masukuma wrote:hardwood wrote:Kenya should be participating in more games, not just athletics. That way we can greatly increase our medal count.

You need to care about sports to begin with! In order to make it as a general sporting nation you need to have facilities and a culture of children - lots of children playing these sports from a young age! Technically these sports do add anything substantial as compared to the amount of effort put in them! In country where this is a normality - we are climbing the tree from the top.

I dare say that we are actually punching way beyond our weight in sports right now... way beyond! If countries like Portugal have been in the games since 1912 and have a total haul of 4 gold medals in all those years - with a GDP 5 times our size. some sports are a product of a prosperous economy. India with it's 1 billion people and an economy the size of africa has a total of 9 medals in all olympic games where 8 were hockey and 1 is shooting. So let's climb hii kitu pole pole.
interesting stats - Out of 1,000,000 hopeful [American] football players in 2013, only ~250 end up making it into professional football! in one year

that is a huge economy! these people will make tonnes of money and we will be told that 'THERE IS MONEY IN AMERICAN FOOTBALL'!