Ericsson wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:Ericsson wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:innairobi wrote:maka wrote:How many banks does Ethiopia have?
more than a dozen. in reality though, there is one dominant state-owned behemoth called commercial bank of ethiopia. kama nakumbuka, CBE assets are like 70 percent of the country's entire banking industry's.
It's better/safer for Safcom to partner to first partner with a decent "private" bank than a large state-owned bank. CBE may have breadth but usually such banks have lots of siasa so bureaucracy and nationalism would run rife. A smaller (private) bank can implement M-Pesa faster [though it needs to get Ethioptel on board] and has an incentive to expand its mobile outreach. Think CBA (Kenya) with limited branches yet M-Shwari in conjunction with Safaricom spread all over Kenya. KCB was a late entrant. Equity's relationship with Safcom soured.
I hope Safcom can crack the market coz it will be huge for them!!!
Topic is safaricom acquiring a stake in Ethiopia telecom.
Sasa bank fulani imetokea wapi
"We wish to categorically state that we are not engaged in any conversations with Ethio Telecom on this matter" Bob Collymore
And ulitoa wapi story of partnering with a bank
I said I would like Safaricom to partner with a decent private Ethiopian bank. Why are you getting stressed out about that?
Safcom can deploy the M-Pesa platform on the cheap [not easy though to work in ET] with a ET bank which can then hook up with Ethiopia Telcom. Safcom then gets a cut of the action...