wazua Sat, Aug 2, 2025

7 Pages<12345>»
accesskenya all the way to 11.85
#41 Posted : Saturday, December 18, 2010 8:07:33 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Wananchi, 1MB fibre cable (last 10 metres coax) at ksh 999/- per month. Death knell for AK.

telco operators have been bleeding money big time. Wananchi may have very seductive offerings but just like orange and airtel have not turned a profit since acquisition. I think the only guys in the green are ak (now going down) and safaricom.
Aguytrying
#42 Posted : Sunday, December 19, 2010 1:44:31 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Wananchi, 1MB fibre cable (last 10 metres coax) at ksh 999/- per month. Death knell for AK.

telco operators have been bleeding money big time. Wananchi may have very seductive offerings but just like orange and airtel have not turned a profit since acquisition. I think the only guys in the green are ak (now going down) and safaricom.

@sparky. Wananchi business changed hands? When? Tell us more. And they havent turned a profit. Wow. This is news to me. zuku's prospectS are good though, they are really penetrating the market. Im a customer, and i love them!!
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
qw25041985
#43 Posted : Sunday, December 19, 2010 2:04:08 PM

@ sparkly. Wacha bangi bwana . And i even suspect u are taking the cheap variety. How in ur right mind can you say that a.k is in the green. I thought they even issud a profit warning . And that open view deal is what bleeding them allot of mulah.So where are this profits that u are seeing ? Secondly who aquired wananchi ? They are actually the once doing the aquiring.Stop readin' gutter press. Give us the link w/ that story. Otherwise wacha kutupa mbao so early in life. Lol !
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
Aguytrying
#44 Posted : Sunday, December 19, 2010 9:39:12 PM

qw25041985 wrote:
@ sparkly. Wacha bangi bwana . And i even suspect u are taking the cheap variety. How in ur right mind can you say that a.k is in the green. I thought they even issud a profit warning . And that open view deal is what bleeding them allot of mulah.So where are this profits that u are seeing ? Secondly who aquired wananchi ? They are actually the once doing the aquiring.Stop readin' gutter press. Give us the link w/ that story. Otherwise wacha kutupa mbao so early in life. Lol !
ha ha. Go easy on him. Kwani ukona vendetta naye. Let the gentleman explain himself. I also heard of the zuku acquisition a few months back, but not in detail.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#45 Posted : Sunday, December 19, 2010 10:32:13 PM

@qw hold your excitement. @aguy wananchi online was acquired by ATMT FUND of the USA in 2008. This was done through a mauritius registered entity (wananchi holdings). They then acquired mitsuminet and simbanet. Simbanet is also in TZ. All this was in citizen tv "who owns kenya" a month ago. They have been pumping money for the triple play cable, base stations and wimax. belief you me they are far from reaching a critical mass in customer numbers or breaking even. See here: www.moneybiz.co.za/afric...iness_and_technology=102
innovator
#46 Posted : Sunday, December 19, 2010 11:31:15 PM

You have been a member since:: 7/24/2010
sheep
#47 Posted : Monday, December 20, 2010 10:36:11 AM

mhhhh...lets see whether 13 will hold...if it goes below that...I wont touch it with a ten foot pole.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
bartum
#48 Posted : Monday, December 20, 2010 12:45:53 PM

on monday and a low of 12.80
Aguytrying
#49 Posted : Monday, December 20, 2010 5:32:15 PM

@qw hold your excitement. @aguy wananchi online was acquired by ATMT FUND of the USA in 2008. This was done through a mauritius registered entity (wananchi holdings). They then acquired mitsuminet and simbanet. Simbanet is also in TZ. All this was in citizen tv "who owns kenya" a month ago. They have been pumping money for the triple play cable, base stations and wimax. belief you me they are far from reaching a critical mass in customer numbers or breaking even. See here: www.moneybiz.co.za/afric...iness_and_technology=102

Aguytrying
#50 Posted : Monday, December 20, 2010 6:05:19 PM

@sparkly. Thanks for the info. Zuku brand was launched around that time come to think of it. Looking back, they've achieved the wi max goal. Today for the first time, there was a que when i went to pay my bill. The receptionist confirmed that clients off late had increased than before. I dont know about their financial health, but all other areas, they are doing well. I just wish they were listed.
#51 Posted : Monday, December 20, 2010 8:23:22 PM

@aguy pssst... Zuku will be available on satellite soon.
stock.enigma
#52 Posted : Monday, December 20, 2010 8:33:17 PM

I bought at ksh 35, then i had an option of buying scan at the same price. As an enigma, I find myself in a rather difficult situation. Scan is now double that price, AK is 70% down. Should I be renamed?
qw25041985
#53 Posted : Monday, December 20, 2010 8:45:40 PM

@ stock.enigma . hahahaha. u must be kiddin me . A.K used to trade @ 35.00 !!!!! and i was thinkin i bought it the most expensive @ 21.00 !!!!!!!!!!!
Chaka
#54 Posted : Monday, December 20, 2010 9:08:21 PM

Has anyone here received their AK dividend?
jawz1
#55 Posted : Tuesday, December 21, 2010 6:35:46 AM

Chaka wrote:

Got my cheque some 2 weeks ago...
"When the pupil is ready to learn, a teacher will appear." -- Zen proverb
Tommy
#56 Posted : Tuesday, December 21, 2010 6:39:02 AM

qw25041985 wrote:
@ stock.enigma . hahahaha. u must be kiddin me . A.K used to trade @ 35.00 !!!!! and i was thinkin i bought it the most expensive @ 21.00 !!!!!!!!!!!

@qw dont tell me that u hold this thing.Applause
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#57 Posted : Tuesday, December 21, 2010 7:00:27 AM

qw25041985 wrote:
How in ur right mind can you say that a.k is in the green. I thought they even issud a profit warning .So where are this profits that u are seeing ?

@qw let me school you on some investing 101

A profit warning does not necessarily mean they will post a loss...

It may also mean they will post a lesser profit than last years but its still a profit...

That said A.K, neveready and olympia will continue bleeding investors money until they delist or go bankrupt...
#58 Posted : Tuesday, December 21, 2010 8:20:07 AM

jawz1 wrote:
Chaka wrote:

Got my cheque some 2 weeks ago...

got mine too
jawz1
#59 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 6:03:07 PM

sheep wrote:
mhhhh...lets see whether 13 will hold...if it goes below that...I wont touch it with a ten foot pole.

@sheep AK at 12.95 today...still going fishing in these shark-infested waters?
"When the pupil is ready to learn, a teacher will appear." -- Zen proverb
qw25041985
#60 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 6:46:02 PM

The next support for this stock technically is @ 10.00 ( its ipo price) . And not 13.00 . I plan to get in around 11.00 before january '11 . This is a pure speculative play but funny enough takin a sizable chunk of my mulah.