wazua Tue, Mar 24, 2026

38 Pages«<2425262728>»
Why is Africa poor in general compared to the West?
#251 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 1:17:29 PM

[quote=Nabwire]Sad part is it had to take a Westerner for you to believe me! Hii low self esteem sijui hutoka wapi. Next time ask him about Egyptian mythology, astronomy, medicine ( guess who invented open heart surgery?), Black Pharaohs of Egypt (National Geographic did a magazine issue on this, so glad I bought the copy)- to this day scientists have no clue how Egyptians built the pyramids, the list is endless! But present day Mwafrika just cant get enough of his self destruction. B the way a Nigerian just solved a complex math problem that hasnt been solved for decades, but you too busy self destructing to know http://www.dailymail.co....oop-1million-prize.html[/quote]
I saw that
#252 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 1:54:58 PM

whiteowl wrote:
enyands wrote:
I have a question bothering me. Has someone ever wondered why african countries producing oil have oil being sold more expensive per litre than countries that don't produce oil .typical example is Nigeria(2nd world producer yet I saw people lining up to buy petrol ) , Ghana , and the rest . Why is it so ? .can someone explain to me like a 2 year old kid.

same reason we have maize/sugar shortage in Kenya yet we produce the same.

I thought the oil pricing thing is due to them not refining the same, they just sell crude and still have to import the refined products at the same price as everyone.
#253 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 2:03:39 PM

kyt wrote:
Nabwire wrote:
Sad part is it had to take a Westerner for you to believe me! Hii low self esteem sijui hutoka wapi. Next time ask him about Egyptian mythology, astronomy, medicine ( guess who invented open heart surgery?), Black Pharaohs of Egypt (National Geographic did a magazine issue on this, so glad I bought the copy)- to this day scientists have no clue how Egyptians built the pyramids, the list is endless! But present day Mwafrika just cant get enough of his self destruction. B the way a Nigerian just solved a complex math problem that hasnt been solved for decades, but you too busy self destructing to know http://www.dailymail.co....oop-1million-prize.html

I saw that

Hope you don't label be a 'self destroyer' - smile , but reading that story from the mail is interesting.

However, The Clay Mathematical institute has neither confirmed nor denied that Dr Enoch has officially solved the problem, simply saying it does not comment on solutions to the Millennium Problems.

This has led to critics claiming the story is a hoax and MailOnline has contacted the professor for more information.

Dr Enoch, who teaches at the Federal University of Oye Ekiti (FUOYE) in Nigeria, said he was motivated to solve the 156-year-old problem because of his students.

He told the BBC that they wanted him to make money from the internet.

That is where I think has been mentioned we go wrong, its all about consuming, making money from the Internet - we need to use our intelligence in a way that brings longer term benefits to our people.
whiteowl
#254 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 2:43:28 PM

whiteowl wrote:
enyands wrote:
I have a question bothering me. Has someone ever wondered why african countries producing oil have oil being sold more expensive per litre than countries that don't produce oil .typical example is Nigeria(2nd world producer yet I saw people lining up to buy petrol ) , Ghana , and the rest . Why is it so ? .can someone explain to me like a 2 year old kid.

I thought the oil pricing thing is due to them not refining the same, they just sell crude and still have to import the refined products at the same price as everyone.

It would be good to process/refine maize, oil,sugar but the bigger problem is the cartels exploiting people as government stand aside and watch. This why you get very big price disparities across countries that import products like sugar and fuel even after factoring in logistical costs.
enyands
#255 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 5:09:17 PM

whiteowl wrote:
enyands wrote:

It would be good to process/refine maize, oil,sugar but the bigger problem is the cartels exploiting people as government stand aside and watch. This why you get very big price disparities across countries that import products like sugar and fuel even after factoring in logistical costs.

So it's the cartel thing just like the coffee thing being talked about on the papers. Now this makes sense. Have those cartels established themselves already on the oil fields in kenya yet ama they haven't yet
whiteowl
#256 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 5:13:27 PM

enyands wrote:
whiteowl wrote:
enyands wrote:

So it's the cartel thing just like the coffee thing being talked about on the papers. Now this makes sense

yes and if you don't kick them out of the supply chain you won't be any better even with locally refined/processed goods.
whiteowl
#257 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 5:17:53 PM

enyands wrote:
whiteowl wrote:
enyands wrote:

So it's the cartel thing just like the coffee thing being talked about on the papers. Now this makes sense

yes and if you don't kick them out of the supply chain you won't be any better even with locally refined/processed goods.
whiteowl
#258 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 5:19:36 PM

enyands wrote:
whiteowl wrote:
enyands wrote:

#259 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 10:56:45 AM

Two very relevant books for this thread. Reading the first one

Why Nations Fail

Guns, Germs & Steel
#260 Posted : Wednesday, January 27, 2016 11:04:21 AM

whiteowl wrote:
enyands wrote:
whiteowl wrote:
enyands wrote:

and the heads of this cartels are in bed with our so called leaders...vicious never ending cycle...
38 Pages«<2425262728>»