(Both of which I'm looking to dispose of at the 'right' price). Also don't know how I got stuck with some Kenya-RE Sad After results tutaona. I am a bit heavy on the financials as nothing else excited me for a long time. And hey, I've got great returns from the banks. Had some Mumias which I sold at around 12 and at the current price looking to re-enter to hold. Though I'm just as happy to hold Equity and KCB alone for some time, and even add more. I think people should invest only in companies they believe in and not buy any other stock just for the sake of diversification. Also, KPLC looks great for the future as electricity demand increases. And were the corruption at MOE to ever end (I know, I should stop dreamingsmile) ningenunua KK kesho! Had it once for a quick play when it hit 9 bob a while back. Haya basi! By the way, I'd like to know why you 'favour' Kengen over KPLC
Cde Monomotapa
#44 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2011 6:39:00 AM

@Cde YCSN...thanks a lot for the response. Seems we both have a fancy for lending out other people's deposits. Mmm...I have to commend u for a portfolio that if I had too, i'd be achieving above Av. sleep daily - thus, indeed investors should invest in Co.s they believe in. MSC lakini...eish boss..MSC has become too hazy for me nowadays. We will exchange notes later. MSC is my mama & baba in this business, back in '03 - '06 mad love. Why KGN? My investment case is that 1.there is insufficiency of Elec.2.power demand growth is "asset backed" by GDP growth, 3.it is a basic need (u pay me every month!!), 4.Under Eddie Njoroge most projects r on time now, 5.and this is the mother..KGN's deliberate efforts toward green energy will begin being rewarded as of next year - when they earn the 1st Carbon Credit cheque...so apart from having a solid core business,,we will have a serious cash cow to boot!
Cde Monomotapa
#45 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2011 6:53:54 AM

KPLC, is a good Co. Bought some when the tarriff review was made in 08/09, bei ya kutupa, generous dividends wonderful gains on sale. I am especially confident that prepaid metering will do them very well! (and by extension KGN), KK is the pawn in my portfolio, LIFO pap! when need arises.
Genghis Khan
#46 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2011 9:14:42 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
@Cde YCSN...thanks a lot for the response. Seems we both have a fancy for lending out other people's deposits. Mmm...I have to commend u for a portfolio that if I had too, i'd be achieving above Av. sleep daily - thus, indeed investors should invest in Co.s they believe in. MSC lakini...eish boss..MSC has become too hazy for me nowadays. We will exchange notes later. MSC is my mama & baba in this business, back in '03 - '06 mad love. Why KGN? My investment case is that 1.there is insufficiency of Elec.2.power demand growth is "asset backed" by GDP growth, 3.it is a basic need (u pay me every month!!), 4.Under Eddie Njoroge most projects r on time now, 5.and this is the mother..KGN's deliberate efforts toward green energy will begin being rewarded as of next year - when they earn the 1st Carbon Credit cheque...so apart from having a solid core business,,we will have a serious cash cow to boot!

Now this i like... haven't heard much about it though, I'll look around...

How are they earning the credits? Biofuel/geothermal/wind???

Any large projects in the works?
"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
Cde Monomotapa
#47 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2011 9:22:56 AM

@GK the green projects are mostly Geo-thermal & wind. Go on to www.kengen.co.ke and u'll get all you r looking for thereon. Matter of fact, just download the annual report. Cheers.
Genghis Khan
#48 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2011 9:42:54 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
@GK the green projects are mostly Geo-thermal & wind. Go on to www.kengen.co.ke and u'll get all you r looking for thereon. Matter of fact, just download the annual report. Cheers.

sawa, thanks. will read. Am surprised they are not singing from the rooftops about it like mumiassmile
"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
mkonomtupu
#49 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2011 9:46:25 AM

@Cde you must also add about Kengen that KPLC will have to pay more for the new plants based on wheeling tariff guidelines. Anyway i am increasing both Kengen and KPLC in anticipation of the impending retail power tariffs review which is done every three years. The ERC is expected to review the tariff upwards to compensate for the new power plants which have come on board since the last review in 2008. The last review KPLC got a 21% increase.
Cde Monomotapa
#50 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2011 12:17:17 PM

Genghis Khan wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

sawa, thanks. will read. Am surprised they are not singing from the rooftops about it like mumiassmile

Most welcome. Njoroge has less political tendencies, he he.
Cde Monomotapa
#51 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2011 12:23:39 PM

mkonomtupu wrote:
@Cde you must also add about Kengen that KPLC will have to pay more for the new plants based on wheeling tariff guidelines. Anyway i am increasing both Kengen and KPLC in anticipation of the impending retail power tariffs review which is done every three years. The ERC is expected to review the tariff upwards to compensate for the new power plants which have come on board since the last review in 2008. The last review KPLC got a 21% increase.

Eish boss, thanx about the heads up on the tarriff reviews. Wasn't aware that it is 3yr cycles, thought we were @ the pleasure/mercy of ERC.
mfadhili
#52 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2011 12:34:40 PM

any1 wth a clue on earnin carbon credit outside the income lines of KGn or KPLC?
The Merchant
#53 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2011 3:53:41 PM

mfadhili wrote:
any1 wth a clue on earnin carbon credit outside the income lines of KGn or KPLC?

You need to own lots of land under forestation (lack of a better word)...Visi the ACX website, first carbon trading exchange in Africa right here in Nairobi.
Cde Monomotapa
#54 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2011 12:40:15 AM

The Merchant wrote:
mfadhili wrote:

You need to own lots of land under forestation (lack of a better word)...Visi the ACX website, first carbon trading exchange in Africa right here in Nairobi.

Took some time on the ACX site n' I have to say "na hiyo ni maendeleo!" It is a great honor to have it based in NBO! Also read an article thereon that the global carbon credit mkt is worth USD1.25T!! Wololo, KGN is so going to cream this one!!
#55 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2011 8:04:37 AM

The Merchant wrote:
mfadhili wrote:

Mumias Sugar......
the deal
#56 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2011 8:31:41 AM

I have never had interest in KENGEN i dont know why but their recent earnings have never made me think twice..all i hear is past tense..oooh pple made money from Kengen IPO bla bla bla...lol
Cde Monomotapa
#57 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2011 9:39:22 AM

the deal wrote:
I have never had interest in KENGEN i dont know why but their recent earnings have never made me think twice..all i hear is past tense..oooh pple made money from Kengen IPO bla bla bla...lol

They say don't let your past blind your future.

Follow the link and just think Kengen Geo-thermal & wind as you go through it.

http://www.businessdaily...8/-/fgasxd/-/index.html

This carbon bizna will be a real cash spinner!
#58 Posted : Wednesday, April 20, 2011 11:33:01 AM

Everything is for sale at the right price... even my KK...
#59 Posted : Saturday, April 23, 2011 9:34:29 AM

mfadhili wrote:

I'm not sure about kengen but I know for a fact KPLC will be earning AT LEAST 100million from carbon credits per year..