3 Pages<123
Safcom touches 3.60
#41 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 9:46:46 AM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
Safcom earns 84% revenue from data
Not yet... Voice remains #1 for now. Revenue [not profits]
Wa_ithaka
#42 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 9:56:15 AM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
Safcom earns 84% revenue from data
Not yet... Voice remains #1 for now. Revenue [not profits]

Pole. I ofcourse meant 84% from voice
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#43 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 10:23:57 AM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
Jamani wrote:
Wa_ithaka wrote:
2 sillings is a good place to buy this stock

But will it ever get there 2-bob? The demand is so high at 3.5 Maybe in 2012 if we have similar incidents as we did in 07

Jamani was talking about how much I think its worth. It used to charge Ksh8 when it was around ksh5, it is now charging between 3-4 on average hence price has to go to the same level.
That storro of data revenue is fake. Safcom earns 84% revenue from data

84 % from data! Really?
Jamani
#44 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 10:46:33 AM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
Jamani wrote:
Wa_ithaka wrote:
2 sillings is a good place to buy this stock

But will it ever get there 2-bob? The demand is so high at 3.5 Maybe in 2012 if we have similar incidents as we did in 07

Jamani was talking about how much I think its worth. It used to charge Ksh8 when it was around ksh5, it is now charging between 3-4 on average hence price has to go to the same level.
That storro of data revenue is fake. Safcom earns 84% revenue from data

Okay got your point on worth, but the 84% on data I think its not correct.
#45 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 11:10:10 AM

Voice is now about 70% collect me if i'm wrong111111
#46 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 2:39:44 PM

Airtel 3G coming... http://www.nation.co.ke/...24/-/eug73f/-/index.html
annsal
#47 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 3:00:24 PM

[quote=VituVingiSana]Airtel 3G coming... http://www.nation.co.ke/...4/-/eug73f/-/index.html[/quote]

@vvs- what do anticipate with the launch of 3G-is it going to affect data only or it will affect both(voice & data)
God loves a Trier!
#48 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 3:41:47 PM

[quote=VituVingiSana]Airtel 3G coming... http://www.nation.co.ke/...4/-/eug73f/-/index.html[/quote]

I think Orange presents a more realistic challenge in the Data arena than Airtel in the short term. A stable 3G network requires a dense rollout of Node Bs, which takes a lot of time and money. This will not be achieved in weeks, more like months. The initial nodes might not adequately support users who connect, especially if the publicity and marketing is notched up,...service level collapses to EDGE or worse, GPRS. Airtel management have to cautious how they go about this, it needs to be a massive upfront investment, undertaken with great technical skill. They need major equipment manufacturers ( say Nokia-Siemens, Alcatel-Lucent, Huawei etc etc) with 3G experience in on the act; KDN? I remain a bit skeptical. I could be wrong of course. Anyone with more insights?
#49 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 3:59:23 PM

KDN has a very big coverage in the country I think they have the biggest cable network ,I might be wrong But I think from where I come from They are the Only ones with the cable(shags that is).

Another thing I hear safaricom had a working contract with KDN b4 safaricom launched an assult on its market.SO I think KDN have a reason to pay back what safaricom did to its market share by partnering with safaricom bitter Rival.Meralli might be smiling all the way to the Bank right about now.

I foresee safaricom buying AK although I hear safaricom are partners in Jamii telecoms (uncomfirmed reports)

#50 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 4:25:32 PM

I see Nokia-Siemens and Ericsson mentioned there somewhere ...speed reading, had missed the part ...,
fullu fullu
#51 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 4:50:15 PM

KDN will only provide the infrastructor between the different BTS's but the equipment will be provided by NSN, Ericcson and Alcatel in some areas.............i might be wrong
bird_man
#52 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 5:12:21 PM

Cable belongs to KDN for long distance connection.
BTS belongs to Safcom for final broadcast from the cable.Last mile solution.
Ericsson/NokiaS/Alcatel does the networks and manages them.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#53 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 8:12:30 PM

Woop woop!
erifloss
#54 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 8:44:04 PM

selah wrote:
I foresee safaricom buying AK although I hear safaricom are partners in Jamii telecoms (uncomfirmed reports)

Heard the same about Jamii & Safcom. As for Airtel's BTS stations some are being maintained by by an Indian company called GTL.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
#55 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2011 11:43:05 PM

Wazuans - Please ask @the deal to look me up...!

can you recommend conference venue and hotels in windhoek?
#56 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 1:47:05 PM

Safaricom wins backing in row with rivals [read airtel] over sharing M-Pesa

No sharing of MPesa
#57 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2011 2:04:55 PM

Why cant airtel build their own goodwill?its very stupid to always use guerilla tricks to win sympathy.
#58 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 1:54:14 AM

I support CBK's stand except a caveat... Let them interconnect but with Safaricom earning a fair fee since they built the network for M-Pesa...

Airtel is probably using the M-Pesa issue to counter the PR [& goodwill] Safaricom generated from its ardent supporters & shareholders as regards cheaper Voice Calls...

If GoK puts price floors on calls than Airtel can push for concessions on other matters. In this case, I agree with Airtel i.e. we need a LEVEL playing field. We can't have GoK support one over the other!

I say let them COMPETE on price, accessibility & service... I use Airtel to pay my stima bill. It costs me 10/- only vs 25/- for Safaricom... Let consumers decide not GoK...
Jamani
#59 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 4:22:37 AM

I support CBK's stand except a caveat... Let them interconnect but with Safaricom earning a fair fee since they built the network for M-Pesa...

Airtel is probably using the M-Pesa issue to counter the PR [& goodwill] Safaricom generated from its ardent supporters & shareholders as regards cheaper Voice Calls...

If GoK puts price floors on calls than Airtel can push for concessions on other matters. In this case, I agree with Airtel i.e. we need a LEVEL playing field. We can't have GoK support one over the other!

I say let them COMPETE on price, accessibility & service... I use Airtel to pay my stima bill. It costs me 10/- only vs 25/- for Safaricom... Let consumers decide not GoK...

Airtel just wants to ride on the success of others, they dont even have their own money transfer service, Zap is owned by K-rep not Airtel. its a service they didnt want to invest in, now they are busy crying for help..... the field is level bwana let them come up with their money transfer service plus other innovative services then compete straight. They had the edge in the market infact leading however they insisted on per minute charging and high denomination scratch cards and lost it straight...
erifloss
#60 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 8:24:58 AM

CBK on point with their decision. Mpesa is a proprietory product & the rights only belong to the owner who are the ones that can decide who to give. As earlier said, the war will be won by the best value addition & data.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary