wazua Thu, Jan 16, 2025

28 Pages«<25262728>
Safaricom HY2013 Profit before tax up 113%
young
#521 Posted : Tuesday, October 08, 2013 12:42:54 PM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
Now hit 9.50 - its bull season and then will come bear season.

Yes safaricom price cannot appreciate everyday indefinately. There will be price correction after foreign insitutional investors finish their buying spree. It might touch 10 bob before this happens.
This correction may be momentary because if November expected HY safaricom result is excellent as expected, the bull run will resume past 10 bob on or before early 2014.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
the deal
#522 Posted : Tuesday, October 08, 2013 1:22:06 PM

young wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:

Yes safaricom price cannot appreciate everyday indefinately. There will be price correction after foreign insitutional investors finish their buying spree. It might touch 10 bob before this happens.
This correction may be momentary because if November expected HY safaricom result is excellent as expected, the bull run will resume past 10 bob on or before early 2014.

I see the bull market euphoria has gotten into your head @MrYoung...Bears feed on Euphoria.
young
#523 Posted : Tuesday, October 08, 2013 1:49:18 PM

the deal wrote:
young wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:

I see the bull market euphoria has gotten into your head @MrYoung...Bears feed on Euphoria.

@The deal of Namibia,

Be aware fundamentals is not everything. What drives prices is consistent profit growth not necessarily PE.

ARM with a PE of 29.08 is apprciating at the moment faster than Bamburi with a PE of 17.58.

The big boy EABL has a PE of 38.55, what is driving its price ?

What is making KCB grow faster than Equity ?
It is the HY results. KCB performed better than Equity. But look at the PEs. KCB at 11.44 and equity at 10.51 ? If Equity performs better in Q3 VS KCB, you will see a steep rise in equity, but if KCB outperforms equity, the gap between KCB VS Equity will be wider irrspective of the fact that equity may still have lower PE which means it is cheaper.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
#524 Posted : Tuesday, October 08, 2013 2:11:05 PM

In my view @young @the deal, we are coming into a new phenomenon best described with one word - foreigners .

So much so that the biggest risk to NSE advance is their perception, the Euro, the US shutdown. And any stock they perceive as puny goes nowhere.

At price of SCOM 9.50 and KCB 49, the large blocks move only between these aliens; not fund managers, not you and me. And the rising tide it creates lifts everything up smile

young
#525 Posted : Tuesday, October 08, 2013 2:39:28 PM

Greeting dear @Muganda,

I beg to differ. Foreigners influence has always been there especially on blue chips. The counters look expensive to locals but cheap for foreigners who are mainly long termers, not short term as the locals.
Also foreigners include foreign managers, and institutional inventors not only high net worth individuals. I am privy of the fact that Databank of Ghana that owns epack are buying Safaricom up to 10 bob , KCB up to 48.50 bob and EABL up to 350 bob before they exit.
The locals (Kenya) are minority stake holders in NSE blue chips from my best of my knowledge. You only have a few rich kenyans that control high percentage of this stocks and they rarely sale as they prefer to have influence in these companies as board appointments etc. It is the Nwananchi retailers that provide supply to institutional inventors.

After all those that bought SAfaricom at 5.00 bob during IPO in 2006 are happy to sale at 9.00 bob. The foreigners will buy hold it for same 4 years and exit at 20+. Who is better off ?
young
#526 Posted : Tuesday, October 08, 2013 2:41:19 PM

Greeting dear @Muganda,

I beg to differ. Foreigners influence has always been there especially on blue chip. The look expensive to locals but cheap for foreigners who are mainly long termers, not short term as the locals.
Also foreigners include foreign foreign managers, and institutional inventors not only high net worth individuals. I am privy of the fact that Databank of Ghana that owns epack are buying Safaricom up to 10 bob , KCB up to 48.50 bob and EABL up to 350 bob before they exit.
The locals (Kenya) are minority stake holders in NSE blue chips from my best of my knowledge. You only have a few rich kenyans that control high percentage of this stocks and they rarely sale as they prefer to have influence in these companies as board appointments etc. It is the Nwananchi retailers that provide supply to institutional inventors.

After all those that bought SAfaricom at 5.00 bob during IPO in 2006 are happy to sale at 9.00 bob. The foreigners will buy hold it for same 4 years and exit at 20+. Who is better off ?
#527 Posted : Tuesday, October 08, 2013 3:55:40 PM

young wrote:
Greeting dear @Muganda,

That would be the day we achieve vision 2030...YOu mean safaricom can hit a Market capitalization of Sh.800B in 4 yrs ...I think thats just being too optimistic.
#528 Posted : Tuesday, October 08, 2013 4:17:51 PM

Hello @young, I must admit I did not factor in African purchases. After excluding retail and local institutional investors, I was only thinking of HSBC, Morgan Stanley and the like...

Interestingly, isn't it fair to estimate...
Vodafone 40%
Government 35%
Foreign investors 15%
Local corporate 7.5%
Local retail 2.5%

young wrote:
Greeting dear @Muganda,

I beg to differ. Foreigners influence has always been there especially on blue chip. The look expensive to locals but cheap for foreigners who are mainly long termers, not short term as the locals.
Also foreigners include foreign foreign managers, and institutional inventors not only high net worth individuals. I am privy of the fact that Databank of Ghana that owns epack are buying Safaricom up to 10 bob , KCB up to 48.50 bob and EABL up to 350 bob before they exit.

young
#529 Posted : Tuesday, October 08, 2013 4:47:43 PM

Safaricom to be debt free in 2015

http://www.businessdaily.../-/vgwyj8z/-/index.html

Safaricom Sees Rising Dividend as Debt Falls

http://www.businessdaily...6/-/ilvhrv/-/index.html

Question ? What do you expect in the next 2 to 4 years ?
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#530 Posted : Tuesday, October 08, 2013 5:01:36 PM

Karibu @Young.@Hisah and I are sworn safari aka mpesa bank diehardssmile
@SufficientlyP
the deal
#531 Posted : Tuesday, October 08, 2013 6:44:24 PM

young wrote:
the deal wrote:
young wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:

@The deal of Namibia,

Be aware fundamentals is not everything. What drives prices is consistent profit growth not necessarily PE.

ARM with a PE of 29.08 is apprciating at the moment faster than Bamburi with a PE of 17.58.

The big boy EABL has a PE of 38.55, what is driving its price ?

What is making KCB grow faster than Equity ?
It is the HY results. KCB performed better than Equity. But look at the PEs. KCB at 11.44 and equity at 10.51 ? If Equity performs better in Q3 VS KCB, you will see a steep rise in equity, but if KCB outperforms equity, the gap between KCB VS Equity will be wider irrspective of the fact that equity may still have lower PE which means it is cheaper.

@MrYoung people only say lets throw away fundamentals during bubbles...
#532 Posted : Tuesday, October 08, 2013 8:28:21 PM

selah wrote:
young wrote:
Greeting dear @Muganda,

That would be the day we achieve vision 2030...YOu mean safaricom can hit a Market capitalization of Sh.800B in 4 yrs ...I think thats just being too optimistic.

Marktcap in 2011 vs 2013?
hisah
#533 Posted : Thursday, October 10, 2013 7:51:53 AM

I can see mpesa bank is about to become a reality with this new CBK guidelines. I hope in future they'll list the mpesa firm instead of trading under the parent SCOM. This way we can follow mpesa bank as a bank. If it happens it'll be better holding the mpesa bank shares than the telco shares.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/14bgjuqz/-/index.html
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
mwekez@ji
#534 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 11:11:20 AM

HSBC has cut Safaricom to underweight from overweight http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2...ignal-nairobi-mover.html
hisah
#535 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 11:31:15 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
HSBC has cut Safaricom to underweight from overweight http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2...ignal-nairobi-mover.html

Good signal. Today we should see volume spike and I expect 9/- to be defended...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
cnn
#536 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 11:39:20 AM

hisah wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:

Good signal. Today we should see volume spike and I expect 9/- to be defended...

That already happened this morning,over 50 million shares @ 9,and demand twelve times the supply.
hisah
#537 Posted : Wednesday, October 16, 2013 6:07:51 PM

Those Mpesa flows... M-Shwari and M-Benki will be interesting going forward.
Museveni
#538 Posted : Wednesday, October 16, 2013 6:44:44 PM

hisah wrote:

Those Mpesa flows... M-Shwari and M-Benki will be interesting going forward.

Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
hisah
#539 Posted : Monday, October 21, 2013 12:59:13 PM

Safaricom raises cost of calls to EA countries - http://www.nation.co.ke/...6/-/duyb0z/-/index.html

Safaricom has increased the cost of making calls to neighbouring countries, becoming the first telecom to react to harsher taxation regimes within East Africa.

“…some of the East African Community countries, namely Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi, have imposed new taxes and levies on all international calls from Kenya.This necessitates the upward revision of both our international calling and roaming rates,” said Safaricom.

This is sad indeed for EAC. Telco is now a necessity not a luxury for these economies... Bure kabisa.

They need to learn from the EU on how it harmonized roaming tariff across the eurozone.
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#540 Posted : Monday, October 21, 2013 3:42:56 PM

hisah wrote:
Safaricom raises cost of calls to EA countries - http://www.nation.co.ke/...6/-/duyb0z/-/index.html

Safaricom has increased the cost of making calls to neighbouring countries, becoming the first telecom to react to harsher taxation regimes within East Africa.

“…some of the East African Community countries, namely Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi, have imposed new taxes and levies on all international calls from Kenya.This necessitates the upward revision of both our international calling and roaming rates,” said Safaricom.

This is sad indeed for EAC. Telco is now a necessity not a luxury for these economies... Bure kabisa.

They need to learn from the EU on how it harmonized roaming tariff across the eurozone.

Soo sad this roaming thing in EA. KES25 a minute for receiving a call? I'd rather not pick it and walk across the border for a face to face conversation. It's all free. Unlimited. The maasai waysmile
@SufficientlyP