7 Pages<12345>»
Could Safaricom issue a profit warning?
hisah
#41 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 2:46:27 PM

http://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/kghwyi/-/index.html

To quote the PM
“If Airtel can afford to bring their prices down, Safaricom can also afford it. The time has come for Safaricom to face competition,” the PM stated.

“They (safcom) have been used to making billions and billions of shillings in profits for years because it pays its workers peanuts,” he stated.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#42 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 3:46:44 PM

hisah wrote:
http://www.nation.co.ke/News/Phone+price+wars+healthy+says+Raila+/-/1056/1109030/-/kghwyi/-/index.html

To quote the PM
“If Airtel can afford to bring their prices down, Safaricom can also afford it. The time has come for Safaricom to face competition,” the PM stated.

“They (safcom) have been used to making billions and billions of shillings in profits for years because it pays its workers peanuts,” he stated.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
Finally, someone in Government with the nuts to speak out against the whining of safaricon. Heko PM.Applause Applause Applause Back to the drawing board for Shillingi and co. at safaricon
#43 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 3:49:32 PM

I might not support all that Raila says but he is right... I prefer the firms fight it out in the marketplace!

Lakini, we know who really holds the power in GoK... baba jimmy...
hisah
#44 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 6:00:16 PM

The only question is, if safcom reports the same revenues or more (likely), will airtel continue with the price war or will mwananchi demand lower prices...? In the meantime since the share has been defensive since Sept, such a flat revenue performance or slightly above will see it rallying... Bizarro market....
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
bepari
#45 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 8:22:16 PM

it seems that safcom has hired mercinaries to do its biding in the house.how do you explain that the mps were quizing Raila based on the same tired arguments that collymore uses. kilonzo,khalwale,mututho and eseli might aswell wear safcom t-shirts to the house. thank God for RAO he stood his ground,as far as outsourcing is concerned the are lucky we cant outsource that parliament to china.looking forward to PM's statement on wednesday.
if you aint livin on the edge,you are taking too much space....
bepari
#46 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 8:27:13 PM

it seems that safcom has hired mercinaries to do its biding in the house.how do you explain that the mps were quizing Raila based on the same tired arguments that collymore uses. kilonzo,khalwale,mututho and eseli might aswell wear safcom t-shirts to the house. thank God for RAO he stood his ground,as far as outsourcing is concerned the are lucky we cant outsource that parliament to china.looking forward to PM's statement on wednesday.
#47 Posted : Thursday, February 17, 2011 9:51:57 PM

bepari wrote:
as far as outsourcing is concerned the are lucky we cant outsource that parliament to china.looking forward to PM's statement on wednesday.
I would outsource most MPigs to somali pirate waters. Where the sharks are...
#48 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 7:29:03 AM

hisah wrote:

To quote the PM

Populist nonsense!!

SCOM has been "facing the competition" since inception. Has the PM forgotten that SCOM was the third phone company in Kenya?

About paying workers peanuts: has anyone ever heard an SCOM employee complaining?

And on "making billions" would he prefer they made losses? What sort of profit does he think a company with 15 million customers and sh70b in net assets should be making?

The PM should keep his mouth shut on matters he doesn't understand!
Cde Monomotapa
#49 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 7:41:28 AM

"..this is not a fish market, right!!" qoute Hon. Kimunya '07.
#50 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 8:23:44 AM

For the avoidance of doubt: the opinion expressed above is NOT for the support of government protection of SCOM. It is simply a counter to the PM,s sentiments.
#51 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 8:24:42 AM

Why are people upset when Safaricom faces competition, lower prices & lower profits?

Why not help KK out by setting MINIMUM prices [which KK would love based on 'fair' pricing] instead of price caps?

What is different between KK & Safaricom?
#52 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 8:36:35 AM

Why are people upset when Safaricom faces competition, lower prices & lower profits?

Why not help KK out by setting MINIMUM prices [which KK would love based on 'fair' pricing] instead of price caps?

One supplies a more essential product than the other...
#53 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 8:46:50 AM

mukiha wrote:

Which one is 'more' essential?
#54 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 8:52:36 AM

Communication is a htman right
bepari
#55 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 9:23:25 AM

i'll agree that raila may not understand matters telco as much as the average wazuan, but some things are just common sense;why cant safcom spin off its call centre so that other telcos might use it,share BTS to bring down costs and concentrate on its core competence. someone needs to sell their safcom shares and see matters as the are.
#56 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 11:37:25 AM

mukiha wrote:

Ask yourself this: what would be more catastrophic - all petrol stations running dry or all phone lines going dead?

#57 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 12:24:42 PM

mukiha wrote:

Ask yourself this: what would be more catastrophic - all petrol stations running dry or all phone lines going dead?
Well... In Brazil, they use 100% ethanol in the cars so I figure they don't care as much about petrol...
#58 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 12:37:53 PM

mukiha wrote:

Well... In Brazil, they use 100% ethanol in the cars so I figure they don't care as much about petrol...

OK, instead of "petrol station", insert "fuel station" and then answer the question...
#59 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 12:42:48 PM

mukiha wrote:

OK, instead of "petrol station", insert "fuel station" and then answer the question...
Well, if I can replace your 'phone lines' with conversation/letters/smoke signals/drumbeats?
#60 Posted : Friday, February 18, 2011 1:13:17 PM

A bit tired of the title and simplistic arguments and guesswork about safaricoms revenue, it's so simple, current voice ARPU 362(as per CCK report below) and 16.7 million customers reflects a voice revenue of about 72.5billion assuming no growth since September, but we all know there is growth. You can do the calculations yourself using the historical data on their 2010 full year

http://www.safaricom.co...._report_2010/index.html

For example the average ARPU for 2008 was 616/-, customer base was between opening 6.081mill, closing 10.231. Average base 8.156mill, approximate revenue = ARPU*8.156mill*12= 60billion (ACTUAL FIGURE 61.39Billion) YOU CAN CHECK!!
Do the same for 2007 you will get 48.05billion against the actual 47.77Billion

Safaricom revenues are not dropping and the CEO implied so (wish i can trace the interview) and with the facts below you can calculate for yourself. NOTABLY THE CHANGE IN MINUTES OF USE ON CCK REPORT

Additional Sources:- CCK sector report

(NOTE THIS WAS AT COMMENCEMENT OF PRICE WARS IN SEPTEMBER AFTER WHICH SAFCOM HAS PICKED MOMENTUM)
http://www.cck.go.ke/res...TICS_REPORT_Q1_1011.pdf

HIGHLIGHTS:-

Subscribers
Page 7
Safaricom 16.71million

Voice Traffic
Page. 8

Similarly, the number of voice minutes received on all mobile networks was 6.63 billion
minutes, representing 97.5 per cent increase from the same period of the previous year
i.e Q1 09/10 against Q1 10/11

The industry’s ARPU now stands at Sh362.20 compared to Sh425.85 in 2007 and Sh376.5 in 2008, according to CCK data.
So has revenue declined sharply? They close year in March. The only guys in trouble are kina airtel.
Meru Holiness