wazua Tue, Jan 7, 2025

272 Pages«<264265266267268>»
Investors Lounge
lochaz-index
#5301 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 8:42:30 AM

Scary developments. The story about African renaissance will become a cropper for most of the prospective countries.
President Nana Akufo-Addo said during a meeting with Xi in Beijing on Sunday: "The Ministry of Finance and economists in Ghana are looking at floating a $50 billion century bond. This will provide us with the resources to finance our infrastructural and industrial development."
https://mobile.reuters.c..._twitter_impression=true
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
Wororo
#5302 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 1:14:24 PM

rwitre
#5303 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 1:28:10 PM

Tough times Sad

Perhaps the goodies brought back by Ramaphosa from China will have an impact on the economy?
lochaz-index
#5304 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 7:33:19 PM

Alot of pain awaits South Africa. It is instructive to note that it is the agricultural sector that had the largest decline. Coupled with the overall EM rout, their policy misstep will make this a brutal ride....the rand will depreciate to ridiculous levels if the decision makers press forward with populist policies.
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
#5305 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 9:19:30 PM

lochaz-index wrote:

Alot of pain awaits South Africa. It is instructive to note that it is the agricultural sector that had the largest decline. Coupled with the overall EM rout, their policy misstep will make this a brutal ride....the rand will depreciate to ridiculous levels if the decision makers press forward with populist policies.

Waaah the rand has taken a proper beating....
Ericsson
#5306 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 9:26:19 PM

lochaz-index wrote:

Not surprised, this is Africa 🌍
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
muandiwambeu
#5307 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2018 9:10:34 AM

Wororo wrote:
wukan wrote:
lochaz-index wrote:
This doesn't look good for all EMs/FMs without exception. Hold on to your hats this could be a blowout.
The MSCI EM index of currencies is down 2.2 percent for August as of 10:18 a.m. in London, poised for a fifth monthly loss, the longest stretch since September 2015. South Africa’s rand headed for its worst August on record, while the lira rebounded on Friday after Turkey raised taxes on dollar deposits. In Asia, the Indonesian rupiah slid to its lowest since 1998, while the Indian rupee was set for its biggest monthly drop in three years and a fresh record low.
Looks like risk off season is here and this could evolve into a particularly nasty contagion given QE's largesse over the last decade.

Particularly disconcerting is that this isn't emanating from USD strength but rather from capital flight. Heck the blood bath from the EM/FM sell off is impacting on AMs specifically, Italy. Yields be spiking despite local banks buying out foreign investor bond sales to create bids. With the ECB set to end their QE one can only imagine how bad it will look next year.

ION Zambia and Kenya are the poorest performers in the eurobond market YTD. I expect sustained on KES and continued sell off at the NSE as investors scamper off. Just like in the stock market, when the music stops it is the weak economies (joyriders punching above their weight) that get culled first. https://www.bloomberg.co...p;utm_campaign=whatsapp

When I see wazuans cheering Mps for saving them from the VAT on fuel and rate caps, I just keep quiet. The hard landing will be nasty

Very true...

But on the bright side, the recession will make Kenyans realize that politically we are over-represented...

The legislative and the county membership ought to be trimmed down significantly...

That includes the number of counties too...

Alot will be required to be done to bounce back even better...

Devolution is God's gift to Kenya.. Which County would you want to scrap?

@Obiero, didn't imply scrapping off devolution/counties per se but instead, merging counties to reduce the running/administtation costs ... Plus improving the realization, agility and sustainability of various projects which ideally with the current high fragmentation requires several adjacent and regional counties to simultaneously come together to execute the same...

Devolution has indeed been a blessing to all Kenyans be it directly or indirectly...

Devolution is wonderful, I like to see governors running around whipping their people to be more productive and more civil(Civic enlightenment) and it is unprecedented.
I want to see who is that dimwit who will be willing to raise up in arms to machete a neighbour because of national politics any more. That alone brings undocumented social cohesion in our nation than never before.
If a county is blessed with vast land as is the case with lift valley, you only chase your workers(ukuyus) from your farms if you are a harder working donkey and can consume your maindi(maize) inhouse. So is mumias sugar belt, you throw stones, the backs that are holding the floodgates from comesa sugar and Brazil breaks. It's I need u, u need me situation, for a while as you reorganise your house, soon it will be United States of kenya, and the marriage will be rewritten as partners in trade and survival crime.
Sonko wa nai wacha aendeleze ujeuri, soon na hata ajui tatu city and konza city are not nairobi city, turkana and isiolo, Mombasa and Amerucan city are on the draft stage. Afterall taking a breath in our current cities u need have a NASA grade gas mask if at all u care for your health.
Am never more determined to make it while in Kenia like now. Excuse me, thimiti imekwama thitoo na Kokoto aitembei😂😂😂😂
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
lochaz-index
#5308 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2018 10:55:37 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
Wororo wrote:
wukan wrote:
lochaz-index wrote:
This doesn't look good for all EMs/FMs without exception. Hold on to your hats this could be a blowout.
The MSCI EM index of currencies is down 2.2 percent for August as of 10:18 a.m. in London, poised for a fifth monthly loss, the longest stretch since September 2015. South Africa’s rand headed for its worst August on record, while the lira rebounded on Friday after Turkey raised taxes on dollar deposits. In Asia, the Indonesian rupiah slid to its lowest since 1998, while the Indian rupee was set for its biggest monthly drop in three years and a fresh record low.
Looks like risk off season is here and this could evolve into a particularly nasty contagion given QE's largesse over the last decade.

Particularly disconcerting is that this isn't emanating from USD strength but rather from capital flight. Heck the blood bath from the EM/FM sell off is impacting on AMs specifically, Italy. Yields be spiking despite local banks buying out foreign investor bond sales to create bids. With the ECB set to end their QE one can only imagine how bad it will look next year.

ION Zambia and Kenya are the poorest performers in the eurobond market YTD. I expect sustained on KES and continued sell off at the NSE as investors scamper off. Just like in the stock market, when the music stops it is the weak economies (joyriders punching above their weight) that get culled first. https://www.bloomberg.co...p;utm_campaign=whatsapp

When I see wazuans cheering Mps for saving them from the VAT on fuel and rate caps, I just keep quiet. The hard landing will be nasty

Very true...

But on the bright side, the recession will make Kenyans realize that politically we are over-represented...

The legislative and the county membership ought to be trimmed down significantly...

That includes the number of counties too...

Alot will be required to be done to bounce back even better...

Devolution is God's gift to Kenya.. Which County would you want to scrap?

@Obiero, didn't imply scrapping off devolution/counties per se but instead, merging counties to reduce the running/administtation costs ... Plus improving the realization, agility and sustainability of various projects which ideally with the current high fragmentation requires several adjacent and regional counties to simultaneously come together to execute the same...

Devolution has indeed been a blessing to all Kenyans be it directly or indirectly...

Devolution is wonderful, I like to see governors running around whipping their people to be more productive and more civil(Civic enlightenment) and it is unprecedented.
I want to see who is that dimwit who will be willing to raise up in arms to machete a neighbour because of national politics any more. That alone brings undocumented social cohesion in our nation than never before.
If a county is blessed with vast land as is the case with lift valley, you only chase your workers(ukuyus) from your farms if you are a harder working donkey and can consume your maindi(maize) inhouse. So is mumias sugar belt, you throw stones, the backs that are holding the floodgates from comesa sugar and Brazil breaks. It's I need u, u need me situation, for a while as you reorganise your house, soon it will be United States of kenya, and the marriage will be rewritten as partners in trade and survival crime.
Sonko wa nai wacha aendeleze ujeuri, soon na hata ajui tatu city and konza city are not nairobi city, turkana and isiolo, Mombasa and Amerucan city are on the draft stage. Afterall taking a breath in our current cities u need have a NASA grade gas mask if at all u care for your health.
Am never more determined to make it while in Kenia like now. Excuse me, thimiti imekwama thitoo na Kokoto aitembei😂😂😂😂

For once I have understood the better part of your post...got lost towards the end though.
lochaz-index
#5309 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2018 10:57:27 AM

lochaz-index wrote:

I dare say the worst is yet to come. My target is at least 30 to the USD.
lochaz-index
#5310 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 8:42:48 AM

2018 hasn't been kind to the crypto fanbase. An average 72% (77% if adjusted for new issues) of the market cap has been wiped out...not even bitcoin itself has been spared having lost 68%. The harder they rallied the faster and harder they have fallen...ripple for example has tanked 92%. Market behaves the same way irrespective of the instrument being traded where euphoria marks the peak and begins the inevitable downside.

As if that wasn't bad enough if one took a large position on some of these cryptos exiting now is an excruciatingly hard affair seeing as volumes have plummeted and there are very few bids. Little wonder all the crypto threads went dead along with the new converts. https://www.bloomberg.co...-as-ether-leads-declines
#5311 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 8:50:44 AM

lochaz-index wrote:

Jeez get serious....d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
#5312 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 9:31:24 AM

[quote=lochaz-index]2018 hasn't been kind to the crypto fanbase. An average 72% (77% if adjusted for new issues) of the market cap has been wiped out...not even bitcoin itself has been spared having lost 68%. The harder they rallied the faster and harder they have fallen...ripple for example has tanked 92%. Market behaves the same way irrespective of the instrument being traded where euphoria marks the peak and begins the inevitable downside.

As if that wasn't bad enough if one took a large position on some of these cryptos exiting now is an excruciatingly hard affair seeing as volumes have plummeted and there are very few bids. Little wonder all the crypto threads went dead along with the new converts. https://www.bloomberg.co...as-ether-leads-declines[/quote]

#CrypoCurrency went mia!!!smile smile smile
wukan
#5313 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 9:36:38 AM

lochaz-index wrote:
2018 hasn't been kind to the crypto fanbase. An average 72% (77% if adjusted for new issues) of the market cap has been wiped out...not even bitcoin itself has been spared having lost 68%. The harder they rallied the faster and harder they have fallen...ripple for example has tanked 92%. Market behaves the same way irrespective of the instrument being traded where euphoria marks the peak and begins the inevitable downside.

As if that wasn't bad enough if one took a large position on some of these cryptos exiting now is an excruciatingly hard affair seeing as volumes have plummeted and there are very few bids. Little wonder all the crypto threads went dead along with the new converts. https://www.bloomberg.co...as-ether-leads-declines

The Pharaohs still need your money for their pharonic projects keep your crypto safesmile smile

Deputy President William Ruto yesterday said the government requires additional resources to propel the country’s development agenda.

Ruto’s statement comes as the executive is expected to engage the National Assembly today on the 16 per cent value added tax on fuel products.

Speaking at a fundraiser in Gikondi, Nyeri, Ruto said he is optimistic they will gather enough cash to fund development projects. “We will ensure we have enough money to push matters of development.”...
https://www.the-star.co....for-growth-dp_c1815931.
muandiwambeu
#5314 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 10:58:04 PM

wukan wrote:
lochaz-index wrote:

As if that wasn't bad enough if one took a large position on some of these cryptos exiting now is an excruciatingly hard affair seeing as volumes have plummeted and there are very few bids. Little wonder all the crypto threads went dead along with the new converts. https://www.bloomberg.co...as-ether-leads-declines

The Pharaohs still need your money for their pharonic projects keep your crypto safesmile smile

Deputy President William Ruto yesterday said the government requires additional resources to propel the country’s development agenda.

Ruto’s statement comes as the executive is expected to engage the National Assembly today on the 16 per cent value added tax on fuel products.

Speaking at a fundraiser in Gikondi, Nyeri, Ruto said he is optimistic they will gather enough cash to fund development projects. “We will ensure we have enough money to push matters of development.”...

Wacha a wo/man make Moni in Kenia, buat an aspiring president should make the money swealter for this economy to ticker. After wewe ukitengeneza pesa si unapeleka kwa Uncle Sam with tears and sackers on it. I need a president who has the expirience of where to jump , how to jump and jumping high, that he may not stammer in telling me how high I should jump to come down with the damn fruit and the tax there off.
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
Ericsson
#5315 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 9:44:36 AM

wukan wrote:
lochaz-index wrote:

Enough cash for development means more tenders for him and cash to pocket
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#5316 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 9:54:17 AM

Ericsson wrote:
wukan wrote:
lochaz-index wrote:

Enough cash for development means more tenders for him and cash to pocket

Why do we entertain this guy lakini?
lochaz-index
#5317 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 6:51:34 PM

lochaz-index wrote:

Consider this:

1. Agricultural sector contracted the most (close to 30%) QoQ. Since this has been triggered by a populist policy, it is reasonable to expect the same performance or worse, up and until the elections are held next year. That implies increased imports for an already lopsided BoP.

2. Land prices have tanked 32% since late last year. This trend will likely persist till some assurances are made or the seizure is abandoned altogether. You can imagine the havoc it will create in the economy especially for those properties which have been used as collateral in the banks...some owners could simply walk away from the property and the bank is left to dispose it at a pittance vs the borrowed amount.

3. South Africa is generally the first stop for investors/capital flows looking for exposure in the African capital markets. Hot money will be looking for the quickest exit from the rainbow nation as soon as forceful seizure of properties takes off. When inflows turn into outflows enmasse, the fate that awaits the rand will be similar/worse to what happened to the Turkish lira...reserves are quickly depleted in a futile attempt to defend a currency on weak fundies and unable to attract more funds.

4. Being mineral rich, South Africa - like all commodity dependent economies - is heavily reliant on the purchasing power of China. A bad year for the Chinese economy (very likely in 2019 seeing as the yuan is acting up) means a bad year for SA...this is already apparent for platinum prices/forex where it is the largest producer.
the deal
#5318 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 11:25:28 PM

lochaz-index wrote:

Land seizures won't happen anytime soon... Biggest risk is China slowing down & trade Trump tantrums... Currency is oversold at this levels... But it can still hit 17 later in the year

Consider this:

1. Agricultural sector contracted the most (close to 30%) QoQ. Since this has been triggered by a populist policy, it is reasonable to expect the same performance or worse, up and until the elections are held next year. That implies increased imports for an already lopsided BoP.

2. Land prices have tanked 32% since late last year. This trend will likely persist till some assurances are made or the seizure is abandoned altogether. You can imagine the havoc it will create in the economy especially for those properties which have been used as collateral in the banks...some owners could simply walk away from the property and the bank is left to dispose it at a pittance vs the borrowed amount.

3. South Africa is generally the first stop for investors/capital flows looking for exposure in the African capital markets. Hot money will be looking for the quickest exit from the rainbow nation as soon as forceful seizure of properties takes off. When inflows turn into outflows enmasse, the fate that awaits the rand will be similar/worse to what happened to the Turkish lira...reserves are quickly depleted in a futile attempt to defend a currency on weak fundies and unable to attract more funds.

4. Being mineral rich, South Africa - like all commodity dependent economies - is heavily reliant on the purchasing power of China. A bad year for the Chinese economy (very likely in 2019 seeing as the yuan is acting up) means a bad year for SA...this is already apparent for platinum prices/forex where it is the largest producer.

lochaz-index
#5319 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 11:51:11 AM

No respite for EM/FMs and the weaker AMs for the coming year as the neutral FFR is projected to close at around 3.25%. This represents a 100bps hike from current level. More capital flight(risk off) and a strong USD are a certainty in that environment. If the dollar gains undue momentum from the resultant actions then it won't be pretty.

In general if the hike projection holds, we should be looking at an average 20% shaving for EM/FM stocks in 2019.
lochaz-index
#5320 Posted : Wednesday, November 07, 2018 2:37:51 PM

lochaz-index wrote:
No respite for EM/FMs and the weaker AMs for the coming year as the neutral FFR is projected to close at around 3.25%. This represents a 100bps hike from current level. More capital flight(risk off) and a strong USD are a certainty in that environment. If the dollar gains undue momentum from the resultant actions then it won't be pretty.

In general if the hike projection holds, we should be looking at an average 20% shaving for EM/FM stocks in 2019.

With the midterms risk event out of the way, the recent market choppiness should desist as economic health of various economies take center stage again. The ensuing trend should close out the year as losers and gainers take stock.

Short term bounce in EM/FM for now then turns down as the last fed hike for 2018 comes into focus again.